BBB Accredited Business since

Abbey Master Builder

Phone: (403) 343-6480 Fax: (403) 342-6599 283 Burnt Park Dr, Red Deer County, AB T4S 2L4 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Abbey Master Builder meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Abbey Master Builder
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1981 in AB Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 01/01/1981 in AB
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Home Warranty Group Inc
213-625 Parsons Road SW, Edmonton AB T6X 0N9
Phone Number: 18004729784
Fax Number: (780) 426-2723

The Professional Home Builders Institute (PHBI)
301-30 Springborough Blvd SW, Calgary AB T3H 0N9
Phone Number: (403) 216-8310
Fax Number: (403) 253-7130

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Jaime Anastasi, Controller Alicia Demchuk, Sales & Marketing Coordinator Meghan Richer-Poth, General Manager Doug Will, Vice President/ Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Jaime Anastasi, Controller
Business Category

Home Builders Home Design & Planning Building Contractors Contractors - General Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Abbey Homes Ltd
Products & Services

Design and construction of single family homes.
Renovations of existing homes.

Additional Locations

  • 283 Burnt Park Dr

    Red Deer County, AB T4S 2L4


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Begin forwarded message: From: **** ******** <****@******************.ca> Date: February 2, 2015 at 4:09:10 PM MST To: **** ***** <********@*****.com>, ******** ******* <********@******************.ca> Cc: *** ******* <***@******************.ca> Subject: RE: Abbey concerns January 26, 2015 Hi **** and *** Sorry it has taken a couple days to get back to you. I finally had a chance to meet up with *** to discuss your deficiencies. Here is what has been decided on the issues you have stated in your emails: Lino and Carpet - **** is aware there are still repairs to be done. They will be calling you to schedule an appointment to look at and access the remaining issues. it will be decided at that time what will be repaired Parging - I have on my list and it is seasonal so this will be done in the spring time Siding - we do not warranty rust from gas lines on your siding. We suggest you get CLR to remove it. if it still is an issue for you it is something that needs to be taken up with your gas line provider not Abbey Siding - Hole cut into trim on walkway is seasonal. It is on my list for repairs to be done in spring Siding - White wood trim - on my list as seasonal to be done in spring Exterior man door - Seasonal as well due to siding needing to be removed before door replacement Electrical Plug - I discussed with **** in the past about this. It is not considered warranty. I gave him the number of the electrician to deal with directly. Counter tops and Tile - Discussed with **** as well. they **** check into your grouting when they look into your flooring Closet doors - No longer a warranty item. We have been there to adjust doors before your one year warranty. Unfortunately being that we live in Alberta houses shift constantly due to the ground freezing the thawing and doors will always need adjusting. This is now a responsibility of the homeowners. My system is up to date on what still needs to be done. You will be contacted sometime in the spring for your seasonal repairs so as of now the only remaining issues to be dealt with are your flooring and grouting which **** will contact you directly. Have a great day **** From: **** ***** mailto:********@*****.com Sent: Tuesday, January 27, XXXX X:XX PM To: ******** ******* Cc: *** ******** **** ******** Subject: Re: Abbey concerns January 26, 2015 Yea thank you *** for for your follow up and keeping us in the loop of what's going on! On the issue with our floor I am sick of ********************************* calling the manufacture and waiting and blaming *** * for this issue. ************************************************************************************************************************************************ We were all there looking at this before we took the keys to the house and **** said if it don't get fixed that first time abbey would replace it. ****************************************************************************************************************************** ********************************************************************************************* I hope to hear from someone telling me that the floor will be REPLACED soon! **** Sent from my iPhone On Jan 27, 2015, at 7:52 AM, ******** ******* <********@******************.ca> wrote: When I had spoke to **** before Christmas, she has said most of the list was complete. Thanks *** for the follow up this week. I appreciate all the time it takes you to try to get this all done ;) ***** Sent from my iPhone On Jan 27, 2015, at 6:56 AM, "*** ********* <***@******************.ca> wrote: Morning **** and *** as you can appreciate the Parging and exterior painting on smart board is a seasonal item. When we were there the last time **** from ***** took a lot of pictures and inspected all that was noted. Told *** that he would be in touch with the manufacturer. I will contact him today and ask what's going on. They are the company that will look after the grout issue as well. Once the trades have been given the go ahead to do the work feel free to contact us or them directly if they are not showing up. Please don't give them more than a week to get back to you. On the breakers tripping I was sure **** had given you true powers number to discuss with them Darren the owner has taken over service recently because it has been a weakness of theirs. When I get into the office I can compare the list *** gave us cause I'm not recalling a couple. Gary did work on the man door in the garage and will chat with him this am about it . Possible replacement but would want to do that in warmer weather. When I was there last all doors in basement were working fine *** did say they stick but can't adjust something that's working. Your house must be finding itself still they usually do in the first year so not sure why yours are still sticking maybe check the humidity. The footings are below the frost level and shouldn't be effected by freeze thaws. Always make sure your down spouts are down and taking water away from the foundation don't need extra water going to the footings. Will talk to trades and give you an update. Thanks On XXXX-XX-XX, at 5:50 AM, "**** *****" <********@*****.com> wrote: Sent from my ****** Begin forwarded message: From: ******** ****** <*********@*******.com> Date: January 26, 2015 at 5:00:26 PM MST To: **** ***** <********@*****.com> Subject: Abbey concerns January 26, 2015 Abbey concerns January 26, 2015 The following items are yet to be addressed by Service, and were continually brought up in the past year. Some contractors came in November - some without letting us know - and then said - oh we did not know that, or bring that..... we will come back. To date none have returned. Outstanding still 1. LINO - *** 1 attended Nov XX XXXX and man was to talk to the lino company and get back to us as we have complained about the marks from the work crews and the cleaning of same since installation. Now its another 2 months and no one has told us anything. * Main floor strips have gaps and lifting and marks not resolved * Bsmt floor gapping/lifting and marks not resolved * Bsmt stairwell not resolved Nov 20 - the edges are still buckling and have green tape on them * Under carpets there continues to be bumps that the workman did not take care of Nov 20 - we sent a complaint of that whole day in viz letter and never had an apology or anything in return. 2. Parging - some has been done and others left. This was all shown to ******** and *** in the summer of 2014 as well as fall of 2014. * cleanup still splatted in window wells and under deck. * Blue area still in evidence around basement bedroom windows. 3. Siding * Rust remains on the siding by the gas line entrance into house. * There is still an hole that was cut into the bottom trim on the walkway by the front door and this is still there. * White wood trim on front of garage is still marked with some nail filler that was not the correct color. It still stands out. Notified *** in August 2014 and ******** in October 2014 of all of these points 4. Exterior Man door on garage. * the door is still cracked * the weather rubber seal is still cut and still needs to be replaced, as well as extra stripping applied as the door frame itself still leaks air. * Door frame is still dented. * Notified *** a couple of times including the last list that the door knob on the door has required constant maintenance as it has fallen apart a couple of times. Nothing was done about it, so the residents replaced the knob with a new one. ********************************************** 5. Master bedroom and south bedroom plugs still throw the breakers frequently. The company that attended for other electric issues stated that they did not have any amp breakers in the truck and that they would return....... We have yet to hear from them. 6. Countertops and tile grouting * some of the work was done, but not all of it was attended to. The green tape is still on the countertop where the grouting and caulking need to be done. The grouting chunks that fell out were never fixed either as person did not have the right color. Still waiting.... 7. basement closet doors still rub and require adjustment, with the freeze and thaws. We trust all of this will be attended to ASAP!!!! PLEASE have trades call us to make arrangements as some of them just showed up the last couple of times. They were lucky we were even home!!! **** - XXX XXX XXXX *** - XXX XXX XXXX

Desired Settlement: We want our house fixed and the issues taken care of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/03/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** We are currently working with the trade involved and the customer to resolve the flooring issue and expect that to happen by March 13th. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/03/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't want to accept this just yet till they tell me for sure that they are replacing my floors. I haven't heard from them since mid February. They may be talking with trades but no one has talked to me since middle of February. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 28, 2015/04/24) */

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved into the house February 25th 2013 and feel we are being brushed off til our warranty is up in a week we tried to contact starting Monday February 10th we tried their email format and calling the service line only getting voicemail,

Desired Settlement: Someone to find out why we had a leak in our ceiling

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/20) */ Mr. ****** has been contacted and an appointment has been made to review his year end warranty items. Our service manager will ensure that all concerns are addressed, and that our customer is happy with the warranty service provided for his home.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Abbey Master Builder
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)