BBB Accredited Business since

Abbey Lane Homes

Phone: (780) 425-2884 Fax: (780) 425-2228 View Additional Phone Numbers 200-10568 109 St, Edmonton, AB T5H 3B2 http://www.abbeylanehomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Abbey Lane Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Abbey Lane Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Abbey Lane Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1978 in AB Business started locally: 01/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Home Warranty Group Inc
213-625 Parsons Road SW, Edmonton AB T6X 0N9
http://www.nationalhomewarranty.com/
Phone Number: 18004729784
Fax Number: (780) 426-2723

The Professional Home Builders Institute (PHBI)
301-30 Springborough Blvd SW, Calgary AB T3H 0N9
https://www.phbi.ca
Phone Number: (403) 216-8310
Fax Number: (403) 253-7130
askphbi@phbi.ca

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Bruno Mastroprimiano, President Nick Cosentino, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Nick Cosentino, Controller
Principal: Bruno Mastroprimiano, President
Business Category

Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
Div Of B & R Development Corp Ltd

Additional Locations

  • 200-10568 109 St

    Edmonton, AB T5H 3B2 (780) 425-2884 (780) 456-4114 (780) 413-7552 (780) 413-3455 (780) 429-4200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: State of Repairs Agreed Upon Between Home Occupants and Home Builder In March of 2014, my boyfriend and I took possession of our home, which was built by Abbey Lane Homes. We were told at this time that we have one year to come to them with any issues we were having with the home so that repairs could be made. Within the first year, we had many issues come up that still have not been dealt with. At the time of possession, our laundry room in the basement was unfinished. As home owners who will be living here for many years, we decided we would like to finish the laundry room (install drywall, tile floor, etc.) Upon inspection of the floor, we encountered some errors. Not only did the floor slope into the downstairs bedroom instead of the drain, but there were major cracks in the cement as well. We contacted Abbey Lane regarding this, and they sent out their crew to repair it. While the slope was corrected, the cracking was not. Again, we contacted Abbey Lane and they sent out their crew. They created a new layer of concrete, but lo and behold, it began cracking as it was drying. Since we want to lay tile, we cannot have a cracked concrete floor underneath. The last time a crew was to our home was in April of 2015. We understand this is out of the one year warranty period, but the original issue had not been repaired (which was started within the warranty period). It is now August, and we still have not had a crew come out. Believe it or not, we haven't even heard from our Service contact! We emailed our Service contact (Lindsey) a month ago and have yet to hear back from her regarding anything. As the homeowner who is trying to get things fixed around their home, we are not impressed. Also, the grading in our backyard was not done to standard from the beginning, and we have run into various issues with this (our backyard is in the shape of a V). When it rains, it all pools in the middle of our yard. In the summer, this isn't a huge issue as the sun dries it out after a couple days, but in the winter, we had serious concerns. When the water froze, it became an ice rink in our backyard. You probably think this wouldn't be a huge issue, but let me share with you how the backyard is laid out. From the deck at the back of our house. we have stepping stones which lead to our garage (put there by Abbey Lane). When the water freezes over in the winter, it causes ice over many of our stepping stones, causing a slipping hazard to our garage. We can chip it away or put salt on it, but the issue still remains that this should not be happening. As well, we would like to build an extended deck in our backyard, but until the grading is repaired, we can't do anything. We have reached out to our Service contact regarding this issue as well, again with no response. We, as homeowners, would like these issues resolved as soon as possible, but without contact, it is hard to get anything done.

Desired Settlement: We are looking to have all our issues repaired as soon as possible, not simply at the convenience of the homebuilder.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/10/15) */ September 25, 2015 ****************************************************************************************** Attention: ***************** RE: Case # ******************** ************************************************************* Dear ********; ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Firstly, we would like to report that the drainage in the back yard was addressed early this summer. The drains have been cleared of debris which prevented water from draining quickly. We trust that ponding and subsequent freezing will not happen this winter. Secondly, the laundry room concrete floor is currently being dealth with again. Unfortunately two previous attempts to repair failed. It has been chipped down so it slopes to the drain and a new topping will be applied. This will be completely done in the coming weeks. These issues will be completed even though it is after the one year warranty period. Should there be anything of further concern, please do not hesitate to contact our office. **************************

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint against Abbey Lane Homes, their project the VIP at Californian, and their Sales Person ***** *********, are on the grounds of dishonest sales practices used by *************** to sell a condo for the price of $190,000 in January of 2013. My reason for going through the Better Business Bureau to find a resolution is based on the fact that *************** ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* color selections for the condos in the VIP Californian are currently in progress and having previously waited from weeks to months for responses from *****, I believe the BBB can help get this resolved before I move onto the color selection portion. Between the time period of December 2012 and February 2013 I visited the sales centre located at ******************* several times to research the project and compare it to another project being built by **********. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** For $190,000 I could purchase a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom, 844 sq.ft. condo from Abbey Lane Homes that included a high level of customization, as per *****. After much consideration I decided to purchase the smaller unit with 1 less bedroom based on the following information I received from *****: 1) I was adamant that I did not want the peninsula that was included in the showsuite and on the floorplan. ***** advised that I could make it an island. I asked for this in writing and added to my purchase agreement, she responded that it was not the time to put it in writing, and that the change would simply be made on the blacklines and on a change order when the time came. 2) After looking at the 3 colour board "options" presented by Abbey Lane, I informed ***** that I did not like either of the two cabinet colours. I told her that these colour boards did not offer any choice - as there was only 1 granite, 1 flooring, and two cabinet colours. She advised me that I could go off the colour boards by visiting the supplier (she told me it was ************* and ******************) and if I stayed with the same style of cabinet, there would be no charge to change the stain. She even went so far as to send me up to a fourth floor suite to see an auburn colour cabinet which I informed her that I liked and she told me I could have that one. 3) I inquired what the process would be to have the washer and dryer left out of the suite as I wanted to purchase high end ones *************************************. She told me ************* that I would get a credit for the washer and dryer and I could supply my own. 4) At the time of purchase the tile backsplash in the kitchen and around the fireplace was a ceramic square tile and I inquired as to if I could leave it off. ***** informed me that I would get a credit if I chose to leave this off. 5) ***** informed me that I could request only 1 hole drilled in the cabinetry if I wanted to choose my own hardware. After learning of these options I decided to buy my first home through ***** and Abbey Lane Homes. On January 16th, before I signed my purchase agreement, *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** One year later the building and the process was finally progressing. From the time period of February 2013 to November 2013, I was not contacted by ***** on any of the items listed above. The first contact I received from ***** was in regards to my plumbing and electrical. I was to come in to discuss placement and addition of any plugs or outlets. At this meeting I asked about moving a cable outlet from above the fireplace to the wall. She informed me that she would check but it may already have been done. ************************************* I have never heard back on this and assume that the cable outlet was left above the fireplace. At this meeting I also brought up all of the items we had discussed a year ago, when I made the purchase. The island was my # 1 priority so I asked about this first. We went over everything I had wanted and she told me she would get back to me. At this point she was beginning to seem like she had to get approval for these items, but still that they would be no problem. We discussed upgrading my countertops to a quartz option because I did not like the one granite "choice" that was supplied. She told me she would get a price on this. I forewent upgrading my tub so that I could save money toward the quartz, and the island if a cost was associated with it. Through the next few weeks (November 20 - December 16) ***** and I e-mailed back and forth about the items that we discussed. Each response was more disheartening than the last. I also visited the showsuite in this period to sign the changes to the peninsula on the blacklines. On December 13, I requested 3 items: "could you get me the credit amounts for: - Leaving the washer/dryer out - Leaving the tile backsplash out of the kitchen - Leaving the tile off of the fireplace" And her response was that they do not break up appliance packages, I would have to get a credit for all of the appliances and purchase and install them on my own, and they do not do credits for small items such as tile. At this point I began to realize that all of the things that were no problem before I purchased were now going to be an issue. I e-mailed ***** telling her that I felt she had **** and outlined the reasons why, and that I would expect Abbey Lane to be flexible on these items as I was promised them. She responded with a heated e-mail defending her reputation and stating that she never made any promises. I did not respond to this and a few days later I received an e-mail with a letter attached from the owner of the company stating that Abbey Lane would not make any changes to the floorplan or the specifications. I was offered my deposit back (from 1 year ago) and to rescind my contract based on "misunderstanding with my sales representative". After carefully going through my options, it became clear that getting my deposit back, after one year, would not put me in the same place in the market place as it did 1 year ago. Condo prices have gone up, new and on the MLS, and I would be worse off starting from scratch. I visited the showsuite on December 21st to try and find out where the communication problem was. ***** got defensive and stated that she never made promises, only said that she would make "inquiries". ***** advised me that Abbey Lane had not finalized contracts with their suppliers, and these "new suppliers" were not allowing any changes. I was frustrated because over a year ago she told me exactly who the suppliers were and that I could visit them to pick out other materials. ****************************************************************************************************** With trying to find a solution, I told ***** that my # 1 priorities were the island I was promised, and the cabinet stain. I said that if Abbey Lane were willing to compromise on these two items, that I would forget the rest of the requests and stick to the spec on those items. I am aware that 2 out of the 4 floorplans in the VIP at Californian come with islands - so I am not requesting something outrageous. It is also unreasonable to force me to stick to choosing between two cabinet colours when I was planning on getting the heightened cabinets, so the "bulk order" would not apply to my suite anyways. ***** agreed with me that the Carmel 1 suite would be a better plan with an island, and she said that she tried to get more choices for the colour boards and that what they offered was not sufficient. She said that she would go back to ***** with these requests and get back to me by Monday, December 23rd. On January 6th I received my first response from ***** stating that ***** would not move forward with any of the requests. She asked when I want to come in to choose my colors. Today I am writing this complaint for many reasons. 1) ***** made promises to me that were contingent to me purchasing this condo. 2) ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** 3) ***** was selling a product that she had absolutely not knowledge on. She sold suppliers, changes, materials, etc. that were not yet final or available to the client. 4) If ***** had said that she would "inquire" about the items I requested, she should have done so before I signed a purchase agreement. I did not hear about any of this until one year later. That is completely unacceptable business practice. 5) *****'s **** led to her *********************************** involving *****, who has had no contact with me throughout this process. To him I am just 1 suite of 98, which makes it easy for him to revert to specifications and overrule verbal agreements made between me and his front person. 6) The offer to rescind my loan and return my deposit after 1 year is outrageous based on the market changes and the increased value of my suite. Had this information been given to me shortly after making the purchase, this option may have provided me enough time and money to find a new project. 7) The communication issues *** between ***** ********* and the management of Abbey Lane Homes. I, as a consumer, should not have to pay for their mistakes. 8) There is no clause in our agreement regarding color selections or change orders. These are standard and accepted practices in home building and should be available to the client regardless of this being a multi-family dwelling. 9)**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** A purchase of this magnitude should be made with confidence. Confidence in the builder and in the product. In hindsight I wish I would have gone with the builder who was honest about their product. I would have known exactly what I was getting. At this time I have no reason to believe that the condo I will be living in meets the standards of the home building community. I am hoping for a resolution to my on-going issues with ***** ********* and Abbey Lane Homes in hopes that I can salvage my feelings toward my $190,000 condo.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to offer a variety of solutions: 1) Proceed with the island and allow me to select a stain of cabinets off of the colour boards from the supplier at no cost. 2) Rescind my loan, refund my deposit with interest plus the percentage that the market for new condos has changed in the past 12 months, plus the increase in value of the suite. (IE: if you were to relist my suite for $210,000, I would receive an additional $20,000) 3) Include, at no cost to me, the following upgrades to assist with the resale value that I am losing because of these broken agreements (In order of importance): - Quartz countertops in kitchen and bath - Heightened cabinets - Tile flooring in bath and laundry - The upgraded flooring colour (dark brown)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/13) */ RE: BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXX Ref #XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXX-X-XXX ******, ********** - *** ***** **** On review of Ms. ********* (undated) complaint received in this office January 9, 2014, I have the following comments: First: Let's make it clear about Abbey Lane Homes' sales representative Mrs. ***** ********** *****'s relation to this company dates back to 1990 (not in a continuous engagement). ***** is currently selling our fourth project. I have heard nothing but compliments and praise from any customer that has had the fortune to deal with her. Her integrity, honesty and sale professionalism during the process of acquiring our product and certainly I have not discredited her as our VIP project sales representative, but to the contrary. While Ms. ****** has made many request and wants since acquiring unit **** and some of those request and wants were made as per November 2013, not upon acquisition, such as redesigning the kitchen cabinets and other options. ***** did commit to "inquire" on what is available and doable and what is not. ***** doesn't need to mislead a customer to make a sale. Our product, exceptional value to the customer and company reputation will make the sale. Ms. ****** did receive a full marketing package including specification and plans prior to deciding to acquire the unit which lead to the acquisition of one of the 98 units project and signing the Purchase Agreement on the 16th of January, 2013, a full disclosure document with 10 days rescinding condition. Being a project, not a custom designed and built house for a specific customer has limitation of choices and options. The client if is aware of who our suppliers are has no right to contact or deal with our suppliers. Any option or permitted change must flow through our documentation. If any permitted and approved option may have an extra cost, if so, the extra cost must be prepaid by the Purchaser and will be still subject to final construction manager approval due to time line restrictions. Please see attached reply to Ms. ****** dated December 19, 2013 and project highlights. There are no changes to what is our position on the subject other than give Ms. ****** the opportunity to rescind the Purchase Agreement on her request, which we will refund her full deposit plus interest (not an obligation). This opportunity will be open until January 23, 2014. Past this date it will be our position that the full extent of the Purchase Agreement will be in force and implemented. There are plenty of condominium projects built by reputable and established builders such as Carrington Properties, Carlisle Group, Park Place and many others with similar product, same price range and in many cases substantial lower prices. Those savings will allow Ms. ****** to cover costs to customize and upgrade to her expectations which appears that we can not fill. Regards, ***** ************** ABBEY LANE HOMES Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2014/01/21) */ ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** this is not an acceptable solution to this dispute. I have offered a fair solution and that is to remove a 2% commission from the price of my condo. Whether you choose to pay a commission on the lowered price is irrelevant to me. I have provided facts and proof of those facts via emails to back up my statements. I have several witnesses readily available to testify. ***** has constantly provided here-say and NO evidence to support his responses. He states that I have made "demands". As evident in my previous email screen shots I have not made 1 single demand. I have discussed with ***** the personalization of my suite. In the home building industry there is a contract and there are change orders. Directing the BBB directly back to the contract is irrelevant. There is no where in the contract that states that changes cannot be made to the suite via change orders. The contract DOES NOT STATE that no changes can be made. Part of the BBB code of conduct is to honour promises, be transparent, be honest. These are items that do not appear on a contract. And it is those items that led us here. ********************************************************************** Treating me this way will have no affect on this sale. I will complete the sale regardless *************************. Responding with generic statements will only delay this further. Read my complaint, read the emails, and respond DIRECTLY to the items. Respond DIRECTLY to my solution of removing the commission. I am sick of all of the delays. After repeatedly receiving unwanted emails from ***** and requesting someone else to deal with, ***** told me I will be dealing with her Sales Assistant ******* who also happens to be her daughter. She did NOT give me contact information. She did NOT give me a date as to when the colour chart needs to be completed. She stated that ******* will contact me to set up the appointment. This has not happened. I have not received a date as to when the cheque for heightened cabinets needs to be submitted by. ***** is fully aware that I intend on that upgrade. Laminate floors are not an upgrade (as ***** said they are) they are the spec. I will not be upgrading to quartz as Abbey Lane has quoted a price that is well above industry standard. These items have all been previously discussed. The next step in this process is the colour chart. Have someone contact me to set this up immediately. Again, I have no contact information for *******. It is on Abbey Lane to set this up before the time frame expires. Respond directly to my request to have the commission removed and BACK UP your statements. Provide some sort of proof on your stance. I have done my share *****************************************************************************************. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/02/03) */ Further to your forwarded "E"-mail of January 27, 2014 and Ms. ********** ****** note of January 21, 2014 to the BBB, I have the following comments: Ms. ********** ****** was contacted by our representative on January 22, 2014 to set up a meeting to finalize finishing selections. Ms. ****** did attend on Janaury 25, 2014 and final selection was concluding the options to extend cabinets to ceiling, Abbey Lane Homes and supplier made available one additional stain color at no extra cost to the client. While the purchaser can request changes which differs from contract plans and specifications, these changes or customizations can only be done if doable and agreed by the builder. The ongoing debate to delete a kitchen peninsula and provide an island was simply not available for the following reason - Peninsula design and customer related costs: a) The subject peninsula has the kitchen sink which connects to a plumbing stack serving another 3 suites above, that precluded any changes whatsoever. b) If peninsula plumbing was not the problem, then still there is the related cost on the subject to redesign and produce one specific unit cabinet and replace one pre-cut granite counter top which had to be localled supplied at substantial costs, possibly between $6,000 and $10,000. Ms. ******'s request for compensation is not acceptable and will not be taken into consideration. If the customer was not satisfied with the product, the customer had the option to rescind the Purchase Agreement open until January 23, 2014. This option has now expired and we consider this island debate closed. Regards, ***** ************** ABBEY LANE HOMES


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Abbey Lane Homes
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart