BBB Accredited Business since

Acclaimed! Heating, Cooling & Furnace Cleaning

Phone: (780) 413-1655 Fax: (780) 484-9610 View Additional Phone Numbers 15341 105 Ave, Edmonton, AB T5P 0T6 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.acclaimedfurnace.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acclaimed! Heating, Cooling & Furnace Cleaning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Acclaimed! Heating, Cooling & Furnace Cleaning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acclaimed! Heating, Cooling & Furnace Cleaning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 27, 1996 Business started: 03/01/1996 Business started locally: 03/01/1996
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Tami Lackey, CFO Keven Lackey, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Tami Lackey, CFO
Business Category

Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Furnaces - Industrial Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems Heating Equipment Humidifying Apparatus Furnace Cleaning Contractor - Commercial Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Ventilating Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Heating & Air Conditioning Water Heaters - Dealers Chimney Cleaning Duct Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Acclaimed Furnace Cleaning & Services Ltd Acclaimed! Furnace Cleaning And Air Quality Services Ltd

Additional Locations

  • 15341 105 Ave

    Edmonton, AB T5P 0T6 (780) 412-1955

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a furnace cleaning and a quote on installing 2 vents. The quote was to cost $105 and was never received or refunded. I found Acclaimed Furnace cleaning under the BBB listings, and phoned them to schedule a furnace and duct cleaning, and get a quote on installing 2 vents in my basement (bathroom fan and stove fume hood). I was supposed to get the package advertised on their website called "power brush and whip duct cleaning package" for $199.00, which says it includes: furnace cleaned,10 air ducts (incl. main lines), water tank cleaned, A+ multipoint inspection, 1 std. disposable furnace filter, and additional ducts at 11.95 each. We counted 13 vents, so on the phoned we were quoted 234.85 plus taxes, which we agreed to have done. We were told the quote for the vents would cost $105.00 (100 plus tax)for a licensed technician to come take the measurements and prepare a work quote for us to which we agreed as well. Two younger men came to do the cleaning. I did not see them using any brushes however, they just vacuumed/blew out the vents (and left a pile of dust under each vent)and I seen them take the cover off the furnace and clean the parts like the fan. They used one of our own spare furnace filters, instead of providing one as per the ad, and there was no A+ "inspection" as the cleaners were not "certified HVAC techs.", and they did not touch the hot water tank. The certified tech. showed up for the quote while the guys were vacuuming the upstairs ducts. He took the measurements for the 2 vents we wanted installed and then charged the $105.00 separately saying the quote would be mailed within 2 weeks. That charge posted to my ********** on Mar. 3. The cleaners were done around an hour or so after the technician left, at which time they informed us we had 15 vents, not 13 as we had originally counted, but the difference jumped up quite a bit. $199 plus 5 extra vents at 11.95/vent should have come to 258.75 plus tax (271.69 incl. tax). They calculated the final cost to 292.63, which despite my fiancée's protests, he paid and it was posted to his **** March 4. Our furnace has been rattling since it was cleaned, I think it is just a loose panel, but I don't know about such things. So we let it pass, awaiting the quote. After 3-4 weeks of not receiving it in the mail, I phoned the company and ********* ************ ************* ************* ************* ************* ************* ************* ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ************ ****************** ******************* ************************ ************************ **************** ***************** ************ ********************.) Jennifer said she would talk to her boss and get back to me. I called her back 2 days later as I had not heard back, at which time she said she spoke to the estimating tech. (Ed) and that we were given a "consultation" which is what the charge was for, as the estimates are and always have been free! Although she could not say what we were "consulted" on, she insisted we got what we paid for. ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ***************** ****************** ************** ******************** *********** **************** On the phone Jennifer suggested "how about we refund you the hundred dollars and go our separate ways from now on." I waited again, and the refund didn't come through. On April 14th I phoned ********** who said there were no pending refunds in the system on their side. I followed up calling Jennifer, who insisted it was refunded April 7. She advised to wait for a few more days and if it didn't come through to call her next week and she would "look into it, to see if there were any problems on their side". Today is April 21, still no refund and I don't feel like being patronized anymore over 105.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see substantiation or proof that a refund was processed by Acclaimed on April 7 to my ********** as I was told on the phone by Jennifer W****. I would also like to see proof that a quote for the vent installation was prepared in the 2 weeks after the measurements were taken, to prove a quote was actually calculated based on the measurements Ed took. I suspect it was never written, and therefore never sent. I would like the quote charge of $105.00 to be refunded. I would also like the cleaning charge adjusted to the reflect the website price, with 15 vents, no furnace inspection, brushes, filter provided, clean-up or hot water tank inspection. If there was an inspection done on the furnace, water heater, or vents, I would like to see a copy of the checklist or inspection sheet that was used as I did not receive one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/05/09) */ Contact Name and Title: Tami L*****, Owner Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************* Hi *****, Thank you contacting us about this. I am very sorry to hear that ultimately your experienced was a fail with the follow through with Jennifer who WAS our office manager. Jennifer was terminated a couple of weeks ago for a number of mis-handled incidences as display with yours. Although I thought that she had resolved your refund for the $105, as that was what she was instructed to do, many weeks ago. ************* *************** ************** *************** ************ ***************** ************ ************ ******************* ******************* The big issue for me though is that you are awaiting and you didn't receive a refund. Never would be jeopardize our reputation and your experience for $105.00. I saw a "post it note" on Jennifer's desk with your name on it after she was terminated and I did try to call you to touch base, as I thought it was odd that if it was resolved the "post it note" was still there. The number we have on file for you goes to a number no longer in service. If I don't hear from you directly by end of day Tuesday, May 10 (not sure how long it takes for this information to get back to you) then I will pop a cheque in the mail for the $105.00. I am extremely saddened that you have been sitting with this feeling of being taken advantage for this long. I am very sorry about this and please accept our apology. Jennifer didn't represent the caring, high level of customer service we expect our employees to have and understand the impact things like this have on our relationships with our clients. Take care and again if I don't hear from you by the end of day Tuesday, May 10th I will drop a cheque in the mail. Deep gratitude, Tami Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2016/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I thank-you for the missing quote refund, however this does not resolve the other issues I asked for in my resolution. I am confused as well how you can't find our phone number when both the estimator and the cleaning crew were able to phone us and say they were on their way. It must be on the cleaning work order or how else would they have been able to phone us? To be clear about the resolution; I wanted proof that an estimate was actually produced (and not sent) from the measurements the estimator took. This would prove to me that the estimator was non-biased. Most importantly, I wanted a copy of the so called "inspection" of our furnace and hot water tank from the cleaning, as I mentioned in the details of my complaint my furnace has since been rattling and squeaking loudly. All the cleaning crew told us is that our furnace is getting old. The cleaning package you advertise on your website promises a filter, which we did not receive, an inspection of both units; also not received, and a price adjustment for what we were charged. The website advertises $199.00 for 10 vents including brush cleaning (I only seen huge vacuum hoses, no brushes, and they left huge piles of dirt under our basement vents on the floor and our bed.)with 10 vents plus $11.95 per extra vent. We have 15 vents and were charged $292.63. This is higher than the advertised price and I wanted it adjusted. I recorded the rattling of our furnace on my phone, but the audio isn't the greatest... I will try to upload it to this complaint. The missing inspection I requested, I was hoping would tell me what is loose/rattling since the cleaning. It is a shame that this happened as now we are probably looking at replacing both our furnace and hot water tank, being 9 and 10 years old, respectively. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2016/05/27) */ A few different human errors that resulted in poor customer service and poor outcome for the client. There was never a simple "estimate" scheduled as a paid service call. A service call charge of $100 is standard when we go and "consult" with a client what their needs are for small scale HVAC modifications and improvements. This involves communicating recommended solutions and services after looking at the site and reviewing with the owner of the property. We do not provide "free estimates" on anything and everything Acclaimed does. We do "free in home estimates" on furnace and air conditioning replacements and other major installations. Charles spent 42.5 minutes at *************** consulting on solutions and conversing with the client, as substantiated by our GPS tracking of his truck). Although the on site consulting etc. was done by Charles, no proper follow up with his notes, nor any corresponding estimate and recommendations were provided to the client by Acclaimed. After Charles did his work, it went into the hands of Jennifer W*** for administrating his written notes and providing an estimate for carrying out any work to the client. Jennifer failed multiple times in both providing the client with any site visit notes, recommendations and costs for any of the work. Jennifer was terminated from her position with Acclaimed, in large part, for her mishandling of this. DATA ENTRY ERRORS - Were a big part of the terrible customer service Acclaimed provided. ****** was inputted in the customer profile as *****. ****** was inputted in the customer profile as ******. ********************** was inputted in the customer profile as ********************** These basic, but critical errors in creating the customer profile further added to Acclaimed not being able to communicate properly with the client. A big fail. Phone number was entered as ************, not ************ as noted on your bbb report. I have no idea how anyone would have been able to communicate with you unless you called us as every bit of information on your profile is incorrect. That is on your whole profile with Acclaimed. Cleaning - Pricing is based on the criteria of our base price and the additional costs per extra vent etc. Estimating over the phone is done based on customer information. There should have been communication with the client as to extra air vents or any charges not understood or agreed to at the time of cleaning. There were 15 air vents cleaned on site. Our multi point visual inspection during duct cleaning is not a tune up or service. If operation of the furnace or components is observed not to be in good repair, we communicate any of these observations. Nothing out of the ordinary was found. Resolution - Acclaimed failed to provide service at a level consistent to its high standards. A refund in full, for ALL payment made to Acclaimed is offered to the client. In addition, Acclaimed will at its own cost, send out the service manager to attend to any furnace noise that was the result of any cleaning process. We feel terribly, that the client has had to deal with these issues, caused by our former office manager mishandling of things. Please advise if this would be acceptable. I will fax the estimate to BBB referencing the Case #. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2016/05/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Although I still feel like I am getting the run around, we accept the proposed resolution. I feel like all of this is getting dumped on Jennifer, and no one else is taking responsibility. I agree she had a large part in the miscommunication, she did not err on site. I do believe some of my profile info was edited after the fact, or you are calling me a liar... as the cleaning crew did phone me when they were on their way and had arrived. The call log on my phone can confirm this. As for the spelling of my name, I always spell it out on the phone, as it is commonly misspelled. I requested an estimate quote for the vent install, which the business has changed verbally from 100.00 to free estimate to a consultation multiple times. Charles is the one who suggested moving the vent near the stairs, which brought up my disability. I did not know he would charge me for having to explain my disorder, as he talked with my fiancée and I on these types of unrelated (to the vents I wanted installed)issues. I just wanted to know how much money to install the two vents to the outside, I never asked for a fume hood to be included in the kitchen vent pricing, as we already had purchased one, and just needed the pipe and outside vent cover. So Charles spent more time talking to us about my disabilities and sickness in his own family... than the vent install. Two vents, requiring cutting holes in the house's exterior walls I would consider a major install. Maybe drilling through a foot of concrete is not a "major" job for your company. I would advise that you be more clear with future clients on the difference between a "free estimate" and "consultation" and "major jobs" vs "non-major HVAC", as I am still confused. When I originally scheduled the cleaning, I counted 13 vents, no price was quoted to me except the website ad of 199.00 plus 11.95/extra vent. Even with the 15 vents they told us about after the cleaning when they were taking the fiancée's credit card info; 199.00 plus 5 vents @ 11.95 ea. equals 258.75 plus tax. As you can see, that is not what we were charged. We were charged 292.63 total, which equals 278 before tax. No explanation still for the extra 20.00. Another error you can't blame on data entry. When you advertise an online price, I would hope that you stick to it, and list any additional fees, if that is the 20.00 difference. (or maybe just a calculation error on the cleaning tech's part?) *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** *************** **************** ********** So this is your chance to redeem yourselves. As the rattling that started after the cleaning sounds like a washing machine that is off balance; has always been the biggest concern, next to getting the correct service records for the work done. If you stick to your proposed resolution; refund "ALL costs" (I am assuming that means the 293.00 cleaning AND the 100.00 quote/estimate/consultation) AND send your service manager to check and hopefully fix the furnace rattle "at no charge", we would be satisfied.

1/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i had my furnace cleaned a couple months ago by a man named ****** and his associate for the price of $404.93. being it was just becoming winter time, i agreed to pay the amount since it was hard to book an appointment. i went down to change the air filter and noticed that some garbage was left behind that they had missed: a vent cover, a couple plastic plugs and the paper from a sticker used for the next cleaning reminder. i also noticed that the filter they put into the furnace was upside down and not installed correctly.

Desired Settlement: ************************************************************************************************ but if this company would like to keep my business, i would like my money back or 1 free cleaning for the next appointment i have.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/01/21) */ *********** We are very sorry to hear that we left a some pieces of paper and some small plastic plugs behind, plus the filter inserted upside down. This is the first we have heard about this or from you, as I understand it. If I am incorrect, please let me know, as I would like to see what actions were taken on our end and by whom. The usual course of action would be if you would have contacted our office directly is the following: we would have been to apologized for the oversight of our technician with leaving this behind and that they put in the air filter upside down. We then would have asked if you would like us to send someone over to pick up these items and re-insert a new, clean disposable filter correctly. A discussion will be had with the crew that was at your home. For your inconvenience and creation of disappointment we would like to refund you $100. I am glad you understand that oversights happen every once and while. ****** is prided for his workmanship and high level of care. Let us know if this will be acceptable. We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you in the future and can assure you that this is not at all a common occurrence. Sincere Regards, ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Acclaimed! Heating, Cooling & Furnace Cleaning
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)