BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central and Northern Alberta

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

CVM Mechanical Ltd

Phone: (780) 458-8393Fax: (780) 458-83129-205 Chatelain Dr, St AlbertAB T8N 5A5http://www.cvmmechanical.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

CVM Mechanical Ltd is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised CVM Mechanical Ltd's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Oct 18/2011:
Furnace humidifier & hot water tank installed. They used my new 3 step/step stool inside for installing exhaust pipes up chimney, the bottom rung on 1st step where bent. I over looked that.

A few days later the basement around the new furnace was surrounded by water & running like a river into drain.
They came & discovered the filter in the humidifier wasn't fitting correctly, they pushed it in & duct taped it in the Flow thru humidifier.
From Day 1 it ran 24/7 draining water thru the pipes & into drain.
I couldn't find replacement filters for it anywhere. I booked a 1 year plus winter check up for Oct 29/12 I was told ****** would be coming at 8AM. I also requested a new filter for humidifier be brought at the same time & gave all the information from the humidifier.

Monday, Oct 29, 2012: it was going on 8:30AM & I had not received any calls & no one had showed up yet. I called & was told the time was between 8 - 9 AM which is not what I was originally told & it would be ****** coming. I got a call around 8:45 & **** said he'd be there within 1/2 hr & he got instructions to my place. He arrived 9:20AM
He had no replacement filter & there was nothing written on his work order about it.
I told him about the problem with teh Flow thru Humidifier & when he opened the cover discovers the cilinoid wasn't working. The furnace was OK & he cleaned it. He said he would pick up the part & the filter when he left as he did not have anything in his truck that would fit. I booked for him to come back Fri Nov 2/12 at 3PM to install new parts.
Once again no one showed up, I phoned **** on his cell ************ The parts hadn't come in & the office was suppose to have phoned me & rebooked.
Within 2 weeks the house was very dry. A kitchen trolley which had a butchers block on top started cracking. I just bought it June 12, 2012 plus I was getting nose bleeds.

Nov 9/10th: I turned the water supply to humidifier back on. It is still running 24/7. I called Nov 9th & asked what the status was with the parts, I was told they were in Toronto & would be aother 2 weeks B4 they got here. I said that was unacceptable I had asked to speak to the owner, he wasn't in I said then come and get this humidifier out & replace it with a working one & one that replacement parts were readily available. I asked for owner *** to call me.

As of Nov 27th I've had no calls. I called CVM today Nov 27th *** is out of office will be bak in this afternoon I asked status of parts, the receptionist had no update, I asked for *** (owner) to call this afternoon.

Dec 3/12: Called CMV TT ******* she said *** the owner was looking into it, she spoke to him last wed Nov 28/12. I said I would give them 1 more week then I would be going to the troubleshooter. (I shut off the water again to humidifier a few days afer Nov 9th, water ran constantly like a tap was left on)

**********************************************************************************************************************

*************************************************************************************

April 2, 2013 I was away for 3 weeks, my neighbour and my daughter ********** were both looking after my condo. We had a huge snow storm and the temperature got very cold.
My daughter come to the house and it was very cold, she check and the Furnace had stopped working. It took her 3 times getting the technician coming back from CVM before they got the furnace working again.
The first time my daughter also told him about the humidifier problem. He took one look and said it was hooked up wrong and the water line was also wrong. He took it apart & left wires hanging on the outside of it. Some one was suppose to come back and fit it completely. Unfortunately I do not have the paper work from this time.

To date NO ONE had called or returned, the humidifier has wires hanging out of it.

I am totally frustrated and do not know where to go for help to get this resolved.

Initial Business Response
Received your letter about *******. Me and *** went to the call and fixed her hot water tank. She is very satisfied now so the issue has been dealt with.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: My complaint is about Invoice # *****, Jan 24/13 from CVM Mechanical Services Ltd. *****************************************
I had called in regards to my furnace fan motor running too fast. Cleck to see if I need to get it slowed down. I was told to get a complete service also.
The tech checked it out & reset the motor. Instead of slowing down the motor it was sped up. Nothing on the invoice about this. The service was to check all electrical connections. *******************************************
I have been calling since Jan 25/13 to discuss my complaint. I am told I have to talk to ***. Everytime I call they tell me they will pass the message to *** & he will call me. To this day I have not received any call.
On the back of the invoice they have 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Business' Initial Response
***********************************

Full refund $156.45 on credit card.
Thank you very much for your help

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors, Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service, Contractors - Gas Fitting, Chimney Cleaning, Fireplaces, Molds, Ventilating Contractors, Ventilating Systems - Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Boilers - New & Used, Water Heaters - Dealers, Water Heaters - Repairing, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units, Air Conditioning Repair, Sheet Metal Work, Humidifying Apparatus, Floors - Raised, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Heat Pumps, Thermocouples, Thermostats, Heating Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Furnaces - Industrial, Mechanical Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/05/2003Business started: 22/02/2002
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Limited

Contact Information
Principal: Ronald Kraemer (Owner) Melissa Trotter (Administrative Assistant)
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Heating Contractors, Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service, Contractors - Gas Fitting, Chimney Cleaning, Fireplaces, Molds, Ventilating Contractors, Ventilating Systems - Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Boilers - New & Used, Water Heaters - Dealers, Water Heaters - Repairing, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units, Air Conditioning Repair, Sheet Metal Work, Humidifying Apparatus, Floors - Raised, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Heat Pumps, Thermocouples, Thermostats, Heating Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Furnaces - Industrial, Mechanical Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for CVM Mechanical Ltd

9-205 Chatelain Dr

St Albert, AB T8N 5A5

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9-205 Chatelain Dr 

    St Albert, AB T8N 5A5

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*CVM Mechanical Ltd is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB serving Central and Northern Alberta, Northeastern British Columbia, Lloydminster, Nunavut, and the Northwest Territories (BBB) began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that were received after January 1 2013.

X

Industry Tips for Heating Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.