BBB Accredited Business since

Alfa Mechanical Ltd

Phone: (780) 433-1839 Fax: (780) 433-1873 View Additional Phone Numbers 100-10004 79 Ave NW, Edmonton, AB T6E 1R5 View Additional Email Addresses http://alfamechanical.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alfa Mechanical Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Alfa Mechanical Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alfa Mechanical Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 1992 Business started: 11/01/1989 in AB Business started locally: 11/01/1989
Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Rod Heming, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Rod Heming, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Contractors Plumbers


Additional Locations

  • 100-10004 79 Ave NW

    Edmonton, AB T6E 1R5 (780) 433-1839 (780) 449-1218

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Alfa Mechanical Plumbing and Heating requesting they repair or replace a leaking hot water tank at ******************, Edmonton Alberta. I requested that if replacement was necessary, the water heater be replaced with a 30 gallon tank, which was the same size as the old one. On March 12, 2014, Alfa Mechanical sent technician ***** ****** to supply and replace a hot water heater as the old one was too old and not repairable. They replaced the tank with a "SpaceSaver 52708" 27.0 US GAL., Model # ****************, Serial # *********** which does not supply the same amount of hot water as the original tank did. I paid paid Alfa Mechanical $997.50 on March 12, 2014 and $18,71 on March 13, 2014 for a total of $1,016.21. I am still unclear as to why they billed me in two charges. On July 17 2014, I called Alfa Mechanical to inform them that the hot water tank was not working. **************************************************************************************************************************************************** I was transferred to *** *******, the owner of the company, and was informed that he could not attend until July 18. *** ******* attended on July 18 where he replaced the heating element and left. The tank did not work so I called him back to let him know. He informed me that it was possibly the thermostat and he would get one the next day. I called him on July 19 and was informed that his supplier didn't have one and he would not be able to get one until Monday, July 21, 2014. On July 21, *** ******* arrived around mid day and installed the thermostat. The hot water tank still did not work. He sited the electrical panel breaker as the problem and recommended that I hire an electrician to replace the breaker. He said that he could do no more for me. I called *************************************** and they sent out a technician. The electrical technician checked the breaker panel and found all in order. He then did a circuit diagnostic and found the correct amount of current going to the tank. Then, upon looking inside the water tank panels, he found that the initial splices were done incorrectly. The technician showed me the melted merrets where the wires had been arching. After he spliced the wires properly, the water tank started to heat the water. I paid the ********************************** technician $311.85 on my ****. I called *** ******* of Alfa Plumbing and Heating informing him of the findings from the electrical company and asked that he reimburse me for the $311.85. I explained that ************************************************* he (***) should have rectified the problem when he came out to do the warranty work. The electrician was an added unnecessary cost to me and should be covered under warranty. *** agreed that his company ****************************************** would reimburse me the full amount if I sent him proof of the amount. On July 23, 2014, I faxed Alfa the invoice from *********************** ************************************. I called Alfa to ensure that they received the fax and was told by *** that they would reimburse me immediately on my ****. I phoned Alfa on August 12, 2014 asking when they charged back my **** and ******* the person that answers the phones did not know anything about it and *** was unavailable. I called on August 14, 18 and 26 with the same query. I spoke with *** on September 3, 2014 when I asked him to repair the leaking pipes***************************************************************************************************************************. When he came to re-crimp the connections on September 4, *** informed me that I would be receiving a cheque in the mail. I called *** on September 8,2014 I was told that the leaking pipes were not part of the warranty and that he would be deducting the service call from the money he owed me and send me the balance. He sent me an invoice for $152.78 with no cheque. The service was conducted on September 4, 2014 with the work order dated September 3, 2014 and invoice number ***** dated September 2, 2014.

Desired Settlement: I want to be compensated for the entire electrical bill of $311.85 ****************************************************************************. I want Alfa Plumbing invoice number ***** credited *******************************************************************************************************************************************************************.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/17) */ *************************************************************************************************************** On March 12, 2014 we went on leaking hot water tank service call. In we found old 30 us gallon hot water tank leaking and needed replacement , our wholesale had only one that was close to that size, 27 us gallon and the same wattage 3000 watts. They had no 30 US gallon tanks and would take three to six weeks to order one in. There were no complaints until the tank quite working four month later, on July 18 2014. I went out the next day and tested the tank, I was reading 120 volts, telling me the thermal switch was not turn on, it was Friday 5:00 pm had to wait till Monday to replace it. On Monday I replaced the part, still giving trouble so I called an electrician he said breaker is problem working; the electrician I use was busy for 2 days so she called one, he found loose wire in electric box. She phone me and told me what they found and I told her I would pay for the electrician bill $ 311.85. Then on September 3, 2014 she said the hot water tank was leaking I came out and found old crimp rings fittings were leaking I went back to the office and phone serviceman that did the hot water tank and asked if he worked or replaced any crimp rings fitting and he only replaced copper piping from the tank. It was something else loose crimp joints noting we had touch and charged her 1 1/2 hours to repair it, took off the electrical bill she gave me and on Sept 23, 2014 Alfa Mechanical refunded her **** for $159.07. ******************************************************************************************************************************************** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/11/06) */ **************************************************************************** ********************************************************************************************************** I checked my bills and called **** and found no credit applied to my **** account. I believe that the entire electrical bill ($311.85) should be refunded since the crimped fittings were loosened by his employee when installing the wider water tank - *************************************************************************************************. I feel that to provide customer service, ie: Alpha Mechanical should have crimped the fittings at no charge. *************************************************************************** Also, when I asked him to credit my **** directly, he told me that Alpha did not have my **** number and that all credit card numbers were destroyed once payment was received. In light of this information, how could Alpha credit an account when they do not have the account number? Since this has dragged on for so long, I have accumulated a considerable amount of interest. He did tell me that he would reimburse me the full amount of the electrical invoice, however I have not received anything. Could he provide proof of this refund? I can offer **** statements that prove nonpayment of the refund. I have also checked the mail both in ******** and at home, in *********** to ensure that payment didn'f arrive via post in the event that he sent payment by cheque and have received nothing there either.********************************************************************************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 30, 2014/12/10) */ ***** installed a hot water tank in march . I was there in July four month later as there was no hot water.and there were no leaks at that time.she called in a electrician at that time.He said it was a bad connection He didn't say anything about water were he was working and piping was right beside the joints I fixed at the end of August. Poly b has been band since 1996 my man ***** didn't touch the poly b piping It would have a warranty if it was replaced with PEX piping only. ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************** As I said We do not warranty any poly b piping as it is no longer made or sold.and my records show the refund was September 23 and not November 23 Thank you *** ****** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 32, 2014/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this fellow's position, however I have no choice because he does not intend to refund the balance of the electrical invoice. ******************************************* ***************************************************************** I did not say that his company installed the Poly B piping only that his worker wiggled the lines to push the replacement tank in place therefore causing the crimps to leak. **************************************************************************************************************************** The door to the closet closes while rubbing on the water pipes which was not the case prior to this installation.**********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alfa Mechanical Ltd
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)