This business is not BBB accredited.

Gourmet Secrets Inc

Phone: (780) 705-8181 Fax: (780) 705-8120 View Additional Phone Numbers 5032 129 Ave NW, Edmonton, AB T5A 4N3 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.gourmetsecrets.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Gourmet Secrets Inc include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Gourmet Secrets Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gourmet Secrets Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 1997 Business started: 08/01/1997 Business started locally: 08/01/1997
Business Management
Emily Noel
Contact Information
Principal: Emily Noel
Business Category

Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors Chinese Food Products Fish & Seafood - Retail Frozen Foods - Retail Gourmet Shops Ice Cream & Frozen Desserts - Dealers Meat - Retail Party Supplies Pizza Poultry - Retail Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
The Great Western Food Company

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5032 129 Ave NW

    Edmonton, AB T5A 4N3

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: shipment of paid for goods not arriving overcharged for delivery that was supposed to be "free" Nov. 2015 Ordered 6 packages of frozen meat - paid $441.50 on credit card. Got confirmation emails that says "no delivery charge" Dec. 2015 delivery charge on my credit card for $75.00 Dec. 2015 receive first package Feb 2016 receive second package April 2016 no package. Phone May 14. Excuses about not being able to find proper Styrofoam containers to pack meat in. I ask for my money bac and also for the delivery charge back. say they will phone Monday May 18 phone again. Excuses. Claim they have to charge 12.50 for each delivery charge. Say they have to look at my order and phone the boss to see how much I get back. they owe me $334.12

Desired Settlement: they owe me $334.12

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been told numerous times I would be getting a credit refund on my credit card but, so far nothing. this has been on going since May 26, 2015 I purchased a ***** *** voucher for a samplers Club package in 2013 and this voucher was good for 6 different sampling boxes of meat every 2 months. The first 4 months were fine, I received two boxes. In May- Aug I was told stories of how they were moving, the freezer broke, the price of beef increased. Sept. thru Dec. I received the items properly. They said they would send the May - Aug. items out in the beginning of 2015. I have contacted them numerously since Jan. and was told over and over it will be next week, finally they said they were going to refund me $33.32 for the missing 2 sampling boxes. I gave them my credit card information on May 26,2015 and have never received anything. Again I have spoken to Amanda and Mike numerous times and they tell me the bookkeeper refunded me that I need to look again. I HAVE NEVER RECEIVED ANY REFUND OF ANY SORT. They owe me $33.32 for the undelivered 2 sampling boxes between May and Aug.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund from this business in the amount of $33.32 for the undelivered items, that were promised. Amanda from Gourmet Secrets insured me I would be getting this refund as they were unable to fulfill their end of the sale.

4/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Gourmet Secret "Sampler Club" for 100.00 and thought, "Meh! What the heck, I'll try them out." So bi-monthly I was able to order off their web, any "Sampler" package which also included shipping and handling anywhere in Canada.. Soooo Jan/Feb we chose the beef...arrived in a timely fashion and was good. Mar/Apr was a "catch of the day" package, again, no problem with the arrival. May/June and July/Aug are currently outstanding as they were having issues with their freezers, and were in the midst of a move. They said they would honour those 2 in the new year...I was fine with that. So Sept./Oct we chose the poultry sampler package, which we did receive. Nov 20th (for the Nov/Dec voucher) we ordered the beef pkg. again after trying the others, and expected it approx. Xmas time. I called them Dec. 23rd as I hadn't received the pkg. yet, and with Christmas a couple days away, I was concerned the food would arrive between Xmas and New Years. I spoke with ****, he asked for my client # and also asked how the products were so far. I told him the beef was the only we liked. He was insistent the reason I was not having a great experience was because the portion sizes in the samplers are just that...samples. He was also annoyed that the shipping costs were costing him too much money and wanted to "up-sell" me on his other products. I let him know I was not interested on his other products right now, and was happy being a "sampler club" client. I asked when I could expect the order from Nov. 20th and he said I could expect it the week of Jan 26-30. I asked why so long, when I already waited over a month, that I should need to wait another month! At this point things went nasty. He was extremely annoyed about the s/h charges and said he was losing money, not to mention the price of beef had gone up, and I was costing him money with only being a Sampler Club Client. Then he tried telling me that he would ship the Nov. order, but I had to pay s/h. Ummmm NO...the coupon I paid for,... in full,.... a year ago,....included s/h. I told him his customer service was really lacking. He said if I was a full client, I would get better customer service. I asked him.. "Does that make sense to you?" ................Breathe..................... So, Jan. 29th.... no tracking info. and still no order....HMMMMMMMMM.. I Called again, got a hold of ******, she said she had my ordered marked to be shipped Feb 9-13. When asked about the two outstanding orders from Mar/Apr & May/June. She said she'll issue a refund. and will not honour the those two after all .... Feb 11th spoke with **** again, and asked if they had shipped out the order as I hadn't received any tracking info. He said my order was not shipped, and reminded me that each club pack is retailed at 70.00 and I only paid 16.67 and should be happy with what they have provided me with...He continued to say I was being GREEDY because I still wanted them to honour the two, now three packs that are outstanding. If I have no intention to upgrade my client status from "Sampler Client" why should they continue to supply the samples to an ungrateful and greedy customer. Later that day, ****** called to try to smooth things out with me. After a very lengthy conversation, clearly getting nowhere, I gave her my **** card # to have the $50.00 refunded. To date...no refund...not surprising!

Desired Settlement: We are asking for 50.00. The price of the three outstanding packages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/03/31) */ We ran the deal with ******* a year ago, it was a big promotion with amazing discount which made us very busy at that time, at the same time the price of Meat went up, our price is still remained the same, we cannot keep up with all the orders, on top of that the office is moving, due to all the factors, we offered the refund, she phoned for the refund and asked if she can get the refund for the other order that already made, we told her will check with the boss first (when you used partial of the deal, then you cannot get refund unless we offer). We did not have a chance to talk to the boss yet she has already reported to the BBB. By the way, we have refunded her $49.98 and she told us will report to BBB but did not.

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase Nov 2013 for 6 sampler pkgs. Each one to be delivered every 2 months starting in Jan 2014. Rec'd two after several attempts. The company website in May/June then stated the sampler pkgs would be delayed for two weeks and I was not able to place my third and subsequent orders. I was not able to place my third order until Sept. 2014. The redemption codes for the months May and July not longer worked. I asked for compensating codes. They indicated they would refund the amount. Gave them my **** number but no refund was made. Was advised my order in Sept would be sent in November. Again I requested a refund, no refund was given. Third order was not delivered as promised. When I called numerous times, they daid it was delayed and they would refund my ****. Sent a two emails requesting a refund, no response. Last call made in December, requesting a refund resulted in the company hanging up after saying I was welcome to go to the BBB.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the balance owing due to non delivery and acknowledgement to poor customer service from vendor.

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was unable to fulfill two orders over the summer apparently due to production issues. Claimed they would issue a refund to my credit card, which was requested on October 23, 2014 in the amount of $33.32. To date this refund has not been received. A third order was placed on October 1, 2014 but as of yet not received. Company does not respond to email inquiries regarding status of order.

Desired Settlement: A response to email inquiries would be nice ***************************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/12/19) */ We were experiencing very high volume of orders at the time the customer ordering, on top of that, we are in the process of moving, that is why it causes delay, we have already shipped the package to the customer and he also received the refund, everything has been taking off.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a "Gourmet Secrets Samplers Club Package" voucher from ******** for $100. Upon redeeming the voucher I received an email which stated "Dear C..... F......, Thank you for joining the Samplers Box Club from Gourmet Secrets. This email contains six special codes which will allow you to order a basic sampling box every two months. Only club members can order the sampling boxes, so please keep this email safely. Enjoy the benefits we offer!" To date I have received only one of the six sampling boxes, ordered in January and received in February. My second order made on April 14th #236114 required me to pay an extra $15 for shipping which was charged to my **** card. On May 9th I received a phone call telling me that they couldn't provide the product and offered an extension or a refund; I took the refund of $31.66 (1/6th of $100 plus $15 shipping paid). This was credited to my **** as agreed. I went to place my third order, but the Samplers Club order area is not functional and has the following message "The Sampler Box for May and June will be available NEXT WEEK!" This same message has been displayed since May 15th and it is now June 20th. I have phoned the vendor on several times, the last time was on June 20th. The male person answering the phone keeps stating that they are moving over to a new system, but he could not tell me when this move would be completed and I would be able to order any product.Each order code is only supposed to be good for a specific two month period which is almost over.

Desired Settlement: I would either like the product shipped in a timely manner as agreed with no more cancellations or excuses, or a full refund of the remainder of the voucher's value $66.67 (4/6 X $100). At this point, based on my time spent trying to order product without success I would prefer the refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/07/15) */ Let's clarify the situation. In April, there was a huge price increase on beef across Canada. We were able to maintain our price for April and May, the result: we received thousands of orders across Canada. This created a crisis at our plant, so we had to acquire a bigger facility, and we are in process of moving. We have sent an e-mail to all customers offering the refund for May-June & July-August Sampler Boxes, if she wants to get refund, simply contact us directly. In September, she will be able to order September-October Sampler Box, we will not refund that portion because it is not due until October. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/07/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To date this company has fulfilled only 1 of the 6 orders and refunded 3 of the 6. This leaves 2 orders remaining *********************************************************** ************************************************************************************************************** However, I will wait until September and try to place order #5. *****************************************************************

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order #XXXXXX, paid with **** - June 1st - place FIRST order after activating my VIP membership. This order was meant to be used for father's day (June 15th) giving ample time for shipment as the company site says "will be contacted within 48 hours of purchase to discuss shipping details) - June 6th - I CALL THEM, almost a full business week after my order I had to call them, to find out where my order was. The person I talked to said my order had been misplaced, and assured me that Monday June 9th in the morning, my order would be shipped. - June 15th (father's day) - Still no tracking id, no call, nothing, so I decided to email gourmet secrets, on their site "email link", and through my own email, and through another email I found on their site. I explained to them that i wanted a refund of my $315 for the order I placed for fathersday and also wanted to discuss a possible refund for my VIP membership, given their complete lack of service. - June 17th - because I received no answer to any of my 3 separate emails. Unfortunately it was too late and they were closed. On the following day the 18th I receive a Purolator shipment notification (2 full days after I had tried to cancel) After this I called the company to complain, the person on the phone said their site says 10 days to receive shipping information, a blatant lie. I have the receipt, and it clearly says 48 hours on the bottom, she went on to say that she would do me the grand favor of not charging me a cancellation fee, for something that was in the process of being packed... I explained to her that i had emailed multiple emails via 2 different methods, and she still said that she should be charging me....they then said that only the owner could offer any insight on a possible refund for the membership, and that he would review my request and call me. I never received a phone call, so I proceeded to call the vendor I purchased my membership and was issued a refund for it within 3 days... unfortunately the story continues about my $315 order they have yet to refund. - July 8th - I called (13 business days after the refund was requested by phone) to find out why I had yet to see my refund, the person on the phone assured me the refund had been completed and it would be visible on my statement shortly. - July 22 - I have yet to receive my refund from this company. ******************

Desired Settlement: I want my refund, and the interest i have to pay my **** card to float you payment for a month.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/29) */ This is the reason that the customer's order has been delayed: in April, there was a huge price increase on Beef across Canada, we were able to maintain our price for April and May, the result is: we received thousand of orders across Canada, this created a crisis at our plant, we were mistakenly thought the order has been sent to the customer, when we realized and started to ship out the order, customer called in to cancel the order regardless it it ready to go, we have to cancel the label, unpacked the package, removed the dry ice, re-stocked the items to the freezer...although it is our mistake for being delayed but it did cost us to remove the items from the container, not only the manpower part but also the credit card discount fee, when the payment processed through credit card, we need to pay the merchant fee. We have gone through all the trouble for the cancellation and refunded customer $315.91, we will not pay interest on top of credit card fee. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** "although it is our mistake for being delayed but it did cost us to remove the items from the container, not only the manpower part but also the credit card discount fee, when the payment processed through credit card, we need to pay the merchant fee. We have gone through all the trouble for the cancellation and refunded customer" *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** If you lost money, its on you ************************************************** **********************************************************

7/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The deal I purchased entitled me to 6 sample packs of meat over the course of 1 year (1 every 2 months). I received the first 2, after many phone calls and emails, but now Im unable to redeem my voucher for the 3rd pack. I have been waiting since the beginning of May for the website to be updated so I can order my sample pack,but it never seems to get updated. Ive emailed and phoned them for the last 2 months and have not gotten any kind of response. *******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the products that I paid for. I dont want a refund, I want the item.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/07/16) */ Let's clarify the situation. In April, there was a huge price increase on beef across Canada. We were able to maintain our price for April and May, the result: we received thousands of orders across Canada. This created a crisis at our plant, so we had to acquire a bigger facility, and we are in the process of moving. We sent an e-mail to all our customers offering the refund for May-June and July-August Sampler boxes, in September he will be able to order Sept-Oct one, but if he decides not to get the refund, then he can order May-June Sampler Box in September, July-August Sampler Box in November, he won't loose any Sampler Boxes, the promotion will be extended. Some customers have placed the order and wanted to hold off till the end of the promotion instead of refund, there is no such thing about refund by the end of the year, we believe that is a misunderstanding between James and his friend. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Never once did they try and contact me by email.*******************************

6/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 10th of April we were told that we would be receiving less meat in the rest of the sample boxes because beef and pork prices were projected to be rising. We were told that we could receive the complement of boxes (5) altogether if we bought more meat. I asked for a refund for the proportion of the order that had not been received and was told that was not possible. I asked then for all sample boxes to be sent now to avoid a cost implication for the company in rising costs but was told that they would not send them unless I purchased more additional meat orders to be sent along with the sample boxes. I stated I did not want to order more meat ********************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: All I want is a refund of the remaining proportion of the sample boxes not supplied ($82.50) or the samples sent through now so I do not have deal with this company further.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/17) */ On April 10th, The customer was informed that the price of Beef and Pork are going up all across Canada. This situation is not unique to us but applied to the Canadian Market in general. Customer purchased Sample Box promotion, they will still get $70.00 retail value but since the price are rising there will be a little less content (Pcs) in the Sampler box. We offer to all our Sampler Club Customers the opportunity to avoid this with a special program, if the customer do not wish to take advantage of the offer he just need to keep ordering Sampler Box every two months as per the Group Deal agreement. Customer paid $100.00 for the promotion, she has already received the first Sampler Box value $70.00, we are willing to refund her $30.00. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We requested that all sample boxes be sent at the one time with no extra purchase required so that the company could avoid the projected beef and pork price rise but they refused this and demanded that more meat be bought in addition to the sample boxes. This demand for more purchases was not stated in the sample box offer. I also asked them to ensure they sent the same amount originally indicated on their website for sample boxes if I only chose seafood/poultry but they refused that as well. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** They also refused to provide a full refund for the complement of the boxes ie. $80. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Even so, their calculations of the refund simply do not make sense as there were 5 sample boxes for which I paid a total of $99 and I have received one of the five which is 20% of the $99 total, hence logically, the refund should be 80% of the $99, that is, approximately $80 which is not what was offered ($30). ***************************************************************** ***************************************************************************************************** *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

2/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a deal from Gourmet Secrets from ********* website. They state that their product includes "free standard shipping" and "no tax on food". When i tried to redeem my voucher, i was told that i would need to pay $15.00 in shipping to receive the goods I had purchased (and this is a bimonthly gourmet food delivery service for which I paid $99.00). Paying $15.00 six times throughout the year would practically double the cost. There is no mention in their advertisement that some provinces would need to pay additional shipping costs and I believe that the wording they employed was deliberately misleading.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honour the deal that I purchased in good faith - and I do not want to pay additional shipping fees that were not rendered clear in the deal as it appeared on the ******** website at the time of purchase.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/20) */ The feature deal on ********* was very clear Free Standard shipping. Our toll free number was also post on the deal. Many customer phoned to inquire if they qualified for standard shipping. I have explained to Ms ******** that sending her package via ground (standard shipping will result in her items thawing out because of time). Even when adding $15.00 to her purchase the total price she is paying is $31.33 for an item sold $70.00 reg. She is still getting a 55% discount.If she not happy with the deal a full refund is available at ********. No harm done.She is clear she will not pay for express shipping then she should get a refund. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Nowhere in the text of their offer did they state "additional shipping charges may apply in some provinces" so I believe that the offer of "FREE standard shipping included" was ************* misleading. It makes it sound like shipping is included as part of the deal. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gourmet Secrets Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)