This business is not BBB accredited.

Backyard Central Inc

Phone: (780) 758-5433 PO Box 9033 Aspen Glen, Spruce Grove, AB T7X 4H5 ! There is an alert on Backyard Central Inc !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Backyard Central Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 17, 2010 Business started: 06/04/2008 Business started locally: 06/04/2008
Business Management
Traci Pahara, Owner Chad Pahara, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Chad Pahara, Owner
Principal: Traci Pahara, Owner
Business Category

Excavating Contractors Snow Removal Service

Alternate Business Names
Snowflake Snow Removal

Additional Locations


    PO Box 9033 Aspen Glen

    Spruce Grove, AB T7X 4H5 (780) 758-5433


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Snow removal services not provided as contracted. Despite numerous attempts to contact Backyard central no return calls or e-mails to address my concerns. In January of 2014 I need to clean side walks as there were places that had compacted to greater than 2 cm therefore making the side walks not in compliance with the City of Edmonton By laws. ****************************************************************. Contract stated ice melter would be put down as part of the contract. This was NEVER done and in addition to the fee I was paying I needed to purchase ice melter and apply this my self. I with held two months payment (January and February) in an attempt to get a return phone call or e-mail. The company did not contact me until April 2014 and then only to remind me that two months due had not been received. When I listed off all my complaints against the work done including pictures and witness'to the incomplete work I was told the owner would get a hold of me. No call to date. I sent a letter (dated May 19) with the cheque to BackYard Central. To date there has been no response to my letter. Today in the mail I receive a letter from a collection agency demanding payment. I was willing to work with Backyard Central no I am filing a complaint with BBB.

Desired Settlement: Acknowledgement of the poor quality of the service I received. Acknowledge receipt of the cheque and that the account is paid in full. Withdrawal of the file with the Collection Agency. Refund of monies to compensate for the poor quality of service, my time and effort to do the job that I was paying Backyard Central for, and for having to purchase products that were to be provided by Backyard Central (ice melter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ Customer received original quote and chose not to have back door stairs to back alley as part of her services. As a result, area was not being cleared by anyone and resulted in snow build up. Customer had contacted us to add on the path numerous times to which we were simply to busy to add it on. Another path was dirt and not cement and therefor could not be cleared to the ground. Customer was made aware that ice melt was not a part of the contract, but rather ice salt or rock/chips were to be applied after a result of clearing. It was not to be applied after freezing rain or freeze/thaw cycle unless previously agreed on contract and at an extra fee. Customer was remaining unhappy after even after being given priority service. Customer was aware that office does not reopen until spring and was given numerous late invoices and friendly reminder letters for late January and February payments in the mean time. Customer was called by myself and I left messages for her to call me so we could discuss her services. She was given a week to call me and told she would go to collections if she did not call. Customer called the day collections spoke to her and said she wrote a letter May 19th. Letter was dated May 19th but postmarked the May 26th, the day collections had called her. Customers file with the collections agency will be removed as per our discussion by telephone June 4th. Payment has been received in full.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Backyard Central Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)