This business is not BBB accredited.

Authentic Cabinetry & Stonework

Phone: (780) 473-8843 6932 76 Ave, Edmonton, AB T6B 2R2 ! Authentic Cabinetry & Stonework is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Authentic Cabinetry & Stonework
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 2012 Business started: 01/30/2010 Business started locally: 01/30/2010 Business incorporated 10/18/2010 in
Business Management
Trevor Lee, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Trevor Lee, Owner
Business Category

Cabinet Manufacturer Cabinets Countertops Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Contractors - General

Hours of Operation
Monday to Friday: 10:00am - 6:00pm
Saturday: 10:30am - 4:00pm
Service Area
Edmonton and surrounding area
Alternate Business Names
1565158 Alberta Ltd Authentic Cabinetry
Additional Information

Monday to Friday: 10:00am - 6:00pm
Saturday: 10:30am - 4:00pm The owner of Authentic Cabinetry & Stonework previously owned the company Authentic Homes (http://www.bbb.org/edmonton/business-reviews/home-builders/authentic-homes-in-sherwood-park-ab-154076). On November 12, 2013 BBB verified that the phone provided by this business is no longer in service.
Complainants allege the showroom located at 6932 76 Ave in Edmonton has been dismantled.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6932 76 Ave

    Edmonton, AB T6B 2R2 (780) 473-8843

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********** from Authentic Cabinets came to our house in August 2013 to take measuresents and get us a quote for our kitchen renovations. We later visited ****** at his office to pick all the colours, sign the contract and pay the deposit in the amount of $10,000 on August 21, 2013. We were told it would 3 months to order all the stuff and the work should start late November or early December but should be complete before Christmas. We had couple of questions in late October 2013 and tried to get in touch with ****** but with no luck. After this we tried contacting ****** numerous times via phone, emails and text messgaes but he never answers back. We have also tried visiting his office numerous times but with no luck.

Desired Settlement: Ideally we want our money back but would be happy if they just finished the job they were hired to do.

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract for new granite countertops and backsplash on April 11th. At the time that we signed the contract and provided our initial deposit of $4,000.00 (paid by Cheque) we were told we would have the countertops installed within 3 months. After the agreed upon 3 month period, we received no phone call or any indication as to why our countertops were not being installed. At the beginning of August, we then called their office to inquire as to when they would be installed. After months of waiting, many phone calls - most of which were never returned, we finally received an installation date of September 16, 2013. This date was then rescheduled to September 26, then again rescheduled October 2nd then again to October 3, then again to October 7th then again rescheduled to October 9th and finally rescheduled to October 10 which is the date that it was finally installed. We did not ever receive our backsplash. *************************************. The sink is not even in the correct place. They cut our lower cabinet to make the sink go in, without any indication to us that there was a problem. The counters are not level, there is a long scratch/gouge in the countertop. We brought these issues (and others) up with ****** (the owner) both verbally and by email, as well as dropping off a letter to their showroom. ****** will not return our calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: Ideally we would like a full refund. At the very least we would like a $2,000.00 refund. The countertops are unacceptable and will need to be removed and replaced with new granite.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Company was recommended in April 2013 to us by a co-worker who had her kitchen as well as her mother-in-law's kitchen renovated. We contacted ****** and visited the showroom during that time. ****** came to our home took measurements and gave us some good suggestions. As listed above the contract was signed and deposit cheque cashed. We have on several occasions tried to make contact with ****** we have had no response. Original installation date middle of August, then a email Sep 5th stating a shipping error, next email Sep 25th another delay or 3-4 weeks, Oct 16 another email from ****** stating Nov 12th our shipment was to arrive with installation to soon follow. We are still waiting and ****** has yet to respond to any of out calls, emails or texts

Desired Settlement: We want our cupboards and granite counter tops or the refund of our deposit for $14,000.00

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ***, owner and sales person of Authentic Cabinetry, came out to my property in early May 2013 when my husband and I decided to renovate the kitchen and upstairs bathrooms and we discussed the plans. We decided to renovate the kitchen- replace cabinets, granite countertops, backsplash, undercounter lighting, crown molding, double sink; as well as 3 granite countertops and sinks in bathrooms; granite countertop and sink in laundry room; granite top on bookshelf; granite and cabinets in dry bar; granite in shower and bathtub in ensuite bathroom; and natural stone fireplace. My husband met with ****** at his office, located at XXXX XX Steet (Edmonton), to sign the contract on June 28th 2013 and gave ****** a cheque for $10,000 and a post dated cheque for another $10,000 for July 28th, 2013. ****** required a 70% deposit before ordering any material/product. We were told originally that they would start renovating at the end of September, beginning of October 2013. That date came and went and then ****** told us they were behind schedule and the new shipment of material would be coming in on November 12th, 2013. After November 12th passed, still no word from ******- he doesn't return calls or emails, and we have come to find out that the showroom located on XXXX XX Street was now been dismantled and locked as well as the office phone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX has now been disconnected. I have tried to contact ****** multiple times via cellphone- that is still in use, but it also goes to voicemail, and no response from emails. *****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I am seeking my $20,000 deposit back from Authentic Cabinetry- ****** ***.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased coupon on ****** ****** on Nov. 3, 2012. Contacted seller and received a quote on Nov. 14, 2012 for $4889 plus GST. I made a payment on Nov. 19, 2012 for $3422.30. Installation countertop was to happen in three month period. When I called they informed me that the granite never made the shipment and would be on the next one. After numerous unanswered calls and emails they informed me that the granite was in and to be installed. On Aug. 27, 2013 only half of order was installed because of miss measured granite piece that needed to be reordered. ****** (owner ) said he would put a rush after not hearing from him by October I called and visited the store and finally received an email saying the granite would be in the second to third week of November. On Nov. 12, 2013 I texted and received no response and on Nov. 18, 2013 I called to find main phone disconnected but left two messages on cell. Also, went to store it looks closed down.

Desired Settlement: Completion of work that I payed for or granite piece to some else install them.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2013 I contacted this company. ****** *** came to my home made measurements and provide a quote. We agreed and provided an initial payment of $10,000 for a delivery and installation by July 2013. ****** *** kept delaying the delivery arguing problems with the granite order. Last time promised that by 12-Nov-2013 they would receive the granite. I have been calling continously with no answer from ******.

Desired Settlement: Installation of the Kitchen as promised immediately or return of the money.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 17, 2013 I contracted Authentic Fine Cabinetry to order and install granite countertops. The approximate install date was October 15, 2013. I called ****** *** (the owner) about that time and he told me it would be another month. I emailed him again around November 12th and received no reply. I called the shop on November 25 and the telephone number was 'temporarily not in service'. I then called his cell number and no answer but I left a message. Still no reply. I then called ***** ********** who I placed my order with and he told me he had been laid off about two weeks earlier due to down sizing.At the time of signing the contract they said they required a 70% deposit. I used my MasterCard and was charged an additional $147.78 for using it.Bottom line is, at this time I am out $4,000. What do I do now? Product_Or_Service: Granite Counter tops & sinks

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Ideally I would like a refund of my $4,000. deposit.

12/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********** will not return our money even though he has not ordered the cabinets. He will not return our calls. We tried going to his shop but it was closed. Please help us. Product_Or_Service: Kitchen Renovation

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We want our down payment back as he did not order the cabinets!

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Feb 2013 I ordered cabinets and a countertop from Authentic Cabinetry. I've paid them $10,000. The cabinets were to be delivered and installed in May. I was told the countertop had been misplaced in China but was being shipped. August 9th my old cabinets were taken out then I was told 5 cabinets were missing and they were being shipped form the Denver plant. After several more weeks and more excuses ****** from Authentic stopped returning calls and laid off his sales rep. The store is being dismantled and still no replies from ******.

Desired Settlement: I would like the cabinets and countertop material that ****** said were here so I can get some other company to complete the work. If he does not have the cabinets or countertop material I would like a complete refund of the $10,000 given to him in Feb and Mar 2013.

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** never returns our call and has promised us an appointment over a month ago. It has been 6 months since their error. We have been told our product is there but cannot seem to get anyone to speak with us.

Desired Settlement: We would like our final piece to finish off our house.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After getting 4 estimates to have our kitchen renovated we decided to go with Authentic Cabinetry and ****** Lee (owner). We made sure they were part of the BBB and had good reviews before we signed our contract on March 19, 2013. At this time we paid just shy of $10, 900 because we were getting custom cabinets and granite and they had to be ordered. We were told at that time they wouldbe doing the work at the end of August and the job would take 5 days. The end of August came along and there was problems with shipping so we were delayed. Shipment supposedly came but was missing pieces, delayed yet again. As time passed it became more and more difficult to get in touch with *****, either by phone or email. It often took him days to get back to me and if I did talk to him it was usually because I "tracked him down". On October 2, 2013 I did speak to ****** and that was the first day I was obviously upset with him. He promised the rest of the shipment would be here mid October and he would have the job done by Halloween. At this time I also expressed my concern that it was so hard to get a hold of him and he ensured me that problem would not occur again. The following day I sent a detailed email to ****** discussing dates and expectations. I asked in the email that any product he did have please be delivered to my house ssince I had paid for it. I also asked him to put it in writing that the job would be completed by October 31, 2013. The email went unanswered. I caleed him numerous times over the next three days and left multiple messages to please call me and I also informed him that I had sent him an email. Basically since the day I was a little firm with him I have not heard from him and have called or emailed no less than 8 times. Basically it has been 7 months, we are out just shy of $11,000 and we have nothing to show for it and no end in sight.

Desired Settlement: We just want the job completed as it was discussed with theproducts we discussed in the time frame we discussed. At this point I ***************************** would love my money back.

10/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised cabinets in 8 to 10 weeks from 29 April and I had to decide on counter top in 2 - 2/5 weeks. It took me 3 weeks to decide so now they say that is why cabinets are late and I changed color. It was asked if I could change the color the 3rd day when the measurements was. When I went at the end of June to see how things were coming I had no right answer then i was told it would not be at end of July. I sent them a registered letter on July 16th but had no reply. ********************** one of them called my house but there was nobody home. I never heard from them from that day. I don't trust this people. I don't need all this trouble after them keeping my money all this time and using it. ******************************************* At my age 82 I don't need to fight over my money. All I want is my money back and no more pressure and stress. thank you

Desired Settlement: I would like my moeny back. They want all the money before they buying the cabinetry to my house and that is not going to happen. There might not be any cabinets or not what I ordered or wrong all I want is my money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/03) */ ****** ********* order. He does not have an email that he has made us aware of. He has always come in to our store in person. His order was originally written up on April 29, 2013. With in the following two weeks he came in and stated that he wanted to change the color of his cabinets. We said fine, it is not too late to do so but your decisions need to be made ASAP. Within the following few weeks he brought in a sample brochure from a competitor stating that he would like this color. At an extra custom color charge to us we said that we would cater to his request. In the week following his he began to tell us he was unsure of his countertop granite selection. We said OK we will work with you, I made inquiries and had the order stopped from production. At this time it wasn't until the middle of June that he finalized a custom exotic colored granite that was much harder to locate product on. So at this time we negotiated taking off his tiled back splash for the cost difference and at this time praising our service and that we were so good to work with and our price was so exceptional and he thanked us profusely. The following week he came into our store stating he wanted his Kitchen put in the following week. When we gave him his new time frames and told him that we had a few delays in procuring the exact color of granite he wanted. He at this point became angry and stated he wanted his money back. After a very lengthy conversation he left asking to please rush it as soon as we possibly could. We said that of course we would. He came in 15 minutes later and again demanded his money back. Again I told him that this was not possible. After another lengthy conversation he left frustrated. He came back twice the following week repeating the same lengthy conversation and demands. ********************************************************************************************************* ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Shortly there after we received a registered hand written letter from Mr. ********* stating he wanted his money refunded. I immediately tried to call him but he has no answering machine. Now we receive a letter from your office. One thing these client conveiniently seem to forget is that our prices are so much lower and the time frame in which they will receive them reflects on that. Our clients are all told that it takes approximately 3 months or so to procure, receive and install our products. Changes and self inflicted delays do not entitle customers to make alternate demands, refunds or short changing payments to us because they feel they deserve it. We have always tried our best to uphold the highest integrity, and after they receive their products they are always happy with their products. We always strive to improve our service and time frames. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Please take this email as our official response and we will continue to expediate Mr. *********s order to the best of our abilities, and he will certainly receive and be pleased with his kitchen once we are able to install it. Please email me directlyfor responses as these letters you send us according to the dates on them are taking a long time to reach us. Sincerely, ********** Authentic Cabinetry and Stoneworks Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/09/11) */ Some time in April this people had a brochure sent out in the mail about cupboards I phoned a few times an talked to ***** that knows nothing every time you talk to him he says that de dont know , have to told to Mr ***. I went to the show room to see what they have to offer. Later Mr ***** come to my home to do measurements. On April 29/2013 I went to order my cabnits. I decided on maple the best # 1 cabnits. I chosie the style, the colour, and I wanted Galaxy but there was no sample. So Mr. *** *** said he would bring the samply when he do's the # 2 measurement. When he came a few days later he brought black galaxy. I didnt like it right then. I asked if there was another galaxy colour I was told no. (there is a blue galaxy) After Mr *** *** did his measurmet I had a colour and style brocher from **************** which thiese people said that this people are out of business which is not true. That is when I asked Mr. *** *** if he could change the colour he said yes. Now they say that I came 2 weeks later to change colour is wrong. ************************* Mr. *** *** say's he had to stop production on cabnits why. good try ***. Again I was told that I had to make up my mind on the countertop 2 - 2 1/2 weeks after the order, I gave the date May 27/2013 I have a wittness which will prove in Court I went to the Showroom on July the first week to see when cupboards are coming I got a very big surprise. not in July say's Mr ***. I asked when no answer. I did say to try to get soon, as I was walking out before I reached the door and not 15 minutes later I want back to Mr *** *** and asked to cancel my order he said he can't. I phoned and got to talk to I dont know ***** every time you ask ***** anything he dosn't know have to ask ***. ***** said he will get Mr *** to phone me but din'd say that he wouldn't. I send then a regestered later and not hand wirtten Mr *** don't you know the diffrence. no answer ***********************. My son can from Red Deer and we went to see this people same old story I don't know same *****, told he would get *** to phone us. *************************************************** Next my sone phoned again ***** again I will get *** to phone you. *** was telling my son that I was there 2 - 3 times a week if it was true this would of not happened And about getting some body to phone on my behalf what a joke. **************************************************************************************************** ******l ********* *************************************

10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 2012 I paid $2000 deposit to Authentic Cabinetry & Stonework so they can order and install my countertop. They came to my home and measure everything.(measurements was taken on Nov. 26/13). At first place we were told that job should be done by the end of January 2013. We did not receive any phone calls why we have to wait. All the time we had to call and ask for a job we paid but they never done. Always ****** (general manager)is saing that "We did not receive it in our recent shipment. I will contact you in a few days once I establish what has happened and when I can expect to receive the order." We even talk with a loyer and he sand him a letter to give us a date or anything but we still did not heard from him. We are wondering if it will be done at all because he never contact us from last time he e-mail to layer which was on June 28. That what he wrote: From: ***************************** Sent: Friday, June 28, 2013 6:38 PM To: ********** Subject: RE: ******* Countertop Order To All of the many who have directly and indirectly contacted me in the matter of the ******* Order: It is and always has been our fullest intentions and interest to supply and fulfill the order of the ******* Countertops. As I have previously stated, we will install and provide your countertops as soon as it is received into our possession. I have just recently been informed that we will be receiving the ******* order as to the timelines as I had last described to them. It is our policy that we do not refund deposits and will not conform to any of the demands described in your attached letter. We will however, deliver, supply and install the countertops in good order to the very best of our abilities as we have contracted to do. Any further legal action you chose to pursue, by the time you get around to paying at your costs and imposing upon us. Will most likely have your countertops installed and received and will only stand to add to yourselves unnecessary additional costs and frustrations. Please take this letter under advisement accordingly and we will be in touch with the ******* family directly ourselves as time gets closer to installation. Thank you for your time and consideration. Sincerely, ********** Authentic Cabinetry and Stoneworks

Desired Settlement: Soon it will be a year and I am thinking who is waiting that long for countertops *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/04) */ We are already booked to do the ******* installation case#*******, of which we had never received a letter from you until just recently. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/09/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) That is what I received from Authentic Cabinetry: > Sent: Saturday, August 24, 2013 4:00:37 PM > Subject: RE: Countertop Order > > Hi > > We are trying to get set up for your installation and pick your order. We will not however be able to install on the date you have requested. I will follow up with you early this coming week. Thanks and talk to you soon. Then: Hi *****, As it sits, I would be able to install your order Wednesday or Thursday next week. I will re-confirm on Monday. Thanks again for your patience. ********** And then from today Sept.5/2013 *****, There is a water leak situation at a house that we are installing in. It does not appear to be our fault, however we are dragged into it as it is affecting our work and it has to be looked after. I will contact you tomorrow on re- scheduling Sent from ******************** So, we are still not sure if that is booked at all. We never get real date for instalation. (Because delay like that is almost one year)

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 23 my countertops were ordered and 90% paid for - $1966 by debit and a $900 *******. I expected them to be here around the end of January. Since then they have been undelivered due to Chinese New Year and was once told that they had come in but were not acceptable so were re-ordered. A week ago (Friday) when I phoned I was told by the owner of the company (****** ***) that he was in the process of receiving them and would be calling me on Monday or Tuesday to arrange a date to install. He did not call so I phoned again on Thursday. The girl in the office told me she would have him phone me back but he didn't. When I phoned this morning ***** ********* told me he would have ****** call me back but he didn't. I have phoned twice more and a girl named ***** answered and told me she would have him call me back. I think 9 months is long enough to be stalled on this matter and I am worried about the stability of this company.

Desired Settlement: I either want my countertops installed immediately or the money back - $1,966.00 + $900.00 for the groupon for a total of $2,866.00. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/09/17) */ This order was installed and completed. Please note this on your file. Thank you for your attention in this matter. Sincerely, ****** *** Authentic Cabinetry anmd Stoneworks


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Authentic Cabinetry & Stonework
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)