BBB Accredited Business since

B-Wise Contractors Ltd

Phone: (780) 489-0181 Fax: (780) 489-0182 View Additional Phone Numbers 16845 129 Ave, Edmonton, AB T5V 1L2 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bwisecontractors.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that B-Wise Contractors Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for B-Wise Contractors Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on B-Wise Contractors Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 2004 Business started: 10/01/2002 Business started locally: 10/01/2002
Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Peter Urkow, President
Contact Information
Principal: Peter Urkow, President
Business Category

Building Contractors Home Improvements - Additions Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors Basement - Remodeling Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Windows

Alternate Business Names
Bwise Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 16845 129 Ave

    Edmonton, AB T5V 1L2 (877) 489-0181

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2012, we had hired B-Wise to complete some work on our home, siding, eaves trough, gutters and stone work. In the fall of 2012, we contacted B-Wise to address the issue of the siding gapping on the south wall beneath the patio doors. They stated that their siding guy, ***** was trying to complete projects before the snow started to fall. We had contacted B-wise again in November, and we were told that the siding guy would come out. To our knowledge he never did. We were planning on another project for the spring of 2013 and required that siding to be fixed as it had not even been a year and pieces were coming loose. For the winter we had to put a number of screws in the siding to keep it together. We waited the winter and then started to call B-wise again in February 2013. It was stated that they thought the siding fellow had taken care of this issue. So again we were told that they would remind him to fix the problem. In April /May 2013 we called B-wise again. Again we were told that they would send the siding fellow out. This time he apparently came out to see the problem area and would have to order siding to replace and fix, but the siding would have to be special ordered. We were then told that we would be contacted when the siding came in to be fixed. We were not going to wait another year for this company, so we had to continue on with our other project. The new company was able to fix the issue and we had to pay $660 for that work. We wish to be reimbursed for the time and the cost of having to get someone else to fix the problem; they did not seem to want to deal with. ************************************************************************************** The fact that they were not willing to communicate with us to provide an update or confirm that the work was done by the subcontractor. ***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: reimbursement for the $660.00 that it cost us to have someone else come in and fix the siding or that they contact us and we can make some kind of arrangement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/10/29) */ The first thing I would like to mention, is that when the customer contacted us initially, my siding contractor suggested to them that they wait until spring, when it warms up to do the repairs, so siding doesn't crack. then in the spring when they contacted us again, my siding guy went over to do the repairs. It is common for us when we do a job to leave extra pieces or an extra box with home owner in case of repairs. We in fact left a complete box of siding with home owner when we finished job. In the spring when my guy went to finish the job, it had been discovered that they used the extra siding on another project***************************************. We then told them we would have to order 4 pieces to do repair, because the extra we had left was gone. The siding is custom order and the supplier said they had none in stock and would have to order, which would take 4 weeks. We advised customer that we would have to order replacement siding and that it would take 4 - 5 weeks. We never heard from them and later after dropping by their house discovered the repair had been done by the other contractor******************************************************************************************************. In review with my siding installer, that repair would have cost less than $100.00 and never $600.00. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ we were told they were extremely happy with the job overall. B-Wise Contractors (2012 Ltd) ************** Sales Manager Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/11/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We do not accept the response from the business. We raised the issue with Mr. ******** about the siding a couple months after completion of the project and again in the fall. We were told that the siding contractor was very busy completing projects before winter. We were frustrated and tried to be understanding and agreed to wait until the spring, even though we were concerned about the elements getting into the opening in the siding. In early spring, we contacted Mr. ******** and were told that he would have his siding contractor come out. We waited and had to contact Mr. ******** again to state that we have not seen or heard from the siding contractor. Mr. ******** left a message on our answering machine that he was sending his siding contractor out to look at siding. We received another telephone message from Mr. ******** stating that his siding contractor was out and they would have to order 4 pieces on the Monday. He also stated that he hoped that they had a few pieces around, if not it would take a while because they would have to special order the pieces and they would contact us to advise us when they expected them in (telephone message). The summer came and went and we never heard from the contractor. We felt substantial time had passed with no contact from B-Wise or Mr. ******** and as a consumer we felt frustrated and disappointed with B-Wise Contractors. We waited all fall the previous year, spring and summer this year and decided we are not waiting any longer. In Mr ********'s response he stated that in review with his siding contractor that it would have cost less than $100.00 to fix and never $600.00. It cost us $660.00 not $600.00 to have the siding repaired. Our questions are: Why did B-Wise Contractors not fix the siding issue, when we first started to contact them? Why did B-Wise Contractors not fix the siding issue in the spring of this year when we contacted them? ************************************************************************************************************ ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* Again we felt that B-Wise Contractors were not willing to communicate with us to provide an update on when the warranty work was to be completed. **********************************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on B-Wise Contractors Ltd
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart