BBB Accredited Business since

Auto Imports

Phone: (780) 431-2828 Fax: (780) 431-0176 9904 75 Ave, Edmonton, AB T6E 1J2 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.myautoimports.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auto Imports meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Auto Imports include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Imports
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1995 Business started: 05/01/1995 in AB Business started locally: 05/01/1995 Business incorporated 05/08/2014 in AB
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alberta Motor Vehicle Industry Council (AMVIC)
303-9945 50 St, Edmonton AB T6A 0L4
http://www.amvic.org
Phone Number: (780) 466-1140
amvic@amvic.org
The number is B2005395.

Business Management
Naresh Kumar, Owner Hament Kumar, Director/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Naresh Kumar, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Shock Absorbers Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
1821122 Alberta Ltd

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father came into the store and took a vehicle in to get an out of province inspection. The ad was advertised via ****** and said it would cost 80$. The shop deemed that there was a additional 20$ fee for a form. Two tires needed to be replaced for the inspection. They ordered the two tires because we did not want to pay another inspection fee. My father took the car back and was charged an additional 50$ to have the vehicle inspected the same day (because the shop had to order in the tires). If I had of known that the shop *** *********** *** would charge for this "re-inspection" we would have never gone to here in the first place. This is unreasonable buisness practice.

Desired Settlement: I would like this situation to be dealt with amicably. **** ** ************ ******** *********

Business Response:

“Request for Inspection” form is an initial requirement for any Out of Province Inspection in Alberta. Customer can get this form from any registry office in Alberta but remember this form is not free even in registry office. So, in this case customer didn’t bring “Request for Inspection” form for inspection so, we informed the customer at first place that you can get this form from registry office and you have to pay there but if you want, we can get this form directly here from registry office and our charges for this service will be $20.00. Customer agreed on second option as it was his convenience. Our charges for inspection are $80 and “Request for Inspection” form is something different which customer needs to bring with him to repair shop to get his/her car inspected.

As far as re-inspection charges are concerned, our charges for re-inspection are $49.95 which is posted in front office on a big display board. For re-inspection charges, we also informed customer well in advance that if car leaves the shop for any reason and came back for re-inspection there will be charges for re-inspection which is $49.95 because we are suppose to inspect it again as per requirement of Alberta Transportation. In this case, vehicle failed the inspection due to bad tires and we order the tires as per customer request, mean time customer decided to come back in afternoon as tires were not in stock. Later on, customer came back in afternoon, we installed the tires and performed re-inspection, customer signed both inspection and re-inspection papers as a requirement of Alberta Transportation.

And, we don’t think, it was our fault that we didn’t stock new tires for his/her car, there are lots of other parts as well which we order daily for other customer’s cars.

We hope customer will satisfied with my answer. If not, he is most welcome to verify the facts given in above statement.

Thanks

Auto Imports

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In january I had my ** **** *** ***** sent for flange repair. The repair was faulty and sent to shop to fix under warranty at the end of January. After the flange was fixed the shop mechanic tried to pressure test and raise temp. of coolant system by revving motor; he over accelerated motor and placed the diesel in "runaway" (**********************************************)thereby destroying engine. The shop has stated they will only cover labor costs to replace engine but not the engine itself. They have stated the engine would have gone into runaway, not by overrevving but due to excess oil by turbo by itself but I have checked with Main mechanics @ ********************** dealer & they state it was highly likely the shop mechanic overrevved engine by accident. This shop have recently done oil changes to the car and had previously changed the engine and fixed the turbo in a previous "runaway" incident. There was no mention of excessive oil leak at the last oil change done recently by this shop.

Desired Settlement: They must take full responsibility for the damage the shop mechanic did to the engine, including parts, engine, & labour. The car arrived to the shop in good running condition except for the faulty flange repair and afterwards they destroy my engine and say its my problem?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/04/16) */ Auto Imports Re: Case #XXXXXXX Even though we are currently not members of the bbb I will respond to the customer complaint. We did complete the repair as requested by the customer, after which we moved the vehicle outside to warm the engine up to get the air out of the cooling system. My technician was holding the rpm up approx. 2000 rpm which is a normal procedure. As he was holding the rpm the engine went into run away. I happened to be standing outside when it happened, I looked over when the rpm started to get high and my technician was getting out of the car to stop the engine, as he did the engine sucked in oil out of the charge air cooler and stalled out. I had them pull off the turbo tubes and check for oil in the intake system. There was a substantial amount in the tubes. I have just recently taken over the business so I went back over the vehicle history. I had found the previous owner had rebuilt the engine from a previous runaway approx. 3 years ago, the turbo itself was replaced approx. 2 years ago. There was another work order where something was done to the turbo but the work order was unclear just as to what. The oil filling the cooler was the cause of the runaway and engine damage, also the fact that the vehicle was not in gear led to the quick rise in rpm. Most vehicle runaways will happen while driving so the transmission keeps them from reaching too high rpms and causing damage. It is an unfortunate circumstance not caused by our shop but I was willing to cover the labor for the repair if the customer provided the parts as a resolution. Thank You for your interest, ****** ****** Owner: Auto Imports Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) the response from the shop does not make sense -first, driving over to the shop to get the flange repair initially done by the shop that was faulty, fixed again, I easily exceeded 2000rpm on the drive to the shop, if the "charge air cooler/turbo" was filled with oil then it should have easily gone into runaway on the drive to the shop, -the car was running fine except for the faulty flange repair done by the shop -the turbo was changed out by this shop, was the turbo improperly installed by this shop? shop record keeping inadequate? -the engine was exchanged due to a previous "runaway" repaied by this shop -just prior to the last repair to the flange the oil was changed by the shop, no mention of oil leaks or error codes or low on oil -did the shop mechanic damage the turbo while fixing the flange? -consulting two VW dealerships, if the engine & turbo had been changed out that recently and the shop stands by its quality of work, then only viable reason for a "runaway situation" is over- revving the engine which in itself the runaway can cause oil to be sucked into the turbo / charge air cooler, only the person (shop mechanic)in the drivers seat really knows what the RPMs are- if they are paying attention -as a new owner taking over an established buisness/clients this does not necessarily excuse the current new owner from obligations /warranties / committments made by the previous management/owner, - this unfortunate incident is entirely the shop's responsibility and they should be fair & fix the damage they have caused


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Imports
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)