BBB Accredited Business since

AB'L Auto Electric Ltd

Phone: (780) 939-4656 Fax: (780) 939-4656 55317 Rge Rd 254, Sturgeon County, AB T8R 0S1

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AB'L Auto Electric Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AB'L Auto Electric Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 13, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1995 in AB Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Lorena Knievel, Owner/Operator
Contact Information
Principal: Lorena Knievel, Owner/Operator
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Radiators - Automotive Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Alternators & Generators - Retail Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations

Additional Locations

  • 55317 Rge Rd 254

    Sturgeon County, AB T8R 0S1 (780) 939-4656


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct 21,2013we brought the 2003 ******** *** in to fix an oil leak and trace wiring as engine light on. On Oct 28, 2013 we picked up and paid $1661.63 in full by **********. Drove home, and overnight oil dripped maybe a little less, but still dripped. Dropped car off again on Dec 5, 2013 and called ABL on Dec 23, 2013, they had not looked at it yet. ***** said leave it over Christmas. He called Dec 24, 2013 and said **** the mechanic had worked on it again and come pick it up for Christmas and bring it back in the New Year and they look at it more then. Dec 24, 2013 there was a huge puddle of oil on garage floor. Called ***** in January 2014, and let him know that now it is a major leak, but I can't be without during my busiest time of year. He said bring it in after your busy season. I did not want to bring it back to them, as I did not trust them to do a good job. The reason being we had him repair my **** which we paid $7268.16 for and picked up Oct 9, 2013 and I had to bring it back to him on Nov 27, 2013 because they forgot to replace front axle shaft which made a grinding noise in 4X4.********I *********************************************************** put the **** in 4X4 and it was grinding yet. ********************* ABL put in new axle and charged me $572.25 for the shaft part, no labor as ***** said "how did **** miss that" We had gone to pick up the ******** a few days previously and did not get out of the yard before the engine light came on again which they were supposed to repair but a connector was now faulty because of multiple removals, so they put a new connector on for $72.50 which we paid. I took the ******** to my regular mechanic, ******** ****** of ******* **** to put summer tires back on and while on the hoist he showed me that the bracket that connects the motor and transmission was missing.******************************************************************************************************************** I called ABL on May 1, 2014 and left a message that the bracket was missing and may be on ****'s work bench and I would like to pick it up and put it on and see if that would help stop the leak. May 6, 2014 and 9:05 am, I left a message with *****'s wife ****** who said she would have ***** call me (****** is the owner & operator) . ***** never called me back and on May 20, 2014 my wife ***** and I stopped at ABL and ***** gave us the bracket and said he did not know why his mechanic, **** left it off. I had paid ABL in full for everything without question and he cannot even return my call or even offer to install the bracket back on the ********. *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I would have to bring the ******** into a reputable dealership or automotive shop and he has to pay for it. ***********************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/11) */ When Mr. *****'s 2003 ******** came in to our facility we were asked to check for an oil leak. There was oil from one end of the engine to the other. We shampooed it off, took a test drive & rechecked. With this massive oil leak a number of issues could arise & we informed client of same. The first issue was that the engine oil filter adaptor gasket was leaking as well as the valve cover gaskets. We informed client that those would have to be repaired first, then drive it for a while & we would recheck to look for further leaks. When client returned we found oil leaking from the oil pan & from between the transmission & engine. We retorqued all the oil pan bolts as they were all loose. This leak had nothing to do with the valve cover gasket or oil filter adaptor gasket repair work we performed earlier. We informed client that either the rear main seal or the oil galary plugs on the back of the engine were leaking, may also need an oil pan gasket because retorquing the bolts will not fix a bad gasket. The car had just had a transmission installed & it is a common practice to install a rear main seal when the job is performed. We asked client if the facility that replaced his transmission replaced the seal. If they did, he should consider taking it back for warranty. The car was continually returned to us at which time we shampooed, test drove & rechecked for oil leaks all at our expense. The oil filter adaptor gasket as well as the valve cover gaskets were not leaking, the oil leak was coming from the rear of the engine. Client advised us that his mechanic stated that there was no way the rear main seal could leak, the leak was not from the rear of the engine, it was somewhere in the front of the engine...client would not believe our diagnosis. Regarding the bracket, it is a minor support bracket that goes on the side of the engine to a bracket on the transmission. This bracket being left off would not damage his vehicle nor have caused a major accident as stated by client. We offered to replace same but he declined. Addressing the engine light, the car originally came in for an abs problem & we repaired the abs wiring harness. When client drove out, his engine light came on. In an attempt to keep a good relationship, we repaired the problem for just the cost of the connector. This repair again had nothing to do with multiple removals as stated by client nor with the abs wiring harness. This was a new issue that didn't occur when we took our test drive. We have always & will continue to operate our facility with honesty & integrity. Even though a year & five months have passed & warranty for labor & parts has long since expired, we propose that client & his mechanic attend with his vehicle at our facility where we will re-examine for oil leaks. Should the valve cover gaskets and/or oil filter adaptor gasket need to be replaced, we wil do so at our facility & at our expense. Further oil leaks or any other leaks or other issues not associated with the above will be client's financial responsibiity, not ours.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AB'L Auto Electric Ltd
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)