BBB Accredited Business since

City Auto & Truck Parts

Phone: (780) 440-1400 Fax: (780) 466-7655 View Additional Phone Numbers 5504 17 St, Edmonton, AB T6P 1T6 http://www.cityauto.ca


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that City Auto & Truck Parts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for City Auto & Truck Parts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on City Auto & Truck Parts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 18, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Business Management
Dave Holloway, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dave Holloway, President
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Wrecking Auto Salvage Yards Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mechanic could not find repair and I made several trips to the City and still had to pay for shop time. My car was having an electrical issue. It would start only if you "crossed over" the starter. On doing such, I drove it over to City Auto on Nov. 2nd, 2015. On Nov. 4th City Auto still had not found the problem. When the mechanic drove my car around out front, I had come in to pick it up, he drove it into the cement stall block out front. There was no damage. ******************************************************************* I paid City Auto $210 by debit. City Auto did rotate my tires to help compensate the bill. What is upsetting for me, besides the mechanic driving my car into the block, and paying for a 'repair' service I did not receive was upon the advice of my son, I took the car to **************** Automotive in **************. They found the problem to be a faulty fuse, fixed it in half an hour, and their bill was $55.00.

Desired Settlement: Refund of my $210 as I feel the mechanic at City Auto was not competent to diagnose the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/23) */ We are very pleased that the issue with ********* car has been resolved. Unfortunately we did not find the problem. However it was not for lack or trying or knowledge. We repair over 100 cars a month and have a 99% success rate. We did recommend another shop we deal with when she picked up her car. That being said not every shop ca find the exact problem on every issue on every car. The car was in our shop for a couple of days and we spent many hours diagnosing and scanning. We do not feel guilty charging for only 2 hrs of shop time for our efforts and our mechanics time. ALL shops charge by the hour for diagnosing and scanning. She did not in any way indicate at the time that there was a problem with paying for the 2 hours of time. In light of the formal complaint we respectfully ask ******** to come in and pay $75.00 for the tire rotations Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/12/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

10/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a used engine from City Auto and installed it. Engine had a dead cylinder after installation. We bought a used engine from City Auto & Truck Parts. We were told it had warranty. When it arrived it had water in the heads*******************. City Auto advised us they had pressure washed it and it was fine. We paid $350.00 freight to get the engine here. Upon installation which is 10 hours book time on ********, the engine was found to have a dead cylinder. We contacted City Auto and Corey advised that they would warranty the engine and give us a 900 labour credit. They then sent us another used engine provided by *********************** in ********* that was billed to City Auto as well as the freight cost. City Auto advised that they would warranty this engine if this was a problem as well. After installation it was found that this engine also had a dead cylinder. I contacted Corey at City Auto and she transferred me to the owner that advised they would not be giving me any labour credit even after they advised us the first time that they would. I received credit for the engine and that's it. I am out 20+ hours worth of labour plus spark plugs, oil, etc. as well as $350.00 for freight. ************************************************************************************ I would expect a reputable business to honour the deal we made.

Desired Settlement: I expect a credit for the labour of 1800.00 as the engines supplied by City Auto were both faulty. That was what was agreed to.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/24) */ We sold a used 5.7 L engine for a 2004 ram 2500 to ******** in *********** We sell our parts with a 90 day warranty on parts only not labor as specified on the back of our invoices but we dont have a problem working with our customers if they are reasonable with us ****************************************************. I finally told her that I am not doing anything for her for labour************************************** on the phone. The engine that we sold was tested and driven daily here for over 6 mths before we sold it to them. The day before we shipped it we pulled the engine strapped it to a skid and washed it. When they received the engine they called us and complained that they found some water in the valve cover. I assured her that it was just from the pressure washer and it would not cause any damage to the engine. They phoned back a few days later and said the engine was no good. we find this hard to believe the motor ran great for us the day we pulled it and a few days later it was ***. That being said we agreed to find them another one from a yard in BC. They actually sent us a video of it running before we ordered it with complete confidence. ******** agreed to the second engine so we got ******************* in BC to send it to them for warranty and again they installed this engine and called us and said it was junk and it has lost a cylinder, now we are at 2 engines and installs and we question if they are at fault******************************************************************... 2 good running engines both tested and even a video of one of them and both are no good when they install them. The intake has to be pulled when installing these engines due to no room to get it past the firewall. Making it easy to drop something in one of the exposed valves. It is difficult to lay blame or accept blame on this matter however we stand behind our parts and they are all tested before we sell them and don't have a problem with warranty or even some labor. We never agreed to pay $1800 Labor. We have been in business for 29 years and have always resolved any issues in a professional and proper manner. *********************************************************************************** We respectfully decline any contact with ******** regarding this matter however we would be more than happy to talk to a more professional representative for that company...... Thank you Giz Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/09/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The correct business name is******** not ********. I was never rude to you. The engine that you sold us had water which we have pictures of. The engine may well have run when it left your business, however as soon as the vehicle was put under load the engine started knocking. ************************************************************************************************************ Since I spoke to you, I have talked to ******* where the second engine came from and they are standing behind their engine that wasn't running. They also advised me that it was a high mileage engine, not with 198,000 km on it like you portrayed. It had almost 300,000 km on it. I spoke with you twice on the phone and both times you were not polite. Corey from you office advised us that you would stand behind both engines, if we had known the second engine had that many kms on it we never would have wasted out time installing it. Please let me know if you are going to be giving us a credit for the labour*************************************************************************************************************************************************************. Let me know what you will be doing or I will proceed with the small claims.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on City Auto & Truck Parts
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)