BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/11/1973

Norden Autohaus

Phone: (780) 484-3000Fax: (780) 481-0092View Additional Phone Numbers14703 137 Ave, EdmontonAB T5L 2L5 Send email to Norden AutohausView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/11/1973

BBB has determined that Norden Autohaus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Norden Autohaus' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Norden Autohaus

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Vehicle was purchased new from VW Norden Autohaus Sept 14, 2011. The vehicle is a ****** ********. Within the first year the car was exhibiting frame cracking issues and was looked at by Norden. The vehicle was sent out to a body shop and injected with some type of foam. This would have been around September 11, 2012. This was covered under warranty. This solution did not last long as the vehicle has in my belief an inherent factory defect in the frame as the issue returned and the vehicle was at Norden once again August 28,2013. The issue has been identified, but no resolution. This is a huge safety issue as it deals with the structure of the vehicle. The vehicle has been stripped completely and by no means can you call it new anymore as the vehicle will not be re-assembled as at the factory and who knows what modifications to the structure are made that affect the safety rating of the vehicle. Repeat calls go unanswered and call backs are few and far between. Only updates we receive are from our repeat phone calls with status update inquiries, but it's the same excuse that "a rep is working on it". VW Canada was also contacted, but no resolution or concern from them either to date. Vehicle is still with VW.

Desired Settlement
I would like the vehicle replaced or purchase funds refunded as I don't feel safe having my pregnant wife and infant son driving a vehicle where the frame is not sound.

Business Response
I've attempted to call ******* to resolve this for him immediately. This issue is a problem that we have escalated to VW Canada, we are waiting for them to process the complaint so that we may get it fixed. If ******* is not happy with the vehicle even if we do get it corrected, I am more than happy to work something out where we may find an alternative car for him.

02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Service date 21Feb14. Sales rep ******* ** ***** VIN *****************. PAYMENT AMOUNT 6449.09, PAYMENT METHOD CASH. When i phoned them about what i thought the problem. I said I think my timing chain is broken. The person on the phone said it was a finicky problem. My car and others were and are known to have problems with timing chain issues at the amount of kilometres i had on it. XXXXXX. Even though they took out my transmission and looked and had to re seal the timing chain covers. They didn't find this problem. Even though they found other problems. They were supposed to fix all the problems with it, but not this problem i have now. I was told it would be another 3000 to fix the problem. i shouldn't have to pay another 3000 to make the total 9449.09 when they could of fixed this problem the first time they took out the transmission and timing chain.

Desired Settlement
The problem to be fixed for the amount of the part alone. Or at least 1/2 the cost of the problem. i shouldn't have to pay for the mechanics to take out my transmission a second time to fix a problem they didn't fix the first time.

Business Response
Mr. ***** had originally brought the vehicle in for a running concern (vehicle would not stay running) . Upon inspection, the vehicle needed a crank sensor and an N80 valve. Upon being able to drive the vehicle to diagnose any other concerns, the technician noted that the CV axle was clicking, and that there was a leak from the rear of the engine. The leak ended up coming from the Vacuum pump and the rear timing chain cover. The work was completed, all leaks were resolved, and the vehicle was test driven and was fully operational condition. This was the only time the client has been in to Norden Volkswagen, we did not see the vehicle before or after the work had been completed. The client had picked up the vehicle April 25th, 2014. If the timing chain had any concerns upon being in the store, there is no way that the vehicle would even be able to drive away, let alone run for another 8 months. With a timing chain, they are either broken or not, there really is no in between or any sort of maintenance interval. To top all of this off, we still have not even seen the vehicle to confirm whether or not it actually needs a timing chain or if there is a different concern.


****** *****
General Manager
XXXXX XXX Ave. Edmonton AB T5L 2L5
phone: 780.484.3000 email:******
cell phone: 780.991.2356

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm not sure where you got the information about me receiving my car April 25 14. I did not get my car until the start of augest and my car didn't sound normal when I left and only worked from the city back to Wabasca. Maybe a total of 2 days before it totally quit and won't start. And you haven't seen my car since because the car will not move or run so I'll have to tow it back to the city like the first time, when I shouldn't because the problems should have all been fixed. Also a estimate of 3000 to fix a problem? If you looked at the timing chain covers why didn't your mechanics look at the chains themselves? That would of saved me 3000. So me paying 6499 and I know it took me a while to pay it off but it's hard when you only have a minmum paying job, and for it only to work for 2 days when I finally get it back. I think I deserve some compensation for paying that much money for it only to drive a total of XXX-XXX kilometres before breaking again.

Final Business Response
We worked on Mr. *****'s car from 21 Feb 2014 to 07 Mar 2104.
We allowed him to make payments on his car and the last payment was received 08 Aug 2014 and I believe his car was picked up at that time. We did not receive a call from Mr. ***** for several months after he picked up. We do not know the cause of the no start at this time or if the timing chain is an issue.
We offer a 1 year or 20000km warranty on parts and workmanship performed by our service department. We have no problem diagnosing the issue for free to see if the timing chain is in fact the cause of the no start. If we find that our Technician was negligent in replacing the timing chain cover gaskets and it lead to the failure of the chain we will look after the repair and would cover the cost of towing the car to our dealership. There is no maintenance interval for replacement of the timing chain and in our experience they usually last over 300 000 km. He is assuming that the timing chain is the problem with his car not starting and that must be confirmed before we can move forward.
I would like Mr. ***** to tow the car to us and we can verify the cause of the no start at no charge and then discuss this further. After the cause of the no start is found we can settle this and would give consideration on what he has spent on repairs already at our dealership.

****** *****
General Manager
XXXXX XXX Ave. Edmonton AB T5L 2L5
phone: 780.484.3000 email:******
cell phone: 780.991.2356

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i did phone the next day and a few times after but there was no answer and i phoned at all different times. Im pretty sure the timing chain is the problem and i dont have 3000 to throw down the drain to fix it. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I bought a 2015 *** from Norden VW in Edmonton and I regret it.
1. VW issues a recall on the driver side harness; They never told me, they never tested it before I purchased or drove the car; I had to find out on my own and scheduled a service.
2. Gear #5 slips out when you shift into it casually (They test drove it and tried to convince me that there is no issue. They drained the transmission fluid and found metal pieces in it, told me they had to replace the transmission then changed their mind)
3. ** was re-done twice (may have to be re-done again)
4. Car has 1600KM and I've driven it less than the time it has been in service.

The dealership can't do anything...** *****************************************************************************************

No one informs me of changes to the situation.

Desired Settlement
I would like compensation because I'm paying for a brand new vehicle to drive.

1. Replace the vehicle since its brand new
2. Replace transmission and gearbox all together
3. Install automatic starter as a gift.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** GM
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******
Norden completely aggrees with the client that this is a very frustrating situation. The client brought the vehicle in Sept. 23rd for a recall and a transmission issue. Same day, the client received confirmation that the pop out issue was found and that further diagnosis was needed. ** tech line was notified and we were asked to drop the transmission pan and check the fluid. There were metal fillings in the trans pan and upon further inspection the transmission required a 5th gear synchro. Parts were ordered and the last part we have been waiting on (transmission fluid)arrived today. The vehicle should be ready by tomorrow afternoon. While I can completely understand the clients request for a new transmission being installed, ** and every other warranty/insurance company will only authorize to replace defective parts. We have been in touch with ** in regards to the clients request for compensation, and I see a remote start as being quite reasonable considering the time removed from his vehicle. The only thing holding up the compensation for the wait time is us confirming that the car is fixed and everything is fine. As long as we hold on schedule and the car is good to go by the end of the week; then Norden, with *** would be more than happy to fulfill the clients request.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto/Truck Service - Accessories, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, All-Terrain Vehicles

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 31/10/1973Business started: 25/09/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alberta Motor Vehicle Industry Council
303-9945 50 St
Edmonton, AB T6A 0L4
(780) 466-1140

Contact Information
Principal: Philip Abram (GM) Ben Kolbuc (Owner) Sarnesh Narayan (General Manager) Virginia Wickens (Controller)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto/Truck Service - Accessories, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, All-Terrain Vehicles

Products & Services

This company states they specialize in Volkswagen and Porsche vehicles.

Alternate Business Names
Tnarg Holdings Ltd, Norden Volkswagen Limited, Go Auto

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Norden Autohaus

14703 137 Ave

Edmonton, AB T5L 2L5

To | From


1 Locations

  • 14703 137 Ave 

    Edmonton, AB T5L 2L5(780) 484-3000
    (800) 661-9645

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in . Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Norden Autohaus is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 661-9645

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB serving Central and Northern Alberta, Northeastern British Columbia, Lloydminster, Nunavut, and the Northwest Territories (BBB) began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that were received after January 1 2013.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.