BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/1971

Koch Ford Lincoln Sales (2003) Ltd

Phone: (780) 434-8411Fax: (780) 435-5169

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Monday, August 26th, 2013 I placed what I was assured by **** was a 100% refundable deposit.
on a used 2013 **** ****** with **** and *** (Dealer would not provide last names or titles) of **** Ford.
The payment was made by *****
A receipt was provided that states:
P3703 - dep. subject to financing terms. re: *****
The financing terms I was offered were unacceptable.
The dealer continued to advertise the truck on ******* up to August 31st.
I asked Koch to provide information requested by a third party financer.
This information was not provided by Koch.
A week passed without communication from the dealer.
I returned to the dealership on Friday, September 6th, 2013, requesting a refund on the deposit.
A partial refund was offered by ***** (Dealer would not provide last names or titles) by Koch due to installation of Mud Flaps.
I refused a partial refund.
I did not sign a work order authorizing or accepting responsibility for the installation of any parts or accessories.
I will not pay for parts on a truck that I do not own.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund for the 1,000.00 deposit I placed at Koch Ford.

Business Response
The Deposit of $ 1000.00 already refunded on September 7th, 2013

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The deposit has been refunded, *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On July 30, 2013, I took our Ford vehicle to Koch Ford as I had a funny sound coming from engine suspected manifold issue, Koch checked the issue, charged me $175.00 and told me that the issue is a lifter noise not manifold and could cost up to $2,000 to confirm, I said no, ***************. Nose continued, took vehicle to *********, service manager confirmed that it was a manifold issue. I went to Koch and asked for my $175.00 back due to their error, they refused to refund me.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the $175.00 I paid. KOCH offered to re-check, ****************************************************** and at this point I do not have any faith in their service dept.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@gmail.com
**** came in to advise us that he received a second opinion on his noise concern.

He advised us that he had stopped by **** **** and a Shop Foreman had looked at vehicle outside in parking lot, whom giving him a different opinion than our technician's.

We offered two solutions to the problem:

1) We could recheck the vehicle free of charge. If we were wrong we would refund his inspection charge.

- On this point the inspection charge for this noise alone was not
$175.00 it was $72.48. He had another concern on vehicle that we addressed with the steering.

2) If he went back to team and had the vehicle put through the shop and we he supplied us with an invoice indicating that our diagnoses was wrong and there was nothing wrong with the lifters at all we would also refund his money.

The fact that has only an opinion from a technician in a parking lot diagnoses and is unwilling to let us recheck the vehicle lead me to the decision not to refund his money.

Option one is currently off the table as the client has also contacted Ford of Canada and threatened Legal action. Ford of Canada has also advised him that because he has threatened legal action they will no longer work with him at the customer assistance level.

Option 2 is still available. If the client has an invoice from a reputable repair center that says our diagnosis of his lifter making noise is incorrect we will gladly refund his money for the inspection of the engine noise only. Not the additional dollars that were spent looking into his steering issue.

If any further information is required please let me know.

04/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Truck Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, All-Terrain Vehicles

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.