BBB Accredited Business since

Denny Andrews Ford Sales Inc

Phone: (780) 489-9999 Fax: (780) 930-3191 View Additional Phone Numbers 18208 Stony Plain Rd, Edmonton, AB T5S 1A7

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Denny Andrews Ford Sales Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Denny Andrews Ford Sales Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 1986 Business started: 05/01/1986 Business started locally: 05/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alberta Motor Vehicle Industry Council (AMVIC)
303-9945 50 St, Edmonton AB T6A 0L4
Phone Number: (780) 466-1140

Business Management
Betty Mechefske, Controller Quentin Boser, GSM
Contact Information
Principal: Betty Mechefske, Controller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Truck Dealers Truck Dealers Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs

Additional Locations

  • 18208 Stony Plain Rd

    Edmonton, AB T5S 1A7 (780) 930-3167 (780) 489-9999


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Denny Andrews Ford customer service staff had me waiting for three days without a car while nothing ever got resolved. I dropped the car off at Denny Andrews Ford late Monday, June 6th, at 5:30pm. My car stalled in their parking lot. I spoke to service staff to look at the issue with my car, where my car was stalling on several different occasions with no obvious problems known to me. We made an appointment for Wednesday, June 8th, but after I wasn't able to start the car again, I asked if it could be looked at the next day. Service person said they would check with mechanics next morning and let me know. I asked for a ride home and their shuttle service dropped me off at home, which was very nice. The next day I received a text from someone at Denny Andrews saying that the car was able to start but that they will try to run the car to replicate the problem. I followed up with a phone call and confirmed with the service representative that someone had tried to replicate the problem but they were unable to do so. They had put a call into the **** hotline to speak to a **** engineer to try and diagnose the problem. They advised me that they needed another day with the car so they can figure things out with the engineer. I was not happy not to have the car diagnosed but I agreed, as it looked like there might finally be a diagnoses. I was told that they would advise me of the situation the next morning. After not receiving a voicemail next morning I called them. They told me they were going to check into it and would call me back in the afternoon. I was too busy at work to call them so after not hearing back I stopped by the dealership to check in. This was on Wednesday, June 8th. I was told that the dealership was still waiting for the engineer from the Ford hotline to get back to them and would need the car for another day. I proceeded to ask if a courtesy vehicle was available, and it wasn't. This option was never offered to me in the first place, nor was an offer for a rental vehicle in the absence of a curtesy car. I was told that they would get back to me on the situation again the next day. Again, no voicemail, so I called the dealership. Service immediately passed me to Marjorie from another department. I wasn't told from which, but I can assume she worked for the warranty department, but I'm not sure. So after two and half days of diagnoses she said something like "before we or the engineers can diagnose the problem, we would need to remove all the aftermarket parts. We are preparing a quote to remove the aftermarket car started". I stopped her here, as after two and half days the only response I got to fixing the issue was that they were going to charge me to take something out that the **** Dealership in another location I bought the car from had installed for me as part of the purchase of the vehicle. You can just imagine how frustrating this sounds. After explaining the fact that **** had installed the remote starter for me in the first place and that this would need to be covered under their cost, all I was told was no *** ***** ** **** ***** **** ** ******** **** ***** ** **********. She didn't give a premise to the quote, an explanation, or bother to advise me to go to the dealer where I bought the car. After more nopes and grunts from her end she offered me to speak to the manager. I wasn't interested to listening to her anymore and I hung up. She called me back, and instead of hanging up again I listened. Now she was telling me that regardless of what I do **** would still like to know about this issue and would like to diagnose it. This is great for ****, but what does that have to do with me. I had to cut her off again, tell her that I'm not interested in dealing with her anymore, that I will be there to pick up the car and take it to my dealership and that I will be speaking to BBB and **** about their and her service. * ***** *** ******* ***** ** ********** I picked up the car after work to find out that my car was left on an empty gas tank. I had left it with them half full.

Desired Settlement: Denny Andrews Ford had wasted a lot of my time. Three days to be exact, before telling me what I originally told them what might be the issue in the first place (the remote starter might be causing the car to stall). I had told them this when I dropped the car off. The final invoice copy also says this, except that it actually gives a **** **** *****, which can really be anything from the key to the ECU. I wish I was just sent this wording first and Marjorie never called me. *** ****** *** ** ******* **** * ***** ** ********** She could not have mishandled it any worse. And finally, what I want is Denny Andrews Ford to fill up my half tank of gas back. The fact that they burnt that much gas ** **** ***** *** ********* *** they need to pay me back for that. *** **** **** ** ***** *** ** * *** **** *** ** ****** ******** ** ** **** ***

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: Kevin Fixed operations
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ********************************
Yes we had Mr. *********** car here for 3 days and yes we used up some of the fuel in the tank. This vehicle came in with an intermittent stalling issue. We had a tech on this car every day for 3 days. The tech did not work on it full time but kept it running and monitoring it during this time. Finally on the 3 day the car sputtered and stalled. At this time it was determined that the cause of the problem was the after market car starter that was installed by an aftermarket company. It was suggested that the aftermarket car starter would have to come out so that the tech could check with an IDS machine to see if there was any damage done to the on car computer or module. This was also confirmed with the **** hotline people. The service adviser stayed in touch with the customer, every day to give him an update. Sometimes by phone and sometimes by text which we have records of. All seemed to go very well up until the customer was told that the cause was the aftermarket starter and it would have to be removed and that the cost would not be covered by warranty. The service adviser suggested that we would share the cost with him but he was not interested in paying anything at all and he insisted that he would take it back to the selling dealer that had apparently had the aftermarket starter installed for him at the time of purchase. YES, All this was explained to the customer ** ******* ********. *** ******** *** ****** **** * ***** ***** * ******* ** **** ******* ******** ** **** ** *** ***** The tech invested many hrs. into resolving this issue, which he got paid for. However Denny Andrews Ford was not able to collect a dime from mister *********. It's true,He may be out a bit of gas that was used up trying to reproduce the issues with HIS car, we do not feel guilty about that, as we never collected anything for our efforts. As far as we are concerned the service adviser, the technician and **** engineering did everything by the book and in an accommodating friendly manner. We understand the frustrations that customers experience in cases where they might have to share the cost because of things like this that may not be covered by warranty. For a few dollars invested by Mr. *********, his car could have been repaired and on it's way once the tech was able to reproduce the concern. I'm sure the company that installed the aftermarket starter would have been more than willing to jump in and help out. After all their reputation is also on the line. Bottom line is that we did not install this after market starter that just happened to be the cause of this issue.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
* ******* **** *** ***** *** ********** ** *** ************* ******* * ***** ******** *** * ****** ***** I want Denny Andrews to pay me back the value to fill the tank up to half full, as they did not diagnose the problem. *** * ****** *********** *** ** ** ******* ***** *** * *********** * ***** *** ***** ** ****** *** **** ********** ******** * **** ***** * ********* ***** *** ** ***** ***** ********* *** ** ******** ** *** ******* *** ******* ** *** **** The issue with the remote starter is assumed, which is why they asked to remove the starter to diagnose the car. I have even come up with this assumption myself and have shared it with them when I dropped the car off. Like I said, the code read out is so vague that it can apply to anything like the key or ECU having a defect, which is a very big range. It could possibly be related to the starter but the fact is that they just don't know. Why are you claiming that the starter was the issue? If it was, you would not need to remove it and diagnose it again. This is simply verging on being unethical. Regardless, I am dealing with my dealership on resolving this issue instead. I am sure that the mechanic had tried his best, and I want to thank him for that, but the warranty person was awful. Also, please respond to why a courtesy car was not offered or a rental in it's place when one was not available? This is standard protocol for every dealership I've dealt with. Why was this not offered, and why did I have to ask? You have ignored this in your response. My last point will be that I am not at all surprised by your response. Classless and defensive, and not at all professional. You demonstrate a complete failure to accept responsibility, or even to apologize for the poor service by your warranty staff. * **** ***** ***** ***** ** ***** ** ****** ** ***** * ******* ** ***** ******** ******* **** *** *** **** ***** ******** ********* **** *** ******* ** *** ***** ** ******** ** * ****** ******* **** ****** **** ** ****** **** ** **** *** **** ******** ********* **** *** *** *** *** * ******* ****** *** ******** ******* * **** *** ******** *** **** ********** *** ****** ** **** ******* ** *** ******* ***** * ** **** ** **** *** *********** ****** *** * ****** * *** *** ***** ********* *** *** ** **** * **** ** ****** *** * **** ** *** ****** *** ****** *** ** ** ** ******** ***** ******* * **** ***** **** **** ** *** ***** *** * **** ***** **** **** ************ * **** ***** **** ***** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** ****** ** *** ***** ******* *** **** **** **** **** ** ******** I believe that they can do better and need to take responsibility for the poor service of their warranty staff. I have never once had to so much as complain to another dealership about their service or have an uncomfortable conversation with them over the phone. **** ** ** ***** *** ********** * ******** ** ********* ** ***** **** ****** **** ** **** **** *********** **** **** ** ********* ** *** **** ***** ****** ** *** ***** * **** ******* ** **** *********

Consumer Response: I attached the invoice showing $0 owing.  ** *** **** ** ***** ***** ** **** *** ** *** *** **** **** **** ****** *** *** ***** ************  I just want to make sure that you understand that you can't say that anything related to this work is not under warranty, since they didn't diagnose the car and don't know what's actually causing the issue, and if it should be covered by the warranty or not.  ********** **** *** **** ******** *** *** ****** ** ***** ***** ******  You will see that they in the invoice they refer to the remote starter, but if you research the PATS code listed it's related to a wide variety of things.  * **** ****** ***** **** ** ***** **** **** *******  They didn't charge me for the service to that point ******* **** **** **** ********.  It was not even an argument about it.  I showed up to the pick up the car and the invoice copy was given to me like this.  I just didn't sign their copy, that's all.
******** **** **** ******* **** ***** *****  ** ** ******* * ***** *** **** ***** *** ***** ** ***** **** ** ***** *** **** ** *** **** *****  * **** **** *** ** ** ***** ** *** *** ******* *** ** ********* *** **** ** ******* *** * * ** ******* * **** ***** ** ******* **** ***** **** **** ****** * *******

8/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i got a 2010 ******* 2 half years ago. a truck i didnt want ********************** so when i first took it out of the lot i allready had probles. i told the dealer bout it and took it in thy said nothning wrong with it the truck back from them and same problems i callled then agin and nothin was done .after awhile my rear diff went and the dealer fixed it and 5 months later same thing happin but now i had to pay it ..i payed for the rear diff clutch package and a new tranfer case!!! i tryed askin to trade in truck but thy didnt want it and said for me to pay it out. a year later my engine went on the truck i had to pay 7000 to fix it witch thy didnt wana help me out my truck broke down again and and stuck with this truck still owe $24,000 on it for a truck dont even run..***************

Desired Settlement: take this truck back !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this concern. Denny Andrews Ford strives to provide the highest level of service and satisfaction to each and every customer. Our records indicate that Mr. ****** purchased this particular truck Oct 1 2011. The vehicle was subjected to an AMVIC mechanical fitness assessmant inspection and passed per the requirements. This inspection was reviewed by Mr. ****** and his signature is on the inspection form. The mileage at the time was 65,707 kms. Mr. ****** was offered the protection of an extended warranty and declined to purchase one. This is noted by his signature on the original bill of sale. Warranty history does show that Mr. ****** had visited our service department on or around May 11 2012 (7 months later) with 109,680 kms. Repairs were performed on the vehicle at this time. Mr. ****** has had this vehicle to another **** dealership for service as well. On Jan 18 2013 Mr. ****** attempted to trade the truck off with us with an odometer reading (as per the customer) exceeding 160,000 kms. We were unable to arrange satisfactory financing for Mr. ******. We are not aware of the current mileage on this particular truck at this time, but we do reserve the right to refuse to purchase(take on trade) any vehicle at any time based on several factors (poor maintenance/poor condition/prior accident history/excessive mileage, etc) If management has refused to take this particular truck on trade it is for good reason, likely related to one of the issues noted above. If Mr. ****** wishes for us to review this potential transaction he is free to contact any of our sales managers either in person or by phone and we would be happy to review his situation for any potential solutions, but we do not we simply take vehicles back several years and several miles later. This request is unreasonable. Our Managers may be contacted at ************ (*** ****** or ************ (***** ************ I trust this information is helpful and look forward to your response. ******* ***** GSM ****** (XXX)XXX XXXX

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Denny Andrews Ford Sales Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)