BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 15/03/1995

City Ford Sales Ltd

Phone: (780) 454-2000Fax: (780) 447-2912

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
04/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Estimate verbally given was incorrect/labour not included
April 16/16

Estimate was given over the phone together with appointment to have work completed. Car was dropped off without any paperwork given. Only our contact number was verified verbally.

Desired Settlement
We were charged 4 hours labour for a trailer hitch & wiring to be installed. The estimate we were verbally given did not include labour, but at no time was that amount given with the estimate. This is unacceptable business practise. I dropped the car off & should have been shown the estimate, but instead all the guy did was ask for our home phone number.

Final Consumer Response
*** and **** <**************@gmail.com>
8:46 AM (2 minutes ago)

to me
Hello - This is in regard to Complaint Case # XXXXXXX that was sent online yesterday. This complaint has been completely resolved by the Manager of City Ford Sales, who has provided a refund in the amount of $300. for the work that was done on our vehicle. My husband spoke to a *** Hill this morning from City Ford Sales.

Cheers - **** ****

10/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our Salesperson never disclosed that the vehicle was in two different motor vehicle collision. - -1,819.23$ in April 2014. - 5,413.58$ in November 14.
Our Salesperson, Mo D**** from City Ford SaLes never disclosed that the vehicle we bought (************* Limited 2013, VIN: *****************) was in two different motor vehicle collision. - Estimated repair of 1,819.23$ in April 2014. - Estimated repair of 5,413.58$ in November 2014. We would have NEVER bought the SUV if we knew this. Also, they do not advertise their price "all in". The GST and other fees and extras are NOT on the price of the vehicle. We actually realised the GST and other things later on. We wish to cancel the sale contract. We did left with the SUV on the same day (Oct 4th 2015) for he told us we could live with it and take it back within the week to have the windshield replace and the scratch on the rear bumper's paint fixed and other fixed to be done. We brought the SUV back to them on the 7th of October for the repairs. When we went back on the morning of the 10th, not only the scratch in the bumpers were not repaired but new things had appeared !! We refused the SUV as it was, left it there and told them it would stay there up until it is exactly in the condition he is supposed to be (and as promised) : as good as new !!! Since then we learned that the SUV was in 2 VEHICLE COLLISIONS which was NEVER disclosed. The SUV is still at the dealer.

We have paid a down paiement of 2000 $ and traded a ********** 2001 and a ************* 2000.

The total amount of the purchase was 45,788.31$. We loaned 38,788.31 $ to the ** throught City Ford financial department.

Desired Settlement
We wish for the dealer to cancel the sale.

Business Response
Thank you for this opportunity.. MR. ******* has been refunded all deposits and his contract with us and ********* has been cancelled . No further action is required on our part .We have no dispute .. thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

City Ford gave us 3 options:

- They give us 2000$ on the actual deal.
- We go back and they will make a great deal to us on a new vehicle.
- If we can't trust them still, they will cancel the sale.

He asked that we think about it and we agreed just to favorize **************** the settlement and to make sure the cancellation goes smoothly (no attempt to make us pay for the fees or else and that we do recover the 2000$ in downpayment + the value for the two vehicle we traded in).

*We finalized everything with City Ford, and I recovered my trade-ins and they cancelled the sale and the loan, I got confirmation of this in writing. And I have purchased another vehicle.

Thank you very much BBB!




10/07/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2013 ford escape through city ford sales dealer *************. This deal was completed over the phone and as part of this deal I was told a remote start would be installed in the vehicle. When I arrived to pick up the vehicle on August 10th. ****** was not there, and the remote start was not installed. At that time I dealt with another salesmen there *** ******* *** spoke to the sales manager and informed me that I could have the remote start installed at another dealer which could be paid for through city ford with a purchase order. I've discovered that this is not possible. The dealership in yellowknife requires payment via credit card. The sales manager is not returning my calls or emails at this time.

Desired Settlement
I want city ford to pay to have the remote start installed in my vehicle as promised. I can take the car to kingland ford in either hay river or yellowknife but I request that this be prepaid as I do not trust that I would be reimbursed.

Business Response
We apologize for not responding to ****. Since this letter was went we have tried to reach **** to no avail. We have made arrangements with Kingland Ford to pay for the remote starter as promised.

02/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a 2014 ******. Had it for 24km. Condition of the vehicle was not as relayed. Requested to purchase new. Downpayment and trade in value kept.
Being a loyal City Ford Customer 9+ years & looking forward to another purchase, I went to City Ford on Mon. Dec. 14, 2015 considering a 2014 *********** SE 4WD. Salesman W**** D**** and manager R****** F********. After test driving one I was told there was another having its inspection and servicing completed & it would arrive in a few days (VIN *****************). I was told that to hold the price quote until it was available for a test drive I would need to fill out paperwork to have financing preapproval & leave a refundable deposit. A $449.00 document fee was then added on top of the quoted price and told it was mandatory. No negotiation allowed regarding that. Both sales & finance knew that I was not purchasing the vehicle until I had a chance to see/drive & agree to it. "Of course" I was told. My refundable $500.00 deposit cheque was cashed on Thurs. Dec 17th when I hadn't even purchased the vehicle yet. Friday, Dec. 18th the vehicle arrived. Took for a test drive at 6:30pm. Expressed concerns to both W**** and R****** that the windshield whistled/rattled & that the traction of the tires was subpar to the loaner I was given while waiting for this one to arrive to test. Was assured the windshield would be fixed & W**** checked the tread depth & said the treads were excellent - better than the loaner I had. I expressed used vehicle reliability concerns ********************* & bumper to bumper warranty nearing expiration. I also expressed great concern when I inquired about the **** Certified Pre-Owned Program & was told that City Ford does not subscribe. I was ************** told not to worry - the inspection came back perfect & if I had any concerns whatsoever to come back & they would make sure I was happy. I took them at their word. Paperwork finished to complete the sale at 7:30pm on Fri. Dec. 18th and I gave an additional $1000.00 **** down payment. The date of sale/start of financing was not written as Dec. 18th as it should have been.

Instead it was written 4 days early as Dec. 14th - date of preapproval. I had not even seen the used vehicle yet, nor was a full bill of sale fully filled out as of that date. I have a photocopy showing blank amounts in the ***** fee, GST, Deposits, Registration Fee, and Balance Due fields from Dec. 14th.

I was sliding quite a bit on my way home. Vehicle was parked until Sunday, Dec. 20th and took it to ************* - tread wear measured. 3 different tread depths from front to back including 1 new mismatched tire and 2 at a much lower tread level which wouldn't have made it through the winter. I immediately phoned W**** at 1:00pm and asked for a meeting that day. I understood how busy they were on a Sunday & agreed to meet 10:00am Mon. Dec 21st.

I expressed extreme concern about how the inspection did not give me confidence in this used vehicle (insp. & servicing was dated Sept. 4th, 2015, 3.5 months before I came in & not the week I was looking at purchasing as I was told). I considered their new tires offer - declined and decided a new 2016 vehicle would be a better fit for me with full warranty. I had driven the used 2014 a total of 24km. ***********************************. R****** said he wanted me to have a good fit in a vehicle and switching shouldn't be a problem if financing hadn't gone through yet.

He checked, and I was told that funds had just been advanced that morning. As a result, if I wanted to switch the used 2014 & upgrade to a new 2016 instead, he would only accept the one I drove for 24km over the course of 2 days as a "Trade In" only at the financed value. I had to forfeit the majority of my $2500.00 old trade in value & all of my $1500.00 cash down payment. Plus I would pay MSRP & full freight (less mandatory **** incentives), AC Tax, & double fees for a 2nd time: *****/Doc/Reg Fees totalling $473.25. No negotiation considered.

I feel taken & lost the majority of what I came in with and had little left to put towards the new vehicle VIN *****************.

Desired Settlement
My online banking shows that the original loan amount for $22,229.41 was issued erroneously on Dec. 14th, 4 days before I even bought the used 2014 Escape. Nor was the bill of sale written properly to reflect the correct date of Dec 18, 2015 when the used vehicle was actually purchased. Having the loan issued 4 days prematurely caused funds to be forwarded to **** 4 days early causing me to lose thousands of dollars in down payments on a vehicle I drove 24km in giving me zero leverage to negotiate properly on a new 2016 ******. I was told that if I wanted a new 2016 instead, then this is the price, no negotiating. This is not right. Considering City Ford is making considerable commission off of me for the new 2016 without any additional dealer discounts other than what is mandatory through ***********, I would like the following revised and credited to the new loan amount with *********** to reimburse me for unreasonable losses:

Deposit Cheque paid $500.00 on Dec. 14th + Additional **** Down Payment $1000.00 on December 18th + my van trade in allowance $2500.00 authorized Dec 14th less GST difference on the 2014 Escape "trade in" <$1111.47> + exorbitant amount of additional Document Fees represented as mandatory otherwise the paperwork could not be competed which I had to pay twice & corresponding GST on that $942.90 = Total to be adjusted/credited $3831.43.

I would like to restore my faith in City Ford and expect that a long standing customer deserves a fair and reasonable transaction. As it stands at this moment I feel taken advantage of and would welcome the opportunity to rectify that.

Business Response
On Dec 14th ************** test drove a few vehicles and after determining what she wanted we had a vehicle that would meet her needs coming in in a few days. That day we negotiated on the price, down payment and payments. She agreed to give us a total down payment of $1500, we gave her a $500 spin in win and a $2000 match your cash. Her actual value of her trade was $1500 but we gave her a trade in value of $2500. She agreed to the terms and conditions of the sale, initialed a worksheet, signed a bill of sale and a contract allowing us to proceed on the 14th of December. When the vehicle arrived on the 18th, ****** test drove the vehicle. She had some concerns about the tires and windshield which we addressed. She insured the vehicle, paid the remainder of her deposit and took delivery of the vehicle. She declined to purchase extended warranty. The following day, Dec 19th, the paperwork was processed and funded with the bank. On the 20th an appointment was made to meet to discuss her concerns about the tires and windshield once again. On th 21st R****** F********, used car manager, and salesman met with ****** to discuss concerns. City Ford agreed to replace all 4 tires and have the windshield replaced or repaired as it was still under warranty. We explained that the documentation fee was used for processing paperwork, carproofs, lien checks etc. and is a part of doing business. ****** enquired about getting a brand new vehicle. We explained that once a contract is funded by a bank how difficult it is to do. However, because she is such a great customer we agreed to follow thru with what we originally promised or explore other options. She wanted to look at a new vehicle so we test drove a few. She selected one and agreed to new numbers but then changed her mind again and she test drove another vehicle and then agreed to those terms and conditions. We gave her the value of her existing loan ($22,229.41) that reflects the down payment and trade allowance from her first purchase. She did not lose her down payment or her trade in value or the $500 spin and win or the $2000 double your down payment we gave her. It was reflected in her loan buyout. Her first loan, on the used vehicle, was at 5.79%, her new loan is at 0.99%. We gave her a remote starter, additional winter front and back floor mats, $1000 Costco and a $500 Christmas cash. Upon review we feel that we have gone above and beyond and have done everything in our power to try and keep ****** satisfied. There is nothing more we can do.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***************************************************************************

***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Based on inconsistencies of the mechanical inspection of the used 2014 ******, when I decided to purchase new instead, I asked for the same make and model, that being a *********** SE 1.6L 4WD. The same as what I had test driven previously. The same as what I had as a loaner. The same as what I purchased used. After the test drive of the new vehicle and I looked at the price the salesman quoted me, I asked why it was $1200 over MSRP. Apparently he had me test drive and was trying to sell me a 2.0 L engine upgrade. ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* That clarifies the "she changed her mind for a third time" claim. It's false.

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

08/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Saturday July 18 my partner and I visited City Ford with a view to purchasing a truck. I had a 1 year old ***** to trade in. We had chosen City Ford due to the incentives being promoted, including Employee pricing, pay only 50% until March, money to pay off credit cards, dealer to match the down payment etc. We met with the salesman (******)whom I had previously emailed and was aware of the vehicle type and spec I was seeking. As expected a higher spec vehicle was being offered, however it was over budget. We asked about other trucks as advertised at a lower price but the salesman was not interested in showing us the other options. We were able to persuade him to show us the ***** *** ** SS rather than the XLT. As always, it is hard to keep up with the actual purchase price of the vehicle when the figures are being put together to make up the finance repayment figures. In this case there was the complication of a trade in vehicle with negative equity which was to be adjusted utilising the manufacturer incentives. We did ask if there was a cheaper option available but that did not appear to be the case. We were then told that if we could put $1000 down the dealer will match this to make the payment closer to what we were able to pay. According to the bill of sale the cash purchase price for the vehicle is $44627, which is what the finance is for. From what I can tell, with the $1000 in cash I am still to pay this will make it $45627. The trade in of the other vehicle had a difference of $6000, which would make the purchase value of the $37627 at best, way above advertised price of this vehicle at this time. The bill of sale actually shows the trade in allowance as being $20000 which does not make sense as this has not been taken off any total - in fact the total balance due box has not been completed. It feels as though I am paying for both the old vehicle and new vehicle in full! *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
To be purchasing the vehicle for the correct price and as advertised, or change it out for a different vehicle of lesser value.

Business Response
thank you for this opportunity to respond . I have reviewed this file with our sales manager and salesperson . After reviewing this file our sales team informed me that ******* did express some concerns in understanding the numbers . I do believe these concerns have been cleared up by our finance department with *******... if there is any concern still on her part . I welcome her to contact myself here at city ford . I would be glad to go thru the numbers with her .. I do understand how confusing it is, and can be . once again we would welcome the opportunity to have ******* come back in and we could go thru the numbers again, we are committed to our customers. their trust and customer loyalty is most important to us .. we will do all we can to make sure that is the case for her ..

03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took My truck to city ford for repairs,********************************************************************************************************** told service writer remote starter aftermarket, but was put in by ford dealer ship at the time of purchase, in other words it was part of the truck purchase. told service writer sterio, drone, and power door locks were after market, ****************************************************************************************************** They (spoke with a tech named **** on the phone) found a power draw at my first appointment which included my prepaid maintenance. **** told me they needed to order parts, so I brought it back for a second appointment, They charged me $134.00 to tell me there is a problem with the jumper harness ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** The second issue they charged me another $134.00 and said the power lock motor doesn't work, and again said to take it to the aftermarket installer, again why didn't they replace it, I was up front about them being aftermarked parts, and again if they have a problem working on aftermarket parts they should have told me that up front and I would have took it some where else to start with.The third item they charged me $201.00 and told me to replace battery with ford battery, disconnect remote starter, and put factory sterio back in.
Product_Or_Service: repair work
Order_Number: invoice ******

Desired Settlement
I want a refund, I didn't pay $544.95 for them to advise me, I was paying them to fix the problem.***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response
We have read the complainants comments and desired resolution, we do understand said concerns, although do not feel a full refund is warranted, we would be willing to provide a refund of 50% of the total cost incurred.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ****************************************************************************************************************

01/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was phoned to come in to trade in my 2013 escape and was told that they needed high quality used vehicles that they could re sell. Salesman (***) told me that they could get me a great deal on another vehicle. He sold me a vehicle that is only worth 38 000 for 48 000. Vehicle purchased was a Ford f150 no upgrades, when you look online it is valued at 38000 brand new. When I brought the vehicle home I took out the cup holder which was filled with cigarette ashes, also found a cigarette plastic wrap under the seat, inside the glove box was someone's insurance information as well as the sync was set up for this same persons cell phone. The 2nd set of keys they gave me also says this persons last name on the tag, not only that but when I took a look at the key tag it is checked off as used. I don't think that I should be paying for a brand new vehicle that is clearly not new and I should not be paying 10 000 more for it to top things off!!!

Desired Settlement
I would like them to take off the 10 000 they over charged me to begin with, and for the vehicle to be what the sales contract states....NEW!!! not smoked in!!!!

Business Response
**************: truck was selected from our truck line up .. it had been used for tests drives prior to her purchasing it . this is very common and she was aware it had a few kms on it .. she took the vehicle home awaiting approval of financing ... arrangements were made for her to return the vehicle to us for a remote starter and professional clean for delivery. she was well aware the truck had some dirt in it before she purchased, with the understanding we do a delivery clean and polish to her new purchase . this we did for sure as I inspected the truck myself .. it was accepted by ********* . as we promised . there was a process in place to have the truck clean as soon as all paper work was completed and banks paid all parties involved . this took a few days , but all was completed and final delivery was done . cleaned and polished as promised . I hope this clears up the confusion as to why and when the truck was cleaned ..

thank you
**************
*********************
City Ford

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto/Truck Service - Tune-Up, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Renting & Leasing, Truck Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, All-Terrain Vehicles

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.