BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (780) 447-0596 Fax: (780) 447-0564 View Additional Phone Numbers 11205 149 St, Edmonton, AB T5M 1W6 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kastners meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kastners
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 08/26/1985 in AB
Business Management
Dave McLachlan, CEO Sean Kastner, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dave McLachlan, CEO
Business Category

Auctioneers Antiques - Dealers Collectibles Diamonds Furniture - Retail Jewelers - Retail Auctioneers

Alternate Business Names
Kastner Auctions Ltd

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/15/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bid for an item on Kastners online auction. I was the winning bidder and was sent an invoice. Kastners refused to sell the item. I registered for online bidding for a Kastners auction to bid on a 1978 ********. The auction took place on Sunday November 15th. I bid online and have the screen shot that says the ******** is sold and I've won with a bid of $9500. I immediately went to Kastner's to pay for the car. I was informed that the car did not sell, my winning bid did not get approval from the seller. I indicated that no where online was there any indication that the auction was subject to seller approval. I left Kastners intending to follow up with the owner in email. The next day I was sent an invoice for the car. When I sent an email to Kastner's saying I'd received an invoice, I received a one line response "sorry, glitch in the system". I did not receive a response to my following emails. I see today, that the car is back up for auction this weekend with no changes to the description and nothing again to indicate the bids are subject to seller approval. What has changed is that the buyer's premium previously set at a maximum of $750 is now 17.5% of the selling price, no maximum. I think Kastners is looking to make more money on the sale than they would have previously.

Desired Settlement: I would like Kastner's to sell me the car for the $9500 winning bid + buyers premium of $750 + taxes. I have screen shots of the winning auction page and the invoice I was sent the following day.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/12/03) */ On November 15th Kastner Auctions did have a number of autos up for auction some of the autos were sold unconditional and some were sold conditional upon owners approval which means that we have to get approval from the Bank , trust co , bailiff or private owner to be sold . In the online catalog it gives the description of the item only . When the auto is put on the auction block the auctioneer will announce the terms of the sale on that auto such as in the case of the 1978 ******** it was announced several times that it was a conditional sale and will need owner approval . We also will let any one know in advance which autos are conditional if they ask as to the invoice being sent out ************* ( The online auction carrier ) for our auction and many others will send out the invoice to let the bidder know that they are high bid and upon approval that is the amount to be paid and in regards to our buyers premium on autos all are subject to a percentage up to a max of $750.00. We do not charge more than that amount. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/12/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I can't see any reason other than bad business practice that the explanation of the sale being conditional on the sellers approval of the bid isn't indicated in the item description. It is a simple fix from a buyers perspective. I still feel that Kastners bargained in bad faith and should honor my winning bid. They've made no attempt to rectify this issue in subsequent auctions and the exact same car was put up for auction again this past weekend with the same description. No attempt to advise online bidders the winning bid was subject to sellers approval. Deceptive business practices. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/12/14) */ Hi******** With the online auction there is a live audio and video as well as a biding screen . As a online bidder you can hear the auctioneer in real time as you are bidding the same as if you were at the auction . With ************* ( The online provider that we use ) They state in there terms that all bids are conditional upon approval of the auction house and any bid can be accepted or rejected by the auctioneer ay any time . We are talking with ************* to see if we can put some type of marker so if a bidder is not listening to the audio it would inform them ahead of time to turn it up but at this time it is not in place . In regards to the invoice sent by ************* they do not state on the invoice the conditions of the sale because it is in there general terms that a bidder must accept ( click on ) before they can bid on there sight and I can see why because there can be so many different terms for every sale. That is why the bidder should be listening to the audio . At this time ************* Hosts over 40 larger auction houses and has not ran into a issue of this kind . I will forward this complaint to them so that they can take a look at it and see if there is something they can add to there invoicing but I can not speak for them to say if they will change anything or not as they are only a service that we use and do not control . Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2015/12/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Lots of excuses from Kastner. No resolution and if they had taken the time to make these explanations at the time instead of sending me a one sentence email "it's a glitch", this could have been avoided. I would never buy anything from them and would never recommend them. I think their online business practices leave alot to be desired. I'm not looking for any further resolution. Thanks.

6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sunday May 10th I was viewing auctions items online via the Kasner Auctions webiste as I had previously put in a bid for a laptop computer. Upon logging in I noticed that I missed the chance to defend my bid. In watching some other items a ********* ******* Tablet 32gb came up and during the live auction process one of the Kasner staff made a comment of the tablet being ********* ******* Pro and the tablet sells for $600 dollars new. At this time the bid was around $200 so I put in a bid only to have another person increase the bid. I then bid once more and won. The final price was $275.00 plus aution fee of 17.5% and 5%gst for a total of $339.29. I based my bid for the tablet based on the staff comment of the tablet selling new for $600 dollars. Within a couple of hours I made my way to Kasner Autions @ 11205 149 St. Edmonton. At the front desk I indentified myself as the winning bid for the ********* tablet and asked if I could view it before paying to which I was told that I could not. I then paid for the tablet and went further into the business to the pickup area and was given the tablet. At this time I took the tablet out of the box and looked it over for damaged to which I noticed some paint had peeled off on the kickstand of the tablet which was only a cosmetic concern. I then left the business and returned home to where I then looked over the tabelt again, turned on the tablet and then looked for a model number. Upon finding the model number on the back of the tablet under the kickstand, ********* ******* RT 32gb I then compared the worth of the tablet online. The new replacement cost of this particular tablet is less than half of what the staff member of Kasner Autions had stated, $299.00 (rounded up to nearest dollar). This tablet is a first generation tablet for ********* with used tablets selling for $80 - $100 dollars on ****, ******, etc. This replacement value of thisproduct was misrepresented by the Kasner staff member during the auction. Upon finding out the new replacement value visited a couple of local businesses to confirm my findings. Later in the day, on Sunday May 10th, 2015, I called Kasner Autions only to find the business was now closed. I went to the Kasner Auction website and used their online form to contact them. I briefly stated my concerns and ask for a refund. After sending my comments I received an automatic email stating that my comments have been received and that a staff memeber would contact me within one business day. Later on Sunday May 10th, in the later evening, I received an email which was an invoice stating the cost and requesting that I make arrangents for payment a shipping. I had already paid for this item in full, in person at Kasner Auctions earlier in the day. I waited until later in the day on Monday May 11th, 2015 for a reply. At approximately 4:30pm on the same day I called Kasner Autions, stated my concerns and was told that I would have to talk to someone by the name of **** but they were not in so they would have him contact me. I provided my contact information. By Tuesday May 12th @ 1pm I still had no heard back from anyone from Kasner Auctions, no by phone or email so I called again. Again I was told that the person I needed to talk with was unavailable but that they would have them call me. On Monday and Tuesday I had put in other calls to Service Alberta and to The Autioneers Association of ALberta to find out whether or not I had valid concerns regarding the misrepresentation of this item during the live auction. I was told that from the information that I provided I had a valid concern and that I should seek a solution with the aution house. If a solution was not found then I could take further steps to file a complaint. As of now, Wednesday May 13th, 2015, I am now filinf this complaint with your association, the BBB in hoping that a resolve can be agreed upon before filing complaints with Service Alberta as I feel this process may be quicker than with Service ALberta. At this time the tablet has not been used, is in the packinging that I received it in along with the receipts showing it was paid in full, in person. I have the emails showing my attempt to contact the auction house on the evening of May 10th along with the invoice sent to my the same day asking for payment to be arranged. The invoice number / information from the receipt that I received upon paying for the item in person is as follows: Invoice #XXXXX Sold To: #**** ******** CA XXXX XX Ave AB Phone:****** *******@*******.com Description of item: Lot# XXX XXgb ********* ******* /10.6" Touchscreen / Black Cost $275.00 17.50% buyer premium $48.13 Tax1 default $16.16 invoice total: $339.29 Debit 5/10/2015 - $339.29 Remaining balance: $0.00

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a full refund of $339.29 upon return of the ********* ****** to Kasner Auctions due to the misrepresentation of the replacment value of this item during live auction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/06/16) */ ***************************************************************************************** I phoned **** on June 11th after looking into the complaint and left a message on his voice mail to call me back in which he did the next day . From what I understand is that he is new to the Auction network and like many others clicked the agreement to the terms and conditions with out reading them . In the terms of a Auction we have viewing the day prier to and the morning of the auction And it is stated in the conditions that All goods are available for inspection before the sale and each purchaser shall be held to have satisfied themselves as to identity , authenticity ,and condition and shall not be permitted to make any objection after the sale on any grounds whatsoever . On the day of the auction that **** bid on and won lot 147 which was listed on the online and in house catalogs the idem 147 was listed as 32GB ********* ******* / 10.6" TOUCHSCREEN / BLACK . With a pitcher of the unit as well . The description was accurate of the idem being sold. **** had said in his complaint that a staff member of ******* Auctions had commented that the tablet sells for $600.00 new but he had heard it in the back ground and it was not our auctioneers that said it . When I looked into it someone on the floor in the crowed did say out loud that they sell for $600.00 . I can not identify if it was a Sunday staff member or a customer but after talking to **** on how he felt that it was misrepresented . I explained the terms and conditions that he had entered into and also that he should view all items before purchasing but I also explained that we do look after our purchasers by letting them know that if you buy a item and it is not working or is not as described in the catalogs you can return it within 2 days for a full refund which no other Auction does that we know of so that way we can stop people from bringing items to sell that are faulty . As for the tablet I explained to **** that we did not mislead by way of description of the item in our catalogue or Auctioneers description but we would refund the purchaser because we are more driven to keep our customers than to give them a bad first time experience . **** was agreeable to our offer and will bring back the tablet for a full refund. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2015/06/16) */ I was recently contacted by ******* Auctions, by phone, on June 12th after a long period of not receiving a response from them. The conversation went well and ******* Auctions agreed to a full refund by cheque which would be ready the following week. Today, June 16th, I returned the product and received a cheque in the amount of the original pruchase price. Although the start of trying to find some sort of resolve with ******* lacked in any type of communication, the first phone call from them, resulted in a full resolve.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********************************** I found myself in need to reduce my living premises, and with it my household items. I decided to auction off the most valuable pieces. After having spoken with Mr. **** *******, president of ******* Auctions Ltd., about my high-end china (one 6-cup *********** mocca-set with 12 carat gold-inlay in the cups; a one-time product sample, valued once at $5000!, besides a 6-cup ********** coffee-set, each item factory marked 1887, and a 6-cup ****************** coffee-set), besides a complete solid oak dining set (USA 1950's), a ********* table-stand with 6 original paintings of him,- and real gold and pearl jewellery, plus 2 antique instruments, a signed polar bear statue, and a large set of silver cutlery, etc. etc., he told me that he would be out of the country, but would send over INFORMED staff . Two staff members picked up my precious things completely unprepared. Not one box! Not one wrapping! On my copy were two items then missing. After making the 'office' aware of that I was told BUT IT WAS ON *****'S COPY! Trying to e-mail the CEO my e-mails were undeliverable. I went and had the front-girl co-sign my adjusted copy. Waiting after 3 Auction times I went to see what was sold. I received 3 cheques: $ 73.12, and $19.50, and $258.72 altogether mere pennies of what my items are worth! **************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I would like to see a settlement from Kastner Auctions of at least $2,500.00- and that would still be cheap for all taken away! *******************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/31) */ In regards to ****** **** complaint . I am sorry to here ***************************** that she is not satisfied with our services . Unfortunately in today's market a lot of items that were considered collectable and of higher value 20 to 30 years ago such as salt & pepper shakers , china , crystal , antique household furniture collectors cards , collector spoons , dishes, etc have lost there value . 15 years ago we would auction of a set of salt & pepper shakers or collector spoons for any ware between $10.00 to $50.00 a set. In today's market we get $5.00 to $10.00 per box full of 30 to 60 sets and we do not believe that the market will change back because the younger generation does not collect much of anything and there is a large amount of seniors down sizing which is flooding the market. If ****** has accuses to e-bay or know of some one who can she can verify what I am saying is true. The markings on the ****** coffee set ( XXXX ) is only the date that the company was established ( not the year the china was made ) . The same has happened with furniture from the 1950's up to the 1990's . It is vary difficult to sell because most of the people buy the more modern furniture and are vary rarely buying large china cabinets . ******'s items were sold on June 1st June 8th and June 15th . At all 3 of these auctions there were over 200 bidders in house and over 500 on line bidders. Our auction is unreserved and all items are sold to the highest bidder . We run 1000 lots per auction which includes bailiffs , receivers , and court ordered sales because a auction is the only way that they can state fair market value. When ***** picked up the items they were not packed up which is not the responsibility of the auction . We are not a moving company and do not hire professional packers . That is why we do not have box's or packing materials in our trucks . ****** did pack the boxes of china wile ***** and *** loaded the truck . I do not know why ****** was unable to email us because we receive over 50 emails a day . In regards to ****** desired resolution it would not be possible because to give the names or personal information of the buyers is in breach of the privacy act . The items were sold to a variety of bidders . At one auction there were 2 items that we could not get no one to bid on them so they were passed and sold at the next auction. I have attached the copy's of the settlement statements to verify this. We are sorry that ****** is unsatisfied on how much the items sold for but in todays market that is the value .

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Kastners
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart