BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 15/11/2007

S O S Communications

Phone: (866) 456-6515Fax: (780) 406-5904

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
06/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** was contacted by phone to run an ad in the SOS Children's Safety Magazine back in May 2013. In a recorded conversation he told the rep (E.S) that they could fax a proof for us to look at but could not run any ad without our written consent. The proof that came was not acceptable, having wrong address and not the full company name. So we did not send back a written consent but they ran the ad anyway. They have been billing us for this ad ever since. Invoice# XXXXX, date of purchase May 27, 2013 for 1/8 page ad for $309.75. They did not receive any authorization to run this ad!********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
We do not feel that we should have to pay invoice #XXXXX for 309.75 when we did not consent to it at all. We also feel we should get an apology for their actions regarding this matter.*******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response
At S.O.S Children's Safety Magazine, we take pride in ensuring that each call that comes from our office is respectful and conducted in a professional manner. On May 27.2013 - George had initiated calls to ***** in regards to purchasing the ad for *****'s Big Country Oilfield. On the date of sale, our representative ******, contacted *****'s *** ******* ******** and the owner ***** agreed to purchase a business card sized ad.

Part of our standard operating procedure states that after an ad purchase is agreed to, a specific verification of information must occur. (If you would like a copy of our verification which each rep must recite verbatim please feel free to contact me **** ***** XXX XXX XXXX.) The customer will be asked first if they have the authority to purchase the ad, then they are notified that the call is being recorded. We then ensure that all the billing information is correct and confirm the size of ad the client has agreed to purchase and at what price. The last step is to notify the client that the sale is final and that they make corrections before the print date. ***** did mention on the call that he wanted to check the proof and he wouldn't consider it final until he made sure the ad was correct. Our billing department supervisor notified him that he would receive the ad copy before print for proofing, and he would follow up to make sure he received the proof. We notified ***** that the booking was a final sale conditional on the follow up call. We called and there was no answer on June XX XXXX. A second call was placed and a message was left for ***** on June 21.2013, he was told that a proof was faxed and if he needed adjustments to please call us back (both calls are tracked and one recorded message is available). On the fax that was sent to ***** on June 13.2013 (our fax records show the fax went through) it states:

"Please see ad copy included in this transmission. To make any Text or Image changes to the ad, please contact us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or fax us at XXX-XXX-XXXX in the next 5 business days or your ad will appear AS IS. Please note changes can only be submitted once."

We have spoken to ***** in the past and offered to run free ads with the correct information and explained our sales procedures. We also spoke to ***** May.26.2014 internally, this file was settled and a resolution was accepted, which we also have a recording of on file.

Our reputation is an integral part of our campaign and vital to the effective delivery of our information to the public. Our employees feel very strongly about what we do for kids across Canada .If you would like a copy of the audio file of the purchase please feel free to contact me.

05/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The service was offered was over the phone.
An advertisement in the magazine for a payment of 295+tax.
No confirmation, to verify the ad was sent, as a result the ad was completely wrong.
But that does not stop the company to bill me for an ad that is completely useless to me.

Desired Settlement
Full refund

Business Response
At S.O.S Children's Safety Magazine, we take pride in ensuring that each call that comes from our office is respectful and represents what we believe in. On Dec 12 2013 *** purchased an advertisement with one of our sales representatives, we have reviewed the audio confirmation from the date of sale. After speaking to our sales representative he was transferred over to our billing department where he was notified that the call was being recorded for quality assurance and confirmation. We asked if he had the authority to purchase the advertisement, checked all his information and verified which ad he was agreeing to purchase. *** was also notified he was a new client at which point he chose email as a form to receive the ad proof from us; at that point we verified the email address with him to make sure it was correct. For the ad copy he said he had an advertisement in the yellow pages and to use that to create the ad copy. We ended our call with a confirmation number which also turns into an invoice number. On January 15.2014 we emailed *** the ad copy of what his advertisement was going to look like, in the body of the email it states to proof, and if no changes are submitted the ad will run as is.
March 27.2014 our accounts receivable department contacted *** about his past due account, at that point he mentioned he didn't receive the magazine, so we sent him a new magazine which had he advertisement in it. He also said that the ad was wrong as he did more than roofing and the phone number was incorrect. We used yellow pages as per his request, and all the information was copied to create the ad. We have called the phone number on the ad and it is a phone number for his business. Before ending the call he was going to check his email to see if the email we sent went to his junk mail in- box. We have not been able to contact *** since that last conversation to resolve this matter.
Our reputation is an integral part of our campaign and vital to the effective delivery of our information to the public. We would be more than happy to offer *** a re-run of the advertisement, which can be paid after that edition printed. Our employees feel very strongly about what we do for kids across Canada. If you would like a copy of the audio or the email correspondence please feel free to contact me.


**** *****
Office Manager/ Customer Service Rep
X XXX XXX XXXX ext ***

03/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Problem start date Oct 22,2013
Purchase date Jun 14,2013
Issue ********* 2013
Sales rep.***** *******
Invoice # *****
Amount if ******** ********** receives issue 309.75, 0.00 if not.
WE have received monthly Over Due notices since Sept 2013 with threats of collections. Each month we checked with the school to see if they had received the ********* 2013 issue. For 5 months the answer was NO! In the middle of Jan 2014 the school received the ******* 2013 issue without our ad in it. I feel our dealings with SOS are concluded. *************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
WE would like SOS to leave us alone. They do not respect us or the agreement they made with *******************. ******************************************************************************

Business Response

At ********************************, we take pride in ensuring that each call that comes from our office is respectful and conducted in a professional manner. On June 14.2013 - **** our sales representative processed a sale that he received by email correspondence from ***** ********* purchasing the ad. On the email the response was:

"Hi ****,

Talked to the boss. He is good with the terms you outlined here. We will only pay if the magazine gets to our school here in town.

Here is a copy of the Business Card."

Part of our standard operating procedure states that after an ad purchase is agreed to, a specific verification of information must occur. On July 2, 2013 we emailed ***** ********* a proof that our graphics department had input in our magazine for their business. The school that ***** ********* requested to be added to our distribution received copies of our magazine in the New Year. We spoke to ***** ********* on many occasions, and notified them that payment would be due once the magazine was received by the school as per the agreement. They did receive standard invoices that showed the outstanding balance, but were notified that no payment was needed until the school received the copies.
***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** According to the owner of the company he disputes the purchase based on the fact that he remembers the agreement differently in his mind, then how was written in the email.
Our reputation is an integral part of our campaign and vital to the effective delivery of our information to the public. Our employees feel very strongly about what we do for kids across Canada. If you would like a copy of the email correspondence or the altered document please feel free to contact me.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
SOS did not place our ad in the issue received by our local school(************). The issue we placed the ad in was***************. This issue was never received by our school. Our invoice states this clearly, Our understanding is that advertising is time sensitive. 6 months delay and not in the issue received by our school does not represent the usual standards.

Final Business Response
Based on the agreement made by email, the condition regarding payment was: "you don't have to pay until the school gets the magazines and if they don't you do not have to pay, thank you for the heads up about *******************."
It's because of the advertisers that the magazines are made free of charge to the schools in your community which is why we informed you that until they had received copies we would not expect payment for your initial ad purchase. Based on the terms of the agreement we have fulfilled our portion of the commitment. Your invoice stated that your purchased a 1/8th page ad in the ********* 2013 edition, which it did- for confirmation as such please review the copy of the publication that was sent to *****.
It seems that ***** ********* continues to create new reasons not to pay their bill, as during a conversation with *****, the reason for non-payment was that he "remembers it (the agreement) differently in his memory, than what was in the email."
Re: what are the "usual standards" that are mentioned and how do they apply to this situation? We very clearly fulfilled our commitment to provide copies of the magazine free of charge to your community (based on your ad purchase) and will continue to provide them free of charge to your community (even after you have refused to pay your invoice).
That being said - based on our practices of benevolence and remembering that it's about providing this education free of charge, rather than arguing over a clearly fulfilled commitment on our part, we will run another insertion of your ad at no cost in the publication to be released in the Spring of 2014. As ******************* is now receiving copies of the publication, they will see your ad. This is conditional on payment of the original invoice and this unnecessary complaint being rescinded. This would have been offered to the customer previously, had they decided to deal with the matter directly with our company in a courteous and professional manner.

05/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hi BBB,

I have a complain on SOS children magazine.

****** from SOS sales department called me in April last year ,to do advertising for A+ Auto Services (our business) at SOS children magazine.

I said I don't agree about anything until you (******) send me information about who you are, where do you distribute the magazine, and I want to see some sample before any agreement, then ****** said he will not charge me a dime until he send a copy and I agree. When he sent me a copy by e-mail; I couldn't reply back as it says "do not reply" if you like to reply I should open the link and reply, and I did. I called (SOS) many times and they didn't want to cooperate with my calls or e-mails last year.

Then they sent me an invoice of $300 without any agreement from us.

Please read the e-mail below that I'm forward it to you after I sent you my response which is clearly saying that I DON'T AGREE.

I will need your help to stop this as I talked with ******* and she doesn't want to cooperate and I called many times **** (the manager) and she doesn't want to answer me or call me back.

Then after many times calling, they let me listen to a recording between ****** and me; if you hear the recording I'm clearly saying that "send me information about who you are, where do you distribute the magazine, and I want to see some sample before any agreement", also ****** saying that he will not charge me any dime until I receive and accept the add, which I didn't accept.

Thanks for your understanding.

File #***** at SOS

************

----- Forwarded Message -----
From: *********************************************************************
To: **********************
Sent: Monday, April 16, 2012 5:25:33 PM
Subject: ElementarySafety.com Confirmation - I DON'T AGREE


HI There,



I didn't order anything from you. I asked you to provide me with what is your services, who are you, to whom are advertising, and how many people will see the advertising? before I pay anything.

Desired Settlement
To cancel the invoice that we didn't agree about.

Business' Initial Response
*********************************************************************************************************
At S.O.S Children's Safety Magazine, we take pride in ensuring that each call that is made from our office is respectful and conducted in a professional manner. On March 19.2012 - ***** made contact with ***** in regards to purchasing the ad for ***************. On the call, ***** spoke to ***** about our publication. She notified ***** of the upcoming edition, and what we do. Before the end of the conversation ***** agreed to purchase the ad. Part of our standard operating procedure states that after an ad purchase is agreed to, a specific verification of information must occur. (If you would like a copy of our verification which each rep must recite verbatim please feel free to contact me ********** *************) The customer will be asked if they want to purchase the ad, then they are notified that the call is being recorded. We then ensure that all the billing information is correct and confirm the size of ad the client has agreed to purchase and at the price. The last step is to notify the client that the sale is final and that they make corrections to the ad copy before the print date. On the verification ***** asked to see something before purchasing. Our verifier explained to him that we always reserve the ad based on a purchase, and he will receive an ad copy before paying. Then once he does look over his ad and makes corrections the payment would be due after he receives the hard copy of the magazine can see that the ad has been printed. He then proceeded with the purchase knowing it was a final sale On April 3.2012 we emailed ********************** a proof that our graphics department had created for their business. The response was ***** asking where we distribute and the cost. Customer service tried to contact ***** the same day and left a message on his cell to call us back ASAP. The only contact after that we had with ***** was when he emailed back Jan 8 to our in house collections department that we are not allowed to place ads without consent. After numerous attempts and leaving messages for *****, to respond to our customer service department . April 2.2013 we received emails from ***** that he had sent to another company to cancel his ad purchase with us .The emails ***** forwarded to us were not to our company or associated with us.
***************************** The emails can be available if needed to resolve this client issue.
Our in house collections also spoke to ***** explained our sales procedures and he was denying his purchase. We tried to explain our sales procedures and notify him that he had purchased the ad. He listened to audio confirmation and was very angry and kept repeating that he did not want to be in the magazine. We tried to notify him that the ad had been created and in the layout of the magazine.

Our reputation is an integral part of our campaign and vital to the effective delivery of our information to the public. Our employees feel very strongly about what we do for kids across Canada. If you would like a copy of the billing department audio file of the purchase please feel free to contact me.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, ***** was talking about what SOS do, but I asked her and ****** to forward me more information before doing any advertising and I was very clear with that because simply, I don't know SOS and what they do, where they distribute their publications, who will read it, and how many copies they print; I discover later on that they based in Edmonton and I don't know how many people will come from Edmonton to repair their vehicles in Calgary!
Second; I didn't agree to purchase anything. ****** in the recording asked me "Are you the authorised person for the business?" and I answered "yes" ; SOS claim that I gave them the authorization for purchase the ad,*************************.
Third, I called many many time and asked specifically for ****, left many messages and called again and again, and she didn't call me back or even wants to talk with me; if she is saying "we take pride in ensuring that each call that is made from our office is respectful and conducted in a professional manner", let **** call me and talk with me.

Fourth; ****** said in the recording that I will not pay a dime until I receive a copy and I approve it, SOS send me an e-mail with the ad that I can't reply to it, only I can comment online; which I sent back that "I DON'T AGREE". I didn't receive any response back until they sent the invoice.

Sixth: **** said that I didn't contact them until January 8 2013, ************, I forward BBB e-mail to SOS on April 16, 2012 and I didn't receive any response back; then I called many times as I said earlier and again no response.

Seventh; **** claimed that I sent e-mail to another company with e-mail address ( ***************************, simply because this is the e-mail address that I can reply to it, they didn't write any other e-mail or any phone number that I can contact them.

******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
*****

Business' Final Response
Yes, our office is based in Edmonton Alberta although we call all across Canada for advertising, and produce province and area specific magazines.********'s ad was published in our Southern Alberta Edition (which includes Calgary).
Find below the transcript of the audio confirmation from our billing department (******* and *****). Recorded audio is also available upon request:
****: Hey ***** how are you doing?
*****: Good Thanks !
****: K my man I promise I won't keep you long I just wanna do a quick run through your info make sure it's all correct, and then I will let you get back to your work ok?
*****: k
****: I assume you have the authority to buy the ad for your company?
*****: yup
****: alright I'm just gonna let you know, they may record this part of the call for quality confirmation so just holler at me if I say anything incorrect ok?
*****: ok
****: alright here we go so, this is for**************** and you guys are 1*****************************************************
***** : mmhmm
****: Awesome can you just spell your last name for me please?
*****: *******************

****: Alright and your first name did you want it to appear as ***** or ***** on the invoice?
*****: um ***** yup
****: Ok wonderful so ***** here has indicated were gonna do for you guys one business card size ad and she's gonna throw in the online ad at no cost for ya so I'm gonna invoice you for two hundered and ninety-five dollars ok ?
*****: ok
****: And we can email everything to **********************
*****: ya I just wanna read more about you before advertising so I just want to be sure that when we advertise a lot of people will get our advertisement right.
****: ya absolutely what were gonna do right now, were booking the spot based on a purchase but we ask that you don't pay for a dime until you actually see the finished copy of the magazine. And make sure that everything your rep has told you was true and that you've seen we have done the job correctly so basically if you don't get a copy of the magazine with your ad featured don't pay for the bill sound good to you?
*****: ok sounds good, ya.
****: Ok so ah, when you get the proof which should be in about two weeks any changes or adjustments you wanna make to the ad are absolutely free of charge we want you obviously to be happy with the finished product before we publish it ok?
*****: ok
****: now umm do you have a logo or some information available on **************** that we can use that would help us in the creation of your ad because it's your first time?
*****: yes
****: k awesome so like I said anything at all that you want to ad change or adjust when you do receive that proof *****, just get back to us right away and well make those for you at no cost ok ?
*****: ok
****: now um other than that um I have to read out the order number for the transaction just so it's been saved on our recording for tracking purposes.
*****: ok
****: you don't actually have to write it down I will make sure it's on the invoice we send out to you ok?
*****: ok
****: K so it is ***** and I just have to remind you the booking is final cuz we are going to start creating that ad for you right now ok
*****: ok
****: k man listen I just want to say thank you very very much for doing this with us you have yourself a wonderful start to the week and we will talk to you before too long ok?
*****: ok ok !
****: Thank you very much ***** bye
*****: bye

As per company policy, we forwarded the ad copy to ***** on April 3.2012 he replied asking where we distribute our magazine (emails available if needed). Our customer service rep called and left a message on his cell to call us back. We had no contact or knowledge that he wanted to cancel until July.10.2012 when ***** spoke to our in house collections, which at that time denied the purchase.
We spoke to a male (****?) on many occasion to get ***** to return our calls, which we are still trying to contact as recently as April 23.2013 with no response.

***** had forward emails to us that he had sent to ************************** , saying that he informed us of his intent to cancel. The above mentioned email address belongs to another company that is not associated with SOS. We again emailed ***** on April 3.2012.
*******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

09/03/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sos magazine asked if I wanted to run an add in there magazine. I agreed. They said they would print out a add and send me an email for proof. I did not recieve the email. Did not give them authorization. After talking to them about it they sent me the email again after I recieved a bill from them. The email stated that if we don't get a response they will run the add. I told them that if I would of recieved the email I would not of approved it because it never had any contact information on it. Now they are threatening to take me to collections over it even though I never approved them to run the add for me.
Product_Or_Service: add in magazine
Order_Number: 40738

Desired Settlement
I would like them to admit there mistake and make nesasary changes so this does not happen to anyone else. I don't expect to pay for something that I never approved. The bill is $309.75

Business Response
Company name- ****** ***** & *******
Name of the purchaser- ******* ****
Date of purchase- October 29/2013
Invoice # XXXXX
Salesperson - ******* *****

At S.O.S Children's Safety Magazine, we take pride in ensuring that each call that comes from our office is respectful and conducted in a professional manner.
On the date of the sale Mr. ******* **** was contacted by ******* ****** a sales representative, via telephone. The representative proceeded to offer Mr. **** advertising space in the SOS Safety Magazine.
The representative informed Mr. ******* **** about the cost and size of the ad that was being offered to him in order to advertise in the Magazine. Mr. **** agreed to purchase an ad and he was informed that he could pay for his invoice by cheque or credit card. The representative then confirmed the company name, correct spelling of his name, and billing information. Mr. **** was then transferred over to a manager to confirm the sale.
As per our standard operating procedure, when a customer agrees to purchase and ad they are then forwarded to a third party who advises the customer of the terms of the agreement and verifies the following information:
That the customer does in-fact have authority to make purchases for the company.
Confirmation of Billing Information.
Confirmation of size and price of ad that is being purchased.
The method with which the customer will receive the proof of the ad.
The order number for the single transaction that will appear on the invoice sent to the customer.
Advises the customer that the purchase is based on a final sale.
If at any time the customer either refutes the purchase or advises the third party that they do not have the authority to make the purchase the sale is not processed and the customer is passed **** to the representative.
Following the purchase the communications between our companies were as follows:
March 13/2014: Mr. **** was contacted by The Accounts Receivable Department and spoke to ******** He claimed that he didn't approve the ad that was emailed to him. ******* explained that the ad proof was sent on November 20/2013 so that any changes that are needed could be made through that E-mail or by calling our office. ******* informed Mr. **** that if changes are not received within the allotted time the ad runs as is (as explained in the proofing email from our design team that was sent on November 20/2013) Mr **** was not satisfied with the response. ******* then informed Mr. **** that she would be transferring the account over to the Customer Service Department and they would be in contact with him in regards to his account.
March 17/2014: Customer Service Rep, ***, called and left a message with a woman who answered the phone and said Mr. **** was unavailable. The message left was to call Customer Service back at his earliest convenience to discuss his account. Emailed audio confirmation as well as invoice to E-mail on file. No response from customer was received.
March 18/2014: Follow up email was sent to Mr. ****'s Email address on file to please contact customer service in regards to his account contact information included in email sent. No response was received.
March 25/2014: *** contacted Mr. **** via telephone. Mr. **** voiced his concern which was that he claims to have never received and ad proof from graphics. *** advised Mr. **** that the ad proof was Emailed to him on November 20/2013. *** also offered to have a copy of the original email that was sent from graphics to. Mr. **** then changed his concern to saying "the ad is all wrong everything is wrong and the missing address is wrong too." *** asked Mr. **** why he didn't provide instruction to make changes by contacting our office via E-mail or telephone to make the necessary changes he then responded with an elevated voice "Well, it was wrong and I'm not talking to you people anymore! Do whatever you want. Send me to collections!" and hung up.

May 7/2014: Mr. **** responded to an email from our Accounts Receivable department with the following:
Dear sir or madam
****** ***** did not approve an advertisement to be posted in your flyer. If such an approval was received by you please forward the approval and ****** ***** & ******* will be pleased to send you your payment.
Thanks.
May 13/2014: *** emailed Mr. **** the original email sent from our design team once again as the audio confirmation of the ad purchased on October 29/2013 advised him that we had sent the ad proof on November 20/2013. The email that was sent to ********************** at the address which Mr. **** advised us to use states: "Please see ad copy included in this transmission. To make any Text or Image changes to the ad, please contact us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or fax us at XXX-XXX-XXXX in the next 5 business days or your ad will appear AS IS. Please note changes can only be submitted once." Mr. **** claimed that he didn't receive the email. In these types of instances SOS would normally offer our customer a free insertion in an upcoming publication to ensure that the customer receives an ad that appropriately represents their company.

August 27/2014: Mr. **** contacted *** via telephone. Mr. **** acknowledged that he did in fact receive the proof of the ad via email: "Yes, I got that but I never approved the ad and you guys just take a picture from my website and I never gave you permission to do that." *** advised him that he did confirm that he would like our design team to create the ad for him. *** advised Mr **** that we would be more than happy to run another ad in an upcoming publication but Mr. **** refused. He said, "No, I don't want to run an ad with you guys". *** advised Mr. **** that it is his choice to not have us re run his ad but that if he did not submit changes to his ad as discussed, that he is liable to pay for the ad that had run.
The simplicity of the questions asked during the audio verification and the fact that Mr. **** was clearly advised that the purchase was based on a final sale would clearly make it unreasonable for him to refute the purchase. SOS did provide him with a proof of the ad which he voluntarily neglected to make changes to. SOS finds itself at no fault during our relationship and has made great effort to resolve this issue with Mr. ****. An audio recording of the telephone conversation and copies of electronic communications between SOS and ******* **** are available for review. (If you would like a copy of our audio recording please feel free to contact *** - XXX XXX XXXX ext 303.)

SOS Children's Safety Magazine holds itself to the highest standards of customer service and treats its customers and employees with the utmost dignity and respect. Our standard operating procedure has been followed to the letter. Confirmation recordings are available for any client disputing their purchase. Our reputation is an integral part of our brand and vital to the effective delivery of our information to the public. The offer made to Mr. **** to run another ad with changes provided still stands.





Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Sos company said they sent me a confermation email witch I did not recieve. They said it didnt bounce back so they asumed that i recieved it. They resent me the email after the add was posted and bill was sent. In the email it stated that if I wanted to make changes to the add please respond. If they don't get a responce they will run the add as is. How can I respond to something that I never recieved? I wouldn't of approved the add if I recieved the confermation email cause my address was not on the add so no one could contact me if the liked what they saw. After talking with them about it for a long time they said that they were willing to run another add with the changes. If they would of offered this to begin with I may have accepted.But due to the months of undue stress over this matter I am unwilling to do any further buisness with this company.

05/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In 2013 we were contacted numerous times by the sales representative of this company. Even though we had made it clear that we were not interested in advertising in the magazine they continued **************************************** After numerous phone calls our point was finally taken that we were not going to advertise in this magazine. Instructions from us to not contact us in the future were made clear at the time as well.

However in 2014 we are now dealing with the same issue and in fact have now received an invoice for advertising which states the sale was approved by another individual who current works for us. Our staff member emphatically states she did not approve the advertising contract, yet the magazine continues to insist.

What we are looking for at this time is a respected "do not call us" from this company and for them to take the unauthorized invoice and file it in the garbage.

Desired Settlement
What we are looking for at this time is a respected "do not call us" from this company and for them to take the unauthorized invoice and file it in the garbage.

Business Response
At S.O.S Children's Safety Magazine, we take pride in ensuring that each call that comes from our office is respectful and conducted in a professional manner. SOS and ************** ********* have had an existing business relationship since 2011 through their former director ******* *****. On Feb. 26.2014- One of our representatives, *****, had initiated calls to ****** ******** ********* in regards to renewal of an advertisement that had previously been run in our publication by ****** ******* ********** At that time, we were notified by the receptionist that ***** was no longer employed and that a individual by the name of ****** was the acting director at the time. ***** thanked ****** for their previous business and asked if ************** ********* would like to appear in the upcoming edition. ****** agreed to purchase the ad. Part of our standard operating procedure states that after an ad purchase is agreed to, a specific verification of information must occur. (If you would like a copy of our verification which each rep must recite verbatim please feel free to contact me **** ***** XXX XXX XXXX. The customer was asked first if they have the authority to purchase the ad, then they are notified that the call is being recorded. We then ensure that all the billing information is correct and confirm the size of ad the client has agreed to purchase and at what price. The last step is to notify the client that the sale is final and that they can make corrections before the print date.
We always respectfully fulfill any individual request to have phone numbers removed off our call list. If at any time a request was made to have ************** ********* placed on our "Do Not Call" list we would have obliged unconditionally as our company policy dictates. This advertisement has already been printed and distributed and therefore, we cannot cancel the advertisement or void the outstanding invoice.

Our reputation is an integral part of our campaign and vital to the effective delivery of our information to the public. Based on our internal audit of this particular complaint we find that we completed our due diligence and fulfilled our commitment to the customer as described at the time of purchase. If you would like a copy of the audio file of the purchase please feel free to contact me.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)


The following is a copy of an email sent December 2013 responding to their inquiries previous to this year as well. ******* ****** ****** instructed me to not renew the advertising subscription, as you can see in the email. After sending this email I received a call from **** ********* and at that time verbally told him we did not want this now or in the future. Unfortunately I did not tape the conversation or I would have proof of that as well.

This will not be resolved until the ad is cancelled as we did not authorize the ad nor will we be paying it. The following is copy of the email sent on Wednesday Dec 4 2013 from my email address at 8:09 am. Since it was not clear last year as I did not state in writing to put us on the do not call list, I am requesting that too become a part of this resolution.

No Thank You ****. We are not interested.

From: **** ********* mailto:**********@yahoo.ca
Sent: Tuesday, December 03, XXXX X:XX PM
To: *** *****
Subject: SOS KIDS MAGAZINE RENEWAL IN WRITNG AS REQUESTED


Hi Lyn:

******* has asked me to send you the "Anniversary Renewal I discussed with her yesterday.

As offered we are inviting ****** ******* ********* back into our Holiday Issue for your Region.
We offer you exposure in up to 10,000 family homes in the area.
As well we are distributed to and through Medical offices, RCMP etc.
We appreciate the partnership we had with you over the years, and this is our chance to give back.

As a THANK YOU this offer is at your original cost for a 1/8 page ad and includes a COMPLIMENTARY online placement that runs in your Region for 3 months.
That is the specific "thank you" and "anniversary" offer I mentioned to *******

The specific Offer

1. You receive 1 Ad 1/8 page for the regular $295 (same price for last 3 years)
2. The same ad runs ONLINE magazine for 3 months (January - March.) at NO COST
3. NO PAYMENT REQUIRED UNTIL MARCH 2014

The total cost invoiced for payment in February is $295 only ($590.00 value)

ATTACHED IS YOUR LAST YEARS AD

http://www.soskidsonline.ca/

http://www.soskids.ca/

Regards;

**** *********
Senior Account Manager
SOS Communications
P-**********************
D-**************
**********@yahoo.ca
www.soskids.ca
www.soskidsonline.ca

09/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Advertising - Periodical, Publishers - Book, Publishers - Periodical, Advertising - Newspaper

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.