BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Smarttax Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Smarttax Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Smarttax Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 05, 2011 Business started: 10/14/1997 Business started locally: 10/14/1997
Business Management
Aaron Vaage, Owner Gerald Vaage, Partner/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Aaron Vaage, Owner
Business Category

Accountants Tax Return Preparation

Alternate Business Names
Stuart & Company

Additional Locations

  • 6823 104 St

    Edmonton, AB T6H 2L5

  • 6823 104 St

    Edmonton, AB T6H 2L5 (780) 469-1170

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 2014 I brought my 2012 taxes to Smart Tax and asked if they could fix a problem from a previous accountant. They told me yes. I asked them to "properly" prepare my tax return for 2013 so that moving forward I would have no problems. ****** prepared my return the way many had done it and not the way CRA said it was to be done. I specifically asked if this was the correct way moving forward and I was told yes. The fact is, a notice was sent to Smart Tax last November for additional information and they did nothing with it and did not contact me. I received a letter of assessment from the CRA in March, 2015 stating that my return was denied and I owed over $6000 from 2013 tax year. Numerous times I requested information and a response, and I was told I would be contacted and did not receive a call. Numerous times I was told to call back on a specific date and time and when I did, ****** was not available or would have to call me back, but never did. *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** If they want to truly help, I would like them to repay me for tax preparation for 2013 tax year and for the invoice I will receive for fixing 2013 from the other accounting firm I hired. *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Thank you for the opportunity to lodge my complaint.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/06/17) */ Attention: Better Business Bureau In March 2014, ******* ******** brought in his 2013 tax information to prepare his T1 return. At that time, I told him that previously CRA accepted vehicle expenses to be prepared by mileage or receipts but recently they were only accepting receipts. He apparently did not have receipts so we used his mileage, as we sending his return by E file. On May 27, 2014 ******* brought in a Notice Of Assessment for his personal taxes that were done by *********** for the year 2012 that disallowed his employment vehicle expenses, so we did a T1 Adjustment for his motor vehicle expenses based on his mileage. On November 19, 2014 ******* received a letter from CRA disallowing the mileage credit for his 2012 tax return, subsequently ******* and one of our T1 prepares from our office, spent an hour with CRA, in which they stated that they would not allow a deduction based on mileage. On March 2015 ******* received a letter from CRA disallowing the mileage deduction from his 2013 tax return that we prepared in March 2014. During this period I tried to speak with his employer to get clarification on how they arrived at the amounts in Box 34 and Box 40 on his T4 Slips. The employer did not return my calls. Apparently ******* is provided with a gas card by his employer for vehicle fuel. Statements for this gas card go directly to his employer; therefore any remedy is between him (*******) and his employer. I will be invoicing ******* ******** for unbilled time spent on his file. Smarttax Inc. ****** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/06/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did go back to my employer and provided information required and have email to back this up. I attempted numerous times to contact ****** and continually told he would call me back or to call him back and got no response. ****************************************************************************************************************

7/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Smart Tax for an initial consultation on my 2013 taxes on June 4. I discussed with the consultant ****** *********) that the reason I was using an accountant this year was the fact that I had started my own business and I didn't know how to figure out capital costs and their depreciation for my purchased office equipment. During that consultation we went over all my expenses, tax receipts, forms, everything I needed to submit. He then told me that this was a simple tax return and it would cost anywhere from $100 to a max of $150. He assured me that $150 was the top end and wouldn't likely cost that much. I picked up my tax return from the Smart Tax office on June 11, 2014. The price I was charged was over $150, the total amount came to $163.54 after taxes. So I spoke with the tax consultant to see why. All he could tell me is that he doesn't do the pricing and that the company figures out what to charge and he couldn't do anything for me about the price. He also made me feel small by saying "so what you're complaining about is an extra $5 more than what I quoted you?" I went over the tax information and discovered that there was no mention of Capital Costs (the whole reason why I went in). So I asked the consultant why. He told me that to claim capital costs, my purchases would have to exceed over $500 per purchase. I asked him why he did not inform me of this during our initial consultation when we went through my office purchases (If I had known that, I would have done my taxes that year as planned for $15 online as the problem I thought I had actually didn't exist). He accused me of adding in new information and said he was starting to question my integrity. He had no recollection of me mentioning capital gains. I have notes written down from our meeting on June 4 that state otherwise. He said unless he made a mistake on my tax return there was nothing he could do for me. I understand that ***** could honestly not remember our conversation from that day or perhaps he wasn't even listening to me when I told him why I decided to come in. But that doesn't give him the right to accuse me of making things up especially since he didn't take down any notes to recall what my needs actually were.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honour their quoted pricing and to be honest with their clients about what their needs are.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/06/19) */ The customer was not quoted a price or a price range. Mrs ******** was told that the return should be $150. We will however be issuing a cheque for $5 in order to resolve this complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Smarttax Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)