BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Northwest Plant Health Care, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 892-0110 Fax: (509) 892-3818 View Additional Phone Numbers 11120 E Empire Ave Ste 3, Spokane Vly, WA 99206 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.northwestplanthealthcare.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Plant Health Care, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Plant Health Care, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Plant Health Care, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 16, 2001 Business started: 07/01/1996 in ID Business started locally: 07/01/1996 Business incorporated: 12/15/2000 in ID
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St , Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/eIBOLPublic/LPRBrowser.aspx
Phone Number: 208-334-3233
ibol@ibol.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Zubaly, President Mrs. Katherine Zubaly, Vice President Ms. Shauna Hogan, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Zubaly, President
Principal: Mrs. Katherine Zubaly, Vice President
Business Category

Tree Service Weed Control Service Fertilizers Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Pest Control Services Tree Service - Pruning Landscape Maintenance Tree Service - Transplant Lawn & Tree Care Landscape Architects Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance

Method(s) of Payment
check, cash, VISA, MC
Alternate Business Names
Inland Tree Service, Inc. NPHC Northwest Plant Health Care

Additional Locations

  • 11120 E Empire Ave Ste 3

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206

  • PO Box 1978

    Post Falls, ID 83877

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (208) 687-2884(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We visited with *** ****** on 6/18/12 to discuss having tree branches trimmed from a tree in our yard so as to clear a path to facilitate the satellite signal. He stated that he had an experienced crew who could sight and prune the tree branches such that the cleared path should last 5 years. His quoted price was $375 to $450. The higher price would apply if the job was scheduled promptly. The lower price would be charged should we wait until other jobs for the tree crew were scheduled in our area which would lower travel costs. We agreed to wait. On 7/17/12 the tree was trimmed but no TV signal wa obtained. At the conclusion of the cleanup the lead worker expressed his frustration and concern stating that he would tell *** about "cutting us some slack regarding the charge". Upon receipt of the bill, I called *** expressing our disappointment in the failed job and suggested that since the desired result was not achieved perhaps an adjusted figure could be obtained by compromise. I offered to pay half considering he had expenses connected with the failed effort. *** absolutely refused to compromise in any way suggesting that following one more billing he would get his money through a collecion agency. At that point, I had no reason to continue the conversation and suggested that perhaps we could at a later date discuss the matter further and reach a reasonable conclusion. At this point in time our position is that because the desired result was not achieved as stated on the bill, we should not be charged.

Desired Settlement: Bil is pending, we fill charges should be cancelled because the stated result of the tree trimming was not achieved.

Business Response: On 6/18/12 I (*** ******) provided ******* ***** with a written estimate for pruning a Douglas Fir to clear the line of site for his satellite dish.  That estimate is attached.  The estimate I gave ******* was handwritten and this is a copy entered by my admin staff.  I told him that I could prune his tree to allow for 5 years of clearance for his satellite signal.  On 7/17/12 A crew of two workers accomplished the pruning as directed by ******* ***** and as per our agreement.  Their time sheet entries in Qbooks are attached.  They spent 6.25 hours in total including travel time accomplishing the work directed by ******* *****.  The crew would prune some limbs and ******* would go inside to check the signal to see if there was improvement.  After a couple hours and a lot of material pruned out of the tree a mutual decision was made to stop pruning.  ******* was subsequently invoiced.  That document is also attached.  I received a message from my admin staff that ******* had called while I was on vacation.  I instructed them to call ******* back and let him know that I would be contacting him as soon as I was back in the office.  They did so.  

 I called ******* that Monday July 30th after returning to work.  When I called I reached his wife initially and she stated that she wanted me to talk to ******* but as he was being summoned she told me that the satellite repairman was there and that he was relocating the dish to the other side of the house so they could receive a signal.  It was clear to me at this point that there were other obstructions to him receiving a signal, possibly on a neighboring property.    It is obvious from the extensive pruning that we did at *******'s direction that it was not the Douglas Fir that was responsible for blocking the dish. 

When I spoke with ******* he complained that we did not hold up our end of the contract which was to get him an unobstructed satellite signal.  This however was not what we agreed to.  I agreed to clear the line of sight from his dish by pruning limbs on a Douglas Fir that was on his property.  That was achieved.  The fact that ******* was not able to receive a signal was out of my control evidenced by the fact that the satellite repairman had to move the dish to the other side of the house even after the line of sight was cleared.  

******* asked if I would reduce the bill. I said no.  He then summarily stated  "I will not argue about this.  I have made up my mind, I will only pay you half of what is due."  I argued that he had no grounds for such a declaration and that if he did not pay in full that I would send him to collections.  

Normally, I would never allow my triple A rating be tarnished for a $450 bill.  If the customer was being reasonable and if he wasn't directing the pruning operations and telling us which limbs to prune off the tree from the beginning as noted on the estimate and if he did not simply declare that he was only paying me half based on his arbitrary sense of  fiduciary responsibility, I would surely capitulate.  This however was not the tack that ******* took and as such I contest his non-payment and request payment in full.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9162724, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

On June 18 ******* and I met with *** ****** to review our request to trim tree  branches which, as a result of spring growth, were interferring with our television reception.  After some discussion *** stated that he had an experienced crew which does this regularly and could accomplish the task.  He specifically stated that they would clear the line of sight for the satellite dish and further would trim to achieve 5 years of clearance.  This statement was also repeated on the invoice.  Our interpretation was that as a result of their work we would receive a clear picture on our TV screen.  His stated charge was $450 which included 2 way travel however, if we would wait until a later date when another job was scheduled in the area the amount would be $375 because of just one way travel.  We chose to wait.  This was strictly a verbal commitment, no written paperwork was presented.   The  two workers  arrived at 3:20 PM on July 17.  I reviewed with them the information given to me by the TV technician and observed their work while regularly checking with ******* inside to see if the TV was receiving a signal.  During this work in progress the crew leader who was directing  the tree trimmer would communicate with me regarding the progress as we were both getting nervous regarding the lack of positive results.  In no way was  I directing the work of the professionals who were performing the job.  When they completed their cleanup and were prepared to leave at 5:15 the lead man approached me appologetically stating he  felt badly  that the desired result  was not achieved and further that he would speak to *** to see if he would cut us some slack regarding  the charge.  It was difficult for us to undertand ***'s statement in the reply that the job took , including travel , 6.25 hours !  Upon receiving the billing statement I called *** to express  our concern, he was unavailable and returned the call on July 30.  In the meantime I scheduled the DISH technician to recheck the signal path.  After he was unable to receive a signal at the location of the 2 dishes he proceeded to  seek an acceptable one at another location.     I am not a professional arborist, tree trimmer or  TV technician.  I rely on  professional advice when services are needed.  It is our belief that in our business culture when one requests a service or purchases an item he receives a positive result or a product in hand.  This was not the case in this instance.  We think it is commendable that *** has a triple A rating as stated in his reply.  His firm has provided us with good service and advice regarding spraying and maintenance of our trees and shrubs for several years.  But in this situation that was not the case.  ******* and I have achieved a very high credit rating also which clearly demonstrates that we have met our financial obligations for 70 plus years.  This situation is very troubling  and unfortunate and we are anxious to get it resolved.      


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

1