BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Star West Satellite is a Regional Service Provider for DISH Network.

Star West only handles the service and installation side of DISH Network.  Star West has no control over programming, pricing, or warranty of DISH Network equipment and services/call centers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Star West Satellite, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Star West Satellite, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Star West Satellite, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 09, 2004 Business started: 10/14/1994 in MT Business started locally: 09/17/1998 Business incorporated: 10/14/1994 in MT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Derek Bieri, Chief Operations Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Derek Bieri, Chief Operations Officer
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service Satellite Communication - Common Carrier Satellite Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

Star West Satellite, Inc. sells the following brand(s): DISH Network

Star West Satellite, Inc. offers the following product(s): DISH Network


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late September 2012 Star West Satellite sent a tech. to install satellite at our home, the tech. drilled through wiring and we lost power in part of our home. The problem was discovered while the tech. was still doing his install and suggested we had a bad breaker so my wife drove to town to buy a replacement. After installing the new breaker, the problem still existed so we contacted the tech. and advised him of the situation, he stated that he would contact his boss ****** and that ****** would make contact with us to resolve the issue. ****** never called so we called him to see how this matter would be handled. He was quite adiment that the problem was PROBABLY not caused by his company and was very rude to my wife in the process. I personally contacted ****** as I was quite concerned for my families safety with the electric still being down, he played it down stating that he didn't know for sure if the problem was caused by his tech. After explaining the seriousness of the problem to ******, he asked if I could locate an electrical repairman to look into it further as he would not have the time to do so himself. I did locate an electrician and had the repair done emmediately, The electrician found that Star West had in fact drilled through the wiring inside the wall, I took pictures and immediately sent them to ****** who said that he would reemburse us for the amount that I had paid the electrician. A couple weeks passed and we had not recieved the reembursment. I contacted ****** and he stated that he didn.t have our address so, once again, I gave it to him. Another week went by and still no reembursment so once again, I called ******. He claimed that it was turned in to his settlement department. Another couple weeks passed and at least one more call to ****** and I decided to drive to his office and confront him personally about this whole runaround,He was unavail. but his assistant took my info and promised to take care of the matter. Over 3 months later, no resolution???????

Desired Settlement: The money that was spent on repairs and the breaker we had bought at suggestion from tech. A handwritten apology would be nice too.

Business Response:

Hello,

I apologize that this customer has had a poor experience with our company, and futher apologize for the damage to your home.   A check to reimburse you for your electrician and supplies was mailed to you on 12/4/12, but was returned to us as insufficient address.  We received the corrected address, and remailed the check on 12/26/12.  It should arrive shortly.

Again, I am sorry that this has happened.  Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Thank you,
***** ** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician came to our home to install new satellite tv equipment. Our old equipment was working great, we just needed more recording space. He was at our home for 8 hrs. He was unable to install the satellite equipment because he says it wasnt working correctly. He said he would put my satellite system back to how it was when he showed up and return the next day with the correct working equipment. We made an appt. to make sure. Technician left. I have no T.V. The technician never returned the next day. My satellite system is not working, all four of our t.v.'s dont work. He came to our home un installed our equipment and re installed it incorrectly! I called several times to speak to a manager and was told no one could come out to help me until the following week! 7 days with no t.v. This was after we already had a scheduled appt that no one showed up for. Poor Poor customer service. Oh, and the technician left my house while it was raining with remaining electronic equipment (im guessing for other customers) in the bed of his truck, not covered, getting soaking wet. Electronics and water dont mix. Very dissatisfied.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to handle my situation with responsibility. Your company messed up, all we want is for it to be fixed when we scheduled it to be fixed (the next day). It would also help if the technician that showed up to a customers home knew what he was doing and had previous training.

Business Response: First and foremost, I would like to apologize to the customer for the poor initial install.  Upper management has been notified, and we will see that this technician receives the proper training.

The customer alleges that they were without service for seven days.  Per our records, and Dish Network account notes, the original install was on 10.27.12.  As the customer has indicated, the technician was unable to get the system working due to defective equipment.  He did not leave non working items with the customer, as all defective equipment must be returned to Dish Network for reimbursement.  The job was then rescheduled by customer request.

288 Sat - 10/27/12 R/S DUE TO CUSTOMER REQUEST. QUESTIONS CALL STARWEST 888-814-8402 MAJ ECWS ***************

The customer then received credits from Dish Network for the inconvience.

7GR Sat - 10/27/12 2:47 PM (CDT): CREDIT ADJUSTMENT SUBMITTED FOR $5.59, EQUIPMENT NOT WORKING PROPERLY - NON WEATHER , TWOS CREDIT 10/10/12-1027/12

The customer called on 10.28.12, regarding their system.  At this time, they spoke to both Star West Satellite and to Dish Network. 

5H9 Sun - 10/28/12 3:36 PM (EDT): *LTY****** CALLING WANTING TO SPEAK DIRECTLY TO SUP, OFFERED TO HELP, CUST VERY UPSET ABOUT TECH WAS SUPPOST TO BE AT HOME TODAY BETWEEN 8-12 , APPOL ADV SHOWING TOMARROW 8-12, HUB HAS ALREADY ADV NOTHING AVALABLE TODAY, REFUSING TO TALK TO ME AND ASKING FOR SUP
FMV Sun - 10/28/12 3:31 PM (EDT): ***** ** ASKING TO BE TRANSFERRED TO LOYALTY SPECIALIST AT THE ONSET,DOES NOT WISH TO PROVIDE THE REASON,TRANSFER TO LOYALTY
288 Sun - 10/28/12 1:28PM MST - CALLED CUST BECAUSE OF ESCALATION, CSUTER WANTS A TECH OUT TODAY 10/28,SPOKE TO FSM OF THE OFFICE, WE CANNOT GET ANYONE OUT THERE TODAY, ADVISED CUSTOMER WE CAN GET TO HER TOMORROW, CUSTOMER IS HIGHLY ESCALATED AND SAID THAT SHE WAS CALLING DISH AND GOING TO TALK TO THEM. 888-814-8402 ECWS*************
41B Sun - 10/28/12 1:13 PM (MDT): LLTY. HIGHLY ESCULATED CUST IS VERY VERY UPSET , DEMANDING TECH OUT TODAY TRIED TO RESCHUDLE BUT REFUSING ADVISED NEED AT LEAST TWO DAYS TO CHOOSE FROM BUT NOT HAVING DEMANDING TODAY , CONTACTING HUP FIRST AND THAN IF NEED WILL GET TO COACH TO CONTACT DEESCULATING



On 10.29.12, one of our leads completed their install.

288 Mon - 10/29/12 TECH 0298 CI TO CLOSE. TECH INSTALLED 1000.2 DISH, 1000.2 LNB, DUO NODE, (2) HOPPERS *R1881574198* *R1881374702* (3) ***** *R1885835120* *R1885816019* *R1883783194* ECWS ****************
288 Mon - 10/29/12 INSTALLED NEW 1000.2 DISH AND LNB RAN ALL NEW CABLE INSTALLED NODE 2 HOPPERS 3 JOEYS AND CABLE ECWS*********
3Z6 Mon - 10/29/12 6:12 PM (MDT): ****ERT*** TECH CALLED IN, REMOVED EQUIP THAT WAS DISABLED ON ACCT, CUST HAD CHANGED THEIR MINDS A COUPLE TIMES, REMOVED DISABLED EQUIP, PER TECH AND RETAILER * ***** *****

Again, I apologize to the customer that we were unable to complete their original install.  The install was completed two days later, and I hope that this will not negatively influence her experience with Star West and Dish Network.

Thank you,
***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been having severe problems with our satellite receiver box. I have repeatedly contacted Satellite West, leaving several messages. Even during business hours I have had to leave messages, nobody answers. I have not received a call back. Our system has been malfunctioning for weeks, of course we are still being billed.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to contact me and resolve the problem. The box or the dish needs to be replaced. They need to return phone calls. We should not be billed in full for at least the last month, as we have called to report the malfunction without being able to get in touch with anyone.

Business Response:

Good Morning-

Just wanted to respond to the claim below.  We have contacted **** ******** and have worked out a service date of Thursday November 10th in the morning.  We offered her a sooner date but she was going to be out of town.  We also wanted to verify the number she had been calling and she couldn't remember.  We advised her that customer service is our top priority and gave her our number and direct extensions to call if she has questions or future issues. 

 

If you need further information on this issue, please feel free to email or contact me.

 

Thank you.

 

**** *******

Star West Operations

and Dispatch Director

************** *** ***

Business Response:

Hello,

Unfortunately, we do not have a record of this customer within our system.  The customer indicated that she was having issues with Satellite West - we are Star West Satellite, perhaps this complaint was intended for a different company?

Star West Satellite is an installer for Dish Network.  We do not have the abilitiy to reverse monthly charges, nor to set up work orders for return calls to the customer's home.  This must be done thru our parent company, Dish Network.

I apologize for the issues this customer is having with her system; please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Thank you,

***** ******

Star West Satellite

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8799429, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regarding the thought that I don't have the right business, I do, Star West Satellite.  They left us a flyer when they last replaced our receiver box. That's why I was trying to contact them instead of Dish Network. Accordingly, I was contacted by a representative of Star West this morning, probably soon after they received this complaint. That person was very courteous.

Regarding the fact that they did not return any of my calls, the person I spoke to asked what number I was calling. I said it was the number on their website and flyer that they gave us. I chose option #4: Technical support. That is where I left the messages. She said "oh, I thought we changed that - we don't get messages left at that voice mailbox anymore." So this is why I wasn't getting any answer.

Regarding them "not having any record of me as a customer", that is because the account is in my husband's name.

The representative who contacted me scheduled a technician to come out within 24 hours - that is a good response. But I would have never gotten a hold of them using the number they gave me, which is why I had to escalate the issue.

I will see after the technician comes and goes whether or not the technical issue is resolved. But for now the customer service issue has been resolved.

So, in answer to "accept or reject" the response - I reject the response in the written statement from Star West, I accept the response from the representative who contacted me by phone this morning.

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: Consumer called and informed that the business has resolved all issues.  Once they were able to get in contact with the company everything was taken care of in a timely fashion.