BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Steel Structures America, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (208) 777-7290 Fax: (208) 777-8597 View Additional Phone Numbers 3635 E Covington Ave, Post Falls, ID 83854 View Additional Email Addresses http://steelstructuresamerica.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business builds residential, commercial and light industrial pole frame steel structures.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steel Structures America, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steel Structures America, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Steel Structures America, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 26, 1995 Business started: 11/28/1995 in ID Business started locally: 11/28/1995 Business incorporated: 11/28/1995 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St , Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/eIBOLPublic/LPRBrowser.aspx
Phone Number: 208-334-3233
ibol@ibol.idaho.gov

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shawn Sternberg, Senior President - Post Falls, ID Contact Mr. Beth Fritzell, Secretary/Treasurer - Office Manager Mr. Justin Sternberg, President - Longmont, CO Contact
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Justin Sternberg, President - Longmont, CO Contact
Principal: Mr. Shawn Sternberg, Senior President - Post Falls, ID Contact
Business Category

Steel Erectors Buildings - Metal Building Contractors Buildings - Pole & Post Frame Contractors - General Steel Detailers - Structural

Method(s) of Payment
CHECK, MASTERCARD, VISA, CASH
Alternate Business Names
Steel Structures of America
Licensing

ID Contractor License #RCE-391
WA Contractor License Steelsa044BD
OR Contractor License # 134938
MT Contractor License # 13574
ND Contractor's License# 45485
ID Public Works License # PWC-C-15461-B-3 


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 833-9997(Phone)
  • (208) 457-8470 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted ssa in regards to having a 20 x 40 pole building built on my property. Salesman came out and and we discussed the project. Explained that I wanted a building that I can insulate and sheetrock. Salesman talked about commercial girts and bottom loaded trusses which at an additional cost sounded like what I needed to accomplish what I had planned. I met with the salesman several times in regards to my project with the salesman not once informing me that there is no ceiling provided to hang sheetrock from. I requested from sales person that I wanted to see a finished project of ssa in the local area. After several days the salesman found an owner who would show their building. The building was not set up for sheetrock as I requested. The lumber was also a more usable quality for my project than what was used for mine. The salesman spoke of how quality orientated the crews were especially the one that did the project I viewed and was led to believe this crew would be doing my job. I found this not to be true after the contract was signed. On the day the building materials were delivered the salesman showed up long enough to put a sign on my property designating the location for the driver and that was the last time I saw the salesman for over a month. In the building package there was 2 damaged trusses to which I took photos of and sent an email with photos to the project manager who is located over a 100 miles away. Not once throughout this project did anyone address any problem or concern I had in person. I had to email and or phone to try and explain the problem. They replaced one truss and somehow decided the other cracked truss was usable. SSA reserves the right to decide if the ground is to hard or rocky to use their bobcat for digging and will need to use "rented" jack hammers instead. When I questioned the salesman he stated that "sometimes" they needed to use them. I asked the crew leader on his thoughts and he responded that he believed half of the holes would be ok and most likely the others would need the jack hammers. They started on the softer area and then claimed the other partial holes were to hard for the bobcat. The crew leader let me know that he needed to go rent 2 jack hammers and I asked why did he not start on what he perceived to be the harder ground so that I could have went and rented the jack hammers, he had no answer but said he should go get them as his guys had nothing to do until he got back. I called the salesman about this and was basically told that" it was not his job to check their time card or monitor them" up until the contract was signed the salesman was johnny on the spot.They charge $35 an hour for each of 3 men or roughly $200 while he went to rent them. My bill for the few hours of actual work is just under $700 on top of everything else. When the county inspector stopped by the next morning to inspect the holes the crew wasn't even present so no work could be performed until the inspector came back to sign off on the excavation work. My neighbor and I did not appreciate the crew pitching half the rocks unto my neighbors property. The actual building process takes only a few days as it is quantity and not a quality job. I have sent emails.photos and had to explain my concerns, as a live person representing the company is non existent. All the lumber and materials are set to make the job as fast as possible with no consideration for what will be done afterwards and it the afterwards that I based my decision on with ssa.It took considerable time and effort to have most of the problems dealt with and not all have been addressed 2 months later. I have built enough buildings including a house to know sub standard work . ssa has project managers but no quality assurance people that I am aware of. I have numerous photos of all the concerns. The building did not even pass the final county inspection for minimal requirements on the 1st attempt. I now have a new regional supervisor, only identified as cj in yakima calling and threatning for non payment. It appears they have time to harrass but not time to check on the work. 85% of the bill has been paid immediately on request. I have spent $1000 to get to the point where I can sheetrock the inside.

Desired Settlement: As I requested in a previous email to the project manager 1) a list of all building materials delivered for the project 2) a copy of materials deliverd from the concrete and gravel company 3) rental agreement from company jack hammers were rented from and time associated with workers 4) finish last few items

Business Response: To the BBB: It is unfortunate that Mr. ***** decided to make a BBB complaint approximately 45 days after Steel Structures sent their final invoice only after SSA had to start the official lien process due to not receiving payment. We attempted to call, email, and communicate with Mr. ***** and did not receive any response so were forced to proceed with the lien process. It appears that the BBB complaint was in part due to our increased effort to collect our final payment. After receiving the complaint we immediately contacted Mr. ***** and I personally met Mr. ***** at his building on 11-19-14. After inspecting the building and reviewing the contract I believe that Steel Structures completely fulfilled the contract. Mr. ***** also did acknowledge that there was not a framed in ceiling on the contract and that is why there was not one installed. It is important to note that the building also passed the final inspection from Yakima County. As per Mr. *****’s desired settlement I did send Mr. ***** an email on 11-24-14 regarding the items he requested and also confirmed that once we receive final payment if he had any warranty issues we would warranty his building as per our signed contract. ****** *********, President

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I did meet with Mr ********* on 11-19-14 at my residence and spent the next hour going over my concerns on the building including some not addressed in the complaint. I received none of the information that I had requested nor did Mr ********* take any notes of our conversation. The only reason for his appearance after 2 months is my statement that this will be going to small claims court as no representative has bothered to address my concerns except vaguely over the phone or emails. I can provide numerous photos, emails, payment receipts and phone records of my  attempts to have Steel Structures follow up. I have no idea what Mr ********* is referring to as I have received nothing in regards to a Lien our other court actions. They did pass the final inspection from Yakima County on the 2nd attempt showing their building met the minimum bare bone regulations but does not address my complaint as I was informed by the inspector from Yakima County. Unfortunately, Steel Structures stands behind their no fault contract and not quality nor customer service.


Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: Steel Structures is really at a loss on how to resolve this complaint. Mr. ***** bought a building and Steel Structures completed the building and we passed the final inspection and after reviewing the building it is a quality project and meets and/or exceeds industry standards. Steel Structures believes we did give Mr. ***** good service and a good product. We built and delivered what Mr. ***** ordered. He did ask for material lists and supplier invoices but these are all apart of the building the Mr. ***** ordered and we did not agree to provide these itemized costs as we agreed to supply a finished building and project. I thought our meeting on site went well and Mr. ***** did send in his building payment less a hard digging charge that was additional due poor ground conditions. SSA believes that the BBB complaint should be resolved at this point.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

SSA Has not addressed my initial complaint of bait and switch. From the 1st meeting with the salesman I made it perfectly clear that my goal was to get a building from SSA that is ready to insulate and sheetrock. I did not receive tis and have put in nearly $1000 of my money to make it so it is in a condition to insulate and sheetrock. I have 3 different quoye scenarios from the salesman on different add on features with non of them addressing putting in a framed ceiling to mount sheetrock and the reason none of these different quotes do not have a a ceiling add on is due to the fact I was not made aware of the fact there would not be a ceiling structure provided without added cost.

Regards,

******* *****

11/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I contracted Steel Structures America to build us a 30 foot by 60 foot pole barn with a wall dividing the building in half. The dividing wall was not done well when first built and a subsequent visit by their workers did not resolve the problem. We have a partition and not a wall. One of their employees said that the wall was not constructed correctly to start with. Another contractor that I hired said that this was done very poorly. I have been in contact with the company and they keep saying that they want to make things right, but nothing has happened. I would like to finish the interior of the building, but this has been going on for more than 90 days. They have been paid their full amount as well as permit fees. I feel that this company is not standing up to their guaranty/warranty and just want to sell more of their buildings.

Desired Settlement: I was told that one of the supervisors for the company would be coming to look at the building and that they wanted to come to some sort of agreement in fixing the problem. That was over a month ago and nothing has been seen of them or heard from them.

Business Response:

 

 

***** ******* Better Business Bureau 152 S. Jefferson St., Suite 200 Spokane, Washington 92201
RE: **** ******
30’x60’x14’ Pole Structure ***** ** *** **** ******* ** ***** BBB ID 9131096
Ms. *******,
We have received and reviewed your email dated 7/23/12 regarding the complaint filed by Mr. **** ******.
After the above referenced pole structure was originally constructed, we sent a crew back to address some warrantee items. (1) We replaced a man door because the one originally installed had a small ding; (2) we repaired some roof insulation; and (3) we adjusted several wall screws.
It was during this warrantee visit that Mr. ****** expressed dissatisfaction with the construction of the interior dividing wall. Our crew informed us of this item and then proceeded to discuss alternative framing options for reconstructing or improving the wall with Mr. ******. I contacted Mr. ****** while the crew was still present and offered to perform work on the wall. Mr.
****** declined stating that he wasn’t happy with it, but would just deal with it.
Because that crew traveled over 200 miles to perform the warrantee work, I had them stay overnight at a local motel. I contacted Mr. ****** again first thing in the morning and offered to perform wok on the wall while I still had my crew in town. Again, he declined stating that he wasn’t happy with it, but would just deal with it. 
Since this warrantee work was performed, we have heard no further instructions from Mr. ****** directing us to repair the wall. We will be more than happy to arrange the work and resolve his concerns.
Sincerely,

***** ********* Sr. President

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9131096, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My recollection of the matter is somewhat different from Steel Structures.  They did send a crew up here and the reason that I didn't want them to tear down then was was because I had another contractor coming in to do concrete work.  The two crews couldn't be there at the same time.  The one crew did some patching of the wall.  


The wall/partition does not close the two areas off.  There are a lot of nails protruding from the partition that are dangerous to anyone near that wall.

The last I heard from Steel Structures was when one of their Colorado people offered to pay me for the problem or what should be done to fix it.  I told him that I was a structural draftsman and knew about residential homes but they are much different than pole barns so I really didn't know how the problems should be fixed.  He offered to come look at the building and I hadn't heard anything after that.  For the most part these people have not been difficult to work with.  I would just like to know how this should be fixed so the two halves of the building are separated.


Regards,

**** ******




5/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pole building at ***** * **** ** ** ****** ******** ** was built by this company. Issues with the building:1.Contract required building be built 5 feet from the fence on the west side of the property. It is 8 inches off.2.The building was not built level to ground/concrete slab. We told them we wanted to use the existing slab (and is in contract). It was built up in the air by 8 high or more. Could have been built to foundation.3.Steel structures broke off a water pipe in the middle of the floor. This allowed over 30,000 gallons of water to flood the garage on April 17.

Desired Settlement: Request they attempt a reasonable settlement with us. They do not seem to wish to deal with us at all and just wish to ignore the problem. Wish to reach a monetary settlement if at all possible. We still owe a little over $300 on building which we have withheld at present.

Business Response:

We are writing in regards to the above referenced complaint. Ms. ******** has made certain accusation we wish to address.

Ms. ********’s first allegation is regarding the required set backs from the property lines. She states that the pole structure was to be built 5 feet from the fence, but is 8 inches off (too close to the fence on the west). Before construction began, the crew and Mr. ******** staked out the corners of the proposed pole structure. Based on that meeting, the crew began excavation for the foundations. During the foundation and set-back inspection, the County Inspector noted that the pole structure needed to be moved approximately 6 inches to the west to avoid fire code related issues. This adjustment would move the proposed pole structure away from the house and towards the fence. Following the direction from the County Inspector, the move was made and the pole structure was built.

Ms. ********’s next complaint is regarding the pole structure not being built level to the existing concrete slab. On numerous occasions, our salesman and the ********’s excavator discussed this issue. The ********s received an estimate for removing the concrete slab, but declined. The existing concrete slab is too low to allow for positive drainage away from the structure as noted in line items 13 and 20. Additionally, line item 13 points out that Steel Structures would not be responsible for water running into the building or the building being above the concrete in some areas due to the existing concrete slab elevation. The customer’s initials can be seen on all pages of the contract witnessing that they understood these items as explained to them and outlined in the contract. Attached are pictures showing the placement of the pole structure in relation to the surrounding grade. Please note that placing the structure lower would definitely allow for negative drainage, or water running towards the building.
The third accusation Ms. ******** makes is regarding the broken water pipe. The water pipe was a frost-free spigot placed in the interior of the existing concrete slab. Previous to starting the project, the existing water pipe could be seen protruding from the ground with duct tape appearing to keep it intact. At all times during construction and for some time before, the water had been turned off not allowing for any indication of a leak. Approximately 2 months after we completed this project Ms. ******** notified us of the broken pipe.

Above and beyond the information Ms. ******** is providing is in her complaint is that they have since replaced the concrete slab. Please note that in line item 20, Steel Structures America recommended removing the existing concrete slab and raising the building.

We don’t know if the ********’s water was turned on before or after they replaced the concrete slab. But demolition of the existing structure or existing concrete slab could have easily broken the water pipe. Either way, we feel their accusation of breaking the water pipe to be misdirected and without merit.

The ********’s currently have a balance due of $315.94. As a gesture of goodwill, we will waive the remaining balance on their contract they signed, which we fulfilled to the letter. We also feel in unfortunate that the ********’s appear to be holding the payment hostage and using the Better Business Bureau as a bargaining tool.

Please call if you have any questions.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9022737, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like to reject the offer of Arbitration or Mediation for complaint ID 9022737.

 Thank you.

Subject: Re: BBB Case 9022737 - Steel Structures - *************, I really wish to thank you for all your assistance.  You really have done your best in this matter.  A little on my background, I am a disabled veteran who left the military in 2002 after 21 years of service.  The VA rated me severely disabled at 90% service connected.  Rather than take offers of high paying jobs with the airlines, I chose to start at the bottom at the VA Hospital in 2002 serving my fellow veterans.  My service connected disabilities became too severe this February and I can no longer work.  Although I am retired, I do still volunteer when able at the VA hospital.  My life has always been about duty, honor, and integrity. Mr ********** letter stated I was holding the payment hostage and now he says that the bill was a mistake.     I don't believe that Steel Structures and I are coming from the same background at all.  Although their registered agent for Washington also has a similar military background - Attorney **** ***** (**************************************************************************3).  Arbitration/Mediation through BBB - no. Thank you again for your assistance.  On Wed, May 23, 2012 at 12:55 PM, ***** ******* <********@spokane.bbb.org> wrote:Hi ****,  I spoke with ***** this morning and found that their office made an error in generating that bill as a balance due notice instead of reflecting  goodwill write-off of the balance. So the ball is in your court. Are you interested in mediation or arbitration via the BBB? If not, we will have to close the complaint at this time, but it will reflect your dissatisfaction and will stay on the record for three years. Have a good afternoon!  Thanks,   ***  ******. *******  Resolution Moderator - ADR Facilitator