BBB Accredited Business since

Steel Structures America, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (208) 777-7290 Fax: (208) 777-8597 View Additional Phone Numbers 3635 E Covington Ave, Post Falls, ID 83854 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This business builds residential, commercial and light industrial pole frame steel structures.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steel Structures America, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steel Structures America, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Steel Structures America, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 26, 1995 Business started: 11/28/1995 in ID Business started locally: 11/28/1995 Business incorporated 11/28/1995 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St , Boise ID 83702
Phone Number: 208-334-3233

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
Phone Number: 208-334-2300

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Shawn Sternberg, Senior President - Post Falls, ID Contact Mr. Beth Fritzell, Secretary/Treasurer - Office Manager Mr. Justin Sternberg, President - Longmont, CO Contact
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Justin Sternberg, President - Longmont, CO Contact
Principal: Mr. Shawn Sternberg, Senior President - Post Falls, ID Contact
Business Category

Steel Erectors Buildings - Metal Building Contractors Buildings - Pole & Post Frame Contractors - General Steel Detailers - Structural

Method(s) of Payment
Alternate Business Names
Steel Structures of America

ID Contractor License #RCE-391
WA Contractor License Steelsa044BD
OR Contractor License # 134938
MT Contractor License # 13574
ND Contractor's License# 45485
ID Public Works License # PWC-C-15461-B-3 

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Steel Structures America, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted ssa in regards to having a 20 x 40 pole building built on my property. Salesman came out and and we discussed the project. Explained that I wanted a building that I can insulate and sheetrock. Salesman talked about commercial girts and bottom loaded trusses which at an additional cost sounded like what I needed to accomplish what I had planned. I met with the salesman several times in regards to my project with the salesman not once informing me that there is no ceiling provided to hang sheetrock from. I requested from sales person that I wanted to see a finished project of ssa in the local area. After several days the salesman found an owner who would show their building. The building was not set up for sheetrock as I requested. The lumber was also a more usable quality for my project than what was used for mine. The salesman spoke of how quality orientated the crews were especially the one that did the project I viewed and was led to believe this crew would be doing my job. I found this not to be true after the contract was signed. On the day the building materials were delivered the salesman showed up long enough to put a sign on my property designating the location for the driver and that was the last time I saw the salesman for over a month. In the building package there was 2 damaged trusses to which I took photos of and sent an email with photos to the project manager who is located over a 100 miles away. Not once throughout this project did anyone address any problem or concern I had in person. I had to email and or phone to try and explain the problem. They replaced one truss and somehow decided the other cracked truss was usable. SSA reserves the right to decide if the ground is to hard or rocky to use their bobcat for digging and will need to use "rented" jack hammers instead. When I questioned the salesman he stated that "sometimes" they needed to use them. I asked the crew leader on his thoughts and he responded that he believed half of the holes would be ok and most likely the others would need the jack hammers. They started on the softer area and then claimed the other partial holes were to hard for the bobcat. The crew leader let me know that he needed to go rent 2 jack hammers and I asked why did he not start on what he perceived to be the harder ground so that I could have went and rented the jack hammers, he had no answer but said he should go get them as his guys had nothing to do until he got back. I called the salesman about this and was basically told that" it was not his job to check their time card or monitor them" up until the contract was signed the salesman was johnny on the spot.They charge $35 an hour for each of 3 men or roughly $200 while he went to rent them. My bill for the few hours of actual work is just under $700 on top of everything else. When the county inspector stopped by the next morning to inspect the holes the crew wasn't even present so no work could be performed until the inspector came back to sign off on the excavation work. My neighbor and I did not appreciate the crew pitching half the rocks unto my neighbors property. The actual building process takes only a few days as it is quantity and not a quality job. I have sent and had to explain my concerns, as a live person representing the company is non existent. All the lumber and materials are set to make the job as fast as possible with no consideration for what will be done afterwards and it the afterwards that I based my decision on with ssa.It took considerable time and effort to have most of the problems dealt with and not all have been addressed 2 months later. I have built enough buildings including a house to know sub standard work . ssa has project managers but no quality assurance people that I am aware of. I have numerous photos of all the concerns. The building did not even pass the final county inspection for minimal requirements on the 1st attempt. I now have a new regional supervisor, only identified as cj in yakima calling and threatning for non payment. It appears they have time to harrass but not time to check on the work. 85% of the bill has been paid immediately on request. I have spent $1000 to get to the point where I can sheetrock the inside.

Desired Settlement: As I requested in a previous email to the project manager 1) a list of all building materials delivered for the project 2) a copy of materials deliverd from the concrete and gravel company 3) rental agreement from company jack hammers were rented from and time associated with workers 4) finish last few items

Business Response: To the BBB: It is unfortunate that Mr. ***** decided to make a BBB complaint approximately 45 days after Steel Structures sent their final invoice only after SSA had to start the official lien process due to not receiving payment. We attempted to call, email, and communicate with Mr. ***** and did not receive any response so were forced to proceed with the lien process. It appears that the BBB complaint was in part due to our increased effort to collect our final payment. After receiving the complaint we immediately contacted Mr. ***** and I personally met Mr. ***** at his building on 11-19-14. After inspecting the building and reviewing the contract I believe that Steel Structures completely fulfilled the contract. Mr. ***** also did acknowledge that there was not a framed in ceiling on the contract and that is why there was not one installed. It is important to note that the building also passed the final inspection from Yakima County. As per Mr. *****’s desired settlement I did send Mr. ***** an email on 11-24-14 regarding the items he requested and also confirmed that once we receive final payment if he had any warranty issues we would warranty his building as per our signed contract. ****** *********, President

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I did meet with Mr ********* on 11-19-14 at my residence and spent the next hour going over my concerns on the building including some not addressed in the complaint. I received none of the information that I had requested nor did Mr ********* take any notes of our conversation. The only reason for his appearance after 2 months is my statement that this will be going to small claims court as no representative has bothered to address my concerns except vaguely over the phone or emails. I can provide numerous photos, emails, payment receipts and phone records of my  attempts to have Steel Structures follow up. I have no idea what Mr ********* is referring to as I have received nothing in regards to a Lien our other court actions. They did pass the final inspection from Yakima County on the 2nd attempt showing their building met the minimum bare bone regulations but does not address my complaint as I was informed by the inspector from Yakima County. Unfortunately, Steel Structures stands behind their no fault contract and not quality nor customer service.


******* *****

Business Response: Steel Structures is really at a loss on how to resolve this complaint. Mr. ***** bought a building and Steel Structures completed the building and we passed the final inspection and after reviewing the building it is a quality project and meets and/or exceeds industry standards. Steel Structures believes we did give Mr. ***** good service and a good product. We built and delivered what Mr. ***** ordered. He did ask for material lists and supplier invoices but these are all apart of the building the Mr. ***** ordered and we did not agree to provide these itemized costs as we agreed to supply a finished building and project. I thought our meeting on site went well and Mr. ***** did send in his building payment less a hard digging charge that was additional due poor ground conditions. SSA believes that the BBB complaint should be resolved at this point.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

SSA Has not addressed my initial complaint of bait and switch. From the 1st meeting with the salesman I made it perfectly clear that my goal was to get a building from SSA that is ready to insulate and sheetrock. I did not receive tis and have put in nearly $1000 of my money to make it so it is in a condition to insulate and sheetrock. I have 3 different quoye scenarios from the salesman on different add on features with non of them addressing putting in a framed ceiling to mount sheetrock and the reason none of these different quotes do not have a a ceiling add on is due to the fact I was not made aware of the fact there would not be a ceiling structure provided without added cost.


******* *****

11/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable