This business is not BBB accredited.

Smith Brothers Plumbing, Inc.

Additional Locations

Serving Spokane and the surrounding areas, Spokane, WA 99224 http://www.myplumberfriend.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service Plumbing; including new installations, service and repairs.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Smith Brothers Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Smith Brothers Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 24, 2007 Business started: 09/01/1991 in WA Business started locally: 09/01/1991 Business incorporated 08/11/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor & Industry
1805 Prospect Ave, Helena MT 59624
Phone Number: 406-444-2840
dliquestions@mt.gov

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tracy Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tracy Smith, President
Business Category

Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbers Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Used Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    410 W Paradise Rd

    Spokane, WA 99224

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Serving Spokane and the surrounding areas

    Spokane, WA 99224

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Plumber had extremely unprofessional conduct on multiple occasions. Plumber engaged in the hiring of a inexperienced family member at a rate near what others charge for a full plumber. Plumber was inexperienced in the project that he engaged in, and did not admit to not understanding the scope. Made multiple mistakes.

Desired Settlement: We will be adjusting the billing on this plumbing service ourselves. This is a notice to BBB of unprofessional conduct.

Business Response: I am not sure where to begin, so I will respond to each accusation in the order they appear in the "Customer's Statement".


"Extreme unprofessional conduct" I do not know to what they are referring to, but can speak to a couple of conversations we had where Mrs. ****** did not agree with my response. I did refer to Mrs. ****** as a "Micro Manager", which was out of line but not "Extremely unprofessional".
"Hiring of an inexperienced family member" My daughter is a licensed apprentice and has worked with me on and off for 15 years, and nearly half time-plus for the last 4 years. S,he is quite capable and $40.00 per hour is hardly full plumber charges.
As for my own experience, I have been engaged in residential, remodel plumbing for forty years with thousands of very satisfied customer projects without one unresolved complaint. I did admit to Mrs. ******, that I did make a mistake in my plan to run the new laundry room drain into the drains for the existing basement bathroom plumbing which turned out to be too
 shallow to work. I offered to subtract the cost of having the floors cut out between the two locations from my bill, to which she agreed. I am unaware of any other mistakes.   

At one point, I believe it was Monday August 10th, I proposed to Mrs. ****** that we end our working relationship as our personalities and work styles were not suited to one another. We decided at that time to keep going, which on hind sight was not a good decision.

Also, after Mr. ****** called to dismiss my services I did indeed speak unprofessionally and rudely for which I apologize.

I would like to work out a compromise in this situation, and I am willing to accept a discounted payment to do so. I would also be willing to meet or speak with the new plumber to go over the work I have done if it would be helpful but understand that that may not be a comfortable thing. 

Sincerely,
Tracy S****
Smith Brothers Plumbing

Consumer Response:
BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


******** ******

I would like to make some corrections:

Tracey is correct about his daughter and I was mistaken about her credentials.  This is something I had assumed and not something that was shared by Mrs. ******.  I have gotten the correct information that she was an
apprentice. 

I would like to note however that there was a significant amount of time that was spent discussing situations and issues that came up that were not always appropriately handled and this resulted in a decreased efficiency by Tracey and his daughter. 

The issue/mistake with the concrete cutting involved significantly costs on our end than just the concrete cutting.  We had to pay for removal of additional concrete for wrong cuts, additional concrete pouring, and time arranging for multiple visits and oversight of this additional work. 

I appreciate the apology and would like to note that as a homeowner it is our job to make sure that we are fully involved with the scope and work that is being done.  When someone is being paid regardless we would expect that a professional be happy to entertain questions, discussions, and be flexible in finding different solutions.  This job was based on a time and materials basis.  There was considerable amount of timeas noted that we were billed for that involved the discussion of things that really did not need to be discussed.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Smith Brothers Plumbing, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)