BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Capital Plumbing & Heating, Inc

Phone: (208) 215-7823 Fax: (208) 772-7360 View Additional Phone Numbers 6456 N Government Way, Dalton Gardens, ID 83815 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.capitalplumbingcda.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capital Plumbing & Heating, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capital Plumbing & Heating, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capital Plumbing & Heating, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 14, 2002 Business started: 06/26/2003 in ID Business started locally: 11/19/2001 Business incorporated: 06/27/2003 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St , Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/eIBOLPublic/LPRBrowser.aspx
Phone Number: 208-334-3233
ibol@ibol.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kent Rude, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kent Rude, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Water Heaters - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Capital Plumbing and Heating, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 6456 N Government Way

    Dalton Gardens, ID 83815 (509) 924-5533 (208) 215-7823

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 924-5533(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have waited six months since the last service call from Capital as a cooling off period. Now it is time to go on record about the quality of service from Capital Plumbing & Heating.Over the course of two years, Capital Plumbing sent three different repairmen to our home in Liberty Lake, WA due to a leak in the main bathroom toilet. The first person said we needed a new seal under the toilet and charged $147.83. The leaked continued and the second repairperson came and put yet another new seal under the toilet and charged $170.27. The leak continued and a third repairperson was sent out. He said we needed a $17 part for the tank, which he had to order. He returned with the part on May 18, 2011 and charged $268.48 to cover the cost of the part, his travel, and time. Total cost of repairing a small leak with a $17 part came to $586.58. New toilets cost less than this. Was this incompetence, indifference, a scam, or other? You decide!

Desired Settlement: The total amount charged was excessive in my opinion, and it should be mitigated by having Capital return a significant refund to cover the first & second service charges plus at least half of the last charge.

Business Response:

Dear ***** *******,

We were very surprised to get a letter of complaint from ****** *******. We have done work for the *******’s for several years and we never received any phone call from them regarding any issues. We pulled the last couple of years service reports and found the following:

On 3/25/10, we sent our technician **** to the *******’s due to a complaint of a toilet leaking around the base. **** pulled and reset the toilet with a new wax seal, caulked the base and set the toilet in with new nuts and bolts. The charge for this was $136.00 plus sales tax of $11.83.

We sent our technician ***** (**** was in Iraq) to the *******’s again nearly 15 months later on 5/2/11 due to a complaint of the toilet leaking around the base. ***** also pulled and reset the toilet with a new wax seal, caulked the base. The charge for this visit was straight out of our flat rate pricing book, task code T42420. The normal price listed is $191.00, but ***** discounted this service call down to the Value Rate of $156.62 plus sales tax. At this time ***** noticed that after flushing the toilet a couple of times that there was a spray coming out from inside the toilet tank which made water run down the backside of the tank and also leak on the floor. This did not happen with every flush, but he did suggest that the *******’s may want to replace the Kohler water measuring device inside the tank to prevent this spraying. The toilet is a high-end Kohler 1 piece toilet. We ordered the required replacement part # 1068030, which is not locally stocked in the Spokane/Coeur d’Alene area. This part cost us $21.09 plus shipping. The list price at Kohler is $33.55 plus shipping.

When the part was received, ***** went out and installed the Kohler water measuring device. ***** inadvertently charged the *******’s the normal task code (first visit) Value Rate of T71587 in the amount of $268.48, which they paid for with a check. Upon receiving the paperwork at the office, I noticed the incorrect task code had been used and contacted the *******’s and returned their check in the amount of $268.48 and they chose to pay the corrected amount of $138.98 which had been discounted down another $20.00 plus sales tax on their credit card for task code A71587, for the additional trip.
********  In reviewing these work orders, we would like to summarize the fact that we had only sent 2 technicians out. There was nearly a 15 month period between the 1st and 2nd call with no phone calls from the *******’s stating any additional or continual leaks. Each of the visits consisted of worked approved by either Susan or ****** ******* as verified by their signature on each work order. It was during the 2nd trip out that our technician noted a secondary leak issue coming from the tank itself. Although not a major leak, ***** tried to help the customer out by being proactive and suggesting a replacement measuring device be installed. This is certainly not a sign of “indifference”. The ********’s fail to acknowledge the fact that we returned their last check in the amount of $268.48 and lowering the charge down by $117.50. The total charges for all 3 visits, total labor time, parts, 120+ miles travel and shipping was $431.52 plus required Washington sales tax over the 15 month period. Each of these calls took 1-1/2 hours total time and if had charge our normal hourly rate of $90.00/hr for a journeyman plumber, the labor alone would have amounted to $450.00. It is unfortunate that the Kohler part for this high end toilet is not a locally stocked item and required an additional trip out to install the part after receiving the shipment.

We have always considered the *******’s to be good customers and we are willing to refund an additional $50.00 credit towards their next service. We have also attached copies of all the work orders discussed herein.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Adminstratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8815265, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

***** *******;

Since Capital provided the paperwork needed by you to track the course of events, I will not duplicate that paperwork.  Rather, I will point out that while Capital employees were on a company time clock, they were not working on resolving the Kohler toilet leak - a toilet that they had installed as a sub-contractor during an extensive remodeling of our home in Liberty Lake.  In short, the employee time mentioned in Capital's letter was mostly wasted time, as it did not resolve the problem of the leaking toilet.  Time wasted has no value, or as economic theory has proven many times over, "The Labour Theory of Value" is as dead as a Dodo bird. 

Incorrect diagnosis on each of two trips resulted only in excessive charges, which we paid for to the tune of several hundred dollars prior to an actual and accurate diagnosis being completed.We always pay our bills, trusting that a company we had prior dealings with would be fair and competent. Upon reflecting upon the dollars expended by us to have Capital repair the leaking toilet ,which they installed new in August of 2009, was grossly excessive in our opinion.  Therefore, I do cannot in good faith accept Capital's offer of a "$50 credit towards (our) next service."  

Best Regards,

****** * ***** *******

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

Business Response:
December 2, 2011
****** ******* ***** ** ***** **** ******* ***** ** *****
RE: complaint to Better Business Bureau
Dear Mr. *******,
We were very surprised to get a letter of complaint from you through the Better Business Bureau. We never received any phone calls from your regarding any issues. We pulled the last couple of years service reports and found the following:
On 3/25/10, we sent our technician **** to you due to a complaint of a toilet leaking around the base. **** pulled and reset the toilet with a new wax seal, caulked the base and set the toilet in with new nuts and bolts. The charge for this was $136.00 plus sales tax of $11.83.
We sent our technician ***** (**** was in Iraq) to the you nearly 15 months later on 5/2/11 due to a complaint of the toilet leaking around the base. ***** also pulled and reset the toilet with a new wax seal and caulked the base. The charge for this visit was straight out of our flat rate pricing book, task code T42420. The normal price listed is $191.00, but ***** discounted this service call down to the Value Rate of $156.62 plus sales tax. At this time ***** noticed that after flushing the toilet a couple of times that there was a spray coming out from inside the toilet tank which made water run down the backside of the tank and also leaked on the floor. This did not happen with every flush, but he did suggest that you may want to replace the Kohler water measuring device inside the tank to prevent this spraying. After all, your toilet is a high-end Kohler 1 piece toilet. We ordered the required replacement part # 1068030, which is not locally stocked in the Spokane/Coeur d’Alene area. This part cost us $21.09 plus shipping. The list price at Kohler is $33.55 plus shipping.
When the part was received, ***** went out and installed the Kohler water measuring device. ***** inadvertently charged the you the normal task code (first visit) Value Rate of T71587 in the amount of $268.48, which you paid for with a check. Upon receiving the paperwork at the office, I noticed the incorrect task code had been used and returned your check in the amount of $268.48 and you chose to pay the corrected amount of $138.98 which had been discounted down another $20.00 plus sales tax on your credit card for task code A71587, for the additional trip.
In reviewing these work orders, we would like to summarize the fact that we had only sent 2 technicians out. There was nearly a 15 month period between the 1st and 2nd call with no phone calls from you stating any additional or continual leaks. Each of the visits consisted of worked approved by either ***** or ****** as verified by your signatures on each work order. It was during the trip out on 5/2/11 that our technician noted a secondary leak issue coming from the tank itself. Although not a major leak, ***** tried to help you, the customer, out by being proactive and suggesting a replacement measuring device be installed. This is certainly not a sign of "indifference". In your letter to the Better Business Bureau, you failed to acknowledge the fact that we returned your last check in the amount of $268.48 and lowered the charge down by $117.50. The total charges for all 3 visits, total labor time, parts, 120+ miles travel and shipping was $431.52 plus required Washington sales tax over the 15 month period. Each of these calls took 1-1/2 hours total time and if had charge our normal hourly rate of $90.00/hr for a journeyman plumber, the labor alone would have amounted to $450.00. It is unfortunate that the Kohler part for this high end toilet is not a locally stocked item and required an additional trip out to install the part after receiving the shipment. But unfortunately, that was totally out of our control.
We have always considered you to be a good customer and apologize if you feel that we have been unfair or unjust here so we are willing to issue you an additional $50.00 credit towards your next service. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us.
Sincerely,
******** ***** Service Manager
cc: Better Business Bureau

Business Response: I spoke w/ ******** this morning and she said that as a guesture of good will, they will issue a check for $136 payable to ***, thus negating the first visit. I spoke with *** and this is agreeable to him. I verified his mailing address with ******** and she will issue the payment request to the owner today. *** should receive a check in the mail by Saturday, 12/16/11. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.