This business is not BBB accredited.

Edgewater Services LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 991-7878 1117 W Indiana Ave, Spokane, WA 99205 http://www.edgewaterservices.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Edgewater Services LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Edgewater Services LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 15, 2010 Business started: 01/12/2004 in WA Business started locally: 01/12/2004 Business under new ownership as of: 03/22/2014 Business incorporated 03/22/2014 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Arnold "AJ" Allen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Arnold "AJ" Allen, Owner
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Sod & Sodding Service Tree Service Sprinkler Supervisory Service Fertilizers Irrigation Systems & Equipment Stump Removal & Grinding Tree Service - Pruning Landscape Maintenance Hardscapes Contractors - Retaining Wall Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers

Alternate Business Names
Black Forest Enterprises, Inc. Cut-Rite Lawn Care Services Edgewater Lawn Care Services
Industry Tips
Lawn Care Services

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1117 W Indiana Ave

    Spokane, WA 99205 (509) 991-7878

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 13117

    Spokane Valley, WA 99213

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a call to Cut-Rite lawn care for sprinkler repair. It took four days for the company to call me back. When they called me back, I made an appointment for Saturday the 25th of May, 2013. I also called another company the same day I originally called Cut-Rite. The other company said that they would be able to come out the following Monday. Later that day, the other company called and said that they were in the area, so they could stop by to fix my sprinklers. I accepted their offer and had my system repaired by the other company. When Saturday rolled around, I was out in my driveway when Cut-Rite arrived. The worker got out of his truck and asked if I called for a irrigation repair. I told the worker that I was sorry, that I got busy and failed to call in to cancel the service, and that I had someone else repair it.On June 3, 2013 I received an email from Cut-Rite with a bill attached for $60. It was a service fee for failing to cancel service. I was NEVER told by Cut-Rite, either by a contract or verbally that I would be charged a fee for not canceling my service. If that was the case, I would have had the worker that came out on the 25th do something for me, but nothing was mentioned by him, or the person that I made the appointment with. I believe this is poor customer service and erroneous business practice by Cut-Rite Lawn Care.

Desired Settlement: I would like this issue to be disregarded and that Cut-Rite learn better customer service skills and uphold better business practice, by communicating to their customers that there is a service fee for cancelling service without a phone call when the service is set up.

Business Response:

At Cut-Rite Lawn Care Services, we pride ourselves in providing quality work at a competitive rate. In order to provide competitive rates, we must ensure we bill appropriately for our services. When we schedule irrigation repairs we explain to our customers we have a trip charge of $60. This charge covers vehicle costs and labor for the drive time. The customer receives the first hour of service for this charge. Of course when our customers cancel service this charge is not invoiced. However, when a customer does not cancel service and our team arrives at a job, the charge must be invoiced.

We gladly work with our customers to offer reduced rates whenever possible and within reason. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Thank you,

***** ********

Owner

Cut-Rite Lawn Care Services

###-###-####  

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9569708, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


Regards,

***** ****** 



I was never told via phone, email, or any contract that a fee of $60 would be charged to me for not calling in to cancel service.  I had called another company in the interim, and that company was able to come out the same day I called.  I merely forgot to cancel the service at Cut-Rite, a valid excuse, as I have had many contractors out to my house to do work, as I'm trying to sell my home.  A worker from Cut-Rite came to my property on May 25th at which time I told the worker that I forgot to call in to cancel service, and the worker never conveyed to me that there was a fee of $60; if that was the case, I would have put him to work doing something, but instead, he drove away.  I feel Cut-Rite has erroneous business practices and should waive the fee. Cut-Rites response was that of someone that obviously doesn't have proper customer service skills, otherwise Cut-Rite would treat this incident as valid excuse and learn from making future errors and communicate properly with a prospective customer, instead of challenging them.     

 



Business Response:

******,

 

While we understand Mr. ******'s disagreement with the charges, he readily admits to failing to cancel services. Several businesses in the service industry use a similar rate structure. It is expensive to send employees out on a service call and not receive compensation. Labor, fuel, vehicle maintenance and lost time on other jobs should be considered when understanding these charges. However, in an effort to offer a solution to Mr. ******'s concerns and to fairly compensate Cut-Rite for costs incurred, we are willing to reduce the invoiced amount by 50%. We hope Mr. ****** will find this compromise suitable and that he will understand better the reason for these fees.   

 

Thank you,

***** ********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9569708, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******



This company obviously doesn't understand the meaning of customer service.  Yes, I did admit that I failed to cancel service. However, the thing that Cut-Rite doesn't seem to understand is the fact that they FAILED in every-way to communicate one simple fact; that they charge a fee for failing to call to cancel service. I have NEVER been charged from ANY company or service for failing to call in, as mistakes and over-sites happen.  As I've mentioned before Cut-Rite had two chances to communicate this very simple fact to me, and they FAILED.  One, the initial phone call and two, when the worker came out to do the work for me.  If Cut-Rite had the consumers interest at hand they would stop fighting and coming up with excuses and putting the blame on a customer and would simply use this experience as a leaning tool for better communication with a potential customer.    


Regards,
***** ******