BBB Accredited Business since

Arborpro Lawn & Tree Care LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 235-1132 Fax: (509) 235-1134 28711 S Boston Rd, Cheney, WA 99004 http://arborprolawn.com/index.htm

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tree and lawn care, and landscaping. In the winter they also offer snowplowing, snow removal, and holiday lighting. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arborpro Lawn & Tree Care LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Arborpro Lawn & Tree Care LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Arborpro Lawn & Tree Care LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 31, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2007 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated: 02/09/2006 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. D. Peter Johnson, Owner Ms. Kelly A Nicholson, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. D. Peter Johnson, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Kelly A Nicholson, Office Manager
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Weed Control Service Pest Control Services Irrigation Consultants Snow Removal Service

Method(s) of Payment
Visa/Master, Payment options

Additional Locations

  • 10 A St

    Cheney, WA 99004

  • 28711 S Boston Rd

    Cheney, WA 99004 (509) 235-1132

  • PO Box 254

    Cheney, WA 99004

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Arbopro was to replace a tree-- they replaced it with a dying Maple tree. They had different workers come out to say it was being over watered at first, the tree was having dry leaves from the insertion to the ground, and the second assessment they said it was not getting enough water. They added some fertilizer and I have attempted to contact them, the owner ****.... no calls back. I paid $250.00 for the tree alone, without labor or any extra service calls. In 2013 they did all my fertiling, weeding, insect control- in 2014 they did not call to about the tree problems or re-establishing summer service

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement tree, a healthy tree, dead tree removed and a refund for services.

Business Response:

This customer contacted us in the spring of 2013 to assess a maple tree she felt was dying. 

We had our senior pruning tech, ***** ****** assess the tree and provide a recommendation.  At this time, he recommended to the customer to have the tree completely removed because the tree was definitely dying.  The customer at this point asked if we could replace the tree and he stated we could remove the tree and replace it with a similar Maple tree.  However, he told her it was not recommended to plant in the same area as the ground was too wet because of her sprinkler issues in that spot and would kill this tree as well.  She said she didn't care and wanted the tree in the same location.  ***** then asked our sales representative, **** ******, to speak to her about the removal cost and how much it would be to replace it.

The bid to remove the dead tree, purchase a new one and plant a new tree, was $250.00 plus tax.  This bid was accepted in writing and we completed this work 6/10/2013.  The bid provided was on a standard estimate form which includes Terms and Conditions.  I have attached the terms and conditions for your review; #3 talks about our guarantee on services.  It states if our recommendations are followed as instructed... etc.  we will guarantee the work.  Also, I have attached the statement from ******** *******.  This company provided us the tree and they have a standard 90 day policy as well on trees.  Because of the conditions on this property, it was clearly told to the customer there was no guarantee because she planted in a place we DID NOT recommend. We completed our services in 2013 and in doing so, we did fertilize the lawn and tree as requested by the customer at no additional charge.

In January 2014, we sent out a new contract to the customer for 2014 services.  On 3/21/14, we contacted the customer to discuss the services and we were told she was too sick at the time and would get back to us if she wanted any services.  We did not hear anything further from the customer.

I understand the customer tried several times to contact us through ****, the owner.  However, **** is not the owner, nor as ever owned the company.  In fact, **** left the company in February of 2014 to North Dakota.  When **** finally got around to calling the actual owner, **** *******, he told **** about the customers complaint about the tree dying just like the last one.  He did not speak to the customer, just conveyed the message received.

We contacted the customer at this point and did remind her there were not warranties on the tree, but we would replace the tree AGAIN at our cost even though we still believe any tree planted in this position will die and do not recommend it.

We purchased the replacement tree from ******* ******* on 6/25/2014 and she is on the schedule to have her tree replaced.  We run 8 - 12 weeks out on our pruning schedule at all times due to the demand we have with our continuing customers.  We anticipated having this tree in at the end of July 2014.  However, in lieu of this complaint, we will try and get out there sooner.

Because we have talked to this customer numerous times and have provided above and beyond our contractual obligations, we do not believe we owe any monetary resolution.  We will replace the tree and would like no further obligation with this customer because she has not followed our recommendations.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I have, to my knowledge, never spoken to *****. The salesman, ****, was who I was dealing with. Without test the ground prior to the removal of the tree how would they know the ground was "too wet"? I stated that I had a contractor coming to fix the sprinkler issues I was having. Arborpro provided copies of the T&Cs, something I was never provided a copy of. Nor does the ******* invoice to Arborpro state a 90 day warranty. Arborpro claims services were completely for free of charge, however, all services they provided were invoiced and paid for. If these were indeed "free" please provide documentation.

On 3/25 I contacted the business to inform them I would not continue services until I had a face-to-face to discussed the proposal. They had made an appointment but no one showed up or called. I called in and spoke with ****** and asked to speak with Mr. *******, no one returned my call. 

There was slight miscommunication while my daughter typed this complaint for me. I only ever called and asked to speak with Mr. *******. I left numerous messages with ****** for Mr. *******, but again, no one ever returned my calls. 

Arborpro claimed they purchased a replacement tree on 6/25. They never communicated this with me. All I ever wanted was to speak with someone to have clarity of the situation. On Friday the 11th Arborpro stated they would be coming out with the new tree with care instruction. They never knocked to inform me they had been in my yard. When I looked outside they had already torn up the tree. **** said they were putting in the new tree and the location was wet. I informed **** at that time that the tree was buggy and leaves were falling out. I also asked **** to dig out the wet soil and replace it with 2ft of my potting soil. **** stated that they would be back on Monday the 16th to spray, but I am unsure if they ever showed up as no one contacted me or informed me that they indeed came. 

As of Today 7/17 Leaves and Bugs were still rampant. When speaking with **** I asked how old the replacement tree was and he claimed it was about 2-3 years old. That is NOT a comparable replacement for the tree that was torn out.

I would like Mr. *******to call me and speak with me to be able to assist in a resolution. 
 

Regards,

**** **********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Arborpro called my residence Friday July 11, 2014, just mere hours after I filed my claim with BBB, by ******, leaving a voicemail "a tree was being delivered Monday, which wa
s July 14, 2014. At this morning, a tree was brought by ****, and another trainee from Arborpro. The tree was smaller, and had insects I pointed out to **** on its leaves, as well as dead brown leaves on it. This tree was not comparable in size nor quality of the 2013 red maple, paid $250 for a 5-6 year old tree. 
When planting the tree, **** complained the ground was "too wet".  I provided **** with 2 cubic feet of ground soil for planting.
 
**** *******called on July 22. I spoke to him, on July 23 after ****** at the office gave me his cell to call. **** was rather rude, "he didn't appreciate me turning him into BBB over such a minor BS matter to ruin his A+ rating"
 
 
 
 
Regards,

**** **********

Consumer Response:

I stated I would not have contacted BBB if he, **** had returned a phone call. **** claims I called for ****, I said no, ****, I called for the owner to call me. Ask ******, she gave me your cell number today.
**** said no, you're lying, your you called **** the owner.
I responded, it was an error on the BBB original file, because my daughter typed it in error.
I know who the owner is, **** *******. Its printed on all your Arborpro invoices. 
**** continued to argue the point of me calling, when, who and I said just ask ****** how many times I've called specifically for the owner to call me back to discuss a problem. If you could return a phone call.

**** continues on "he wasn't going to ask ****** and wants to know what's it's going to take to solve this ******* ********"

My response was an equivalent, healthy lasting tree

**** said I insisted on placing the tree in that same place. It wasn't a good area for trees, the grassstrip between the sidewalk and the street.

My response again was I haven't talked to anyone at Arborpro, since March--- no one returns calls. I never told anyone to replace the tree there

**** claims I was provided with a warranty and instructions with on the red maple in 2013, which I told him was an outright lie. I never received any paperwork
And was told once I was over watering the tree, then that I wasn't watering the tree enough. That's it.

**** said he would warranty the new tree for 90 days from planting- July 14,2014, he wanted me to water 20 minutes daily, and he was going to test the soil starting week of July 28.

I received no written confirmation. I received nothing the day it was planted. I have no proof this tree was magically ordered for me on 6/25, before I ever contacted BBB on 7/10. This tree could have come from anywhere. 
This tree isn't even equivalent to the red maple I paid for. I have no idea if Mr *******has actually done any "soil test"

Regards 
**** **********

11/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Arbor Pro on 4-28-12. I was told that they needed to rent a ***** **** lawn mower, due to the length of my lawn mower. When a different representative from Arbor Pro came and evaluated my lawn, I was told that a ***** **** lawn mower was not necessary. Arbor mowed my lawn without a ***** **** then charged me the $95 for the ***** ****. I have contacted Arbor pro several times about the charge. Due to a job loss I was unable to pay the bill and I was sent to collections. I was sent to collections for the lawn mowing that Arbor pro did plus the $95 for the ***** **** lawn mower that was never rented, which came to $103.26 after tax. Arbor Pro is refusing to take the $103.26 for the ***** **** lawn mower out of collections which they never rented.

Desired Settlement: For arbor pro to deduct $103.26 out of collections.

Business Response:

First I would like to apologize for this slow response.  Your email was just discovered in the SPAM folder after we received a call from ******.

When were asked to provide a price for the field mow, we mentioned we might need to rent a ***** **** mower to get the best coverage.  However, we ended up using two ******* 36" mowers, which in turn gave better coverage, but because of the extra mower, we felt it fair to keep the price as quoted. 

*** ****** signed our contract and asked to have the main area mowed for $700.00 and then additional mows at $100.00 each.  He gave us $200.00 as a deposit in good faith.

After several statements and unsuccessful phone calls once our service was complete, we had no option but to send this to collection.  The collection is with ****** ********** ******* and their fee is 50% of what is collected, therefore, we have already lost any profit we pay have received.  We were also informed *** ***** was unavailable due to incarceration. 

We hope this resolves this matter.  Please let us know.

Respectively,

**** *******, Owner