BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Northwest Heating and Cooling

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 244-6010 Fax: (509) 244-9720 View Additional Phone Numbers 13514 West Sunset Highway, Airway Heights, WA 99001 http://www.nwheatncool.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning systems and services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Heating and Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Heating and Cooling include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Northwest Heating and Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 15, 2007 Business started: 08/30/2007 in WA Business started locally: 08/30/2007 Business incorporated: 10/01/2008 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor and Industries WA State
901 N Monroe St Ste 100, Spokane WA 99201
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (509) 324-2600

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Christine Day, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Christine Day, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Products & Services

Northwest Heating and Cooling sells the following brand(s): Bradford White, Coleman, Comfortmaker, Heat n Glo, Honeywell, Intertherm, Modine, Reznor, Rheem, Robert Shaw, Ruud, York

Northwest Heating and Cooling offers the following product(s): Duct work (large and small projects), Electronic Air Cleaners and other Indoor Air Quality Products, Fireplaces and Stoves (wood, natural gas and propane), Gas piping to appliances, including underground lines, Heat Pumps and Air Conditioners, Humidifiers, Natural Gas, Propane and Electric Furnaces, Thermostats (Programmable and Non-Programmable), Venting (large and small projects)

Method(s) of Payment
VISA, MASTERCARD. DISCOVERY, CASH, PERSONAL CHECK, MONEY ORDER, CASHIERS CHECK
Alternate Business Names
Northwest Heating & Cooling NW Heating and Cooling, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 13514 West Sunset Highway

    Airway Heights, WA 99001 (509) 244-6010 (509) 928-8252 (888) 257-9759

  • PO Box 1403

    Airway Hgts, WA 99001

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 928-8252(Phone)
  • (888) 257-9759(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: March 2011Homeowner pulls permit in order to legally remove furnaceApril 2011 Homeowner hires contractor to install new furnace duct modifications, thermostat etc. paid down $1445.54Contractor partially installs furnace and duct modifications adds $500 for duct modifications homeowner reluctantly pays remainderDec 2011 Homeowners notices gas line not hooked up looks up permit and sees that corrections are necessary (pressure test) calls contractor regarding pressure test and thermostat that was never installedDec 16 Contractor comes out to do pressure test, installs thermostat ,fixes duct modifications and also installs condensation line from furnace to floor drain that homeowner installed takes condensation pump that was needed without floor drain. Homeowner asks if he will be credited for pump they took back. Tech stats that homeowner would have to talk to Carrie. Tech states he can not hook electrical wire to furnace that he is not licensed for that. Homeowner calls Carrie asks if we can get someone else out to wire she states Monday 12/19/11 at 8:30.Dec 19 Technician calls and says they will not wire furnace not their job. Homeowner calls Carrie and Carrie says same thing

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the extra $500 of duct modifications that was in the orginal contract. A refund for the cost of pump that was not needed before homeowner installed floor drain which made their job easier. Cost of hooking up wire to furnace and firing of furnace

Business Response:

The homeowner was to call in the inspection on his gas line once we installed it in April so that we could come back and fire off the furnace. He pulled all his permits since he was doing a major remodel and doing most the work himself.  In December (8 months later), he calls and speaks to our dispatcher (******).  She sets up a service call for him due to him telling her that he has no heat.  When ***** (service tech) gets out there he finds that there is no electrical hooked up to or near the furnace.  The electrical that needs to be done is high voltage and only the homeowner or and electrician are allowed to work on.  We explained this to ** ***** but he was very difficult to make understand.  He stated that he had a family member doing the electrical in the rest of his house but that he was unreliable.  We told him we would not work on the electrical because it is out of our scope of work.  We made it very clear when we bid this job that we would install gas line, install ductwork and fire off furnace.... electrical was his responsibility.  We have a hand written quote (carbon copy) that shows this.  (the ductwork was added later due to the changes he made once we started)

We made special arrangements to make it to his place once the electrical was done and we fired off the furnace for him.  We have an appointment next week to add a few registers he wants as well.  According to my Installer (*****), ** ***** has been very nice, and very appreciative of the work we have done.  He has told ***** that he is happy with his furnace and as far as we know there are no further issues once ** ***** realized that he was responsible for the electrical installation.  As far as the condensate pump... they are $35 and we put in a drain line (PVC) to a drain instead... pretty much a wash on cost.

ACTUAL NOTE FROM SERVICE PROGRAM FROM ******: This customer called us 8 months after Install and complained of no heat & when TECH (******) got there he  found no electrical to furnace and after I researched found out customer was going to do own electrical as we do not have an electricaian and now calling us saying he's going to sue us & turn us in I told him do what he wants and terminated the conversation as he was trying to bully me into sending a TECH to do the work. **

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8851611, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

*** *****

Please see attachments.

Consumer Response: i thought the business would step up to the plate and right their wrong. Willing to have arbitrator here my side and also come up with decision.

Still believe it would be in best interest of both parties to have settled before hand but if the business chose not to respond then so be it.

Business Response:

January 31, 2012

This is growing very tiresome, *** ***** continues to talk is circles and I really just do not have the time to keep responding.

1.        *** ***** pulled his own permit.  When we pull a permit it goes into a file that we check daily so we do not forget to remind our customers to call in inspections. We do not call in the inspections on a retrofit due to the fact that we do not know what is convenient for the homeowner.  Only on new construction homes do we call them in. *** ******* permit was not in our file since we did not pull it so we did not remind him to call in his inspection.  *** ***** states “contractor can still call inspections in when they are ready, does not have to be homeowner”.  I disagree highly; homeowner is responsible to call inspection in unless they call us to let us know they are ready and from there all we can do is leave a message with the inspector the day before to contact the homeowner to make arrangements for the inspection.  As you can see it is very silly for us to call in the inspection.

2.        Once our hvac portion of the job was done in April we left the job site with instructions to *** ***** to finish up such things as plumbing, electrical, drywall and whatever else he had going on.  I was told at that time by our installer that *** ***** had a huge project still ahead of him.  Our installer told *** ***** that once that is done we would be back to fire off the furnace. (In order to fire off the furnace all the electrical had to be done).  Keep in mind that we are not electricians nor have we ever claimed to be.  All electrical had to be done by *** *****’s electrician including wiring in the furnace.  From there we would run it through its fire off sequence.

3.        *** ***** called our office claiming he had a no heat situation which Carrie took and scheduled as a no heat call.  When arrived found that it was not a no heat call but was a furnace that had not yet been wired by electrician so was never fired off for operation.  I find it very unlikely that *** ***** or anyone for that matter would not realized this.  I was in the office the day(s) *** ***** spoke with Carrie.  Carrie must have explained to him a dozen times that we cannot do electrical in his home and he just would not let up about it.  Carrie tolerated the conversations just about as long as I would.  Even making it VERY clear that it is ILLEGAL for us to touch high voltage wiring *** ***** continued to insist that we do it.  I was not even on the phone and he had me very frustrated.  I believe under the circumstances Carrie handled herself very well.

4.        Jesse, one of our service technicians was sent out to put pressure on the gas line for inspection.  He as well as the office was under the impression that he was putting air on the gas line and firing off the furnace.  When he arrived he found that *** *****’s electrician did not have power to the furnace … no power, no fire off.  He did call Jacob to ask if he could hook up the wiring to the furnace since he knows that he himself cannot due to not yet being eligible for the license. (This would not be considered “incompetent” but new to the industry. One needs 4000 supervised hours before one can test for the license needed to wire in a furnace and Jesse is only a couple years into the industry.) Jacob was on another job and would not be available until the following Monday which was scheduled.  When Jacob called and spoke with *** *****’s he found that the main wiring still was not done, Jacob did not go out.  This as we had told him several times before HAD to be done by and ELECTRICIAN, not us.  Carrie was VERY clear this had to be done before we went back out.

5.        I was in the office during the several minute conversations between Carrie and *** *****.  Carrie was clear and repeated herself SEVERAL times that he needed the electrician to do wiring so for *** ***** to state that he did not know to have the wiring done by Monday is ridiculous. 

6.        Carrie at one point turned the phone over to Jacob to discuss what needed to be done.  Jacob came and told me that *** ***** made some comment about the electrician was a relative and just was not that reliable. Really none of our concern except that it slows us down on getting the furnace fired off.

7.        I have a hand written proposal (original one) that shows the installation of the furnace for $2656 plus tax = $2887.07 invoice FLYNT dated 4/28/2011.  I also have another Invoice for $461.83 plus tax = $502.01 for the additional ductwork we ended up doing. On the original proposal the “duct modifications”, “gas, venting material” all refer to the transition from existing to furnace.  The trunk line and over 5 supply runs were the additional $502.01 and *** ***** is well aware of this as he agreed and paid.

8.        Condensate pump will be dropped off to *** ***** when Jacob installs registers.  *** ***** will need to call to schedule the appointment, he has not called as of yet.

9.        *** ***** made some reference to ****** that ****** took as “lawsuit”.  He had mentioned filing a complaint with BBB which really is out of our hands.

*** *****’s project is complete minus the registers that ***** will bring out once he calls to schedules an appointment. ***** has mentioned going out there but wants this issue settled first or *** ***** to call him to let him know when he will be home to let him in. This project has drug on for nearly eight months due to the fact that *** *****’s electrical was not ready for us.  I will not stand by and allow *** ***** to turn this around on to us when it is VERY clear we were contacted over six months after starting the project, he did not have his electrical ready for us and did not call in his inspection. 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8851611, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I just do not know what to say to her response. Its just plain wrong what she has said. Just read through all of the replies and I believe these answers she gave have been going round and round. I do not believe she sent anything on the 1/31/12 and do not really care if she did. Like I said before i just want this to be done.  I will call ***** first thing Tuesday morning 2/21/12  and try to resolve this with him. ********* has never spoken with me ever in any form. They had never  scheduled to complete the work which they said they had scheduled. To the i pulled the permit comment. I am a roofing contractor and have never had any problems calling in for any inspections if the home owner pulled the permit which I have. I just made sure the necessary inspections  were called in, the inspections were made and the permit was final. I just want everything to be done complete up to code the heat registers added and the stat wire installed. I will call for final, and the assurance that if it does not pass the final inspection they will make sure they do whatever needs to be done so it does.

Regards,

*** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Northwest Heating and Cooling on Jan. 19, 2012, because my furnace was making a loud noise while operating, and this is the company I had always gone with in the past for routine maintenance of my furnace. The person who showed up, *****, told me immediately after taking the cover off the furnace that I had a bad heat exchanger and that it went from a service call to him making a replacement bid, which I received via email. I did specifically ask if I owed anything for the service call. He did not inform me that if I didn't go with their company, that it would revert to a service call and I would be billed, which is what has occured. I subsequently got other bids, which were free, and went with another company for replacement of my furnace. I also received a follow-up call from *****, and I informed him I was going with another company. At that point, I still wasn't told it would revert back to a service call. I am basing this complaint on the information I was told, which was it went from a service call to a bid for replacement. Receiving this bill appears to me as sour grapes since I didn't go with their company. When I called the company to complain on Jan 25, 2012, after receiving a bill in the mail, I was told by ****** that doing it this way is an industry standard, but that's not something I would know; I'm just going by the information that was relayed to me subsequent to being told it was no longer a service call.

Desired Settlement: No bill for receiving a replacement bid pursuant to the information I was given.

Business Response: This was the first time N W Heating and Cooling has done any business with *** ****.  As with every service call we charge a diagnostic fee of $99.00.  This fee is to diagnose the problem then from there give the homeowner options to repair or replace.  If a homeowner chooses to replace the unit and has us do the work, the diagnostic fee is reimbursed to the homeowner, if not then the homeowner is responsible to pay the fee.  This fee covers us paying the technician to drive to the home,and  diagnose the problem. It also covers the fuel to drive the vehicle as well as the wear and tear on the vehicle.  There is insurance on the vehicle as well as industrial insurance on the company and the technician.  We have to pay the receptionist to answer the phone to schedule the appointment in the first place and also the phone company and utilities... let us not forget that we also have to pay for our storefront and endless inventory or parts in our shop.  This is just the obvious list of reasons why we have to charge the homeowner our diagnostic fee.  We diagnosed her furnace as possibly having a bad heat exchanger and we gave her a free estimate on the replacement.  *** **** **** ******* ***** *** *************** of which we received both leads (costing N W Heating  $100 - non refundable).  We had *** ****s's invoice printed out the evening of the service call as per proceedure and ***** was reminded harshly that he was to collect diagostic fee at time of service.  ***** explained that he was sure she was going to have him put in furnace and felt he did not need to collect at that time.  I do not know of any heating company out there that does not charge a fee for diagnosing a system.  I am not sure that I know of any occupation that does not charge for services rendered other than perhaps a non-profit which we are not.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8894179, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1