BBB Accredited Business since

Northwest Heating and Cooling

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 244-6010 Fax: (509) 244-9720 View Additional Phone Numbers 13514 West Sunset Highway, Airway Heights, WA 99001


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning systems and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Heating and Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Heating and Cooling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Heating and Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2007 Business started: 08/30/2007 in WA Business started locally: 08/30/2007 Business incorporated 10/01/2008 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Christine Day, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Christine Day, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Products & Services

Northwest Heating and Cooling sells the following brand(s): Bradford White, Coleman, Comfortmaker, Heat n Glo, Honeywell, Intertherm, Modine, Reznor, Rheem, Robert Shaw, Ruud, York

Northwest Heating and Cooling offers the following product(s): Duct work (large and small projects), Electronic Air Cleaners and other Indoor Air Quality Products, Fireplaces and Stoves (wood, natural gas and propane), Gas piping to appliances, including underground lines, Heat Pumps and Air Conditioners, Humidifiers, Natural Gas, Propane and Electric Furnaces, Thermostats (Programmable and Non-Programmable), Venting (large and small projects)

Method(s) of Payment
VISA, MASTERCARD. DISCOVERY, CASH, PERSONAL CHECK, MONEY ORDER, CASHIERS CHECK
Alternate Business Names
Northwest Heating & Cooling NW Heating and Cooling, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 13514 West Sunset Highway

    Airway Heights, WA 99001 (509) 928-8252 (888) 257-9759 (509) 244-6010

  • PO Box 1403

    Airway Hgts, WA 99001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has demonstrated a terrible business practice in providing horrible customer service and unreliable workmanship. The reason they were fixing our air conditioner was due to them not repairing it correctly the first time. We had a slow leak as a result of them never correctly installing the unit and when they came back it was never fixed correctly, even though they assured us they would make it right and fix the issue. Their supposable best guy came to find the leak and we were never given an invoice to see the work being done, when we asked for an invoice we were told they were trying to make it right and it was under warranty. The company tried to repair the line and did a bad job leaving open holes outside our house and made changes by re-routing the line without our authorization. We asked why they didn't do a better job and the excuse by the serviceman was he didn't have the right tools. On several occasions, the serviceman was not in a uniform when he showed up and wouldn’t follow up with us for several weeks after trying a pressure test, causing the freon to continue leaking and resulting in him adding more and ruining our compressor. My husband would call the office to find out when he would come back and it would take days to get a phone call back. When the serviceman would come back he said he was still trying to figure it out and NEVER told us we owed anything, he had a lack for follow up and didn't seem to make it a priority to fix it. Due to waiting so long for the repairs and the leak going on for so long, the compressor to the air conditioner is close to breaking due to working overtime to compensate for the leak. Our biggest dispute is sending us a bogus bill for almost $1500 dollars TWO MONTHS after they tried to fix the unit, which we are still not sure if it’s fixed because we hardly used it after that time. We were never told we would be billed for anything and NEVER given an invoice to sign or notification at any time listing charges. We also never agreed or signed for any of the charges, we were never given an estimate to agree upon the services because every time we asked they said they were making it right and it was under the warranty of their work. We tried to call the company several times after the last time they fixed the line and they would never call us back. My husband tried to call the owner and serviceman, but no response. I tried to call the office again on 10/21 to ask if they tried to order the compressor under the warranty, the secretary told me they were too busy to talk to me, but wanted my email to send me a quote to fix the compressor and I asked again, if they had ordered it because I wanted it. The secretary told me, she didn't know if they had it or maybe the warranty ran out and they couldn’t order it, she wasn’t sure, but she would send me a quote. I told her, the serviceman (*****) or the owner needs to call me, she said okay. When I got home to my surprise they emailed me an invoice for all the supposable charges they did to repair the air conditioner with no dates of service, so I have no idea what is true when we were never given an documentation for any of the work they did EVER!! On the quote, they stated they did get the compressor which we did not authorize under the warranty. Today (10/22/14), my husband called to talk to the owner to straighten out the issue and now the owner is out of town and cannot call him and the serviceman (*****) was too busy. This experience has been nothing but frustration from the beginning, the only reason we went back was for them to fix the mistake they made from the start. Why would we pay for services twice when they should’ve done right the FIRST TIME?

Desired Settlement: We want a billing adjustment and do not think we should be responsible for any of the charges, they should've been up front from the beginning if there were going to be charging us for anything. They should have told us what they were going to do each time and given us an invoice. We have no record they came, what kind of warranty to do we have if they still didn't fix the problem, we have nothing!! We also want our compressor that was ordered under OUR the warranty of our air conditioner.

Business Response:

10/29/2014

I have read the complaint made by Mrs. ***** and I find that her recollection of the events to be greatly lacking in accuracy.  The dealings with the *****’s and my company have been with Mr. ***** and a woman who I believe to be Mr. *****’s mother.  There have been a couple times that my office has spoken with Mrs. ***** over the phone, of which each time she has been less than cordial and each time we have come to the realization that she is not “in the loop” with what Mr. ***** and my technician have agreed upon. 

 

First off, we did not install their air conditioning unit; we were called the summer of 2010 to look at it.  We were informed at that time that they have had a few other companies out over the years that were not able to fix the problem for them.  Of course, we felt bad for them spending so much money and not having an operational system so we told them that we would check it out for them.  At that time my technician (*****) and I discussed the job and hoped we did not just adopt a huge issue from a previous company but ***** really liked Mr. ***** so we went forward.  A brief timeline of events:

June 12, 2010 – Found unit was low on Freon.  Suggest a leak test to be done to find where the leak may be so we can repair and recharge system.

June 13, 2010 – Did a leak test, found that the system was 7 pounds low but could not locate the leak.  Mr. ***** told ***** to recharge the system to get through the season. 

May 27, 2011 – ***** went out to check on system, it was low on charge.  ***** evaluated the system and felt that the leak could be hiding in the indoor evaporator coil. ***** contacted the warranty department and they authorized a coil replacement.  ***** changed out the evaporator coil, added the needed refrigerant and the system pressures were good and ran fine.

May 22, 2014 – After 3 years, Mr. ***** called saying the system was acting up.  ***** went out and did a leak test.  He checked all the fittings from the coil replacement from three years prior and they were all fine.  He suggested a “dye test” so he could see the dye where the leak is.  Most of the refrigeration line from the furnace to the air conditioner is in a finished ceiling so most cannot be seen. ***** added 10 pounds of refrigerant discounted to $50 per pound, $65 leak test and the next day $50 for the dye test. He told Mr. ***** that we wouldn’t bill this out until we knew the system was running properly.

May 27, 2014 – ***** added dye to the line and would be back in a month or so to see if he could find where the dye was leaking.

July 17, 2014 – ***** went back to check for the dye, he found no dye.  Concluded that it may be in the ceiling and that it may be best to just pull the old line set out and replace with new. Mr. ***** agreed to this (Mr. ***** called my office at a later date asking me how much the line set replacement would be, I told him my cost is around $250.00.  At this time I was not fully aware of the details that Mr. ***** and ***** had discussed).

July 29, 2014 – ***** replaced the refrigeration line.  ***** ran into some issues as to where he could run the line and had to redirect the line a bit to be able to get it to the outside.  He removed some siding to get into the wall. He replaced the siding when finished.  ***** meant to go back with caulking to finish tightening it up but his schedule did get very hectic.  ***** spoke to Mr. ***** of this and ***** was under the impression it was being taken care of.  ***** pointed out to Mr. ***** that the compressor on his air conditioner was getting loud and that it may be starting to fail. 

***** spoke with the warranty department again and asked if we could bend the rules a bit and have it changed out under warranty before the compressor actually failed since the warranty was getting close to ending.  It was approved and ***** told Mr. ***** that we would have to purchase it outright and when we were able to do so and he had time in his schedule we would.  ***** ordered the compressor and it is sitting at a wholesale house in Spokane waiting on us to pick up.  ***** has been very busy and has not had a chance to take a day to change out the compressor. 

I worked up a quote to replace the compressor.  A warranty only covers the compressor, it does not cover the line dryer, refrigerant and labor needed to replace.  When Mrs. ***** called to say that they were ready for the compressor change out I sent her the estimate to do so.  This call also reminded me that I had not billed them out yet for the work that Mr. ***** approved with ***** months prior.  We have not received any calls from the *****’s stating otherwise.  After all, we charged $500 for refrigerant, $65 for leak test, $50 for dye test, $300 for labor.  The next ticket to replace the refrigeration line we charged $250 for the line and $200 for labor.  The *****’s were treated more than fairly on the pricing, of which several hours of labor and several pounds of refrigerant were not billed.  

 

Mrs. *****’s claim that we ruined her compressor is ridiculous and sure she is reaching in order to have this bill we sent her dissolved.  I am a very understanding individual; I understand that when you are not directly involved it is easy to misunderstand what is taking place such as between Mr. ***** and *****.  Because of moments like these I have become a diligent note keeper as are my people. Also… our technicians are always in uniform; I see them EVERY morning… gray or green t-shirt with logo on breast pocket.  I have never seen ***** or *** leave this office without one.

 

***** and I searched his phone for Mr. *****’s phone number since Mrs. ***** claims that he has been trying to reach *****.  The last call between ***** and Mr. ***** was in September and that was ***** calling Mr. *****.  The same goes for our land lines.  All our calls are recorded and we have just recently been receiving calls from Mrs. ***** stating she was ready to have compressor installed.  She did speak with our receptionist who has been with us for a few weeks and had no idea of the procedures but felt threatened by Mrs. *****’s tone when she was not able to answer her questions about the compressor.  She has since been advised to just take a message and someone will return the call with the needed information.

 

I called Mr. ***** and left a message on his home phone and his cell phone to discuss his billing but have not heard back from him.  That same day I was notified of this letter from Mrs. *****.  I can only assume that they have not called me back due to realizing the many inaccuracies of Mrs. *****’s letter.  If she was present at the times ***** was there doing the repairs she may have better insight as to the events that led up to the bill that was sent to her. Because a technician makes the statement “We want to make this right” is not implying that we are going to do it for FREE.  We charged about half of what should have been charged because ***** sincerely likes Mr. ***** and felt bad that other companies charged him so much and did not fix the problem.  ***** stuck with it over months and got it fixed.  He volunteered several of his ours and asked me not to charge full retail on materials and refrigerant.  It is unfortunate that in today’s society we cannot help someone out without getting negative things written about us.  I suppose we will have to choose more wisely on the individuals we help in this manner.

 

As far as the settlement desired:  $1,483.76 is the invoice amount and will stay the invoice amount. 

As far as the compressor: It is at the wholesaler, the warranty department has authorized us to change it out.  The cost to change it out is a discounted price of $800 before sales tax.  If the *****’s wish to have someone else changes it out this is their prerogative. 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The owner left a message on our home phone on 10/24 at 9:30 am to talk about the charges, but gave the excuse she would only be in the office until 11:00 am.  We have jobs and she did not try to call my cell phone.  I called the office on 10/31 and 11/4, left a message and nobody has returned my phone calls.

If the services were to be charged to us, why did we not get any invoices and we want to see copies with dates and our signature.  They never left us an invoice.  The company assured us they would make their mistake right.  We did not authorize or sign anything for them to order the compressor.   This company says we have not returned our calls, but it's the other way around.  When my wife called regarding the compressor, she did not request for them to install, she wanted to know if the ordered it under our warranty and would not answer her.  Instead, they decide to send us a bill without any dates if service.  Why did they wait over two months to send a bill?  We are trying and want to resolve this issue.  

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response:

This issue was resolved.  I spoke with them and they said they were going to contact BBB and write a statement that they had a misunderstanding.

Here is her last email to me regarding the complait
 

* ***** **** ** *** **** ******** ***** * ***** ********************* * *** *****************
> Subject: Re: Invoice from NW Heating and Cooling, Inc.

> Good morning, 

> Yes, we agree with these charges and appreciate you working with us.  We will mail out a check this week.  

> Thank you for your patience working with us, I know you were both playing phone tag with my husband.  

> I will update our complaint on the BBB to let the know you went out of your way to resolve the complaint and it was just a miscommunication.  

> Thank you again, we look forward to working with you in the future.   
> ----- Original Message -----
* ***** * * ******* *** ******* ******************* * *** ********************* * ***** **** ** *** **** ******** ***** *****
> Subject: Invoice from NW Heating and Cooling, Inc.

> Dear ***** ***** :

> This is what I am proposing.... your thoughts....

> Sincerely,

> NW Heating and Cooling, Inc.