BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ranch & Home, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ranch & Home, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ranch & Home, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 30, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1979 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated: 01/01/1979 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Dress, Owner Mr. Jeff Dress, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Dress, Owner
Business Category

Farm Equipment Livestock Equipment & Supplies Welding Equipment & Supplies Animal Health Products Livestock Feeding Safes & Vaults Barbecue Equipment & Supplies Boots Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces Gas - Propane Hardware - Retail Novelties - Retail Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Riding Apparel & Equipment Stoves - Wood, Coal Western Apparel Womens Apparel - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Kennewick Ranch and Home Pasco Ranch & Home

Additional Locations

  • 516 N Oregon Ave

    Pasco, WA 99301 (509) 547-5513

  • 845 N Columbia Center Blvd

    Kennewick, WA 99336 (509) 737-1996

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the Ranch and Home store in kennewick. When i saw a gun that i wanted to buy i saw the price that it was for and it was $949.99. So i told them if the price was as mark there were three persons that check the price in the store on two computers and they told me that it was correct. So i told them how much was it going to be with everything including tax and paper work and he said $1028.84. So then i told them that if i could put it on layaway since i didnt have the money and he told that i would have to put some down so i put $300 torward the gun. I had three months to pay it off. I put the money torard the gun on 4/22/13 and i paid it off in full amount on 05/15/13 and so then they told me at the customer service desk where i had payed the amount to go to the sporting good section and fill out the legal paper work on it and show them my receipt. When i showed the my receipt they went for the gun and brought out and as i was filling out the application on the gun someone there was checking out the gun from the store and check his computer again for the price and told me that he had to call his manager because there was a problem. So he came and check his computer and saw that the price for that gun was much more and could not sell me the gun which i had already paid off in full amount. I told him that the price had to be correct because there was three people that check the price on the gun several times like five times and it came back to $949.99 and i told him that was what they told me and that is what i paid. I told the manager that i was not going to pay another dollar for it since i had already paid it in full.

Desired Settlement: i want the gun i am a legal citizen i have my conceal weapons pemit i have a clean record It is not my fault if they had an error i do not want my money back all i want is the gun i purchase.

Business Response:


Rebuttal to customer complaint: ******* ******** (Selling Practices)
Ranch & Home Employee Statement:

On the evening of the 15th of May, I was summoned back to the sporting goods area to deal with a situation that had arisen between Mr. ******** and our sales staff. Upon approaching the gun counter, Seth, a sporting goods employee began to explain that there had been a mistake with the pricing of the gun the customer was looking to purchase. After realizing that mistakes had been made, I as acting manager, informed Mr. ******** that the price listed was substantially under cost and that we would not be able to honor the price on said firearm. At this point the customer continued to insist that three employees checked the price of the gun and all gave him the ticket price of $949.99 a few days earlier. I then decided to look further into the matter in order to determine who helped him and figure out what exactly had happened. At this point I took Mr. ********'s information and asked to contact him the next day before making a decision on our course of action. The following morning I checked our security footage to identify which Ranch & Home employees had helped the customer numerous days earlier. After talking to the employees and finding the correct Item number for the gun, we then realized that it wasn’t a case of a mispriced Item but rather a mis-ticketed item. The gun on the invoice which Mr. ******** paid in full was not in fact the gun he had assumed to pay for. The mistake was made when an employee placed an item number on gun that was the same model (Gov’t Model .38 Super) but different finish. The item number on the customers gun was Colt's base model 1911 with a blue finish, not the elaborate, decorative inlaid gold anniversary edition with a pearl handle with a price tag difference of $1,350 dollars. It was at this point that I consulted with the rest of the managerial staff and decided collectively that we couldn't sell the firearm in question at a $949.99 price tag but rather offer the customer the gun at the cost at which we had received it. Had that not been acceptable, we were willing to set Mr. ******** up with a gun of comparable price or order in the .38 Super that he had paid for. I contacted the customer and explained the circumstances with sincere apologies from both myself as well as the staff, explaining that mistakes had been made and that we would do our best to right the situation.
Ranch & Home settlement:

We are willing to sell Mr. ******** the gun in question at cost or order in the firearm ticketed on his invoice.

In response to the customer complaint from 05/15/13 about the issue regarding his attempted purchase of a Colt 1911 pistol in ,38Super caliber.

The customer came to the sporting goods department with a receipt showing that he had paid off his layaway on a standard Colt 1911A1 in ,38Super. I took his receipt back and matched it up to find the gun he had put on layaway, when I returned and opened the box I discovered that the gun was actually a limited edition, custom engraved pistol with gold inlay. I did not believe that the price of $949.99 on the receipt was correct and looked it up in our system. Once I located the right gun I found that our cost on the pistol was $1599.95 and that the gun retailed for $2299.99. I informed the customer that there was a problem and called for the manager on duty that night. We informed the customer of the mistake and discrepancy in the price, and explained that there was a very good chance he was dealing with new employees the night that he put the gun on layaway(04/22/13). At this point the customer started to develop a very poor attitude, going so far as to say something to the effect of, "If someone needed to get fired for him to get the gun for that price, so be it". We proceeded to tell the customer that we would look deeper into the matter and find out what had taken place to cause this error and call him with an update, but that there was no way we could let him leave with the pistol at that time.

After pulling up the footage from the security cameras to see who the customer had dealt with, we were able to come to the conclusion that he had been helped almost entirely by new employees. Upon further investigation, we discovered that the gun had been mismarked by a new employee, an easy thing to do on Colt pistols as Colt often leaves the standard label on limited edition guns. The barcode on the box would bring you to the standard model's price in our system and there was a hand written store barcode on the box for the limited edition.

The customer was then contacted and told what had happened to cause the error. We offered three alternatives to the customer as a solution to the error. 1. Give him a full refund of the money that had been put down for the layaway. 2. We offered to sell him the limited edition pistol for our cost of $1599.95. 3. Let him purchase the pistol that he had paid for and we would give him a gift certificate to make up for the misunderstanding. The customer has refused all 3 of our offers.

In conclusion, the customer in question, Mr. ******* ******** of Mattawa, WA, was accidentally charged for the wrong gun. Any firearm remains property of the store until a background check has taken place by federal and/or local authorities and we are given permission to let the buyer purchase the firearm. It is common practice to require payment before a background check has come back with a
proceed as the retailer is unable to sell the firearm during this process. The error was detected before the background check had begun and as such the firearm was still property of Ranch & Home Kennewick. As a Federal Firearms Licensed Dealer, Ranch & Home reserves the right to refuse service to anyone.

Consumer Response: I would have say that they are the ones that are wrong  I had asked them several times about the gun price was correct and  with all certainly had told me that it was correct and the price of the pistol was at $949.99 with there certainly that they were selling me the firearm at actual cost. As I had said it was not just one person searching for the price it was three people and they said that it was correct. I had told them that what was going to be the total and they said it would be with everything $1028 which I have already paid off.

What they want is to resale the gun that I paid for and make more money out of it so they want to rip someone else off and have it their way.  I may not been the only one that the store want to cheat at with getting more money.  The price on the tag shows clearly what they wanted for the gun I have a picture of it. And even so they still do not want to give me the gun that I paid for.

Business Response: Here are the responses from the two individuals that were involved with the customer. If there is anything else I can do please let me know. Thanks, *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1