BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Handyman Electric, LLC

Phone: (509) 466-0303 View Additional Phone Numbers Serving Spokane County and the outlying areas, Spokane, WA 99208 http://www.spokaneelectrician.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Electrical home improvement and repair service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Handyman Electric, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Handyman Electric, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Handyman Electric, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

31 Customer Reviews on Handyman Electric, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 31
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 31

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 02, 2011 Business started: 12/01/2009 in WA Business started locally: 12/01/2009 Business incorporated: 12/19/2009 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert Robertson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Robertson, Owner
Business Category

Electricians Insulation Materials - Electric Wire & Cable - Electric Contractor - Electrical

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards, checks and cash.
Refund and Exchange Policy
We are not a retailer that sells products.  Therefore, we don't offer refunds or exchanges. 
Industry Tips
Contractors - GENERAL ADVICE

Additional Locations

  • Serving Spokane County and the outlying areas

    Spokane, WA 99208 (509) 466-0303

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 993-0303(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a faulty breaker switch that damaged the line for the part of the upper level of the house. We replaced the switch and ran new line, but still did not have power. On 7/22/14 ****** ********* came over and gave us a quote. He said he could troubleshoot and if the problem was small he would fix it for a flat fee. He also suggested that we replace all the breaker switches. We told him that, although we agree with him that they need to be replaced, we would replace them ourselves. When he wrote out the quote he listed the troubleshoot as well as replacement of breakers. After he had written it we told him again that we would not need him to replace the breakers. *** ********* told us that we could line out anything we did not want him to do. On 7/25/14 *** ********* came he began work and we tried not to be in his way. A little while later he left without telling us where he was going. We then looked at the breaker box and all the switches were gone. When he came back we reminded him that we did not want him to replace the switches. *** ********* then showed his irritation and said, "Fine, then I"ll do it for free." We told him that's not what we want. We would pay him for the cost of the switches, but we would not pay him for putting them in. We referred him to our previous conversation and his response in lining out anything we did not want him to do. *** ********* then became even more rude. He finished installing the new switches and then proceeded to tell us he was leaving and would not work for "a liar and a cheat." After *** ********* had left we realized our home air conditioning was not working properly. Since it was a weekend, we had to wait for ******* ******* ******* to come out on Tuesday 7/29/14. They told us that the unit was miswired and that was the reason why the AC was not running. They charged us $96.74 for the service call. After an entire evening trying to figure out the wiring, the next morning 7/30/14 we found that the problem was at the new breaker switch that *** ********* had installed on 7/25. We rewired it correctly and the air conditioning started working properly. From the time *** ********* left our home to the time we were able to get our air conditioning fixed was four days of 98-100 degree heat in Spokane. Our original electrical problem is still not fixed.

Desired Settlement: We would like *** ********* to reimburse us for the AC service call we had to pay for due to his negligence in wiring the breaker. The total cost of the service call is what we request: $96.74.

Business Response:

Before responding to the complaint, I would like to point out that on the day I was to work on the home (7/25/14) ***** was not present.  The only person there was *****.  I understood he was a relative of the homeowner and an electrician in the military.

Thus the allegations are more fiction than factual.

It is difficult for me to understand the complaint.  The last line of the complaint states: “our original electrical problem is still not fixed”.  I did not fix the problem nor did I charge to fix it.  The A/C unit would seem to be a red herring, as it was fixed, presumably by *****, one day after ******* ******* ******* had made a house call and charged $96.74, for what?

The crux of the matter is rather straight forward.  On 7/22/14, I gave ******** a written proposal to (1) Troubleshoot down circuit and (2) Replace circuit breaker parts.

On 7/25/14, I was greeted by *****.  We proceeded to the panel, and ***** watched while I removed all of the circuit breakers.  I advised him I would be gone about an hour while acquiring new breakers.  Upon my return he told me he did not want new breakers.  I stated it would have been nice if he had lined out that part of the proposal, or at least told me before I removed all the circuit breakers, and purchased new ones.  He insisted that I install the old breakers and I responded I would put in the new ones and not charge for the parts or labor.

My concern was, although not expressed, that the house had undergone a remodel, that there was faulty wiring that could cause a fire, that new breakers would trip thus preventing a fire, and that would prevent me from being sued as the cause of the fire.  The cost of the breakers ($80.15) and labor was cheap insurance to avoid a potential serious claim and lawsuit, which surely would follow.

At this point, I told ***** I was leaving and would not perform additional work.  In retrospect, I regret my choice of words, however, I had made the decision to cut and run.  It seemed obvious to me the customer would never be happy, I would expend far more energy than the job required, and more than likely I would not be paid.

In conclusion, I left the house exactly as I found it, with the exception of new Cutler Hammer circuit breakers.  Incidentally, I was not paid for anything, including the new breakers.

I am fully licensed, bonded and insured.  I have been an electrical contractor and electrical administrator for twelve years.  I have a total of nineteen years as an electrician, working in residential/commercial where I gained experience in new construction and remodels.

I formed Handyman Electric in 2009.  It specializes in troubleshooting, repair and formulating creative solutions to challenging projects.  As a perfectionist, I pride myself with doing the job well, arriving on time, providing a clean service and communicating with the customer to provide the service they desire. 

 

****** *********

Handyman Electric LLC 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

*** ********* was correct in stating that ***** was present on 7/25/14 as I (*********) and my husband ***** were out of town.  However, aside from ***** being present during this altercation, his wife, ****** and daughter, **** were also present, both witnessing *********'s immature, inappropriate and unprofessional behavior toward my brother-in-law.

I will respond to each issue that ********* refutes.  First, he is correct in stating that he did not fix or charge us for "our original electrical problem."  That fact—which he has freely admitted—is the core of the problem.  When we originally called and scheduled him to come, we informed him that our primary concern was to find the cause of our electrical problem, not to replace our circuit breakers.  

On 7/22/14, ***** and I were present during the writing of the proposal.  Before the proposal was written and after discussing with ********* that the breakers did need to be replaced; *****, who has been an electrician in the military for close to 20 years, stated that he could replace them himself at a later date.  When ********* wrote the proposal, he still added “replace circuit breakers” as a line item on the proposal.  ***** and I again told ********* that replacing the circuit breakers would not be something he needed to do.  ********* proceeded to tell us to line out anything we did not want him to work on and he gave us a copy of the proposal—with nothing lined out.  I cannot explain why ********* did not immediately line out the work that he was repeatedly told not to do.  Instead, he instructed us to manually cross out the “replace circuit breakers” line item, if we did not want that done, which ***** did the morning before ********* arrived on Friday, 7/25/14.  At no time did Roberson ask to see our copy of the proposal to confirm what work he was to perform.  Had he done so, or even reviewed the work to be done with ***** that day, he would not have put in unnecessary time working on the circuit breakers.  ********* should have immediately lined out the item that was not wanted and provided the carbon copy to the us to ensure everyone was on the same page.  There seems to be a major disconnect in *********’s work process that led to unnecessary work and confusion.  

********* also states that ***** was present while he removed the breaker switches and that he advised ***** that he would be gone for about an hour to purchase new circuit breakers.  This statement is not true and is a contradiction to later statements by *********.  In fact, had ********* spoken to *****, ***** would have again reiterated that replacing the circuit breaker switches was not in the scope of the job. 

What actually happened is that ***** let ********* in and left him to work and went into the house to work on other projects.  It wasn’t until ****** asked ***** where the electrician had gone that ***** realized ********* had left.  After checking the garage and seeing that all the switches were now missing from the electrical panel, he made the assumption that ********* had left to get new breakers.  When ********* returned, both ****** and **** were present for the conversation between ********* and *****.  ***** told ********* a third time that replacing the breakers—per our conversation on 7/22/14—was not something he was tasked to do.  ********* became irate and started verbalizing statements about having to do work for free.  To that, ***** had to repeat more than once that we were willing to pay him for the cost of the breakers, but that we would not pay him to install them because we had already told him that was not something he was asked to do, again referring to our conversation on 7/22/14.

****** witnessed *********’s rude and unprofessional behavior prior to *********’s saying that he would not do any more work for "a liar and a cheat."  I've never been more shocked at the behavior of someone in the service profession, and I am appalled that a member of my family was treated so unkindly and unprofessional by *********.

********* refuses to admit that he may have incorrectly wired one of the breaker switches.  However, it was after ********* insulted ***** and left my home that the A/C stopped working, despite the fact that it was working perfectly before ********* arrived that morning.  It is not a coincidence that it happened immediately after ********* left.  No one else had touched the breaker, so who else is to blame for this problem?  Following is an explanation for why it was necessary for our call to Spokane Comfort Systems:

Upon our return from our trip on 7/26/14, we immediately noticed that the A/C was not working.  For several days ***** and ***** attempted to fix the A/C problem on their own.  Unaware that the problem was, in fact, an electrical problem, we finally contacted Spokane Comfort Systems—a company that specializes in A/C repair—to come to our home and diagnose our A/C problem.  The A/C tech quickly discovered that the reason the A/C did not work was due to an electrical problem—the condenser unit was only receiving half of the power it needed to operate.  The tech advised that we would need to have the power junction located and checked by a trained electrician, as that was not his company’s area of expertise.  

***** later determined that the A/C’s double-pole breaker at the breaker box that ********* had worked on was incorrectly placed, causing the A/C condenser to only be receiving 110 volts. ***** and ***** repositioned the switches correctly and the condenser began functioning properly.  The facts clearly show that the source of the A/C problem began immediately following *********'s unprofessional departure from our home on 7/25/14.  If ********* had not incorrectly replaced the switches in the circuit breaker, we would not have needed to pay Spokane Comfort Systems $96.74 to discover that an electrical issue was the cause of our A/C failure.  (Note:  As a result, the A/C—that was functioning perfectly before *********’s visit—failed to operate during five of the hottest days of the summer, when we needed it the most.)

In his response, ********* further attacks our integrity by stating that he felt we would not pay him, which is why he left.  This claim has no merit, as ***** repeatedly told ********* that he would be paid for the cost of the new breaker switches.  Regardless, the fact remains that ********* never actually worked on the real reason for his service—to find the original electrical problem as was previously agreed upon.  Although we, ***** and I, were gone, we had left a check in *****'s possession to pay for the work ********* was retained to do, which did NOT include work that he was told repeatedly NOT to do.  This failure traces back to *********'s neglect in crossing out, on both copies of the proposal, the work we did not want him to do.  If he had done that, he would not have wasted his time doing extra work replacing breakers and making a mistake that cost us time and money to fix.

As this is obviously *********'s fault, we respectfully ask that ********* reimburse us the $96.74 for the cost of the A/C service call.

Business Response: I would like to respond to *********, but don’t know where to start.  By her own admission she was not present, and yet she goes on in great detail describing what she imagined occurred.   It is indeed interesting and fanciful, but not at all how I remember the events of that day.  My original response was accurate and forthright; however, I should point out that both parties are out of pocket about the same amount, so I would suggest leaving the matter exactly where it is. 



****** *********
Handyman Electric LLC

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

*** ********* states that my detailed description of the events that occurred in July were fanciful because I was not present for the entire altercation. I was there when *** ********* added extra work to the proposal when both myself and my brother-in-law told him that we only wanted to find the source of the electrical problem and nothing else. The rest of the detail was provided by three witnesses, *****, his wife ****** and daughter **** as previously mentioned. I believe that three witnesses has more credibility than one. 

 
As far as we're concerned this issue is not resolved if *** ********* is not willing to reimburse us for the cost of his mistake.

Regards,

***** And ********* ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ********* of Handyman Electric used an inappropriate cable when he installed a cable for us for our television. A ******* representative examined the wire that he installed in our home. According to *******, the copper wire he installed is not appropriate for HDTV and can cause problems even on regular TV programming. ******* said that if we ever had a problem with our TV programming, the first thing they would do is require us to replace the wire that he just installed.The problem with the copper wire he installed is that it has no foil shielding. Without foil shielding, the copper braid absorbs radio interference. To demonstrate the problem, ******* measured the leakage on the interior cable he installed with a spectrum analyzer and picked up 34dBmV(decibel millivolts) of interference on 105.5 megahertz screen shots at 11:20 a.m. on December 14, 2011.Initially, ****** ********* agreed to replace the cable if we got ******* to provide a copy in writing of the specifications for the cable. The specifications sheet was pulled by **** **********, a tech supervisor at the Buckeye store in Spokane. I heard through **** ****, a ******* sales representative, that **** was very surprised that a professional would even make the decision to install copper cable without aluminum shielding. According to ****, it is not an appropriate use for that cable and does not meet ******* standards.The specifications sheet that **** provided clearly indicates aluminum shielding. After ********* received the specifications sheet, he refused to install a new cable that he had already promised.********* was also unprofessional at our house. He demanded that the accented ***** ******* representative tell him whether or not the ******* representative was a citizen. I apologized to the ******* rep. (who was a citizen) afterwards. We plan to buy a HDTV and that won't work on the installed cable. We want ********* to install a new cable with one that meets *******'s specifications at his expense.

Desired Settlement: We want Handyman Electric to replace the television cable with one that meets the specifications of the ******* sheet including aluminum shielding provided by **** **********, a tech supervisor at the ******* Buckeye store in Spokane.

Business Response: Dear ****** ***** ******


I understand that you desire excellence in workmanship and such was delivered. Your story of what happen is very harsh and incorrect.  That race thing is off the wall.  

You did not mention that it took ******* 3 months to figure how to provide service to your home.  Each time ******* failed to provide service they expressed it was your home wiring.  In response to ******* you would ask me to check things out to verify their claims which I did several times for you with no charge. One time you thank me with a $50.00 bottle of wine. (Thank you!)  The reason ******* could not secure a good signal was due to one of your TV cables buried in the dirt that was shorting out your cable system.

I believe in the performance of copper over the inferior performance of aluminum.  The material specifications you provided (printed on your stationary and not *******'s) only has a 77% coverage against outside interference.  The RG-6 cable that I installed has a coverage of 95% against outside interference.  It cost my company 3 times more for this high grade material than an aluminum product.

On January 24th 9:01AM 
You called me and said that *******'s minimum TV cable requirements was RG-6.  My reply was: We installed RG-6 Quad Shield cable in your home.

The spectrum analyzer picked up 34dBmV(decibel millivolts) of interference on 105.5 megahertz.   Your cable is working within its manufactured specifications.

The real truth is that you had me attach this new RG-6 cable to the original wiring that does not even meet YOUR CLAIM of *******'s minimum requirements. 

I will not fulfill your request based on:

• The lack of providing on ******* stationary minimum requirements for residential applications
• My connectors of my cable have been removed/tampered 
• You expressed your TV service is presently working well

Truly yours

****** ********* (Managing Member)

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Groupon coupon for this company's services.This was paid for upfront. I called the phone # listed and a lady answered. I told her I had a groupon for their services and scheduled an appointment for 10-28.I received a call from her at 5pm on 10-24 stating she nearly got stangled for making that appointment and asked if it could be moved to Sunday (10-30 ). I told her I would talk to my wife and get back to her. On 10-25 about noon I called the office but nobody answered. At 12:30 pm I received a call from ****** (owner)and scheduled a 3 pm appointment for 10-30.On 10-30 at about 12:45 pm I received a call from ****** and he stated that I was not a nice person and he did not want to work for me. He also stated he did not like what I said to his wife. I do not know his wife.I questioned him if I was the right person he was trying too call and he said yes.He would not answer any of my questions and said he was hanging up. I called my wife and told her of the call and she asked if it was a joke.I said I'm not sure. She called him from our home phone and he answered.She asked him what was the problem and he stated it is common for an electrician to contact neighbors for character references.He also informed a neighbor that I said things to his wife after the neighbor gave me a good reference.This neighbor also said that the person who came to the door was very weird.I don't know if this guy was on drugs or drunk when he talked to my neighbors but it creeped them out.There has been burglary activity in Spokane with people knocking on doors and asking questions to see if anybody answers the door.I get along very good with all of my neighbors.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund and a signed written apology on company letterhead.

Business Response:  **** ******
3620 E. 11th Ave
Spokane , WA 99202

I'm so sorry you feel this way.  I apologize for any misunderstanding and wish it could of worked out.  Your account of events is definitely not how I remember them.  Groupon should have no problem giving you a refund of your purchase when you ask the customer support department for it.

****** ********* (Managing Member)
Handyman Electric LLC
***** * ******** ** ****
Spokane, WA 99218

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8792143, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 This person's response is anything but honest and professional. I have talked to my neighbors that he he had talked to. He said I had said things to his wife.I noticed he did not address that comment.He would not answer any questions I asked on who he talked to or what I alledgedly had said to his wife. When my wife called him using a different phone # ( he would not answer my cell # ) he wouldn't answer any questions, said he didn't want to talk about it, told my wife to drop it and said he was hanging up. My neighbors support me on this matter and his reponse is anything but the truth. I don't know if he is trying to scam Groupon users on their purchases, bit off more work than he can do or just wants to cherry pick his jobs. Any ot these reasons does not deserve an approval from the BBB.

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

Business Response: Mr. **** ******

I'm so sorry you feel this way.  However, I believe your account of events are not true nor real.

You must buy something from Handyman Electric LLC first before you ask for a refund.  Therefore, your request for a refund from Handyman Electric LLC is denied.  I think you need to look at your receipt and go to the company that sold you the "Groupon" and ask them for a refund instead.

Yours truly, 
 
****** ********* (Managing Member)
Handyman Electric LLC



        

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.