BBB Accredited Business since

Woody's Chimney Sweep & Masonry

Phone: (509) 389-5624 View Additional Phone Numbers 8102 E Grace Ave, Spokane Vly, WA 99212


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Woody's Chimney Sweep & Masonry meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Woody's Chimney Sweep & Masonry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Woody's Chimney Sweep & Masonry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 22, 2014 Business started: 02/01/2013 in WA Business started locally: 01/26/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Troy Thomas Parker, Owner/Operator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Troy Thomas Parker, Owner/Operator
Business Category

Chimney Sweeper Chimney Builders & Repair Mason Contractors Fireplaces Stoves - Wood, Coal Chimney Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Spokane Chimney & Vent Service Woody's Chimney Sweep and Certification

Additional Locations

  • 8102 E Grace Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99212 (509) 723-0243

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Woody's to put in a liner for our chimney. We were pleased with the service. He stated that the top of the chimney needed repairs. We got several estimates, all stating new bricks and materials would be needed. Because we were pleased with the previous work we chose to use Woody's again. We did not get a written estimate, only a verbal price. It was higher than the other bids but we felt he was a good contractor. The bid was for $1200. Long story short, he reused the old material, even after stating that the chimney was the worst he'd ever seen. I had assumed he would replace the materials based on his comments and the other bids all stated new materials were needed.. He charged for 8 hours of travel (to/from spokane) which only takes 4 hours. He charged for 2 helpers (to carry tools and material from truck) but there were no materials and only a mortar tool used. They sat in the shade on lawn chairs during the entire process. The total work time was 2 hours. He stated he charges $128 an hour for work and travel. I had to ask him for an itemized receipt and his license number because they were not provided at time of completion. I am an elderly widow that knows little about chimneys and contractors. I feel like this company has taken advantage of me and overcharged me. Both transactions were paid in cash as I was told I wouldn't have to pay tax if I paid in cash.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that the owner explain the charges in depth. Explain why new materials weren't used. Explain why I was charged for 2 extra workers for loading materials and tools when little materials and tools were needed. Explain why I paid for them to sit in the shade during the whole repair process. Explain why I was over charged for travel time. (Mapquest from business to home is a total of 117.29 miles and 2 hours each way). I am requesting an adjustment of overcharges.

Business Response: I gave the customer a estimate in writing that said rebuild chimney 1200.00 at no point did I say how long the job would take. They are a ways away. I always bid my jobs by the job not the hour. We did the job we said and the customer said she was happy with the job. And paid us. Now.....that said. Her daughter who lives out of state continued to text me until 10pm at night harassing me demanding I break out my materials and cost per hour. I gladly dis so. The roof is very steep and the chimney was in poor condition.we simply relayed the bricks on the existing chimney and poured at new crown . Customer said she was satisfied. The issue really seems to be with her daughter. I will not be refunding Any money. I have also asked that her daughter not contact me any further. We did the job we said we would do for the amount given. We were paid. She was happy with the job. Doesn't matter how many guys I sent.or what they did during the job. It was NEVER bid by the hour or on a materials basis. Hope this helps clear up any misunderstandings once again I consider the matter closed. Thank you.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 NO written estimate was given prior to work.  **** stated in person that the price was going to be $1200 because the Chimney needed to be replaced, as the other bids from other companies stated as well.   However,  No new material was used and old material was reused even after **** had stated the chimney was the 'worst he'd ever seen."   I was told cash price of  $1200 to avoid paying taxes, otherwise I would have put the bill on my credit card.      **** stated that he doesn't charge by the hour, however, when questioned about the price hour prices were given by text,  including for the 'helpers' who did no work.  I watched them sit in the shade.    His reasons for the price continue to change when questioned by my daughter via text and emails to me.   He is not harassed by my daughter, she is trying to get honest answers from him, as his story changes.     He overcharged for drive time as well, as he stated that part of his estimated was based on 8 hours of travel time, which is incorrect.    I feel that I have been taken advantage of and that I was targeted by this company because I am a widowed woman with little knowledge of chimneys.   I am thankful that my daughter encouraged me to follow through with this to hopefully prevent this company from taking advantage of another person,.  

Regards,

****** ********

Business Response: If this was **** response you would clearly see the part were I did write on the receipt for the reline saying rebuild chimney 1200.00. The daughter asked me to discount my price and I said no. They wanted to check around I said ok. The I was contacted.to do the job. I never said how they had or were to pay. Cash is good. And weather I give a discount for cash is my business and NOT AGAINST THE LAW !.we record all transaction to our book keeper. So that's irrelevant We did what we said. Charged what we said and were paid that amount. Kids trying to Heros wasting peoples time is ridiculous. I will not be responding any further to this complaint. She was happy with the work we did. It was never bid by the hour. I broke it down the best I could to try to appease the daughter. All 60,000 customers.i have in my data base were all bid and completed by the job. Not hourly. Also out of all the hundreds of people who we have worked for why are you the first to complain to the BBB? Again. I am dome with this issue and will respond back. And I do have a copy of the invoice that states rebuild chimney 1200.00 as they are carbon copies. Also you should read my disclaimer at the bottom. Have **** fax it to you.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The company continues to try to justify over charging me and taking advantage of me.    I asked my daughter to have them itemize the charges and he changes his story on the charges several times.  He tried to justify the price based on travel time which he over estimated.  He stated he charged me for helpers that just sat in the shade.  He stated to me the price would be so high because the bricks needed to be replaced, which they weren't.   I will NOT drop this claim and will follow through with the BBB as I feel he took advantage of me because I was vulnerable.     i will contact the BBB for further options.  


Regards,

****** ********