BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

carpet, linoleum, laminate, cork, marmoleum, vinyl, lvt, area rugs, carpet installation, carpet binding, runners, turf, carpet tiles, carpet cushion, bamboo, hardwood

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carpet Barn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carpet Barn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carpet Barn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 11, 2001 Business started: 06/01/1995 in WA Business started locally: 06/01/1995 Business under new ownership as of: 11/01/2012 Business incorporated: 09/25/2012 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dean Culp, Owner Mr. Bill Martin, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dean Culp, Owner
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Carpet & Rug Distributors & Manufacturers Hardwood Floor Contractors Tile Sales Vinyl Flooring Contractors - Flooring Floors - Hardwood Floors - Laminate Carpet Layers Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Products & Services

Carpet Barn sells the following brand(s): Anso, Beaulieu, Bliss, Couristan, Kane, Mohawk, Shaw, Smartstrand, Stainmaster, Tuftex

Carpet Barn offers the following product(s): bamboo, carpet, carpet tiles, cork, hardwood, laminate, linoleum, marmoleum, remnants, vinyl

Method(s) of Payment
visa, mastercard, discover, american express, cash, check, debit card
Alternate Business Names
Gunryn Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Sales
  • - Mobile Phone SMS
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I selected the carpet that was put in my home I requested thatthe Carpet Barn sell me a carpet that would take traffic areas and would not lay down. I was willing to pay for the better carpet product. I was also told that the manager **** had the same carpet in his home, and it wore wounderfully. I did complain about the way the carpet was installed, as the seams looked terrible. **** the manager came out to look at the seams after his tech relaid some of the carpet in the livingroom. He said it was up to industry standards. The carpet seams stilled looked awful. About 2 years later the carpet started to show bad wear areas. I asked **** to but in a complaint to Shaw Carpet. The first complaint was put in around November 2012. We were told by **** that the complaint was denied in January 2013, that he would put in a second complaint, the district manager was in town, and he would have a piece of the carpet reviewed again. **** said they would do something, as I had been a long time customer, over 10 years with rentals etc. Again we were denied I was never given a report from Shaw Inds. I did talk to a Christy Swanson from Shaw Carpet and was told that I should have a report from Shaw Carpet with her name on it. ###-###-####. I went down to the Carpet Barn talked to ****, he started to pull out the report, then said I need to call Shaw Carpet and I will get you the report later. I did get a report from **** at Carpet Barn but nothing from Shaw Carpet. Twocomplaints were suppose to be turned in by **** at the Carpet Barn.I request both copies of the denial from the manufacture, not ****.

Desired Settlement: I would like the reports of denial on my carpet that had been turned into the manufacture (Shaw Carpet)Not the report from Bill at the carpet barn. I also feel I should get some compensation from the poor standars of the carpet preformance. Also I was never given a report on how to care for my carpet at the time of purchase, not two years after the purchase. I also asked one of the ladies at the Carpet Barn why don't you give out sheets on how to care for your carpet???? We never give that ou

Business Response:


RE: Complaint # 9497108 Dear Ms. *****:

Regarding the aforementioned complaint we have the following response:

Carpet Barn was notified of a carpet complaint on approximately October 2012. Our employee gave a sample of the carpet in question to the sales representative for Shaw Carpet to be tested. The claim was denied by Shaw and the denial letter from Shaw was mailed to the customer and is attached to this letter. After an additional complaint from the customer, I approached the Shaw representative to send a second sample to an independent testing company. The Shaw representative later notified me via telephone that it was denied, yet again. Do date, I have yet to receive a copy of the second denial letter.

As a possible resolution, we offered a significant discount on replacement carpet and labor, even though the carpet was deemed non-defective by the manufacturer. The customer has yet to discuss replacing the carpet at a discount.

Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need any further assistance.
**** * **** Owner Carpet Barn



Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9497108, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ********

152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA. 99201

Dear Ms. *****,

I have attached the denial letter from **** at the Carpet Barn telling me my claim has been denied. However by law I am entitled to have the original copies of the two denials sent to **** at the Carpet Barn from Shaw Industries, Inc. The contact lady for the Carpet Barn complaints is: ******* ********. Phone number ###-###-####.1 did talk to ******* she informed me that a letter of denial was sent to **** the manager at Carpet Barn that the letter would have their letter head on it: Shaw Industries, and would be signed by her. As you can see the letter I received was not from Shaw Industries. There were two claims put in according to ****. Two samples of our carpet were given out. One to the inspector that came to our home, and another piece that was given to **** directly at his store.

Why is it so difficult for **** or Shaw Industries to give us a copy of the original denial?



Business Response:

To Whom it may concern

Subsequent to the last communication, I am attempting to obtain the requested documents from the manufacturer. Unfortunately, I cannot control when this happens. Additionally I am taking further steps to facilitate a resolution from the manufacturer in order to satisfy this situation. This is outside of the normal complaints process with the manufacturer and I expect an answer soon.  At the Carpet Barn we take our customers satisfaction seriously and intend to do everything we can to resolve this with the customer. I will be in touch just as soon as I have information to share.

Sincerely,

**** ****

Carpet Barn

Business Response:

Hi ******, Here is the latest information regarding the *******ts claim. I have personally contacted the Shaw claims department for a reconsideration of the claim. I was subsequently denied and have since went above the claims department to Corporate. Corporate management has put me in contact with the Western US senior vice president whom has assured me that they will re-look at the claim and hopefully make an attempt at a resolution. I have recommended that upper management and I make time for an in home inspection to get a better gauge of the situation and complaint.  This is where it stands right now. I expect to get an answer shortly and will be contacting the *******ts with hopefully good news. Thanks, **** **** Carpet Barn

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1