This business is not BBB accredited.

ASC Construction Inc

Phone: (509) 244-8777 Serving Washington State, Spokane Valley, WA 99027 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.allstatesconstruction.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pole Building Builder. Shops, Garages, RV Covers, Lofts, etc.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for ASC Construction Inc include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for ASC Construction Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on ASC Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1994 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 03/03/2000 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor and Industries WA State
901 N Monroe St Ste 100, Spokane WA 99201
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (509) 324-2600

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Debbie Brookshire, Owner Mr. Dennis Brookshire, Property Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Debbie Brookshire, Owner
Business Category

Buildings - Pole & Post Frame Concrete Contractors Contractors - General Garage Builders Parking Stations & Garages - Construction Custom Framing Home Improvements - Additions Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Concrete - Custom Contractors - Framing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Contractors - Retaining Wall Remodeling Services Building Contractors

Products & Services

ASC Construction Inc offers the following product(s): Pole Buildings

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check & soon coming Visa
Alternate Business Names
All States Construction
Industry Tips
Contractors - GENERAL ADVICE

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Serving Washington State

    Spokane Valley, WA 99027 (509) 244-8777

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Departures from contract, excessive delays, failure to pay supplier, failure to meet agreed upon deadline, poor accounting. 1) Contract did not indicate that ASC would request substantial materials to be paid for directly by us. Nonetheless, said materials were paid for promptly. 2) Building permit was issued 4/29/2014, all materials except concrete and 12' x 12' door are now on site, little actual work has been completed. 3) Highland Quarry delivered 17.59 tons of gravel on 9/3/2014 and has not been paid. Notice of potential contractor's lien was received by us on 11/29/2014. 4) An agreement was reached on 10/21/2014 that the building would be completed within 45 days. As of 12/5/2014, little work has been done. 5) Accounting on 11/24/2014 by ASC did not accurately reflect amounts paid paid by us to ******, estimated taxes or balance due.

Desired Settlement: 1) Pay supplier for gravel. 2) Finish job, pass final inspections by ****** and myself.

Business Response:

In response to our customer:

  • When we first signed the contract in 2013, there were difficulties in obtaining the permit due to problems with the customers road, access, etc.. Due to this, the customer had to work with the ****** for several months to meet the standards they were asking of him. We told the customer we would work him in once the permit was issued. The permit was issued in April 2014 as stated. We then had to work him in as we were scheduled already with other customers when he obtained the permit.
  • All materials have been paid for on his job with the exception of the gravel.  We thought it easier for the customer to pay for the remaining material out of the balance that was still owed us. In this way, he would know all material was paid for.
  • A Pre-Lien notice is the standard in the construction industry. This is only a notification to the customer to make sure his materials are paid for with the contractor or a Lien could occur.
  • As far as the accounting goes, due to the customer paying for the balance of materials, an adjustment was inadvertently left out, but has since been rectified.
  • This building is complete with the exception of the slab and door. These things will be completed. Door is on order.
  • On a final note, this customer has been very understanding with us and we appreciate it.

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.

Despite ASC's facile rationalizations of their lack of performance, the building remains incomplete nine months after the building permit was issued.  This  is unacceptable for a simple 24' x 32' pole building which could reasonably be completed in a few weeks with proper scheduling and effort.

An on-site inspection on December 26th indicated that while progress has been made and the primary remaining tasks are to pour the concrete floor and install the 12 x 12 roll-up door, several missed details were noted.  Of major concern is the lack of knee braces between the mid point posts and trusses as indicated on the engineered plans (see attached).  Also noted were missing fasteners on the south wall (fourth course up, ~ 6' from west end), missing fasteners on several corner caps (also fourth courses up) and missing fasteners on the gable ends (on second horizontal web of gable trusses, also peak of west end).  Additionally, it was noted that the engineered plans called for 1-1/2" fasteners for all sheet metal, but 1" fasteners were used.  Finally, some fasteners on the south fascia did not color match the fascia, but rather were the same color as used on the side walls.

To correct the situation, ASC must pour the slab, install the roll-up door, install locksets on the two service doors and install the missing fasteners.  At their earliest convenience, a firm target date for final ****** inspection would be appreciated.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response:

On February 15 our crew performed a punch list on your project, removing the fasteners with the proper color fasteners and placed fasteners where there were none. We replaced the door knobs and finished caulking around the openings. Regarding the knee braces, even though they are on the engineered drawings they are not required on your building due to the fact that your building has framed sidewalls. Knee braces are used on structures like hay shed covers and lean to's that do not have enclosed walls. We are confident that if you perform another inspection, you will be pleased with the work that has been performed.
Upon receiving a copy of the permit, we were unable to perform your project due to our backlog of work. As well as finishing framing and metaling your building until November. We have always appreciated your patience with our company.
That brings us up to date with placing the slab and the door. We have made a site visit and all the gravel and rebar is in place. ******* ****** has lifted some of the road closures that have been in affect since February 23. We will place your slab and have your door installed on the week of April 13-17. Looking forward to closing out this project. If you have any questions, please feel free to call.

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Owner misrepresented his business by claiming he could build my pole building first part of September. Now middle of November and its still not complete. Once I gave him money up front nothing was done, no work or material delivered for three weeks, and then only partial materials for job was delivered. He gave excuse after excuse and I finally fired him at which time he basically threatened me with a lawyer when I asked for the truss spec sheet and the return of monies I had already given him.

Desired Settlement: I want truss spec sheets for inspector and proof of what he spent my money on and a return of the balance

Business Response:

In response to Mr. *****'s complaint, we visited his jobsite in June of 2014 and gave him a written bid on July 7, 2014. He later contacted us in August and indicated he wanted to sign a contract with us to build his building. He signed a contract on August 19, 2014.


 Mr. ***** was informed that it was his responsibility to get the print, dig the holes and prepare the pad. We could not schedule his project until 4 or 5 weeks until after we received the permit in which he was responsible for obtaining. We never told him we would start his job in 2 or 3 weeks. Mr. ***** claims that only partial material was delivered and this was true.  He also gave us inaccurate information regarding the specs for the trusses. He lives in a 60# snow load area and we were informed that the trusses were 65#. The building inspector went hunting in early October, came back October 14th and called my office that the trusses were 60# snow load trusses. We had to adjust for this. We ordered the trusses and they were delivered in less than 5 days. Our employees came  to the jobsite and worked up until November 10.  I had several conversations with Mr. ***** also on the 10th, about the metal coming out, the insulation and doors. Kept him informed of our progress by texting him.


His comment was at 7pm, November 10, he sent me this notice/text: “Don’t waste your time coming here tomorrow. I will finish it myself”.


Mr. ***** informed me through email on 11/13/14 that he wanted the truss specs, which we emailed to him on 11/13/14...


At 8:23 at 11/13/14 Mr. ***** wrote again and I quote: “I will be contacting my attorney”.


My response to him was: “I have an attorney also; I think you should read your contract as you have terminated our agreement. That was your choice”.


In our contract with Mr. ***** on page 5, paragraph 10, under Disputes and Resolutions; it explains the proper procedure for removing us from his project. Mr. ***** violated this rule.


We also had several delays in the schedule due to unavailability of materials, inclement weather, changes in the contract, such as adding: vertical flush walls .We also had a death in the family in which I took a week off for. It seemed that the job was very close to being finished but there was no satisfying Mr. ***** at this point. Our contract allows for these delays and I never, ever threatened Mr. *****. This accusation is false. Mr. ***** still owes our company the balance of his contract. We have had no communication with Mr. ***** since the last communication by text/email took place.


On a separate note we would like the BBB to know that Mr. ***** is holding a large portion of lumber and our equipment on his project which has not been returned to us. This includes 3 ladders and about $800 in 2x6’s. Due to the fact that Mr. ***** basically chased us off of his job, then for no other reason than how quickly his building was or was not getting done. We did not want to approach Mr. ***** at this time in retrieving our equipment and material. We thought it better to wait until he cooled down, but we do want our equipment back.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *****

In response to Mr. *********** response to my claims. On Aug 5th, he emailed saying he had openings I quote"I have openings last week of August and first week of Sept." Then again on Aug 13th, I quote,"we are scheduling for end of August and all Sept." Aug 19th I had site leveled and ready for build, Mr. ********** came to my property and I gave him payment of $10,682.77. He stated I was informed that it was my responsibility to get print, dig holes and prepare pad. All of that is false. Why would it be my responsibility to get print for project he is building and I informed him I would get holes dug and prepare for pad after they set posts. He went on further to say he could not schedule my project until 4 or 5 weeks after he recieved permit. He never stated to me anytime that it would be that far out to build. He also stated that I gave him inaccurate info on truss specs, not once did I have a conversation with him regarding specs until I inquired of when were trusses going to be delivered. Also in his response he says on Nov. 10th I asked when rest of my material was going to be delivered and in his response he said he kept me informed of progress by texting me. His response to my questions was, and I quote,"I am eating dinner." So apparently he thinks that is keeping me informed. That is when I chose to fire him. He also referenced him not threatening me with lawyer, here is his text to me after I asked for the remainder of my monies returned."I have been fired by you. I will mail you truss specs...I have an attorney also..I think you should read your contract. You terminated our agreement..that was your choice...I will send you lien release for material..keep the rest of the money. If you pursue an attorney..that is your right..but I do not think that is wise..nor do I want to go down that road. But I will.." end quote. Also in his response to me violating rules of his contract, specifically page 5, paragraph 10. It simply states If a dispute should arise between parties, the parties should promptly meet and attempt to resolve dispute. I violated nothing in his contract. And also I'm not asking for all my money back, according to his contract my down payment of $10,682.77 is non-refundable, but I also gave him a check for $14,263.23 for a total of $24, 946.00. I want proof of what he spent my money on including material and labor, and I want the remainder returned to me. He also lies in his response that I made changes to job after he started, never once did I make any changes, I spoke with him about vertical flush walls the day I signed contract with him to build shop. Also in repsonse to his last paragraph about me holding large portions of lumber and his equipement on my property. There was about 10 2x6s left, which I payed for, and his crew left three ladders on my property which he never came back and picked up, how that is my fault is beyond me.

To summarize, I signed contract on August 19th and gave him over 10,000 dollars. Didnt start any work. Spetember 19th I asked why things werent moving forward, he text me quote,"I will be done in three weeks." Sept.25th they set posts. Oct 17th I asked what going on with my shop, he replied waiting for trusses.
Oct.17th Mr. ********** text me "Can I go elk hunting while waiting for trusses?" Oct.17th I ask how much is concrete part of bid so he can minus it and I would have someone else pour floor. His reponse is"no thanks. I already have crew scheduled." I asked when and recieved no response until Oct 24th when he text me,"rebar and slab on Monday..be there at 7..weather looks good." Oct 24th and Oct 25th I text when is the rest of my material going to be here?-no reponse Oct. 27th I text,"Did you get my message regarding material. I want to know when it will all be delivered, I already paid for it and I want it on site?" His response was ,"I will let you know", I replied "if my shop is not completed by this Friday I will be going to see an attorney or you can return my money." October 29th he text me;"Trusses are Monday morning. will finish framing on Tuesday. Maybe a little pickup work..start roof on wed afternoon. Finish on Thursday afternoon. Start siding..should take two days if weather holds to sheet sides.. I am looking for boom truck to set trusses..I see one in town..do you know whos it is..I was just at truss plant they are building them today. And tomorrow morning..delivery on Monday..I will be over tomorrow to cut the slab..hopefully not raining.."
So then he went to rent boom truck, which they wouldnt allow him until he made payment for concrete, which I went and payed $4660.89, which I feel I already payed Mr. ********** for but he failed to pay the concrete company.Nov 10th I asked what is happening with finishing shop, I offered to call and order metal he replied he would be coming out to make final measurements before he orederd material, which I feel is ridiculous after all the time that has passed and he doesnt know what material is needed. When I text him on Nov 10th I wrote,:when are you thinking metal will be on? What about garage doors, are they ordered?" his reponse was ,"I am eating dinner". Thats when I fired him.

So I gave Mr. ********** $24,946.00, plus I payed the concrete business $4660.89, and I ordered all the metal for my shop for $5763.93, and garage doors for $3300.00 for a total of $38,670.82. I think its reasonable for me to ask for proof from Mr. ********** of what he spent my money on and give me back the balance minus his material and labor costs.
 

Business Response:

In response to our Customer:

  • We furnished the Customer with a print, paid for by us, from ******* ***********. Because the customer lived close to the ******** County Building Department, he offered to walk over the print and application and hand deliver it. Which he did. The permit was then issued for his job. It is false to claim he did not receive a print as it had to be turned into the county.
  • In the "Exclusions" of our Contract it specifically states that "auguring of the holes" for the posts and "site prep/excavation" are excluded. Which means it is the Customer's responsibility. So, why would he say this is false, when it is in the "Exclusions" of our Contract, that he read and signed.
  • The Customer in his complaint states: "Never once did I make any changes." This is also false. We have a written Change Order signed by the customer on 8/25/14 changing his framing. His contract was signed on 8/19/14. He paid this Change Order on 9/25/14. When he went to a vertical wall framing, that meant we had to place the slab first.  The slab prep and gravel placement then had to be done by the Customer as these were excluded from our contract and thus the Customer's responsibility, which he knew.
  • The Customer knew he was responsible to place the gravel and grade for the slab as again, it was clearly in the "Exclusions" of our Contract. So, even though it was not our responsibility, I took my crew and my equipment at my cost and compacted and graded the project. During this time (October) there was a severe cold snap and temperatures dropped down to 5 degrees, we still pushed through. Around October 27, we poured his slab and saw cut the floor on October 31. As a side note: On Monday, October 27, at 8:21 am the customer wrote: "I will be going to see my attorney if my job is not done by Friday (which would have been October 31). So, severe weather or doing work on my own time did not matter. And, the only reason we said " We have an attorney also" was because of the Customer's threat to us with an attorney...which he failed to mention in the body of his complaint to you.
  • We started framing the exterior walls on November 3. Finished framing the building and setting trusses on November 10. The customer texted me later that evening at 5:47pm, November 10 wanting information on his job. I responded to him: "I was eating dinner"...which this is true, I do eat dinner. At 6:53 pm, he texted me saying I was fired.
  • When the Customer fired us, he still owed us an outstanding balance of $12,583.22. The customer listed several things that he paid. These items would have come off of the outstanding balance he owed us, which he also did not mention. Let me make this clear, we never have refused to finish or complete his project. He fired us.
  • In conclusion, we feel very strong about our response to this customer as he has slandered our company with false accusations and innuendo. He has cost us work and embarrassment because of the slander in this public forum, so we will be seeking the advise of an attorney because of the written false statements that have been made here publically by him. We will no longer be making any more public comments regarding this customer on this matter.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I Can see by his response that he will not take any responsibility for his awful business practice, he owes me money plain and simple. Mr. ********** has failed to show me proof of what he spent my money on, and I know it wasn't spent on my job, so if he wants to call that a false claim then show proof of what he spent my money on before I finally fired him. All Im asking for is my money back minus what he did spend on my project.

Regards,

****** *****

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Excessive delay in completing contract for metal building. Flush wall framing done incorrectly.

Desired Settlement: Complete the contract now. Adjust final billing to reflect monies paid out by us separately that we have already paid as part of the contract, adjust for framing done incorrectly, adjust for outrageous delay in contract completion.

Business Response: *** ******** is correct in his complaint with the delays on his building. We unfortunately encountered difficulty with finding qualified help and the employees we did have, did not meet the standard of workmanship that they stated on their resumes. This we found out after the fact. We will fix any issue that is necessary to pass final inspection and will adjust our bill accordingly for what *** ******** has paid out for the overhead door and opener. At this time, I ask that *** ******** refrain from lashing out any further, as we had a death in the family yesterday and are doing our best to comply with our customers. We will be done with his project in 2 weeks when the overhead door arrives.

2/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid All States Construction the full price for our garage. They have not paid the supplier of the materials, ******** ****** *** ******** ******** ***. for the material used in the construction of the garage. ******** ****** has now placed a lien on our property. As can be seen from the attached document we have paid in full.

Desired Settlement: ******** ****** to be paid in full. Soon additionally our legal fees.

Business Response:

I talked to Mr. ***** last week and he has agreed to work out an agreement with me.

Thank you and if you have any questions please feel free to call me.

 

****** **********