This business is not BBB accredited.

Umpqua Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 624-4121 111 N Wall St, Spokane, WA 99201 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bankwithsterling.com


Click for BBB Rating on Umpqua Bank

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Umpqua Bank. BBB of Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Umpqua Bank.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 10/23/1981 in WA Business started locally: 10/23/1981 Business incorporated 10/23/1981 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Cara Coon, Communications and Public Affairs Director Ms. Marty Dickinson, Senior VP, Corporate Communications Mr. Ezra Eckhardt, President & COO Sterling Savings Bank, COO Sterling Financial Corp. Mr. J. Gregory Seibly, President & CEO Sterling Financial Corporation
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nikki Russell, Auditing
Business Category

Banks Credit Cards & Plans Loans Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Savings & Loan Associations Credit - Debt Consolidation Services Financial Services Advertising - Checking Service Credit Cards - Protection Service Business Services - General Title Loans Loans - Farm & Ranch Banking Services Credit Card - Merchant Services College Savings Plans

Alternate Business Names
Sterling Bank
Additional Information

8/24/2009 STERLING SAVINGS BANK NAME BEING MISUSED IN PHONE SCAML CALLER ID Reveals "NetScope" 949-450-1122 An interesting thread regarding the name "NetScope" linked to a phishing scam is being utilized in yet another phone scam misusing the good name of Sterling Savings Bank. Here is that thread: http://74.125.155.132/search?q=cache:3JfND12awRAJ:its.ucsc.edu/security_awareness/scam.php+NetScope,+scam%3F&cd=3&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us BBB received a call from a woman reporting a scam call she received about her "Sterling Savings Bank" account. The person wanted her social security number. She didn't have an account with Sterling so knew it was a scam, however, she contacted her local branch office, and they told her that others were reporting this activity as well. BBB ADVICE Sterling Savings Bank has an excellent SECURITY page on its web site explaining how these phishing scams work: http://www.sterlingsavingsbank.com/landing_pages/Phishing/index.html

Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Main Street

    Kooskia, ID 83539

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 E 4th Ave

    Moses Lake, WA 98837

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    103 E Queen Ave

    Spokane, WA 99207

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    108 E 1st Ave

    Ritzville, WA 99169

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1106 E Sherman Ave

    Coeur D Alene, ID 83814

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    111 N Wall St

    Spokane, WA 99201 (509) 624-4121

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    111 W North River Dr

    Spokane, WA 99201

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11205 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    118 W 5th Ave

    Ellensburg, WA 98926

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    120 S. Broad Street

    Medical Lake, WA 99022

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1204 N 20th Ave

    Pasco, WA 99301

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1233 N Northwood Center Ct

    Coeur D Alene, ID 83814

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1300 16th Ave

    Clarkston, WA 99403

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    138 Vista Way

    Kennewick, WA 99336

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    147 W Main St

    Grangeville, ID 83530

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2 E Main St

    Walla Walla, WA 99362

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 E 1st St

    Cle Elum, WA 98922

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 S Jackson St

    Moscow, ID 83843

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 W Main St

    Goldendale, WA 98620

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    202 S Main St

    Lacrosse, WA 99143

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    206 W Riverside Ave

    Spokane, WA 99201

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    211 E. Locust

    Waterville, WA 98858

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    211 Torbett St

    Richland, WA 99354

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    21601 E Country Vista DrVillage At Liberty Lake

    Liberty Lake, WA 99019

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    225 N Grand Ave

    Pullman, WA 99163

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2250 Thain Grade

    Lewiston, ID 83501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    257 E Main St

    Dayton, WA 99328

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2720 S. Quillan Steet (Wal-Mart)

    Kennewick, WA 99336

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2801 Duportail Street (Wal-Mart)

    Richland, WA 98352

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3000 S Grand Blvd

    Spokane, WA 99203

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    303 Diagonal St

    Clarkston, WA 99403

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    309 W. Main

    Coulee City, WA 99115

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    365 10th St

    Plummer, ID 83851

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    401 S College Ave

    College Place, WA 99324

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    402 S Main St

    Riggins, ID 83549

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    406 W Broadway Ave Ste CHome Loan Division

    Moses Lake, WA 98837

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    424 S Main St

    Troy, ID 83871

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    444 Thain Rd

    Lewiston, ID 83501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    450 E Main St

    Othello, WA 99344

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    507 N Mullan Rd

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    510 W Riverside Ave Ste 205

    Spokane, WA 99201

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    601 W. Main

    Brewster, WA 98812

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    609 S Washington St

    Moscow, ID 83843

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    680 W Rose St

    Walla Walla, WA 99362

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    73 Estes Ave

    White Salmon, WA 98672

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    782 Main

    Pomeroy, WA 99347

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    803 N Main St

    Colfax, WA 99111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8060 N Cornerstone Dr

    Hayden, ID 83835

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8121 W Grandridge Blvd Ste B

    Kennewick, WA 99336

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    822 Central Ave

    Oroville, WA 98844

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    921 F St

    Lewiston, ID 83501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9425 N Nevada St Ste 110

    Spokane, WA 99218

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 S. Main St.

    Cascade, ID 83611

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 221

    Cascade, ID 83611

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    308 Virginia Ave.

    New Meadows, ID 83654

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box Q

    New Meadows, ID 83654

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    900 2nd St.

    McCall, ID 83638

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    225 SW 4th Ave

    Ontario, OR 97914

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    217 Main St.

    Nyssa, OR 97913

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1595 S. Eagle Rd.

    Meridian, ID 83642

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    150 Longfellow St. N.

    Vale, OR 97918

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1115 Vine St

    Healdsburg, CA 95448

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1211A W College Ave

    Santa Rosa, CA 95401

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701B Sonoma Mountain Pkwy

    Petaluma, CA 94954

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9078 Brooks Rd S

    Windsor, CA 95492

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 S E St

    Lakeview, OR 97630

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10 NE 181st Ave

    Portland, OR 97230

  • 10 NE 181st Ave

    Portland, OR 97230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 N Broadway St

    Aberdeen, WA 98520

  • 1020 S Forks Ave

    Forks, WA 98331

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10230 NE Points Dr Ste 530

    Kirkland, WA 98033

  • 1033 E 1st St

    Port Angeles, WA 98362

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    105 W Simpson Ave

    McCleary, WA 98557

  • 1095 Oregon Ave SE

    Bandon, OR 97411

  • 111 W Main St

    Carlton, OR 97111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    113 S Main St

    Jefferson, OR 97352

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    113 S Main St

    Seattle, WA 98104

  • 11400 SE 8th St

    Bellevue, WA 98004

  • 11871 Silverdale Way NE Ste 111

    Silverdale, WA 98383

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1215 Adams Ave

    La Grande, OR 97850

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1217 Piaza Blvd Ste A

    Portland, OR 97213

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1261 Auburn Way N

    Vancouver, WA 98002

  • 135 NE Terry Ln

    Grants Pass, OR 97526

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1350 N 1st St

    Hermiston, WA 97838

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1375 Regents Blvd

    Fircrest, WA 98466

  • 1406 4th Ave

    Seattle, WA 98101

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1420 E Mcandrews Rd

    Medford, OR 97504

  • 144 S Main St

    Union, OR 97883

  • 146 W 2nd St

    North Bend, WA 98045

  • 146 W 2nd St

    North Bend, WA 98045

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14638 SE Sunnyside Rd

    Happy Valley, OR 97015

  • 150 S Wall St

    Coos Bay, OR 97420

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    150 W Main St

    John Day, OR 97845

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1611 Virginia Ave

    Redmond, OR 98052

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1615 Buck Way Ste B

    Mount Vernon, WA 98273

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    165 N Maple St

    Yamhill, OR 97148

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1700 S 320th St

    Federal Way, WA 98003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1730 Minor Ave Ste 1100

    Seattle, WA 98101

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1751 Circle Ln SE

    Lacey, WA 98503

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1794 Front St

    Grants Pass, WA 97526

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1794 Front St

    Lynden, WA 98264

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    185 E California St

    Jacksonville, OR 97530

  • 192 Adams St

    Morton, WA 98356

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19230 Alderwood Mall Pkwy

    Port Angeles, WA 98362

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    199 N Nehalem

    Clatskanie, OR 97016

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1990 Washington Ave

    Baker City, OR 97814

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 E Pine St

    Federal Way, WA 98003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    205 W Main St

    Enterprise, OR 97828

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    206 E Front St

    Monroe, OR 97456

  • 212 S 5th St

    Coos Bay, OR 97420

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    215 N Pearl St

    Centralia, WA 98531

  • 22 W Main St

    Pilot Rock, OR 97868

  • 2212 Island Ave

    La Grande, OR 97850

  • 224 SW 152nd St

    Seattle, WA 98166

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2245 Main St

    Eugene, OR 97402

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    230 Main St

    Kirkland, WA 98033

  • 2300 Madison St

    Klamath Falls, OR 97603

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2405 3rd St

    Point Roberts, OR 98281

  • 2420 Dahlia St

    Klamath Falls, OR 97601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    259 N Adams

    Tillamook, OR 97141

  • 259 N Adams St

    Coquille, OR 97423

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2659 Olympic St

    Springfield, OR 97477

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    271 H St

    Blaine, WA 98230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2943 S 6th St

    Klamath Falls, OR 97603

  • 29804 Ellensburg Ave

    Gold Beach, OR 97444

  • 3000 Harrison Ave NW

    Olympia, WA 98502

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3002 Stacey Allison Way

    Woodburn, WA 97071

  • 3002 Stacy Allison Wy

    Woodburn, OR 97071

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    301 S Main

    Independence, WA 97351

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    301 S Main St

    Montesano, OR 98563

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    303 11th St

    Forks, OR 98331

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    315 N Main St

    Garibaldi, OR 97118

  • 31620 23rd Ave S Ste 110

    Federal Way, WA 98003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    321 Parkplace Ctr Ste 120

    Kirkland, WA 98033

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3312 Rosedale St NW Ste 203

    Gig Harbor, WA 98335

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3333 N Lombard St

    Portland, WA 97217

  • 360 E 10th Ave

    Eugene, OR 97401

  • 38770 N Main St

    Scio, OR 97374

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    401 N Market Blvd

    Chehalis, WA 98532

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    401 N Market Blvd

    Klamath Falls, WA 97603

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    401 NE 1st

    Klamath Falls, WA 97601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    411 Pacific Ave

    Tillamook, OR 97141

  • 411 Pacific Ave

    Tillamook, OR 97141

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    430 Highway 101

    Florence, OR 97439

  • 430 Hwy 101

    Florence, OR 97439

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4550 W 11th Ave

    Springfield, OR 97477

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4728 NE Sandy Blvd

    Seattle, OR 98101

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    475 NE Windy Knolls Dr

    Bend, OR 97701

  • 475 NE Windy Knolls Dr

    Bend, OR 97701

  • 476 Tyee Dr

    Lynnwood, WA 98036

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4802 Tacoma Mall Blvd Ste B

    Tacoma, WA 98409

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    48257 E 1st St

    Oakridge, WA 97463

  • 48257 E First St

    Coos Bay, OR 97420

  • 500 108th Ave NE

    Bellevue, WA 98004

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    512 Walker Ave

    Ashland, OR 97520

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5285 SW Meadows Rd#150

    Mercer Island, OR 98040

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    540 Main St # 2

    Klamath Falls, OR 97601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5400 Meadows Rd Ste 120

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5400 Meadows Rd Ste 150

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5512 22nd Ave NW

    Seattle, WA 98107

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6100 219th St SW Ste 440

    Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    61515 S Highway 97

    Bend, WA 97702

  • 620 Stewart Ave

    Medford, OR 97501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    620 W Stewart Ave

    Medford, OR 97501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6505 218th St SW Ste 9

    Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    705 NW Gilman Blvd

    Issaquah, WA 98027

  • 708 Garibaldi Ave

    Garibaldi, OR 97118

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    716 Highway 101

    Port Orford, OR 97465

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    749 Sleater Kinney Rd SE

    Lacey, WA 98503

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    810 S Highway 395

    Hermiston, OR 97838

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    822 NE E St Ste A

    Grants Pass, OR 97526

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    828 NE Northgate Way

    Seattle, WA 98125

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    910 Town Centre Dr

    Medford, OR 97504

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    948 SW Veterans Way

    Redmond, OR 97756

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9818 Sr 532

    Stanwood, WA 98292

  • 9818 Sr 532

    Stanwood, WA 98292

  • 9921 Hwy 12 SW

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/15/2013 I made a purchase at Fred Meyers for $ 15.00 I had $63.74 balance in my account. After the $ 15.00 purchase I show I still had $48.74 in my account. They charged me a $ 35.00 over draft fee when I still had $48.74 in my account on 5/16/2013 then on the same day they charged me another $ 35.00 over draft charge for what ever reason I don't know . Which should not have happened . When I called them they told me it was because a charge that went trough later caused me to over draft. But on the same day 5/16/2013 I also made a $ 155.00 deposit . So I don't know way I am being charged 2-o/d fees . for that day . After the deposit and then take away the charges I still would have had $ 128.74 in my account . I think they are ripping me off. They need to refund my 2- $35.00 over draft fees , that was charged to my account for no reason. Ed Wilson

Desired Settlement: They need to refund my o/d fees that they charged me plus the one that it caused to o/d on the 21 st. Total of $ 105.00 . Ed Wilson

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201

RE: Case# ID 9553150

Dear Mr. ********:

Sterling Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the circumstances surrounding the consumer complaint filed with your agency by ***** ******.

In reviewing the account in questions it appears the following occurred:

Pending POS purchase on 5/14/13 Posted to account on 5/16/13 $9.52

Pending POS purchase on 5/15/13 Posted to account on 5/16/13 $8.54

Pending POS purchase on 5/15/13 Posted on account on 5/16/13 $57.21

The "pending" status on the account happens between the time purchases are made and approved and the time the actual item posts to the customer's account. In this case Mr. Wilson's current balance was $48.74 however the above items were pending and held against the account. Because of the pending transaction there were not enough funds to cover all of the transactions; this resulted in the two overdraft fees of $35.00. It is recommended if not doing so to keep a check register to help ensure there are sufficient funds in the account.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9553150, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ****** 


In there response they still don't address that I also put $155.00 deposit on same day. Which part was cash , that should go in right away . those documents were sent to you . I still feel that they are ripping me off and would like my $105.00 o/d charges rebated back to me .

You have the documents please review them, and you will see what I am talking about .

 

THANKS   ** ******

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201

RE: Case #ID 9553150

Dear Mr. ********:

Sterling Bank has reviewed the rejection response submitted by Mr. ******. The deposit Mr. ****** is referring to was made on May 16, 2013 at 1:48 PM. The items that were listed in the response dated May 30, 2013 were posted to his account prior to the deposit being made. Since this was not an error made by the bank and talking with the Branch Manager, ***** ******d there will not be a refund of the overdraft fees.

5/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had overdrawn my checking account, but still had direct deposit going into my checking account. I went into my local bank to make payment arrangements for my checks to continue to do direct deposit so I can repay what's over drawn. sterling made me write a promissory note to prevent sterling to close my account, I wrote this in December 2012. In January I received a letter stating sterling sent my checks back and refused payment. I went back into my local bank & sterling told me to round up any information I received in the mail, so I did, took it back into the bank. Sterling told me they would get to the bottom of it. Did not hear nothing from them. I called or went into my local bank, they said they are still investigating. not long after that, I receive letter from a collection agency demanding payment. this is a bank that says they will work with you, and having you write up a promissory to prevent further action, that refused my payment anyway and sent it to collections anyway! I feel I did my part in working out my faults, but sterling is refusing to fix their faults. sterling is the 1st bank I've ever known to refuse money. besides, I had my over drawn amount almost paid off. Now it's almost doubled with their tacked on fee's. I called sterling again today, and they still are refusing to fix their part. sterling told me as long as I faithfully make my payments stated on my promissory note, then I have nothing to worry about. They went back on there word and screwed me over, is ruining my credit over something they said would not happen or refuse. I was making payment with my direct deposit checks automatically. my account balance I believe was close to being around $1000.00 approx. now it's almost $2000.00. I have spoken to Brenda our local bank manager, & spoken to ***** our assistant manager at our local sterling branch in Elma Washington. I spoke with a ******* on a ###-###-#### # for the deposit collection team. Nowhere shape or form was she nice enough to listen to my concerns.

Desired Settlement: I'm asking that my repayment amount stays where it was before sending my checks back. I'm asking them to remove all the tact fee's they added. I'm asking them to remove it off my credit file as that was the whole purpose of them asking me to write out a promissory note to prevent that from happening. I'm asking them to fix what they said they were willing to help me with and keep there word too. I am refusing to pay your tact on fee's. please fix. thanks

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9540899, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** *****




Business Response:


May 21, 2013
Better Business Bureau Attention: Mr. **** ******** Resolution Moderator

RE: ****** W. *****

Acct Number *********-1

Dear Mr. ********,

Sterling Bank (“Sterling”) has reviewed the circumstances surrounding the consumer complaint filed with your agency by ****** *. *****. Please see the response below regarding Ms. *****’s concerns.

When a deposit account with Sterling becomes overdrawn for 60 consecutive days the account is charged off. Furthermore, the Social Security Department dictates that when accounts with direct deposit funds consisting of Social Security monies are being charged off or closed, that said deposits are to be refused unless the customer makes a request in writing, asking the financial institution to accept the deposit. This is typically utilized for one deposit and then the account is re-closed.

On December 11, 2012 Mr. *****’s account had been overdrawn for 60 consecutive days in the amount of $1,667.25. Sterling charged off the account and sent it to the third party agency, Outsource Receivable’s, for collection.

On December 31, 2012, Mr. ***** went to his local Sterling branch and requested that his account be re-opened so that his Social Security could be direct deposited. The Automatic Clearing House (ACH) department at Sterling directed the branch to obtain a written request to re-open the account from Mr. *****. Instead the letter that Mr. ***** provided the branch requested that the Social Security deposits be applied to repay the overdraft until the debt was paid in full.

The account was re-opened on December 31, 2012, Social Security funds were deposited and apayment of $111.45 was applied to the charge off balance of $1,667.25 leaving a balance of $1,555.80. The account was then re-closed.

Sterling did make a mistake by accepting the letter from Mr. ***** and tacitly entering into a repayment arrangement. In order to correct the error, Sterling will do the following:

1. Remove the account from Outsource Receivable’s.

2. Delete the account from Mr. *****’s credit.

3. Delete the account from ChexSystems.

4. Waive any accrued fees and interest dating back to December 31, 2012 leaving a balance of $1,555.80.

5. Agree to re-open the account and work with Mr. ***** to resume the prior re-payment arrangement which

consists of payments of $ 111.45 per month commencing July 1,2013 and continuing for 14 months. (Should Mr. ***** default on the arrangement, the account will be re-closed and assigned to ChexSystems and Outsource Receivable’s)

We will contact Mr. ***** on Tuesday, May 28, 2013 to review the terms of the aforementioned proposal.
Sterling strives to provide excellent customer service and apologizes for any inconvenience this may have caused him.
Lending Support Manager ** *** ***

Spokane, WA 99210-0115 Phone: ###-###-####




4/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with the representative at the Colfax branch. He states that he cannot waive the overdraft fees as it is not a bank error. However, I had requested that the debit card be closed. The notes that they have are semi-accurate as we did discuss closing the account and having another debit card sent under a new account. I called back in and said that the issue had been resolved and that no payment was going to be processed. I called in again and requested that the account be closed as I was switching banks. The representative stated that he could only close the account in person. I requested that once the pending transactions were wiped that my debit card was deactivated. The debit card was in fact not deactivated and payments were charged to my account as auto-pay. The individual stated that the notes entered did not show the request to deactivate the card. I requested that he review the calls in which he stated that he cannot. Instead of having factual data we are in a position of he said, she said. This is not appropriate behavior a company. I understand that they are to stand behind the individuals that are employed and the manager Rusty stated he was familiar to my account. However, I did not speak to him each time I called in. Data about financial situations should always be within the reach of the employer to verify any issues or statements by the customer. Without this information I do not feel that they justify any charges on my account. If they are able to provide any physical evidence besides notations or anything else that involves the possibility of human error then I will accept the fees.

Desired Settlement: I want all overdraft fees refunded.

Business Response:


Better Business Bureau RE: ** *****

Assigned ID 9499397

Below is the response from our branch manager for Colfax after he interviewed his staff and reviewed the transactions associated with Mr. *****' account during the time period he is addressing in his complaint. We feel confident the branch is not at fault and took appropriate steps in the handling of Mr. ***** account
***** ******, Area Manager Sterling Bank | Colfax, WA | **** *** ** **** ******, Colfax, WA 99111

Direct: ###-###-#### | Cell: ###-###-#### | Fax: ###-###-#### Here are the series of events from our perspective:

On 3/14 ****** (a CSR at the Colfax location) was contacted by ** ***** in regards to a purchase of around $400 that he was disputing with the merchant but that hadn’t posted to his account yet. ****** transferred the call to me so that I could try and help him. ** was worried about the fact that the merchant had his debit card number so i advised him that we could close his debit card so the charge wouldn't come through. ** told me that he didn't want to go that route just yet and would call back shortly to let us know how to proceed. ** called back and told *** (a CSR at the Colfax location) that he wasn't comfortable with closing the card just yet because he might still need it for purchases, but that he would like to open a new account and order a debit card on that account so that he could move everything over once he received the new debit card. He let *** know to keep his debit card and account open in case he was able to get his purchase dispute resolved. ** at that time requested that all but $100 be transferred from his current account to his new one. He wanted to be able to use his debit card for some day to day purchases while he was waiting on his new debit card to arrive on the new account. As you will be able to see on the attached history, the new account and debit card were opened on 3/14 per **'s request. There was a transfer done of $707 to the new account that same day, 3/14, leaving $100.07 in his old account and a balance of $707 in his new one.

3/18 - *** received a call from ** stating that he had resolved the issue with the merchant there was a dispute with and requested that the funds be transferred back from the new account to his old one so that he could continue his banking as normal.

I've attached a history of the account which I'll summarize for you. After the funds were transferred back to the original account there have been multiple purchases with the debit card in question at gas stations as late as 3/26, a week after we last spoke with **. Obviously he knew at that point that his card was still active as he was using it. The two purchases that caused him to go overdrawn show as POS Purchase on our system but after speaking with our ATM department it sounds like the card number was given to the merchants and set up as auto pay. Both of the companies (one is an insurance company, one is a cable company) that charged the customer had also charged him the month before for their services.

In conclusion, our staff’s recount of the conversations with Mr. ***** are reinforced by what we can see by the account history on Mr. *****’s accounts. This is why we decided there was no error on the banks part and the two overdraft funds were not going to be reimbursed.

Consumer Response:

I am aware that the card was used on 3/26 which is why I requested that it be cancelled. Interesting that in your notations there is no collection of me requesting to close my account. I was advised that I had to come into the actual branch per bank policy. However, I requested that my debit card be cancelled and was informed that there were pending transactions on the account; i.e. the gas station 3/26. I was told that my card would be cancelled on a Friday. Though, when I ask for a review of the call they refuse as they do not record them. The research that has been done is based on the possibility of human error. Consistency of my billing from the companies has no relevance considering the card should have been cancelled. This is an absolute terrible justification as they are using an irrelevant mistake by me to cover up there own.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9499397, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
** *****



Business Response: Per **** ******** we are leaving this as is. No further response.

Consumer Response:

Please leave this with a negative result on the company.

To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9499397, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

** *****




4/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

RE: Consumer complaint for Washington State corporation To Whom It May Concern:

My husband and I have had our home in Deer Park, Washington, listed for sale for some time.

Early in 2012, March 9, we accepted an offer of purchase on our home. This was after back and forth negotiations, offers and counter offers, to agree on purchase price and terms of purchase. The prospective buyer, ****** ****, and his realtor, ***** ***** of ***************, stated that he had been pre-approved through Sterling Bank in Spokane, the branch located at *** ** ***** ***** ****** ***** ***. At this time, the loan officer working with the buyer was ***** ******. His attitude and performance were not professional at all, and our realtor finally requested that someone other than Mr. ****** handle this loan process.

Our realtor, *** ***** of RH ***** and Associates in Spokane, then had to persistently request the Lender Letter from Sterling, which was finally sent, dated March 27, 2012. We were misled all the way by the Sterling representatives, who made no mention of any problem with this loan process. Closing date for the purchase/sale

was set for April 25.1 even spoke to the Closing Attorney’s representative, **** ******’s office, they needed

information on our current loan, loan number, lender name, etc. They stated that they were working towards April 25 as the closing date.

Then, at the 11th hour, (just before closing) Sterling dropped a bomb and stated that they had no tax returns for the buyer for the past three years! (Shouldn’t this have been requested and completed before the buyer was approved?) Since the buyer has a part-time business, Sterling needed transcripts from the IRS for these three years. The buyer, Mr. ****, worked with an agent at the local office of the IRS and managed to get these transcripts taken care of, according to Ms. *****, his realtor. We agreed to extend the closing date.

At a later date we discovered that the buyer was still on a home loan document with his ex-wife, and that Sterling knew that our buyer would not be able to qualify for our purchase unless he could get his name off that other loan.

I personally spoke with the manager at the Sterling office, **** *********, in June 2012.1 specifically asked him if **** being on another home loan would be a problem, even though his divorce decree stated that he would have no financial obligations for that home loan after August, 2012. (The divorce decree information is from Ms. *****). Mr. ********* said that it would not affect ****’s loan with Sterling, as long as **** got all other requirements in order. I asked if this loan was going to be possible AT ALL or should we just actively seek another buyer. He assured me that the deal would “definitely close”, but there were just a couple of more things that had to be completed. Obviously, this was not true and he should have been aware of this at the time of our conversation.

The buyer convinced his ex-wife to sell her home, which she did the first part of September. Then, Sterling informed the buyer that he still can’t qualify because his debt is too high. He did what they suggested, (refinancing his auto and paying down some debt) but then he was short of funds for down payment and had to get gift funds to try again.
Finally, the buyer took his loan file to another institution and loan officer, **** **** at Mountain West, and found there was no way at that time that he could qualify to buy our home, in fact was qualified for about $120,000 LESS than the offer we accepted.

This is by no means the whole story. We were involved in this process from the end of February 2012, to the end of September 2012, before Sterling finally just said that the buyer would not be approved, after another closing date and the loan package going to their Underwriting Department.

This whole mess has cost us quite a bit of money out of pocket. We had our septic tank pumped, well and water quality tested and certified, expenses to go to Nevada and look for another home (including paying for an appraisal and home inspection on a home we wanted), when we got within a few days of closing and felt it was a deal, not to mention the time our home was off the active market as a pending sale, which may have cost us a sale to someone who actually qualified. We sold furniture, appliances, TV, tools, large shop items and have now had to replace most of these items that were sold.

This has also cost our prospective buyer, Mr. ****, quite a lot of money and time and frustration.

This was, without a doubt, the most unprofessional, shoddy, frustrating experience that we have ever had. It seemed that every time we told that things were “moving along”, another problem would occur.

We are writing in the hope that some kind of follow-up can be done so that another unsuspecting consumer will not have the same experience with Sterling Bank that we all did. I know that we will never do business with a corporation that feels that this practice and this kind of treatment of their customers is ok.

Thank you,

****** *******
CC: ** ******* ******

President & CEO of Sterling Financial *** ** **** ***

Spokane, WA 99201



Desired Settlement:

Business Response:



FROM: ********* ***

RE: BBB Complaint, case ID 9386401, Resolution Moderator **** ********

The following explanation summarizes our response to the complaint letter from ****** and ******* *******.

The first complaint in the letter is that Sterling was not timely about providing the prequalification letter, that it was not provided until March 27. This letter was provided on March 13th'which was the second business day after the buyer and seller signed their purchase and sale contract.

The issues that prevented Sterling from closing this loan were discovered during the loan process and hence were unavoidable. As is industry standard, our prequalification was based on information our client provided to us on the initial application, and as is industry standard, our prequalification clearly states that the approval is subject to verification/documentation of the income, assets, credit information that was given to us.

Without going into private details of our client's financial position, I can state that the documentation did not validate the application information, and in spite of multiple attempts on our part to help our client find a solution, in the end we were unable to qualify him, and unable to provide him with a loan.

We understand that the seller in this transaction experienced inconvenience and expenses related to the sale of the property, and that is regrettable, however, it is not a result of any inadequate performance of Sterling. We communicated the issues that were preventing the loan approval to the seller's agent, and on April 18th, the seller terminated the purchase contract and re-listed the property. Our client continued to work on solutions to the issues, but in the end was unable to resolve issues that prevented us from approving the loan. We communicated consistently with the parties in the transaction, and worked diligently with our client, and with the other parties, to find solutions.

Please let me know if I may be of further assistance in this matter.
********* ***

Regional Operations Manager, H** **** ** ****** ***** *** *** ********* ** *****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9386401, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Re: Complaint ID 9386401, against Sterling Bank
 
****,
 
This is to follow up on the response from ********* ***, Regional Operations Manager, HLD, at Sterling Bank, to the complaint that was filed against Sterling by my husband and me, ******* and ****** *******.
 
I am not sure if Ms. *** had the entire file to review before her response, or if she was responding in general, but I will respond as if the former is the case.
 
Ms. *** stated that the prequalification letter was provided on March 13, not on March 27 as I had stated in my letter. Provided to whom? Our broker/realtor, *** *****, of RH ***** and Associates, had requested the letter multiple times so that he could proceed with the necessary steps for our file. Again, I am saying that *** did not receive the prequalification letter until March 27.
 
Ms. *** stated that it is industry standard to base prequalification on information provided by the client (the prospective buyer) on initial application. Is it not also industry standard for the loan officer to verify any of the information, before he is actually "prequalified"? This seems like the next logical step, if only to eliminate some of the very problems that occured in our case.
 
We were given a closing date of April 25, and because of all the hang-ups that we had already experienced, did not make any definite plans until just days before the closing (moving van, packing to move, selling some furniture items, etc) because we wanted to be sure that the sale was going to complete. We even talked to the closing attorney two different times, and he reiterated that the closing date was set for April 25. On the evening of April 24, *** called and said he had just received a call to inform him that the closing would have to be extended (if we would agree) because Sterling representatives had not verified their client's Federal Income Taxes and could not approve the purchase until this was resolved. In my opinion, this should have been one of the first steps that the loan officer worked on, since it was discovered that their client had not filed his taxes for 3 years.
 
After resolution of the tax problem, the next glitch was that their client's name was still on the contract/deed of trust with his ex-wife, therefore would not be able to purchase another property until his ex either refinanced the home or sold it, to get Mr. ****'s name off the contract. So, again, we were in limbo, at which time we decided that we could not hold the purchase/sale for this client, and we re-activated the listing. The ex-wife agreed to list her home for sale, and it sold and closed we were told that we could plan on a closing date of the last week of September. This time, the file went all the way to the Underwriting department of Sterling. Then, the evening before we had tentatively planned on the closing we received word from *** ***** that the loan had been denied. Reason being that his debt to income ratio was not acceptable. Again, would this not be something that the loan officer and the branch Manager would have verified long before it got to Underwriting? When the client took his file to another loan office at another institution, it took only two days of review for that loan officer to determine that not only could Mr. **** NOT qualfy for our home, it wasn't even close enough to be in question. Her determination was that he was $120,000.00 short of qualifying for what he had offered and we had accepted for our home. In our opinions, this could have and should have been stopped after the first closing date fell through.
 
We lost potential buyers when the property was listed as "sale pending", plus several thousand dollars, and the incovenience involved. Our broker, *** *****, was so irritated by the unprofessionalism and the inept way the file was handled by the original loan officer at Sterling, ***** ******, that he (***) asked the manager to handle the case himself and to inform Mr. ****** that he was not to solicit business from the realtors in his office again. Unfortunately, the manager, **** *********, proved to be no more adequate than Mr. ******.
 
We both realize that we were not (and could not) aware of each and every problem that arose in this file with Sterling Bank, and that is acceptable. However, common courtesy should dictate that we at least be informed of problems that could affect the sale of our home. This was a 7-month ordeal that should not have happened. 
 
If any of this information is questioned, *** ***** at RH ***** and Associates, has the entire file and could verify any of the above.
 
Thank you.
 
**** and ****** *******
Regards,

****** *******




2/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account was suddenly being closed by Sterling Savings Bank. After a day of speaking to customer service and the people at my local branch asking why to only get no answers, I was informed to contanct the regional manager to find out why my account was being closed. After several messages were left to the regional manager I received a call back and he informed me that the reason he had not gotten back to me was because he was busy getting ready for vacation. He then told me that the reason my account was being closed was because himself and the manager of my local branch have a problem with my husband. My account that I have with Sterling is only in my name and my husband has no access to my acount and is not on my account. I asked the regional manager how he could do that just because they don't like who my husband is. He informed me that "it is his bank and he can do whatever he wants". He also informed me that he is tired of receiving complaints about the manager of my branch so he is getting rid of accounts. I asked him what any of that had to do with me or my account and he said again "it doesn't matter, I can do what I want and I don't have to explain it to you". He stated to me that he doesn't want my account in his bank any longer. I again asked him how it is right that he just close my account because he doesn't like someone and because there is a problem with the branch manager that doesn't even involve myself or my account. He told me that he was "tired of talking to me and there is nothing I can do about it". I have spoken with customer service in Spokane and they reviewed my account and have informed me that they can not find any reason that my account should be closed, but that the branch and regional managers do have the power to close a customers account for whatever reason they want to.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see Sterling Savings Bank put into place policies that do not allow for people in that type of position to take actions like this with no business reasoning behind them. A customer should be a customer no matter who they 'know'. A customer should be able to feel confident that their account won't be closed for some personal 'just because' reason.

Business Response: Please find the letter that was sent to Ms. *****.  thank you *****

2/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My bank advertised giving $100 for the second year in a row to anyone opening an account. I saw the poster thing inside the bank while in line & decided to do it again... First time, everything went fine. I had to "do three things but two we can do right here." Long story short is that I recently called about the bonus being due soon, and I am not getting it because apparently bill pay must be used once besides simply signing up for it. I was just just told that the promotion was "going through a change." It is apparent I was being given the old script (just go use your card three times, bonus "won't take more than 6 months, probably much less" ...wasn't btw). So, instead using the card 3# PLUS doing a bill pay at least once, I just went home and disabled the overdraft and logged out. The great irony is that both years (this time I have a witness as I got my girlfriend to sign up - a referral customer), I was of course signed up for "two of the three" requirements on day#1 but then also given a checkup on complete qualification within a couple weeks. This year, it was just a couple weeks after opening the new accounts, and I had reason to go back because I lost my card to my first account. When I ordered a replacement at the desk from this same person (not *****, but ***** knows what I meant by "the woman working the only desk out front"), she wanted to check if I had used new card and told me its just fine (no word of using bill pay on my own). Also a problem arising out of that day's visit was that I ended up receiving 2 ATM cards a day apart and went back AGAIN so I could determine which one, if either, is the real one...Seems open and shut to me. What business offers a promotion like this and lets people fall through the cracks on it? I was told it would be checked on if I didn't mind both times... THAT is how you do a promotion, not tell a client that you signed up during~"...the change..." (see above) and try to explain how the rules changed right at that time so oops. hmm

Desired Settlement: Good business seems that if you tell a client that there was indeed some sort of change in a promotion when they report that they didn't receive the [anything], the fix is to grandfather them inIn other words, continue the explanation of there were "changes" going on right then (late July) to me with an apology and*fund the accounts* Yes, accounts. I was asked my girlfriend's name and I gave just that... she can handle this separately (as she is to wont) but the bank (*****?) is aware of both

Consumer Response:

Re- business (Sterling) not being able to find me in their system (despite my many recent calls)

my middle name is ******.

I have two different accounts with Sterling.

The debit card # associated with the account in question is:

**** **** **** ****
...this is the ID that I use when contacting them.

Business Response: www.bankwithsterling.com
February 8, 2013
**** ******** Resolution Moderator BBB Serving E. WA; N. ID & MT 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re: ****** A. ******
9398469
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the circumstances surrounding the consumer complaint filed with your agency by ****** A. ******. In the complaint Mr. ****** states that he did not receive the bonus ($100) for opening the account.
Conversations were made with both the Assistant and Branch Manager of the branch of account. They both stated that posters and flyers were within the branch, as well as the documentation and disclosures given to the customer did state what was needed to be completed in order for the customers to receive the $100 bonus. However, Sterling does strive for excellent customer service, therefore the Branch Manager has made an exception in this case and paid out to Mr. ****** the $100 bonus offered in the promotion. In addition the branch also paid out the bonus to Mr. ******'s girlfriend which was also mentioned in the complaint.
If you have any further questions please be sure and let me know.
Sincerely,
***** ******* AVP, Audit Manager
MEMBER
FDIC

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9398469, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

((THIS IS WHAT A GOOD MANAGER WOULD HAVE DONE WITHOUT HAVING THE bbb HIRED TO BITE THEIR POSTERIOR FIRST.))

Regards,


****** ****** 

PS- Thank you and your organization, sir. This is a wonderful service that you provide.




11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was out of town for almost the entire month of July. When I came back to town & opened my mail, I saw that there had been a $7.95 ACH transaction on an old bank account that was inactive at a $0 balance for more than 1 year. This unauthorized withdrawal resulted in several fees & daily late fees of $5.00 and $15.00 during the course of the month, totalling -$154.95 at the time of the statement. I called Sterling Savings and went to their office 20 minutes later and talked to ****. I told her that I had been gone for the month of July and had just opened the mail. I told her this was an inactive account with a $0 balance for more than a year, I did not have a debit card or checks for that account because the business had been sold almost 2 years ago. I also brought with me another statement received that day saying the company had tried to debit another $7.95 from the account resulting in more fees and more negative balance fees. Now my balance was -$254. I asked her to close the account. She said she could not because the balance was at a negative. **** said that she would get back to me. Today (August 14th) I got a letter in the mail stating that they would not pursue reimbursement for the transaction becuase "the 24 hour time limit from the date of settlement allwed by NACHA Rules for a Corporate Customer to dispute a corporate ACH transaction has expired." Because I have no internet access to the account, I had not used the account in more than a year, and because if a transaction resulting in a negative balance occurred they would send me notice via mail (I would receive the mail 24 hours later) - which I pick up at 4:50 PM, I would be allowed NO MORE THAN 10 MINUTES to get my mail, review it for any discrepencies, and contact the bank to dispute the charges. This does not take into account weekends or vacations.I wasn't notified of this 24 hour clause when I signed up for my account, and went online to see the rules to by NACHA to see that I had to pay to see the rules.

Desired Settlement: I would like the balance brought back to $0 and my account closed. Nothing more. I contacted the bank as soon as I discovered something was wrong and did everything in my power to take care of the problem as quickly as possible. I should not be penalized for doing everything I can.

Business Response: www.bankwithsterling.com
August 21, 2012
Better Business Bureau Attn: **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re: ID 9173017
Sterling Bank ***** ******
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the complaint dated August 15, 2012, filed with the Better Business Bureau by ***** ****** concerning her account ending in 7964.
After reviewing the complaint it was Sterling's decision to refund all fees and the ACH transaction. As of August 15, 2012 the account has been closed and no amounts are owed by Ms. ******. As a reminder since this was a corporate account the turn around to dispute ACH transactions is minimal and it is very important to review transaction in a timely manner.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions.
Sincerely,
***** ******* AVP, Audit Manager

7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My business account went into the negative and the bank told us they closed the account on the 10th of July. They then continued to accept my merchant services deposits, bringing my account into a positive status with a couple hundered dollar balance. The branch told us the account was closed and the next day we got a call from the 1-800 number telling us we owe $27. I called back the 1-800 number for Sterling and was told that we had a $119 balance and the account was OPEN not closed. That afternoon, I wrote a refund check for $63.00 to one of my customers, knowing that I had $119 in the account. The next day, I went to the branch to deposit @ check totaling $129.00. The branch would not accept the deposit stating the account has been closed. There is a positive balance, and that we would be issued a check in 10 days for the amount in the account. I then called the 1800 number and she couldnt figure out why the branch said the account was closed because everything she has says the account is open. I went back to the branch and asked about the check I wrote and she said the check will not be honored. Even though I have money in the account to pay it.

Desired Settlement: I want an appology from the bank for not knowing how to read thier computer system. I want the account to be left open until I decide to close it, and I want them to honor what thier employee told me that the account was open when I wrote that check and honor that check when it comes through..Also, I am requesting they better train their employees to not cause their customers the frustration that i have felt the last couple of days

Business Response: STERLINGBANK

###-###-#### F ###-###-#### www. bankwithsterling .com
July 23, 2012
**** ******** Resolution Moderator BBB Serving E WA, N ID & MT 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re: ******* ***** *******
9133145
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the circumstances surrounding the consumer complaint filed with your agency by ******* ***** *******. In the complaint Ms. ******* states that the bank closed the account on the 10th of July. However they continued to accept merchant services deposits.
It was noted in our review that the staff at the Redmond, Oregon branch had advised both *******'s that the account would be closed prior to and on July 9th, due to bank policy in regards to the account being negative for 60 days. On the 60th day, some ACH deposit came through and our back office left the account open to receive deposit to offset the delinquent amount. Additional deposits through ACH activity continued and brought the balance positive. Branch Support offices of Sterling did not notify the branch the account was still open. It was also noted that the 1-800 customer care line told the Ms, ******* that the account was still open. However, this was not the case.
We feel strongly about our customer's having a favorable experience and would like to apologize for the miscommunication and for any inconvenience Ms. ******* may have incurred.
Sterling Bank will allow the last remaining check outstanding to go through the account and then close the account on July 27th as per our 10 day letter that has been sent to Ms. *******. If the account has a positive balance, a refund check will be sent to Ms. *******.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9133145, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Though I do appreciate that you decided to honor your statement that the outstanding check would be paid, your sorry excuse for an apology does not make up for the fact that your staff is improperly trained. In the last week, each time we spoke with someone from Sterling, at the branch or at the 1-800 number, we were given a different balance on the account and one person would say it was open and the next person would say it was closed. One woman at the 1-800 number told me that the branch must not know how to read their computer and there were 4 different screens to look at for account information.  She stated there were no notes on the account. I asked to be transferred to a person that I could file a formal complaint with and I left a voicemail with someone in Human Resourses. This person never called me back. The next day I went into the branch and was told that the check I wrote for $63.00 after I was told that the account was open and had over $200.00 in it, would not be paid. I expressed extreme dissatisfaction and left. I then called the 1-800 again and a very arrogant young man refused to transfer me to someone who could take my complaint. This young man should be retrained on what he can and cannot handle. My phone call was one he could not handle. Though I asked numerous ones to be transferred, he refused to do do and therefore escalated my extreme frustration. I ended up hanging up on him and turned to the BBB, where in a matter of a few days I got a response from the bank. 


By the way, I still have not received a call back from the HR person I left the voicemail for. 

I have found my ending experience with Sterling Bank to have been handled very poorly. Every single employee that I spoke with, especially the inexperienced young man who refused to transfer me when I asked numerous times, should be reprimanded and retrained on positively dealing with highly irritated customers. And also taught when to hand over a call to a supervisor. There are some things that a glorified phone operator who makes minimum wage just can't handle. 

Regardless of the response from Sterling, I am completely dissatisfied. More in the lack of communication between departments and complete lack of employee training. 

Also, when the final check is cut to me to bring my now closed account to a zero balance, it should be made out to me personally so I will be able to cash it.