BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

This Business is not BBB accredited

Sterling Bank

Find a Location

Phone: (509) 624-4121 111 N Wall St, Spokane, WA 99201 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bankwithsterling.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sterling Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sterling Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 10/23/1981 in WA Business started locally: 10/23/1981 Business incorporated: 10/23/1981 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Cara Coon, Communications and Public Affairs Director Ms. Marty Dickinson, Senior VP, Corporate Communications Mr. Ezra Eckhardt, President & COO Sterling Savings Bank, COO Sterling Financial Corp. Mr. J. Gregory Seibly, President & CEO Sterling Financial Corporation
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nikki Russell, Auditing
Business Category

Banks Credit Cards & Plans Loans Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Savings & Loan Associations Credit - Debt Consolidation Services Financial Services Advertising - Checking Service Credit Cards - Protection Service Business Services - General Title Loans Loans - Farm & Ranch Banking Services Credit Card - Merchant Services College Savings Plans

Alternate Business Names
Sterling Financial Corporation Sterling Savings Association
Additional Information

8/24/2009 STERLING SAVINGS BANK NAME BEING MISUSED IN PHONE SCAML CALLER ID Reveals "NetScope" 949-450-1122 An interesting thread regarding the name "NetScope" linked to a phishing scam is being utilized in yet another phone scam misusing the good name of Sterling Savings Bank. Here is that thread: http://74.125.155.132/search?q=cache:3JfND12awRAJ:its.ucsc.edu/security_awareness/scam.php+NetScope,+scam%3F&cd=3&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us BBB received a call from a woman reporting a scam call she received about her "Sterling Savings Bank" account. The person wanted her social security number. She didn't have an account with Sterling so knew it was a scam, however, she contacted her local branch office, and they told her that others were reporting this activity as well. BBB ADVICE Sterling Savings Bank has an excellent SECURITY page on its web site explaining how these phishing scams work: http://www.sterlingsavingsbank.com/landing_pages/Phishing/index.html

Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/15/2013 I made a purchase at Fred Meyers for $ 15.00 I had $63.74 balance in my account. After the $ 15.00 purchase I show I still had $48.74 in my account. They charged me a $ 35.00 over draft fee when I still had $48.74 in my account on 5/16/2013 then on the same day they charged me another $ 35.00 over draft charge for what ever reason I don't know . Which should not have happened . When I called them they told me it was because a charge that went trough later caused me to over draft. But on the same day 5/16/2013 I also made a $ 155.00 deposit . So I don't know way I am being charged 2-o/d fees . for that day . After the deposit and then take away the charges I still would have had $ 128.74 in my account . I think they are ripping me off. They need to refund my 2- $35.00 over draft fees , that was charged to my account for no reason. Ed Wilson

Desired Settlement: They need to refund my o/d fees that they charged me plus the one that it caused to o/d on the 21 st. Total of $ 105.00 . Ed Wilson

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201

RE: Case# ID 9553150

Dear Mr. ********:

Sterling Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the circumstances surrounding the consumer complaint filed with your agency by ***** ******.

In reviewing the account in questions it appears the following occurred:

Pending POS purchase on 5/14/13 Posted to account on 5/16/13 $9.52

Pending POS purchase on 5/15/13 Posted to account on 5/16/13 $8.54

Pending POS purchase on 5/15/13 Posted on account on 5/16/13 $57.21

The "pending" status on the account happens between the time purchases are made and approved and the time the actual item posts to the customer's account. In this case Mr. Wilson's current balance was $48.74 however the above items were pending and held against the account. Because of the pending transaction there were not enough funds to cover all of the transactions; this resulted in the two overdraft fees of $35.00. It is recommended if not doing so to keep a check register to help ensure there are sufficient funds in the account.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9553150, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ****** 


In there response they still don't address that I also put $155.00 deposit on same day. Which part was cash , that should go in right away . those documents were sent to you . I still feel that they are ripping me off and would like my $105.00 o/d charges rebated back to me .

You have the documents please review them, and you will see what I am talking about .

 

THANKS   ** ******

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201

RE: Case #ID 9553150

Dear Mr. ********:

Sterling Bank has reviewed the rejection response submitted by Mr. ******. The deposit Mr. ****** is referring to was made on May 16, 2013 at 1:48 PM. The items that were listed in the response dated May 30, 2013 were posted to his account prior to the deposit being made. Since this was not an error made by the bank and talking with the Branch Manager, ***** ******d there will not be a refund of the overdraft fees.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had overdrawn my checking account, but still had direct deposit going into my checking account. I went into my local bank to make payment arrangements for my checks to continue to do direct deposit so I can repay what's over drawn. sterling made me write a promissory note to prevent sterling to close my account, I wrote this in December 2012. In January I received a letter stating sterling sent my checks back and refused payment. I went back into my local bank & sterling told me to round up any information I received in the mail, so I did, took it back into the bank. Sterling told me they would get to the bottom of it. Did not hear nothing from them. I called or went into my local bank, they said they are still investigating. not long after that, I receive letter from a collection agency demanding payment. this is a bank that says they will work with you, and having you write up a promissory to prevent further action, that refused my payment anyway and sent it to collections anyway! I feel I did my part in working out my faults, but sterling is refusing to fix their faults. sterling is the 1st bank I've ever known to refuse money. besides, I had my over drawn amount almost paid off. Now it's almost doubled with their tacked on fee's. I called sterling again today, and they still are refusing to fix their part. sterling told me as long as I faithfully make my payments stated on my promissory note, then I have nothing to worry about. They went back on there word and screwed me over, is ruining my credit over something they said would not happen or refuse. I was making payment with my direct deposit checks automatically. my account balance I believe was close to being around $1000.00 approx. now it's almost $2000.00. I have spoken to Brenda our local bank manager, & spoken to ***** our assistant manager at our local sterling branch in Elma Washington. I spoke with a ******* on a ###-###-#### # for the deposit collection team. Nowhere shape or form was she nice enough to listen to my concerns.

Desired Settlement: I'm asking that my repayment amount stays where it was before sending my checks back. I'm asking them to remove all the tact fee's they added. I'm asking them to remove it off my credit file as that was the whole purpose of them asking me to write out a promissory note to prevent that from happening. I'm asking them to fix what they said they were willing to help me with and keep there word too. I am refusing to pay your tact on fee's. please fix. thanks

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9540899, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** *****




Business Response:


May 21, 2013
Better Business Bureau Attention: Mr. **** ******** Resolution Moderator

RE: ****** W. *****

Acct Number *********-1

Dear Mr. ********,

Sterling Bank (“Sterling”) has reviewed the circumstances surrounding the consumer complaint filed with your agency by ****** *. *****. Please see the response below regarding Ms. *****’s concerns.

When a deposit account with Sterling becomes overdrawn for 60 consecutive days the account is charged off. Furthermore, the Social Security Department dictates that when accounts with direct deposit funds consisting of Social Security monies are being charged off or closed, that said deposits are to be refused unless the customer makes a request in writing, asking the financial institution to accept the deposit. This is typically utilized for one deposit and then the account is re-closed.

On December 11, 2012 Mr. *****’s account had been overdrawn for 60 consecutive days in the amount of $1,667.25. Sterling charged off the account and sent it to the third party agency, Outsource Receivable’s, for collection.

On December 31, 2012, Mr. ***** went to his local Sterling branch and requested that his account be re-opened so that his Social Security could be direct deposited. The Automatic Clearing House (ACH) department at Sterling directed the branch to obtain a written request to re-open the account from Mr. *****. Instead the letter that Mr. ***** provided the branch requested that the Social Security deposits be applied to repay the overdraft until the debt was paid in full.

The account was re-opened on December 31, 2012, Social Security funds were deposited and apayment of $111.45 was applied to the charge off balance of $1,667.25 leaving a balance of $1,555.80. The account was then re-closed.

Sterling did make a mistake by accepting the letter from Mr. ***** and tacitly entering into a repayment arrangement. In order to correct the error, Sterling will do the following:

1. Remove the account from Outsource Receivable’s.

2. Delete the account from Mr. *****’s credit.

3. Delete the account from ChexSystems.

4. Waive any accrued fees and interest dating back to December 31, 2012 leaving a balance of $1,555.80.

5. Agree to re-open the account and work with Mr. ***** to resume the prior re-payment arrangement which

consists of payments of $ 111.45 per month commencing July 1,2013 and continuing for 14 months. (Should Mr. ***** default on the arrangement, the account will be re-closed and assigned to ChexSystems and Outsource Receivable’s)

We will contact Mr. ***** on Tuesday, May 28, 2013 to review the terms of the aforementioned proposal.
Sterling strives to provide excellent customer service and apologizes for any inconvenience this may have caused him.
Lending Support Manager ** *** ***

Spokane, WA 99210-0115 Phone: ###-###-####




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with the representative at the Colfax branch. He states that he cannot waive the overdraft fees as it is not a bank error. However, I had requested that the debit card be closed. The notes that they have are semi-accurate as we did discuss closing the account and having another debit card sent under a new account. I called back in and said that the issue had been resolved and that no payment was going to be processed. I called in again and requested that the account be closed as I was switching banks. The representative stated that he could only close the account in person. I requested that once the pending transactions were wiped that my debit card was deactivated. The debit card was in fact not deactivated and payments were charged to my account as auto-pay. The individual stated that the notes entered did not show the request to deactivate the card. I requested that he review the calls in which he stated that he cannot. Instead of having factual data we are in a position of he said, she said. This is not appropriate behavior a company. I understand that they are to stand behind the individuals that are employed and the manager Rusty stated he was familiar to my account. However, I did not speak to him each time I called in. Data about financial situations should always be within the reach of the employer to verify any issues or statements by the customer. Without this information I do not feel that they justify any charges on my account. If they are able to provide any physical evidence besides notations or anything else that involves the possibility of human error then I will accept the fees.

Desired Settlement: I want all overdraft fees refunded.

Business Response:


Better Business Bureau RE: ** *****

Assigned ID 9499397

Below is the response from our branch manager for Colfax after he interviewed his staff and reviewed the transactions associated with Mr. *****' account during the time period he is addressing in his complaint. We feel confident the branch is not at fault and took appropriate steps in the handling of Mr. ***** account
***** ******, Area Manager Sterling Bank | Colfax, WA | **** *** ** **** ******, Colfax, WA 99111

Direct: ###-###-#### | Cell: ###-###-#### | Fax: ###-###-#### Here are the series of events from our perspective:

On 3/14 ****** (a CSR at the Colfax location) was contacted by ** ***** in regards to a purchase of around $400 that he was disputing with the merchant but that hadn’t posted to his account yet. ****** transferred the call to me so that I could try and help him. ** was worried about the fact that the merchant had his debit card number so i advised him that we could close his debit card so the charge wouldn't come through. ** told me that he didn't want to go that route just yet and would call back shortly to let us know how to proceed. ** called back and told *** (a CSR at the Colfax location) that he wasn't comfortable with closing the card just yet because he might still need it for purchases, but that he would like to open a new account and order a debit card on that account so that he could move everything over once he received the new debit card. He let *** know to keep his debit card and account open in case he was able to get his purchase dispute resolved. ** at that time requested that all but $100 be transferred from his current account to his new one. He wanted to be able to use his debit card for some day to day purchases while he was waiting on his new debit card to arrive on the new account. As you will be able to see on the attached history, the new account and debit card were opened on 3/14 per **'s request. There was a transfer done of $707 to the new account that same day, 3/14, leaving $100.07 in his old account and a balance of $707 in his new one.

3/18 - *** received a call from ** stating that he had resolved the issue with the merchant there was a dispute with and requested that the funds be transferred back from the new account to his old one so that he could continue his banking as normal.

I've attached a history of the account which I'll summarize for you. After the funds were transferred back to the original account there have been multiple purchases with the debit card in question at gas stations as late as 3/26, a week after we last spoke with **. Obviously he knew at that point that his card was still active as he was using it. The two purchases that caused him to go overdrawn show as POS Purchase on our system but after speaking with our ATM department it sounds like the card number was given to the merchants and set up as auto pay. Both of the companies (one is an insurance company, one is a cable company) that charged the customer had also charged him the month before for their services.

In conclusion, our staff’s recount of the conversations with Mr. ***** are reinforced by what we can see by the account history on Mr. *****’s accounts. This is why we decided there was no error on the banks part and the two overdraft funds were not going to be reimbursed.

Consumer Response:

I am aware that the card was used on 3/26 which is why I requested that it be cancelled. Interesting that in your notations there is no collection of me requesting to close my account. I was advised that I had to come into the actual branch per bank policy. However, I requested that my debit card be cancelled and was informed that there were pending transactions on the account; i.e. the gas station 3/26. I was told that my card would be cancelled on a Friday. Though, when I ask for a review of the call they refuse as they do not record them. The research that has been done is based on the possibility of human error. Consistency of my billing from the companies has no relevance considering the card should have been cancelled. This is an absolute terrible justification as they are using an irrelevant mistake by me to cover up there own.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9499397, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
** *****



Business Response: Per **** ******** we are leaving this as is. No further response.

Consumer Response:

Please leave this with a negative result on the company.

To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9499397, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

** *****




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

RE: Consumer complaint for Washington State corporation To Whom It May Concern:

My husband and I have had our home in Deer Park, Washington, listed for sale for some time.

Early in 2012, March 9, we accepted an offer of purchase on our home. This was after back and forth negotiations, offers and counter offers, to agree on purchase price and terms of purchase. The prospective buyer, ****** ****, and his realtor, ***** ***** of ***************, stated that he had been pre-approved through Sterling Bank in Spokane, the branch located at *** ** ***** ***** ****** ***** ***. At this time, the loan officer working with the buyer was ***** ******. His attitude and performance were not professional at all, and our realtor finally requested that someone other than Mr. ****** handle this loan process.

Our realtor, *** ***** of RH ***** and Associates in Spokane, then had to persistently request the Lender Letter from Sterling, which was finally sent, dated March 27, 2012. We were misled all the way by the Sterling representatives, who made no mention of any problem with this loan process. Closing date for the purchase/sale

was set for April 25.1 even spoke to the Closing Attorney’s representative, **** ******’s office, they needed

information on our current loan, loan number, lender name, etc. They stated that they were working towards April 25 as the closing date.

Then, at the 11th hour, (just before closing) Sterling dropped a bomb and stated that they had no tax returns for the buyer for the past three years! (Shouldn’t this have been requested and completed before the buyer was approved?) Since the buyer has a part-time business, Sterling needed transcripts from the IRS for these three years. The buyer, Mr. ****, worked with an agent at the local office of the IRS and managed to get these transcripts taken care of, according to Ms. *****, his realtor. We agreed to extend the closing date.

At a later date we discovered that the buyer was still on a home loan document with his ex-wife, and that Sterling knew that our buyer would not be able to qualify for our purchase unless he could get his name off that other loan.

I personally spoke with the manager at the Sterling office, **** *********, in June 2012.1 specifically asked him if **** being on another home loan would be a problem, even though his divorce decree stated that he would have no financial obligations for that home loan after August, 2012. (The divorce decree information is from Ms. *****). Mr. ********* said that it would not affect ****’s loan with Sterling, as long as **** got all other requirements in order. I asked if this loan was going to be possible AT ALL or should we just actively seek another buyer. He assured me that the deal would “definitely close”, but there were just a couple of more things that had to be completed. Obviously, this was not true and he should have been aware of this at the time of our conversation.

The buyer convinced his ex-wife to sell her home, which she did the first part of September. Then, Sterling informed the buyer that he still can’t qualify because his debt is too high. He did what they suggested, (refinancing his auto and paying down some debt) but then he was short of funds for down payment and had to get gift funds to try again.
Finally, the buyer took his loan file to another institution and loan officer, **** **** at Mountain West, and found there was no way at that time that he could qualify to buy our home, in fact was qualified for about $120,000 LESS than the offer we accepted.

This is by no means the whole story. We were involved in this process from the end of February 2012, to the end of September 2012, before Sterling finally just said that the buyer would not be approved, after another closing date and the loan package going to their Underwriting Department.

This whole mess has cost us quite a bit of money out of pocket. We had our septic tank pumped, well and water quality tested and certified, expenses to go to Nevada and look for another home (including paying for an appraisal and home inspection on a home we wanted), when we got within a few days of closing and felt it was a deal, not to mention the time our home was off the active market as a pending sale, which may have cost us a sale to someone who actually qualified. We sold furniture, appliances, TV, tools, large shop items and have now had to replace most of these items that were sold.

This has also cost our prospective buyer, Mr. ****, quite a lot of money and time and frustration.

This was, without a doubt, the most unprofessional, shoddy, frustrating experience that we have ever had. It seemed that every time we told that things were “moving along”, another problem would occur.

We are writing in the hope that some kind of follow-up can be done so that another unsuspecting consumer will not have the same experience with Sterling Bank that we all did. I know that we will never do business with a corporation that feels that this practice and this kind of treatment of their customers is ok.

Thank you,

****** *******
CC: ** ******* ******

President & CEO of Sterling Financial *** ** **** ***

Spokane, WA 99201



Desired Settlement:

Business Response:



FROM: ********* ***

RE: BBB Complaint, case ID 9386401, Resolution Moderator **** ********

The following explanation summarizes our response to the complaint letter from ****** and ******* *******.

The first complaint in the letter is that Sterling was not timely about providing the prequalification letter, that it was not provided until March 27. This letter was provided on March 13th'which was the second business day after the buyer and seller signed their purchase and sale contract.

The issues that prevented Sterling from closing this loan were discovered during the loan process and hence were unavoidable. As is industry standard, our prequalification was based on information our client provided to us on the initial application, and as is industry standard, our prequalification clearly states that the approval is subject to verification/documentation of the income, assets, credit information that was given to us.

Without going into private details of our client's financial position, I can state that the documentation did not validate the application information, and in spite of multiple attempts on our part to help our client find a solution, in the end we were unable to qualify him, and unable to provide him with a loan.

We understand that the seller in this transaction experienced inconvenience and expenses related to the sale of the property, and that is regrettable, however, it is not a result of any inadequate performance of Sterling. We communicated the issues that were preventing the loan approval to the seller's agent, and on April 18th, the seller terminated the purchase contract and re-listed the property. Our client continued to work on solutions to the issues, but in the end was unable to resolve issues that prevented us from approving the loan. We communicated consistently with the parties in the transaction, and worked diligently with our client, and with the other parties, to find solutions.

Please let me know if I may be of further assistance in this matter.
********* ***

Regional Operations Manager, H** **** ** ****** ***** *** *** ********* ** *****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9386401, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Re: Complaint ID 9386401, against Sterling Bank
 
****,
 
This is to follow up on the response from ********* ***, Regional Operations Manager, HLD, at Sterling Bank, to the complaint that was filed against Sterling by my husband and me, ******* and ****** *******.
 
I am not sure if Ms. *** had the entire file to review before her response, or if she was responding in general, but I will respond as if the former is the case.
 
Ms. *** stated that the prequalification letter was provided on March 13, not on March 27 as I had stated in my letter. Provided to whom? Our broker/realtor, *** *****, of RH ***** and Associates, had requested the letter multiple times so that he could proceed with the necessary steps for our file. Again, I am saying that *** did not receive the prequalification letter until March 27.
 
Ms. *** stated that it is industry standard to base prequalification on information provided by the client (the prospective buyer) on initial application. Is it not also industry standard for the loan officer to verify any of the information, before he is actually "prequalified"? This seems like the next logical step, if only to eliminate some of the very problems that occured in our case.
 
We were given a closing date of April 25, and because of all the hang-ups that we had already experienced, did not make any definite plans until just days before the closing (moving van, packing to move, selling some furniture items, etc) because we wanted to be sure that the sale was going to complete. We even talked to the closing attorney two different times, and he reiterated that the closing date was set for April 25. On the evening of April 24, *** called and said he had just received a call to inform him that the closing would have to be extended (if we would agree) because Sterling representatives had not verified their client's Federal Income Taxes and could not approve the purchase until this was resolved. In my opinion, this should have been one of the first steps that the loan officer worked on, since it was discovered that their client had not filed his taxes for 3 years.
 
After resolution of the tax problem, the next glitch was that their client's name was still on the contract/deed of trust with his ex-wife, therefore would not be able to purchase another property until his ex either refinanced the home or sold it, to get Mr. ****'s name off the contract. So, again, we were in limbo, at which time we decided that we could not hold the purchase/sale for this client, and we re-activated the listing. The ex-wife agreed to list her home for sale, and it sold and closed we were told that we could plan on a closing date of the last week of September. This time, the file went all the way to the Underwriting department of Sterling. Then, the evening before we had tentatively planned on the closing we received word from *** ***** that the loan had been denied. Reason being that his debt to income ratio was not acceptable. Again, would this not be something that the loan officer and the branch Manager would have verified long before it got to Underwriting? When the client took his file to another loan office at another institution, it took only two days of review for that loan officer to determine that not only could Mr. **** NOT qualfy for our home, it wasn't even close enough to be in question. Her determination was that he was $120,000.00 short of qualifying for what he had offered and we had accepted for our home. In our opinions, this could have and should have been stopped after the first closing date fell through.
 
We lost potential buyers when the property was listed as "sale pending", plus several thousand dollars, and the incovenience involved. Our broker, *** *****, was so irritated by the unprofessionalism and the inept way the file was handled by the original loan officer at Sterling, ***** ******, that he (***) asked the manager to handle the case himself and to inform Mr. ****** that he was not to solicit business from the realtors in his office again. Unfortunately, the manager, **** *********, proved to be no more adequate than Mr. ******.
 
We both realize that we were not (and could not) aware of each and every problem that arose in this file with Sterling Bank, and that is acceptable. However, common courtesy should dictate that we at least be informed of problems that could affect the sale of our home. This was a 7-month ordeal that should not have happened. 
 
If any of this information is questioned, *** ***** at RH ***** and Associates, has the entire file and could verify any of the above.
 
Thank you.
 
**** and ****** *******
Regards,

****** *******




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account was suddenly being closed by Sterling Savings Bank. After a day of speaking to customer service and the people at my local branch asking why to only get no answers, I was informed to contanct the regional manager to find out why my account was being closed. After several messages were left to the regional manager I received a call back and he informed me that the reason he had not gotten back to me was because he was busy getting ready for vacation. He then told me that the reason my account was being closed was because himself and the manager of my local branch have a problem with my husband. My account that I have with Sterling is only in my name and my husband has no access to my acount and is not on my account. I asked the regional manager how he could do that just because they don't like who my husband is. He informed me that "it is his bank and he can do whatever he wants". He also informed me that he is tired of receiving complaints about the manager of my branch so he is getting rid of accounts. I asked him what any of that had to do with me or my account and he said again "it doesn't matter, I can do what I want and I don't have to explain it to you". He stated to me that he doesn't want my account in his bank any longer. I again asked him how it is right that he just close my account because he doesn't like someone and because there is a problem with the branch manager that doesn't even involve myself or my account. He told me that he was "tired of talking to me and there is nothing I can do about it". I have spoken with customer service in Spokane and they reviewed my account and have informed me that they can not find any reason that my account should be closed, but that the branch and regional managers do have the power to close a customers account for whatever reason they want to.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see Sterling Savings Bank put into place policies that do not allow for people in that type of position to take actions like this with no business reasoning behind them. A customer should be a customer no matter who they 'know'. A customer should be able to feel confident that their account won't be closed for some personal 'just because' reason.

Business Response: Please find the letter that was sent to Ms. *****.  thank you *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My bank advertised giving $100 for the second year in a row to anyone opening an account. I saw the poster thing inside the bank while in line & decided to do it again... First time, everything went fine. I had to "do three things but two we can do right here." Long story short is that I recently called about the bonus being due soon, and I am not getting it because apparently bill pay must be used once besides simply signing up for it. I was just just told that the promotion was "going through a change." It is apparent I was being given the old script (just go use your card three times, bonus "won't take more than 6 months, probably much less" ...wasn't btw). So, instead using the card 3# PLUS doing a bill pay at least once, I just went home and disabled the overdraft and logged out. The great irony is that both years (this time I have a witness as I got my girlfriend to sign up - a referral customer), I was of course signed up for "two of the three" requirements on day#1 but then also given a checkup on complete qualification within a couple weeks. This year, it was just a couple weeks after opening the new accounts, and I had reason to go back because I lost my card to my first account. When I ordered a replacement at the desk from this same person (not *****, but ***** knows what I meant by "the woman working the only desk out front"), she wanted to check if I had used new card and told me its just fine (no word of using bill pay on my own). Also a problem arising out of that day's visit was that I ended up receiving 2 ATM cards a day apart and went back AGAIN so I could determine which one, if either, is the real one...Seems open and shut to me. What business offers a promotion like this and lets people fall through the cracks on it? I was told it would be checked on if I didn't mind both times... THAT is how you do a promotion, not tell a client that you signed up during~"...the change..." (see above) and try to explain how the rules changed right at that time so oops. hmm

Desired Settlement: Good business seems that if you tell a client that there was indeed some sort of change in a promotion when they report that they didn't receive the [anything], the fix is to grandfather them inIn other words, continue the explanation of there were "changes" going on right then (late July) to me with an apology and*fund the accounts* Yes, accounts. I was asked my girlfriend's name and I gave just that... she can handle this separately (as she is to wont) but the bank (*****?) is aware of both

Consumer Response:

Re- business (Sterling) not being able to find me in their system (despite my many recent calls)

my middle name is ******.

I have two different accounts with Sterling.

The debit card # associated with the account in question is:

**** **** **** ****
...this is the ID that I use when contacting them.

Business Response: www.bankwithsterling.com
February 8, 2013
**** ******** Resolution Moderator BBB Serving E. WA; N. ID & MT 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re: ****** A. ******
9398469
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the circumstances surrounding the consumer complaint filed with your agency by ****** A. ******. In the complaint Mr. ****** states that he did not receive the bonus ($100) for opening the account.
Conversations were made with both the Assistant and Branch Manager of the branch of account. They both stated that posters and flyers were within the branch, as well as the documentation and disclosures given to the customer did state what was needed to be completed in order for the customers to receive the $100 bonus. However, Sterling does strive for excellent customer service, therefore the Branch Manager has made an exception in this case and paid out to Mr. ****** the $100 bonus offered in the promotion. In addition the branch also paid out the bonus to Mr. ******'s girlfriend which was also mentioned in the complaint.
If you have any further questions please be sure and let me know.
Sincerely,
***** ******* AVP, Audit Manager
MEMBER
FDIC

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9398469, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

((THIS IS WHAT A GOOD MANAGER WOULD HAVE DONE WITHOUT HAVING THE bbb HIRED TO BITE THEIR POSTERIOR FIRST.))

Regards,


****** ****** 

PS- Thank you and your organization, sir. This is a wonderful service that you provide.




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was out of town for almost the entire month of July. When I came back to town & opened my mail, I saw that there had been a $7.95 ACH transaction on an old bank account that was inactive at a $0 balance for more than 1 year. This unauthorized withdrawal resulted in several fees & daily late fees of $5.00 and $15.00 during the course of the month, totalling -$154.95 at the time of the statement. I called Sterling Savings and went to their office 20 minutes later and talked to ****. I told her that I had been gone for the month of July and had just opened the mail. I told her this was an inactive account with a $0 balance for more than a year, I did not have a debit card or checks for that account because the business had been sold almost 2 years ago. I also brought with me another statement received that day saying the company had tried to debit another $7.95 from the account resulting in more fees and more negative balance fees. Now my balance was -$254. I asked her to close the account. She said she could not because the balance was at a negative. **** said that she would get back to me. Today (August 14th) I got a letter in the mail stating that they would not pursue reimbursement for the transaction becuase "the 24 hour time limit from the date of settlement allwed by NACHA Rules for a Corporate Customer to dispute a corporate ACH transaction has expired." Because I have no internet access to the account, I had not used the account in more than a year, and because if a transaction resulting in a negative balance occurred they would send me notice via mail (I would receive the mail 24 hours later) - which I pick up at 4:50 PM, I would be allowed NO MORE THAN 10 MINUTES to get my mail, review it for any discrepencies, and contact the bank to dispute the charges. This does not take into account weekends or vacations.I wasn't notified of this 24 hour clause when I signed up for my account, and went online to see the rules to by NACHA to see that I had to pay to see the rules.

Desired Settlement: I would like the balance brought back to $0 and my account closed. Nothing more. I contacted the bank as soon as I discovered something was wrong and did everything in my power to take care of the problem as quickly as possible. I should not be penalized for doing everything I can.

Business Response: www.bankwithsterling.com
August 21, 2012
Better Business Bureau Attn: **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re: ID 9173017
Sterling Bank ***** ******
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the complaint dated August 15, 2012, filed with the Better Business Bureau by ***** ****** concerning her account ending in 7964.
After reviewing the complaint it was Sterling's decision to refund all fees and the ACH transaction. As of August 15, 2012 the account has been closed and no amounts are owed by Ms. ******. As a reminder since this was a corporate account the turn around to dispute ACH transactions is minimal and it is very important to review transaction in a timely manner.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions.
Sincerely,
***** ******* AVP, Audit Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sterling Savings Bank is not applying my monthly payment as agreed Sterling Savings Bank is not applying my monthly Escrow payment as agreed. Sterling Savings Bank is receiving my payment on time monthly, cashing my checks, but not applyng my payments to my loan and charging me late fees, and interest on the accrued late fees. My principal, interest and credit are being jeopardized. Sterling Savings Bank is operating unethically, and based on how I have been treated, I believe that their unethical behavior possibly is due to their unfair treatment of their minority customers who own homes in minority communities.

Desired Settlement: I would like Sterling Savings Bank to comply with the terms and conditions of our escrow agreement in the amount of 600.00 monthly, and apply my monthly principal and interest payment in the amount of 3447.29 to my loan balance the day they receive my payment each month. I would like the BBB's assistance with executing this request as the bank is clearly receiving my funds and not applying the payments, and charging me late fees. Please reference the attached supporting documentation.****

Business Response:
###-###-#### F ###-###-#### www.bankwithsterling.com
April 19,2012
First Class Mail and Facsimile ###-###-####
Better Business Bureau Attn: **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re: ID 8986060/Related Complaint ID 8944420 Sterling Savings Bank **** ******
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Savings Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau by **** ****** concerning his Sterling Loan No. ***********, as well as Sterling’s records concerning the same. Included within this review is correspondence related to Sterling’s advancement of real estate taxes on the real property collateral (the "Property") securing the Loan.
Based on this review it appears that in October of 2009, Sterling was required to pay two (2) years of delinquent real estate taxes (the "Delinquent Taxes") on the Property in order to protect Sterling’s security interest in the Property from tax foreclosure. Pursuant to Sterling’s policy and the loan documents (the "Loan Documents") evidencing the Loan, Sterling created an escrow account (the "Escrow Account") for the Loan in the amount of the Delinquent Taxes paid by Sterling on Mr. ******’s behalf. Further, Sterling required Mr. ****** repay the Escrow Account to Sterling over the course of a five (5) year period. The amount necessary to repay the Escrow Account over a five (5) year period was added to Mr. ******’s monthly payments under the Loan. Accordingly, Mr. ******’s monthly payments were increased to $876.20 as disclosed to Mr. ****** in a Written Initial Escrow Account Disclosure Statement, which he signed. I have enclosed a copy of the Initial Escrow Account Disclosure Statement for your reference.
In January of 2011, Mr. ****** and his co-borrower ******** ******* contacted Sterling and requested that their monthly payments be temporarily reduced as they had suffered a loss of rental income. At that time, Sterling agreed to reduce Mr. ******’s monthly payments from $876.20 to $600.00, as set forth in writing by a letter dated February 1, 2011. This letter notified Mr. ****** that the situation would have to be revisited in six (6) months and indicated it was only a short-term accommodation. I have included a copy of this letter for your reference.
While Sterling was not obligated to decrease Mr. ******’s monthly payments to $600.00, it did so temporarily as a courtesy to him. Additionally, while Mr. ****** was only to receive reduced monthly
payments for an initial six (6) month period, Sterling actually extended the accommodation for approximately fourteen (14) months.
Effective March of 2012, Sterling reinstated Mr. ******’s monthly payments back to $876.20 in order to collect repayment of the Delinquent Taxes it paid on Mr. ******’s behalf. As a matter of policy and practicality, Sterling must recover the Delinquent Taxes it paid on Mr. ******’s behalf within a reasonable time frame and cannot simply defer collection of the same indefinitely. The decision to reinstate the full amount of Mr. ******’s monthly payments was predicated solely by business and policy reasons necessitating that the Delinquent Taxes be repaid in a timely manner.
Pursuant to the terms of Mr. ******’s Loan and Loan Documents, Mr. ****** is obligated to repay Sterling for the amount of the Delinquent Taxes paid on Mr. ******’s behalf as reflected in the Escrow Account by making monthly payments in the amount of $876.20 effective as of March 1, 2012.
Please feel free to contact the undersigned with any questions concerning this matter at ###-###-####.
Sincerely,
******** ** *******
Vice President Senior Counsel
Sterling Bank
Mr. **** ******** April 19,2012 Page 2
Enclosures

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Adminstratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8986060, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The information provided by Sterling Savings Bank is eroneous. The amount for the escrow was half based on the delinquency and half based on current property taxes amortized over 12 months. The current escrow amount is no longer what they have stated as my current taxes have decreased. The information they have provided is therefore erroneous.

 

Furthermore, my complaint also includes that they have not adequately notifed me of this change and in addition have charged me late fees and reported to credit agencies that my payments have been late when my Mortgage payment has not been late. Sterling Savings Bank cannot legally charge a late fee to me when my P&I are paid on or before the 16th of the month per our contract, any escrow fees that remain unpaid shall not deem the mortgage payment late, if in deed it was paid on time, which it was. I am requesting a full audit of my payments and any and all late fees charged be reversed as well as reportings to the credit agencies. This company should be held accountable to withold the standards of the law and I intend to ensure that they cease their erroneos practices immediately and bring my account to good standing as well as fix the escrow payment accurately.

Regards,

 

**** ******

 

 

Business Response: STERLINGBANK
###-###-#### F ************ www.ioankwith5terling.com
May 1, 2012
First Class Mail and Facsimile ###-###-####
Better Business Bureau Attn: **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re: ID 8986060/Related Complaint ID 8944420 Sterling Savings Bank **** ******
Dear Mr, ********:
This letter constitutes Sterling's second response to the Complaint referenced above. All capitalized terms not otherwise defined herein shall have the same meaning as used in Sterling’s initial response dated April 19,2012.
In further review of Sterling’s files it was discovered that Mr. ******'s monthly payments were reset as of March 1, 2012 to $753.81 (instead of $876.20 as originally indicated) due to a decrease in the property taxes being assessed to the Property. Enclosed is a copy of a letter from Sterling to Mr. ******’s co- borrower ******** ******* notifying them that the monthly payments would be reset.
As previously explained, Mr, ******’s monthly payments were increased from $600.00 to $753,81 in order to collect repayment of the delinquent real estate property taxes it paid on Mr. ******’s behalf. It was necessary for Sterling to pay these Delinquent Taxes in order to preserve and protect its security interest in its collateral.
While Sterling temporarily granted Mr. ****** and his co-borrower ******** ******* a courtesy reduction in their monthly payments by reducing those payments to $600,00, Sterling is entitled to collect the advanced Delinquent Taxes from Mr. ****** through the increased monthly payments pursuant to the terms of his Loan. Sterling notified Mr. ****** that such increase would occur and then began to bill him accordingly.
Despite receiving notice that he would be required to make monthly payments of $753.81 effective as of March l, 2012 and being invoiced for said amount, Mr. ****** continues to make monthly payments of only $600.00. Accordingly, Mr. ****** is accruing late charges on his account as he is making only partial monthly payments in an amount insufficient to cover repayment of the delinquent real estate property taxes and required monthly and interest payments. Pursuant to the Loan Documents, Sterling is entitled to apply the partial payments it is receiving from Mr, ****** first to the repayment of costs and expenses, such as
the advanced Delinquent Taxes, and then to interest and principal. Sterling is also entitled to assess late charges to Mr. ******’s Loan if he fails to make full and timely monthly payments.
Pursuant to the terms of Mr. ******’s Loan and Loan Documents, Mr. ****** is obligated to repay Sterling for the amount of the Delinquent Taxes paid on Mr, ******’s behalf as reflected in the Escrow Account by making monthly payments in the amount of $753.81 effective as of March 1, 2012,
Please feel free to contact the undersigned with any questions concerning this matter at ###-###-####. Sincerely,
******** ** *******
Vice President Senior Counsel
Sterling Bank
Mr, **** ******** May 1,2012 Page 2

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Adminstratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8986060, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My original complaint has not  been addressed. It appears as if Sterling Bank is only desiring to document eroneous information.  I was not notified with 30 days advance  notice of the change in my monthy payment, therefore for the March Payment I paid what I was notified as  of being due. At such time that I did receive notification, I adjusted my monthly payment for April, and did pay the April payment as noted in the banks  second response. That said, there are many many many many many late fees accrued on my account for months were the payment was not late. This is what my dispute is about. My dispute is as follows:

 

1) I was not  notified in 30 days or ample time to change my automatic payment  to the bank for  March, therefore  the new escrow amount was paid with April payment. Any late charges accrued for March for the payment being short I am requesting that they be reversed because I was not notified in enough advance to make the necessary changes to my automatic  payments to said bank.

 

2) I am being charged late fees when my payment is not  late. Per loan documents, Sterling Bank must apply my mortgage (P&I) payment when received, regardless if the escrow payment  is not yet received. The escrow was set up after myoriginal loan  documents and  was set up as a separate payment, which I pay separately. The bank cannot legally withold my paid mortgage payment and thus say the payment is late if the mortgage  payment is  received on time. This is FRAUD.

 

3) I have requested and have not yet received, from inception of my loan, detailed accountings of which months I am being charged late fees for, and Sterlings adequate proof that such late payments are valid.  Unless and until I receive this. I will be pursuing legal action to the fullest  extent of the law.

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

Business Response:
111 North Wall Street Spokane, WA 99201
###-###-#### F ###-###-####
May 23, 2012
First Class Mail and Facsimile ************
Better Business Bureau Attn: **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson* Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Sterling Savings Bank **** ******
Dear Mr. ********:
This letter constitutes Sterling’s third response to the Complaint referenced above. All capitalized terms not otherwise defined herein shall have the same meaning as used in Sterling’s initial response dated April 19, 2012.
Sterling has reviewed Mr. ******'s loan payment history and confirmed that he owes Sterling $1,265.98 in late fees. In reviewing Mr. ******’s loan history, Sterling did determine that Mr, ****** should not have been assessed a late fee in the amount of $182.51 in June of 2011 or for a late fee in the amount of $172.36 in March of 2012, Accordingly, Sterling has deducted the amount of $354,87 from the outstanding late fees due and owing under Mr. ******’s Loan to arrive at the total amount of $1,265.98.
The remaining late fees assessed to Mr. ****** were proper and have been assessed due to either (1) his failure to make a required monthly payment until the following month or (2) his failure to make a monthly payment by the 15th day of the current month. The Note specifically provides that Sterling may assess Mr. ****** for late fees in these circumstances. A loan payment history from 2007 to 2012 is included for your reference.
While the outstanding $1,265.98 in late fees assessed to Mr. ****** have been properly charged. Sterling agrees to waive $500.00 in late fees as a courtesy to Mr. ****** and in order to resolve his concerns. Accordingly, the outstanding late fees under the Loan shall be reduced to $765.98.
Please feel free to contact the undersigned with any questions concerning this matter at ###-###-####,
Sincerely,
Vice President Senior Counsel Sterling Bank
Enclosures
****** ****** ******** *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8986060, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, provided that Sterling Savings Bank acts in good faith in executing the outcome they are offering.  Regards,

 

**** ******

 

 

 

Business Response:
Office of the General Counsel *** ***** **ll Street Spokane, WA 99201
###-###-#### F ###-###-#### www.bankwithsterling.com
August 7, 2012
First Class Mail and Facsimile ###-###-####
Belter Business Bureau Attn: **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re: ID 8986060/Related Complaint ID 8944420 Sterling Savings Bank **** ******
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Savings Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the complaint dated June 26, 2012, filed with the Better Business Bureau by **** ****** concerning his Sterling Loan No. ***********, as well as Sterling’s records concerning the same.
Based on this review it appears that Mr. ****** did make timely payments for May and June of 2012. Accordingly, Sterling has updated its system to reflect the timely receipt and application of these payments. Enclosed is a copy of Sterling’s system report showing that these adjustments have been made to Mr. ******’s account.
Additionally, Sterling has reduced the assessed late charges to Mr. ******’s account in its system as agreed to in Sterling’s response dated May 23, 2012 to $765.98. Mr. ******’s next statement should reflect this adjustment.
Please feel free to contact the undersigned with any questions concerning this matter at ***** *********Sincerely,
******** ** *******
Vice President, Senior Counsel
Sterling Bank
Enclosures


MEMBER
FDIC LENDER

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8986060, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me as long as Sterling Savings Bank complies with the agreement and the late fees are adjusted and my next statement reflects accurately. As of today this is acceptable. I will report back next month if their compliance with the agreement is not executed as agreed.

Regards,


**** ******




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My business account went into the negative and the bank told us they closed the account on the 10th of July. They then continued to accept my merchant services deposits, bringing my account into a positive status with a couple hundered dollar balance. The branch told us the account was closed and the next day we got a call from the 1-800 number telling us we owe $27. I called back the 1-800 number for Sterling and was told that we had a $119 balance and the account was OPEN not closed. That afternoon, I wrote a refund check for $63.00 to one of my customers, knowing that I had $119 in the account. The next day, I went to the branch to deposit @ check totaling $129.00. The branch would not accept the deposit stating the account has been closed. There is a positive balance, and that we would be issued a check in 10 days for the amount in the account. I then called the 1800 number and she couldnt figure out why the branch said the account was closed because everything she has says the account is open. I went back to the branch and asked about the check I wrote and she said the check will not be honored. Even though I have money in the account to pay it.

Desired Settlement: I want an appology from the bank for not knowing how to read thier computer system. I want the account to be left open until I decide to close it, and I want them to honor what thier employee told me that the account was open when I wrote that check and honor that check when it comes through..Also, I am requesting they better train their employees to not cause their customers the frustration that i have felt the last couple of days

Business Response: STERLINGBANK

###-###-#### F ###-###-#### www. bankwithsterling .com
July 23, 2012
**** ******** Resolution Moderator BBB Serving E WA, N ID & MT 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re: ******* ***** *******
9133145
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the circumstances surrounding the consumer complaint filed with your agency by ******* ***** *******. In the complaint Ms. ******* states that the bank closed the account on the 10th of July. However they continued to accept merchant services deposits.
It was noted in our review that the staff at the Redmond, Oregon branch had advised both *******'s that the account would be closed prior to and on July 9th, due to bank policy in regards to the account being negative for 60 days. On the 60th day, some ACH deposit came through and our back office left the account open to receive deposit to offset the delinquent amount. Additional deposits through ACH activity continued and brought the balance positive. Branch Support offices of Sterling did not notify the branch the account was still open. It was also noted that the 1-800 customer care line told the Ms, ******* that the account was still open. However, this was not the case.
We feel strongly about our customer's having a favorable experience and would like to apologize for the miscommunication and for any inconvenience Ms. ******* may have incurred.
Sterling Bank will allow the last remaining check outstanding to go through the account and then close the account on July 27th as per our 10 day letter that has been sent to Ms. *******. If the account has a positive balance, a refund check will be sent to Ms. *******.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9133145, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Though I do appreciate that you decided to honor your statement that the outstanding check would be paid, your sorry excuse for an apology does not make up for the fact that your staff is improperly trained. In the last week, each time we spoke with someone from Sterling, at the branch or at the 1-800 number, we were given a different balance on the account and one person would say it was open and the next person would say it was closed. One woman at the 1-800 number told me that the branch must not know how to read their computer and there were 4 different screens to look at for account information.  She stated there were no notes on the account. I asked to be transferred to a person that I could file a formal complaint with and I left a voicemail with someone in Human Resourses. This person never called me back. The next day I went into the branch and was told that the check I wrote for $63.00 after I was told that the account was open and had over $200.00 in it, would not be paid. I expressed extreme dissatisfaction and left. I then called the 1-800 again and a very arrogant young man refused to transfer me to someone who could take my complaint. This young man should be retrained on what he can and cannot handle. My phone call was one he could not handle. Though I asked numerous ones to be transferred, he refused to do do and therefore escalated my extreme frustration. I ended up hanging up on him and turned to the BBB, where in a matter of a few days I got a response from the bank. 


By the way, I still have not received a call back from the HR person I left the voicemail for. 

I have found my ending experience with Sterling Bank to have been handled very poorly. Every single employee that I spoke with, especially the inexperienced young man who refused to transfer me when I asked numerous times, should be reprimanded and retrained on positively dealing with highly irritated customers. And also taught when to hand over a call to a supervisor. There are some things that a glorified phone operator who makes minimum wage just can't handle. 

Regardless of the response from Sterling, I am completely dissatisfied. More in the lack of communication between departments and complete lack of employee training. 

Also, when the final check is cut to me to bring my now closed account to a zero balance, it should be made out to me personally so I will be able to cash it. 



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: COMPLAINT
Better Business Bureau ******* **** ******* ** *****
I’m writing this letter to wage a complaint against ****** ******, Mortgage Loan Officer for Sterling Bank, Lake Oswego, Oregon, against Sterling Bank and Costco Mortgage Services.
I contacted him through the Costco Mortgage Services Online web page. I am shopping around for the best refinance loan available and have contacted several other lending institutions. All my correspondence to these lenders SPECIFICALLY STATED that I just wanted them to put together some numbers and that they were NOT to proceed with the loan process unless given explicit instructions from me to do so. Naturally, I wanted to get the best deal. ****** sent a proposal (which wasn’t the best deal that I had received) and I DID NOT INSTRUCT HIM to proceed with the loan.
Last Saturday, I received in the mail two loan rejection letters from Sterling Bank. I am very very angry. ******/Sterling Bank did not follow my specific instructions and consequently, my credit report has been negatively affected.
At a time when the banking and mortgage services industries are reeling from their self-serving, unscrupulous reputation, ****** ******, Sterling Bank have done nothing but sink it to a new low.
*** ***** **** ********* ** ***** ** **** ********
Sincerely,
c: Costco Mortgage Services Department

P

Business Response:
*****************.com
June 27, 2012
**** ******** Resolution Moderator BBB Serving E WA, N ID & MT 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re: **** ********
9077692
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the circumstances surrounding the consumer complaint filed with your agency by **** ********. In his complaint Mr. ******** states he was shopping for a mortgage refinance and that he had instructed all mortgage lenders he had sent emails to that he was looking for numbers to refinance and not to go forward with the loan process until instructed to do so.
It also states that Sterling Bank in **** ****** went ahead with the loan process and submitted the loan which was denied, and consequently damaged his credit report.
It was noted in our review that the Loan Officer spoke to Mr. ******** and was asked to complete and send a written Good Faith Estimate ("GFE") which also includes a Truth in Lending disclosure. Per RESPA- Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act, lenders must provide a standardized GFE document that lists all expenses involved in the transaction. The Loan Officer stated that they informed Mr. ******** that he must first apply online in order for the system to generate a GFE; this is part of HLD's standard operating procedures. On 5/22/12 Mr. ******** completed and submitted an online loan application with Sterling Bank. See attached documents from online process. As a part of the application process a credit report was obtained.
It appears that at no time was there any intention to mislead the customer/borrower by the Loan Officer or Sterling Bank. It was noted Mr. ******** did make the comment "do not proceed unless specifically directed". This statement was interpreted by the Loan Officer to mean that Sterling Bank was not to proceed with the full loan processing, which includes ordering a property appraisal, title search, verification of income, etc. It is standard operating procedures of HLD, when a borrower requests a written, formal GFE, the borrower must complete a loan application in order for an accurate
GFE to be produced. The credit score has a direct impact on the rates and costs involved. Unfortunately Mr. ********'s credit history (delinquent credit obligations) did not meet HLD's standards and a written Notice of Adverse Action letter was mailed to Mr. ******** as required by the Equal Credit Opportunity Act regulation.
Sterling Bank and the Home Loan division apologize for any inconvenience Mr. ******** may have incurred. We feel strongly about our customer's having a favorable experience with us even if we are unable to approve their loan.
Sincerely,
***** ******* AVP, Audit Manager Sterling Bank
Enc: credit score /on line screen print
MEMBER
FDIC
www.bankwithsterling.com

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is actually for the business I own called Evergreen Fancy Foods, Inc. I hired a new employee named **** *****, in May of 2010. In July of 2010, he started embezzling checks from the company by copying old checks that had cleared to new checks, and forging my name as the signature on the checks. He was my Office Manager at the time, & I didn't discover what he was doing until early March of 2011. Well, as soon as I saw what was happening, I immediately went to my local Sterling Savings Manito branch & worked with the branch manager there named ***. He quickly closed my old account & established a new one for us that day.He also told me that the bank should not have cashed ****'s checks signed with a forged signature. He told me that the bank's policy was to refund the customer for any forged checks they cashed in the last 60 days. Before that time, I was out of luck.The total amount of checks embezzled by **** ***** (from July 2010 to March 2011) was $16,287.56. Out of this the amount stolen by **** in the last 60 days before reporting this to Sterling Bank (from January 10th, 2011 to March 10th, 2011) was $4083.76. We have copies of all these checks from the bank.The branch manager & I filled out all the paperwork for corporate. About a month later, I got a letter from the corp. office fraud division in Portland that said I would have had to report the fraud within 60 days of when it first started happening in July of 2010. Since I didn't report it until I discovered this in March 2011, I was too late & there would be no refund of forged checks.I tried talking to 3 different people at the corp. office here in Spokane, to no avail. **** was just convicted of first degree theft & identity theft last week by Spokane County, and was sentenced to 13 months in jail.I think the bank changed their rules on me, & I feel I am still owed the $4083.76 that their manager told me would be refunded to Evergreen Fancy Foods, Inc.

Desired Settlement: I would like the amount of forged checks in the last 60 days before the forgery was discovered refunded to our business, Evergreen Fancy Foods, Inc. The total of these checks was $4083.76.

Business Response:
111 North Wall Street Spokane, WA 99201
###-###-#### F ###-###-#### WWW, bankwithsterling.com
June 8,2012
First Class Mail and Facsimile ###-###-####
Better Business Bureau Attn: **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re; ID 9007695
Sterling Savings Bank
***** M. ********/Evergreen Fancy Foods, Inc.
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Savings Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau by ***** ** ******** on behalf of his business Evergreen Fancy Foods, Inc. ("Evergreen"), concerning Evergreen's business account with Sterling, as well as Sterling’s records concerning the same.
Based on this review it appears that Evergreen’s business manager cashed a series of allegedly forged checks issued by Evergreen on its Sterling account from July 2010 through March 2011. Mr, ******** reported these allegedly unauthorized transactions to Sterling in March 2011, Pursuant to Sterling’s written Rules and Regulations that governed all business accounts during the applicable time period, Evergreen was required to inspect and verify the accuracy of its monthly statements for accuracy and fraudulent activity in a timely manner.
Under the Rules and Regulations a customer may have up to sixty (60) days to notify Sterling of a single unauthorized signature on an item charged to the customer’s account, such as a check. However, in situations where one wrongdoer forges a series of checks charged to a customer's account the customer only has up to thirty (30) days after the applicable account statement is provided to the customer to notify Sterling of the alleged fraud. The purpose of this rule is to encourage customers to review their account statements in a timely manner and to prevent situations where Sterling is forced to incur losses that could have been avoided had a customer timely reviewed its statements.
The applicable provision of the Rules and Regulations reads as follows:
The Account statement will be considered correct for all purposes and we will not be liable for any payment made and charged to your Account unless you notify us in writing within a reasonable time not exceeding sixty (60) calendar days after the periodic statement is sent or made available to you. However, if your Account is charged for multiple unauthorized signatures or alterations by the
same wrongdoer, we will not be liable if you do not notify us in writing [within] a reasonable time period not exceeding thirty (30) calendar days after information about the first such irregularity was made available to you.
If you do not notify us within the applicable time period, then you cannot recover any amount from us with respect to any forged, altered or otherwise unauthorized item.
(emphasis added). A copy of the applicable Rules and Regulations is enclosed for your reference.
In this case, Evergreen states that the first unauthorized check cashed by its business manager was dated July 2010. Accordingly, pursuant to the Rules and Regulations, Evergreen was required to notify Sterling of the unauthorized July check by no later than thirty (30) days after receiving its July account statement in order to preserve its ability to recover against Sterling, Instead, Evergreen did not notify Sterling until March 2011 that Evergreen’s business manager had cashed a series of allegedly forged checks over the course of several months.
While Sterling regrets that Evergreen was the subject of its employee’s fraud, it was Evergreen's duty under the Rules and Regulations to closely monitor its account statements for accuracy and notify Sterling within a reasonable time period of any allegedly forged items. Accordingly, Sterling is not liable to Evergreen for any of the losses it suffered as a result of its business manager’s fraud.
Please feel free to contact the undersigned with any questions concerning this matter at ###-###-####.
Sincerely,
Vice President and Senior Counsel Sterling Bank
Enclosure
FDIC

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9007695, and although I see now that under Sterling Bank's regulations regarding business accounts that they have the right not to compensate us for their negligence in accepting the forged checks for the 60 days prior to my notification of this problem, I'm certainly not very happy about their decision.  This is because the Manito branch manager *** assured me at the time of this notification that they would compensate our company for any forged checks in the last 60 days prior to the notification (from January to March of 2011).

Nobody in Sterling's organization showed me these particular rules that they have until now.

I will be considering changing to a different bank for our business checking needs.

 

Regards,

 

 

***** ********

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was trying to do a Cash out refinance on my home with ***** ********, at Sterling Home Loans in Puyallup Washington. Everything started out just fine, but after a while I quit hearing from ***** either in email form or phone calls, finally after a while i did start to hear from him again. He had decided that he was not able to get me a home refinance after all, then he charged my debit card $525.00. At that time, i was told that my card will not be charged, it is strictly to have on file. After demanding a refund, he advised me that he could not give a refund and then quit talking to me again.

Desired Settlement: I would like a writen apology from ***** ******** as well as Sterling home loans explaining how this practices fit into there plan to get now customers and maintain old customers. As well as advising that this is not how they normally do business.

Business Response:
******** ****** *** *** ********* *** *****
###-###-#### F ###-###-#### www.bankwithsterling.com
March 7,2012 Dear *****,
I am sending you this letter to apologize for any miscommunication that may have happened in the home loan application process with Sterling Savings Bank. My goal was to attempt to get you the cash-out that you desired. I just want to recap the process as I see it and look at this as a learning experience for future loan transactions.
We met at my office on January 12th to do a formal loan application. At that time you had told me that your goal was to take as much cash-out as possible so you could look at paying off your debt that you had accumulated and put yourself into a better financial position. I pulled your credit and noticed that you not only had a *** score which at the time was 3 points shy of the 640 threshold that we like to see but you also had a second that appeared on your credit report. I asked you about that second and you had indicated that you did not have a second lien on your home and that this might be a reporting error. We later found out that you did indeed have this second that came about when you did a state bond loan when you purchased your home.
I also advised you that the max loan to value that we could go to on an FHA transaction was 85% of the value that we get on an appraisal report. We looked up comparables on a search engine that is called real-quest. Unfortunately real-quest could not offer any useful data but after I made a few phone calls to some realtors that I am acquainted with I felt comfortable that your appraised value would support the loan amount needed to accomplish the goals you set out to achieve. I did advise you at that time that there are no guarantees here and that there is a risk that if the appraisal was to come back to low that it could jeopardize your cash-out position and even cause us to not give you a loan ultimately.
I advised you that the loan costs will be rolled into your loan and that you do not have to pay for anything upfront. I also got a credit card number from you to be held on file should there be an issue with your appraisal coming in low and Sterling not being able to extend a home loan to you. In retrospect, I should have charged you upfront for the appraisal costs rather than waiting two weeks to do this.
The main reason I did not do this is because I had felt so strongly that your value would come in much higher than it did. The value came in much lower because the appraiser looked at the listing history and found that you had listed your property at a much lower value and that it of course did not sell. It is my experience that an appraiser will not give

a value that is higher than the last listing price. The reason for that is the market drives the price and if your property did not sell at that price than there is a reason for that.
Had I known that you had recently listed the property I would have passed on your deal from the beginning knowing right away that meeting your goals would simply not happen.
I hope that you would not look badly at Sterling or myself given the circumstances of what had happened. My goal the entire time was based on good intentions and you being a satisfied client.
Sterling Bank takes customer service seriously and in an effort to work through this we will be refunding your appraisal cost and hope that at a later date we can serve you.
Take care,
******* ** ********
3******* ****** *** *** ********* *** *****
###-###-#### F ###-###-#### www.*****************com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8943952, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The letter that was written was explaining why I was denied the home loan, that is not what I wanted. I know why I was denied, I want to know how come they took $525.00 out of my account, where ignoring my emails, and then thought it was ok to not return my money. Is that standard practice for Sterling Savings Bank, or is that just standard for*****?

Regards,

 

***** *****

 

 

Business Response:

Sterling Savings Bank ***** *****
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Savings Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau by ***** ***** concerning his application for a refinance of his home loan, as well as Sterling’s records concerning the same.
Based on this review it appears that Mr. ***** sought a cash-out refinance on his home loan, which Sterling was ultimately not able to extend to him as he did not meet the underwriting qualifications for the refinance. At the time Mr, ***** completed his application for the refinance, he provided Sterling with his credit card number to be held on file. It was explained to Mr. ***** that the credit card would be charged to pay for the required appraisal in the event he did not qualify for refinancing. In the event he had qualified for refinancing, the cost of the appraisal would have been rolled into his loan.
Sterling charged Mr. *****' credit card for $525,00 (the cost of the appraisal) when he did not qualify for refinancing. However, when it was brought to Sterling's attention that Mr, ***** did not understand that his credit card would be charged for the appraisal, Sterling refunded Mr. ***** for the full amount charged to his credit card. In a letter dated March 7 2012, Sterling also acknowledged that there may have been a miscommunication as to which party would ultimately bear the cost of the appraisal in the event Mr. ***** did not qualify for refinancing.
Sterling strives to have prompt, clear and open communication with all of its customers so that expectations are clear in the loan application process. In this instance, however, it appears there may have been a miscommunication concerning payment of the appraisal fee. As a courtesy and in order to address Mr. ***** concerns. Sterling refunded the cost of the appraisal and reached out to explain the situation to Mr, ***** in the letter dated March 7, 2012.
Please feel free to contact the undersigned with any questions concerning this matter at ###-###-####.
Sincerely,
******** ** *******
Vice President and Senior Counsel
Sterling Savings Bank
Enclosures

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8943952, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

***** *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/20/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/02/11 I had closed my accounts at Sterling Savings after banking with them for nearly ten years, because I felt I was mistreated by them. After recieving letters in the mail from Sterling saying I owed them money because they were still paying my bills afer I had closed my accounts, I went to the branch I closed them at. I have documents showing my account was closed. They reopened my account without my permission or knowledge and started paying off companies which I had previously had paid bills with on their online billpay program. Since my account has no money they also want to charge me a $32 overdraft fee for each bill they paid on the account I closed. So they say I owe them nearly $2000 for bills they paid on my behalf out of my closed account.

Desired Settlement: I have already opened new bank accounts elsewhere and made arrangments to pay these bills myself. I want nothing to do with Sterling, which is why I closed my accounts. If they want the money they paid my bills with, then they should go about getting it themselves from my billers, and they should drop the fees they say I owe them. Closed means closed, not reopen it if somebody wants or asks for money and then charge me more. This is a very dirty business practice on Sterling's part.

Business Response: STERLING
SAVINGS BANK
December 9,2011
Via First Class Mail and Facsimile ###-###-####
Better Business Bureau Attn: **** ******** Resolution Moderator 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Re: ID 8826470
Sterling Savings Bank ***** ******* ******
Dear Mr. ********:
Sterling Savings Bank ("Sterling") has reviewed the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau by ***** ******* ****** concerning his Sterling account, as well as Sterling’s records concerning the same.
Based on this review it appears that on November 2, 2011, Mr. ****** closed his checking account with Sterling. However, the account had to be reopened on November 4. 2011, in order to clear a payment to the Scholastic Book Club that was authorized by Mr. ****** prior to closing his account. Subsequently, scheduled automatic payments to ****** County in the amount of $100.00, the City of ********* in the amount of $75.00, ******* **** ***** in the amount of $301.00 and *** Home Loan in the amount of $1,380.52 were paid out of Mr, ******’s account in the total amount of $1,856.52,
Pursuant to the Terms and Conditions of Mr, ******'s account as set forth in Sterling’s Rules and Regulations, Mr. ****** is "responsible for leaving enough money in the account to cover any outstanding items to be paid from the account." However, there were insufficient funds in Mr. ******’s account to cover the $1,856.52 in automatic payments advanced by Sterling (collectively the "Advanced Payments"). Accordingly, Mr. ****** is obligated to repay to Sterling the $1,856,52 in Advanced Payments pursuant to the terms of his account. For your convenience, a copy of Sterling’s Rules and Regulations are enclosed herein. I have also enclosed a redacted copy of Mr. ******’s bank statement for the relevant time period.
As a courtesy to Mr. ****** and to mitigate any perceived miscommunications, Sterling has waived all overdraft fees, services charges and other fees originally assessed to Mr. ******'s account due to the Advanced Payments and has reversed these charges to his account as reflected on the enclosed bank statement.
At this time, Sterling is simply seeking reimbursement for its payment of Mr. ******’s mortgage payment, insurance premium and utility bills for the month of November, which were paid by
Mr. **** ******** December 9, 2011 Page 2
Sterling as a result of the Advanced Payments. At this time, Sterling is unable to seek reimbursement for the Advanced Payments directly from Mr, ******’s mortgage lender, insurance company, the City of ********* or ****** County as the Advanced Payments have already been applied to Mr. ******’s respective accounts.
Mr, ****** received a direct benefit from the Advanced Payments paid by Sterling in the form of an extra monthly mortgage payment, an extra insurance premium payment and extra utilities payments. Accordingly, Sterling is simply attempting to make both parties whole by refunding any fees charged to Mr. ****** and obtaining reimbursement for the Advanced Payments.
Enclosed please find Sterling’s letter dated December 9, 2011, to Mr. ****** explaining Sterling’s position in this matter and requesting that Mr. ****** arrange for repayment of the $1,856.52 in Advanced Payments to Sterling.
Please feel free to contact the undersigned with any questions concerning this matter at ###-###-####.
Sincerely,
******** ** ******* Senior Counsel Sterling Savings Bank
Enclosures

STERLING
SAVINGS BANK
December 9,2011
Via First Class Mail
***** ******* ****** and ***** ****** *** ***** ****** ***** ********** ** *****
Re: Sterling Savings Bank Account
Better Business Bureau Complaint ID 8326470
Dear Mr. and Mrs, ******:
This letter is in response to your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau under ID 8826470 (the "Complaint") against Sterling Savings Bank ("Sterling"). Sterling has reviewed the complaint, as well as its records regarding the same, and is hopeful that the following explanation will alleviate your concerns and clarify Sterling’s position in this matter.
It is my understanding that on November 2 2011, you closed your checking account with Sterling. However, the account had to be reopened on November 4, 2011, in order to clear a payment to the Scholastic Book Club that was authorized by you prior to closing your account. Subsequently, scheduled automatic payments to ****** County in the amount of $100.00, the City of ********* in the amount of $75.00', ******* **** ***** in the amount of £301.00 and Bap Home Loan in the amount of $1,380.52 were paid out of your account in the total amount of $1,856.52.
Pursuant to the Terms and Conditions of your account as set forth in Sterling’s Rules and Regulations, you were "responsible for leaving enough money in the account to cover any outstanding items to be paid from the account," However, there were insufficient funds in your account to cover the $1,856.52 in automatic payments advanced by Sterling (collectively the "Advanced Payments"). Accordingly, you are obligated to repay to Sterling the $1,856.52 in Advanced Payments pursuant to the terms of your account. For your convenience, a copy of Sterling’s Rules and Regulations are enclosed herein. 1 have also enclosed a redacted copy of your bank statement for the relevant time period.
Please be advised that Sterling has waived all overdraft fees, service charges and other fees originally assessed to your account due to the Advanced Payments and has reversed these charges to your account as reflected on the enclosed bank statement.
Sterling is simply seeking reimbursement for its payment of your mortgage, payment, insurance premium, and utility bills for the month of November, which were paid by Sterling as a result of the Advanced Payments. At this time, Sterling is unable to seek reimbursement for the Advanced Payments directly from your mortgage lender, your insurance company, the City of *********
or ****** County as the Advanced Payments have already been applied to your respective accounts by these recipients.
As you are aware, you have received a direct benefit from the Advanced Payments made by Sterling in the form of an extra monthly mortgage payment an extra insurance premium payment and extra utilities payments. Accordingly, Sterling is simply seeking to make both you and Sterling whole by refunding the fees charged to your account and obtaining reimbursement for the Advanced Payments.
To this end, Sterling requests that you coordinate repayment of the $1,856.52 in Advanced Payment with ****** ******** at the ********* Branch #367.
Sincerely,
******** ** ******* Senior Counsel Sterling Savings Bank
Enclosures

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
4/27/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1