BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gus Johnson Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gus Johnson Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Gus Johnson Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1955 Business started: 01/01/1946 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated: 09/01/1972 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gus Johnson, President Mr. Dan Shaffer, Service Manager Ms. Shannon Woolf, Business Manager- Handles Complaints After Mr. Johnson Sees Them
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gus Johnson, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Mobile Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Services - Oil & Lube All-Terrain Vehicles

Hours of Operation
Sales/ Finance Hours: summer hours open until 8:00pm • Monday - Friday: 8:30 am - 7:00pm • Saturday: 8:30 am - 6:00 pm • Sunday: 11:00 am - 5:00 pm Parts Hours: • Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 5:30 pm • Saturday & Sunday: Closed Service Hours: • Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 6:00 pm • Saturday & Sunday: Closed
Alternate Business Names
McCollum Ford Sales, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 8300 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99212

  • PO Box 13309

    Spokane Vly, WA 99213

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stoped by Gus Ford, talked to the sewrvice man. Told him my problem, door looking was not working. He informed me it wold cost me $180.00 and it was too late to do the repairs that day. I took my car back two days later and checked it in with the same man. I waited and they called me when it was ready, when I got it the car the door locks DID NOT WORK. I went back in and told them, they looked at it and asked to take the car back into the garage. I informed them I had an appointment and would bring it in the next day. I took my car back they took it in the garage an hour and a half later they said it was ready. Once again it was not repaired. I talked to the service manager he asked if I could bring it back: It took four trips to Gus Ford and one letter to the service manager. Then they charged me additional money for the repairs, so it went from $180.00 to $303.00 and they NEVER Said anything about that!!I wrote Gus Johnson a letter and have not heard ANYTHING from him!!

Desired Settlement: I would like $123.00 returned!Gus Johnson Ford*** *******Service *********** * ************** ******, WA. 99212 10/16/2012Mr. *******:This letter is to let you know my door lock is working properly now. Again I want to say thank you for your help without it I dont believe it would be working.I also want to say I am still very disappointed with the work of your staff! I was first quoted $80.00 for labor and $80.00 for parts. The service techs never checked anything they just changed a part and my charges were over $300.00.Three visits to Gus Ford to fix something simple on a car. Dont you think a customer should be informed of any price increase? For this, price increases and the three visits I am disappointed with your service staff.Sincerely:***** *********** ** **** ********* ******, WA 99216###-###-####

Business Response:

On September 7, 2012, Mr. ******** brought in his 2000 Ford Explorer with 166,000 miles because his driver front door lock would not work.  The Service Advisor quoted Mr. ******** that the repair would be approximately $180.  During the repair we found that the passenger door actuator was sticking as well and would not open the passenger door lock.  We repaired that actuator as well.  We retested the locks and both worked as they should.  Mr. ******** paid his bill of $308 and took his vehicle home.

At the time of payment I would have hoped Mr. ******** would have questioned the amount of the repair as it was significantly higher than the original estimate due to fixing the passenger lock as well.  Mr. ******** worked with two different Advisors and there could have been some miscommunication or no communication at all.

Two days later Mr. ******** came back and talked to *** ******* our Service Manager.  He told *** that his key would not unlock the drivers door and that the remote key fob did not work.  *** found that the key and the remote did not work.  *** went to the Parts Department and got Mr. ********* a new remote keyfob, and reprogramed it for him at not charge.  He also set up an appointment on September 11, 2012 to have the door lock repaired.

On the 11th we installed a new drivers door latch for Mr. ********* at no charge.

Approximately five days later. Mr. ******** returned and stated that the master switch on the drivers door for all the locks did not work.  Again *** went to his vehicle and could not get the the switch to fail after many attempts.  *** told Mr. ******** the switch could be worn and may fail, but it was working now. 

On September 27th, Mr. ******** returned again and said master switched finally failed.  We replaced the switch for Mr. ******** again at no charge.

Although Mr. ******** states it took numerous time to fix his problem, the repairs although similar, were not related. 

Because there could have been some miscommunication,  we will reimburse Mr. ******** $123.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9330774, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


***** ********



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan 14, 2008 we purchased a 2007 Ford Expedition XLT from **** ******* (*** *****************) that we were told was a return by someone that could not afford it we happily purchased this vehicle as we needed something reliable and immediate and we liked the vehicle. We asked very little about this vehicle its Gus Johnson, why should we.Sep 17, 2012 we decided to trade this vehicle in, how embarrassed were we to find out our 2007 Expedition had been in a major accident prior to us purchasing it and that it had been reported to Car Fax? Another dealership ran the vehicle history and gave us the report showing an accident reported on 07/24/2007 in Phoenix AZ and then it was sent to auction.Our bargaining power was significantly diminished by this fact, in fact we were forced to take a loss on this vehicle over what we still owed on it because it wasnt clean and that was just the difference in what we owed and what they gave us, the average trade in value was nearly $5,000 above that so now our problem is the fact that we took a financial loss on this trade in and we were not informed that there had been any problems with this vehicle when we purchased it, let alone a MAJOR ACCIDENT or that it was sent to an auction house to liquidate!!!Weve done business with Gus Johnson for some time now and frankly we are hard pressed to find a reason to do business with them again in the future, even though we are in the market to replace our 2000 Ford Explorer. We are VERY upset that these facts were fraudulently kept from us when we purchased this vehicle and in fact we thought we were dealing with a reputable dealership that had earned the trust of ourselves and the community, apparently we were mistaken.

Desired Settlement: We'd like to be compensated for the loss that we had to take in order to get out from under this vehicle. It was nearly a $5,000 loss, we want someone to be responsible for the fraudulent and negligent information that was kept from us. We want a letter of apology and the assurance of the dealership that this will never happen again.

Business Response:

We purchased the 2007 Expedition in question on November 6, 2007 from the South Seattle Auto Auction.  It was purchased under a green light which means it had been checked for mechanical, frame and tile and all were ok.

The vehicle was sold later that month to a gentleman in Montana who said he had his financing arranged with his bank.  After weeks of him trying to get a loan, we unwound the car deal and put it back on the lot for sale.

In January of 2008, Mr. and Mrs. ****** purchased the vehicle.  A carfax or auto check was not pulled at this time  because of the recent green light purchase from the auction.

Carfax and Auto Check do show a accident involving the vehicle on the left side.  There was no frame damage or deployment of an air bag which as defined by both reports as a minor accident.  The Carfax report based on the current condition of the vehicles shows an adjustment at RETAIL of $590.  Auto Check scores the vehicle an 85 where similar vehicle scores range from 81 to 86.

We apologize for not pulling a Carfax or Auto Check at the time of sale, but didn't think it was necessary based on the type of  purchase at the auction.  Also, we did not pull a Carfax or Auto Check on the vehicle traded in to us.

Unfortunately for Mr. and Mrs. ******, the dealership where they traded in the Expedition did a very good job of conviencing them that their vehicle had diminished value because of an accident, when in fact there is no diminished value based on the current Carfax and Auto Check.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1