BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob Hall's Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob Hall's Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Bob Hall's Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1976 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated: 01/28/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Teri Bailey, Controller Mr. Bob Hall- FORMER, Former President Mr. Jason Midkiff, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Teri Bailey, Controller
Principal: Mr. Bob Hall- FORMER, Former President
Principal: Mr. Jason Midkiff, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Shock Absorbers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Services - Oil & Lube Steering Systems & Equipment All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs Auto Air Conditioning Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Bob Hall Auto Dealership Bob Hall Fleet Bob Hall's Automotive Group Bob Hall's Sunfair Chevrolet Sunfair Chevrolet Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1600 E Yakima Ave

    Yakima, WA 98901 (509) 248-7600 (509) 594-4125

  • 1700 E Yakima Ave

    Yakima, WA 98901 (888) 846-4893 (877) 372-8528

  • 1702 E Yakima Ave

    Yakima, WA 98901

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 594-4125(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint Begins in Feb 2014 when i went to buy my car. A 2003 VW Passat. I had been on the lot looking for a car. I had to go inside and pursue someone to help me. This car as i was told had been sold a half hour prior. The salesman who had been asked to help me was messing around on a fellow employees scooter (for a leg injury). Im not against having fun but as a customer it looks unprofessional when walking in and having to ask someone to help me. After returning and telling me the car i wanted was gone he began to go through their inventory to try and find me something. I had to tell him several times that I dont want to buy cars as expensive as he was trying to sell me... I had to tell him several times before telling him if i wanted something that expensive i would have purchased a car i had test drove at another lot. Eventually we found a car that fulfilled most of my requests. We test drove the car, during the test drive he lied to me about a heated seat working, and mis-lead me into believing that i just needed more experience with the windshield wipers (which were broken aswell). after the test drive I decided that i liked the car and would like to begin the purchase process. At this point he had lied to me before i signed the paperwork. He promised me a warranty and free oil changes for 3 years. The paper work for the warranty he told me he could not find but he promised i would come back in to sign it when he found it. We proceeded to sign papers and i left in my vehicle i had come in. Later that night i came back with a friend to pick up the car. one tire was almost flat and went in and asked for assistance blowing it up. He said sorry they dont have access to that equipment. Then getting in the car i noticed the headlights on the car had failed to work. They have a 110 point checklist in which headlights are guaranteed to work. They had closed at this point so i took the car, filled the cars tire myself and drove home with the fog lights. The next day a friend and i were driving around and he pointed out his heated seat didnt work. The next day i brought my concerns to the dealer. I was told the lights could be fixed and the heated seat would be looked into. Less than one week later my check engine light turned on. At this time i inquired about the status of my warranty and my oil changes. I was told that my car was a model year to old for their warranty and my oil changes were still in the paper work. Less than a week later after this i was told my oil changes were denied and i would not be receiving those either. Over the next 3 months I had my car in their shop over 7 or 8 times. In these times they kept it overnight 3 times. 2 of which they failed to notify me of this even tho they told me i would receive a call before the end of the day. And the times they kept it overnight they did not even do anything to the car. They simply took it apart, decided to order a part, and decided they didnt have time to put it together before the end of the business day. And if i called I was told it was to late and the Person in Charge did not have access to the shop where my car had been kept overnight. I know this to be a lie seeing as they kept it outside on their back lot. OH! And rolling back a bit a week after purchasing the car the person who sold me the car, lied to me about the car and the warranty, oil changes, etc. had been promoted to sales manager! Awesome maybe his past customers had a better experience than i did. But when i approached him about my car after this point he proceeded to tell me he could not deal with his past customers anymore and would be unable to help me. I had to go through his manager to resolve any complaints. I had my check engine light diagnosed and found it was a radiator problem. After i told them they ran their own diagnostic, found the same thing, and tried to charge me for it! I disputed that since i told them what they tried to charge me for. They took off the charges for that. They gave me and estimate to fix the problem at $1200. (which if i had a warranty would have been covered) I told them not to fix it as i would as someone else about the problem. (At this point im not giving any more money to the dealer whos been screwing me over) THREE MONTHS LATER!! They fixed my headlights!!! And my heated seat!!! I drove for 3 months without headlights! And the last time i came in to finally get them fixed they told me they decided it was too expensive to fix so they wernt gonna do it! I sat and argued with the salesman/manager (not the same person i bought the car from) for 10 minutes! before he finally told the man at the desk to just fix it and he walked off. (very rude but i was happy they were gonna fix it) And what about the other 7-8 times you might ask? They never worked on the car... They just kept saying they looked into the problem and would schedule a follow up appointment. (including the times they kept it overnight) So finally i had my car and they fixed what they said they would fix, they had a meeting and determined they would not do anything else to help me with any other problems. Windshield wipers, check engine light, etc. And Icing on the cake is i went to a repair shop i knew and got it looked at. They had the part the next day and fixed it for me... the total? $170!!!! The dealer was trying to over charge me by $1000!!! I also talked to a couple mechanics about the light all of which told me the timing on the light coming back on means that it was most likely turned off by the dealer before i drove it. I still have problems with my windshield wipers. I know their is a short in the circuit because when i hit a bump or turn to hard they come on for a second. My brakes are loud. Didnt know this on the test drive because the windows were rolled up and the car has good insulation. the brakes are pretty new is what i was told when i got a brake inspection. They were just cheap so they were loud. After purchasing my car ive been told by many people theyve been ripped off by this dealer. If i had heard a couple of these stories before hand i would never have purchased from them. The man who sold me the car FYI was ***** *******

Desired Settlement: Id like a serious apology. Im so upset with the service and the way ive been jerked around. A letter would be nice. In a perfect world id like reimbursement for all the repairs ive had to have done to the car and the repairs that are still needed like the windshield wipers. Preferably at my repair shop i trust (* ******** ****) As well as a membership or coupons for 3 years worth of oil changes at a local shop like ***** **** or *** *** ******. But after how ive seen their values in customer service i dont expect this. I really dont want to go back into the dealer for these services. Its very uncomfortable walking in there after how i was treated and the last few times i had come in i could tell they were tired of seeing me.

Business Response:

To the Better Business Bureau and Mr. ****,

On June 27, 2014, we received a complaint filed by Mr. **** in regards to our company.  I would like to address the different items of his complaint individually.

First,  the customer is requesting 3 years of oil changes.  Mr. **** did in fact initially try purchase a maintenance contract that would cover oil changes for his first three years of ownership of this vehicle.  The bank/credit union did not approve the financing with the maintenance contract included and would also not approve GAP (Guaranteed Asset Protection) insurance at the amount originally agreed upon so Mr. **** had to resign his purchase contract eliminating the maintenance contract and lowering the price of the GAP insurance.  Mr. **** signed the paperwork to this fact, since he wasn't approved for financing on the maintenance contract, he does not have one. 

On the vehicle, there were four issues; the lights ,the seat heater, the wipers and the check engine light.  I will address each below.

The Passat had problems with the headlights.  In his first time bringing it back to us, we covered the repair of the daytime running lamp, as we found the bulb had shorted,  We understood this to be the problem as explained by Mr. ****.   A few weeks later, it was clarified that the headlights were not bright enough.  At this point, we replaced both low beam lights, once again, at no cost to the customer. 

We also reviewed the passenger seat heater and found a bad switch.  We replaced the switch in the dash.  This vehicle was purchased as an AS-IS vehicle, and convenience features such as seat heaters are not covered by the dealership.  In this case, with all the hassle the customer had already been put through, we covered this repair, which included technician time and the heater switch. 

The wipers are functioning as a safety item, but the delay function does not operate correctly.  Once again, this vehicle was purchased AS-IS and this convenience feature isn't covered. 

The check engine light came on after the customer owned the vehicle.  We did do a diagnosis and quoted a fix, which included a new coolant temperature sensor and thermostat. As to our estimate being higher than the actual repairs the customer had completed, I cannot comment as I don't know what those repairs were.  I assume the difference between our $1200 quote and the $170 fix that Mr. **** referenced was due to the work we completed at no cost to him. 

Mr. **** purchased as AS-IS vehicle clearly stated on the Buyers Guide he signed however, we do understand his frustrations and apologize recognizing our communication could have been better.

In reviewing this history, we see how we could have better communicated with Mr. **** and we sincerely apologize.  We understand his frustration with the vehicle, and the multiple repairs, both those we completed at no cost to him as well as those he paid for.  We only hope he can understand that as per our buyers guide, the vehicle was sold AS IS and that we have done what we could to assist him with his vehicle repair.  We would like to reimburse Mr. **** for the $170 repair bill referenced in his complaint.  Please provide that invoice and we will reimburse. 

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter,

****** *******, Executive Manager

Note:  Please find the attached Buyers Guide signed by Mr. **** at the time of purchase.

11/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bob Hall's Mazda Service Department inaccurately diagnosed an A/C problem on my 2002 626, and then charged me over $300. My son was actually able to fix the problem, due to his experience and accumulation of spare parts in his shop, but the Mazda shop charged me anyway, and wanted to charge me more money for more unnecessary parts. Then, when I complained, their Public Relations Executive (**** *****)twisted things around to seem like it was my fault, and made the situation worse. The Service Department's inaccurate diagnosis, dropping the ball on repair, and management's mishandling ***** *****) any chance of recovery has convinced me that Bob Hall's Mazda of Yakima, WA might do better at selling ice cream or picking asparagus than servicing automobiles.

Desired Settlement: I desire a 50% refund, since it should have been fixed the first time. I'm willing to pay for one hour of diagnosis and two cans of freon, but am highly resentful at having to pay for their education in A/C repair. I am a senior citizen on a fixed income, and cannot be throwing money away for an automotive dealership's bungling ineptitude. (**** *****)

Business Response:

This is an unfortunate situation but as you can see in the writing we had trouble reasoning with this customer. ** ***** (******'s son) brought this 2002 Mazda in to our service department after trying to diagnose the A/C problem. Our Master Mazda Technitian diagnosed as a leaking shrader valve. He recommended replacing the acumulater because Mazda on services or sells the shrader valve with a new accumulater. The customer decided to take that dignosis and go replace the accumulator him self rather then having us check into it further. We charge the diagnosis fee and they took the vehicle.

The customer purchased 3 different aftermarket accumulaters and took them to his home to install only to find out non would connect to this car. THey brought the vehicle back to our Mazda shop fo further conversation with our Mazda Tech. During this our Mazda part discovered the accumulater system was no longer availible from Mazda. The customer hearing our tech say the shrader valve was the problem said he could go home and get his assortment of used shrader valves and see if he had one our tech could install. Our Mazda tech expressed to him this may repair it temporrary because shradrer valves are made of different materials and the one he has may breakdown over time and or already be in a failed state. ** wanted to do it anyways and understood this was not a permenant fix. He did bring back the valves, one of them fit and was installed. We recharged the system with frion and checked to make sure the system was working.

We completed the ro for recharging the system and charged the customer for the frion and installing the shrader valve he supplied (A Temp Repair)

I reviewed this entire situation and interviewed our Technician and service manager who directly handled this repair. They both said our tech spent more time on this car and with the customer then billed. The diagnosis was acurate from the begining. We were more then fair in the charges for the services we provided.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9184931, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

Joann Brown

*********************

I do not accept the response made by the business to resolve this complaint. In addition to spelling and grammatical errors, it is inaccurate about what was actually said and what actually happened. The initial diagnosis said nothing about a Schrader valve, only recommending accumulator replacement, (...and it was stated at that time not available from the manufacturer) along with the evaporator and associated presure lines. (At an astronomical cost...) The Schrader valve that eventually was used to fix the leak was new, not used, and had been in an adapter kit for R134a change-overs. The material it is made of is fully compliant with R134a automotive freon. Nothing was said about the "temporary fix." I find it abhorrent that they cannot admit their own inept bungling of such a simple repair, and now try to lie and bully their way out of it.

Business Response: our position and facts on this case remain unchanged

Consumer Response:



Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9184931, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

***********************************

I asked specifically for an ACCURATE DIAGNOSIS upon initial contact with the Mazda Service Department about this car. The technician ascertained that the Schrader valve on the accumulator was leaking, (not the accumulator itself) and notated it on his copy of the work order. However, I was not informed at that time that such a simple repair was possible. I was told that the accumulator 'assembly' needed replaced, that the OEM 'assembly' was not available, and that potentially several other major surrounding components would need replaced in the process at substantial cost. I see this as a very inconsiderate lack of communication on the service manager's part, since she was made well aware of our limited monetary resources, and abilities to do the repairs ourselves, upon getting an ACCURATE DIAGNOSIS. She did not pass on the specific information notated by the technician about the Schrader valve, but apparently wanted to charge as much as possible for a simple repair that could be accomplished in five minutes. After making such a simple five-minute repair, indeed, the system would need to be evacuated and recharged, which takes about an hour. And when the 'Public Relations' employee, **** *****, got involved, his absolute ignorance and arrogance of any such pertinent details have only made things worse. Apparently he is incompetent as well to resolve or even mediate anything. I am willing to pay for an hour of labor and two units of refrigerant, but absolutely demand a refund on the difference. There is NO EXCUSE for such bumbling incompetence on the part of a supposed 'expert' or 'professional' repair shop of ANY kind.




3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold my car to *** **** on friday. I was assurred that the car would not be posted for sale until after they recieved the title and cut my check. I was also assured that I would get my check within a week. I also was not given a copy of any paperwork that was done. On Sunday, I found out that *** **** had posted my car for sale on their website. On Monday I stopped by to ask for my check due to the fact that *** **** was selling the vehicle. I was told by the manager that I wouldn't get a check for 2 weeks. Also I was told the person that assured me that I would get a check in a week and that they wouldn't post the car until they got the title was lying. I asked for a copy of my paperwork and was told that they didn't know where it was. He also said that I should already of have a copy of the paperwork. I was told that the bank holding the loan would hold the check for 10 days prior to cashing it. Once that was done, *** **** would get the title and then cut my check. I still haven't recieved a copy of the paperwork.I get a different story everytime I go there. I feel that no one is telling the truth and I really don't expect them to actually pay me for my car. I think that the whole process is a scam.

Desired Settlement: I would like to either get paid for the car or get the car back. I would also like their sales people and management to get their facts straight and tell the truth.

Business Response:

I am aware of this situation. We did purchase this vehicle outright from ****** on Friday March 9th. It has ***** as the lien holder of the title. We had the customer sign off on a lost title app and release interest on the vehicle on Friday. At the point we get documents signed and take possession of the vehicle we are allowed to list it as a vehicle we will have for sell on line. We sent to ***** a check on Monday 3/12/12 to pay off the loan so they can release the title to us. We always wait to pay the customer the remainder of funds until after the lien holder sends us the title. If ****** wants to pick up the title and bring it to us we will give her a check on the spot.

Hope this clears up the concern, this is no scam but all normal business