BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

This Business is not BBB accredited

AutoNation Volkswagon and Audi of Spokane

Phone: (509) 850-9361 10006 E Sprague Ave, Spokane Vly, WA 99206 https://www.autonation.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Volkswagon and Audi of Spokane include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Volkswagon and Audi of Spokane
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 23, 2011 Business started: 03/01/1948 Business started locally: 06/02/2008 Business under new ownership as of: 05/08/2013
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Bick, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jerry Bick, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Heaters - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Services - Oil & Lube All-Terrain Vehicles Alternators & Generators - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Appleway Audi Appleway Automotive Group Appleway Volkswagon Appleway VW-Audi

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10006 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206 (509) 850-9361

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to Auto Nation to look for a car and found one that I liked. I went through the steps of test driving and then getting everything lined up to get a credit check done. That night I was told that if I was to bring back $500.00 and leave a cashier's check that I could pick up the keys to the car. The next day I called and tried to follow up with the salesman that I had previously been working with. He did not respond to any of my calls so I had to call in numerous times. Eventually I got a hold of him and he told me that I was declined for any type of financing options, because come to find out they had sent my application out to at least 20 different sources to run my credit when I was informed it would have only been once. I had a decent credit score of just under 600, and now my credit is below a 400! This is not right at all! I can't qualify for anything now at this point, and look like a joke with the credit bureaus!

Desired Settlement: I want this information to come off of my credit report and for auto nation to resolve the errors. I don't have the time to handle resolving this issue. I would like some sort of resolution for the destruction of my credit and ability to qualify for anything now!

Business Response:

Att: BBB

Our goal as a dealership or any other business, is to earn customers for life and offer exceptional customer service.  We open our doors everyday hoping to accomplish this goal.  If we had a way to sell this customer a car "that would be our ultimate goal" we wouldn't turn business away for any reason unless we were not able to get this customer approved based on credit, cash down, age or mileage of vehicle, and on approval of credit based on lenders guidelines.  This customer didn't have just under 600 credit score, it is slightly over 500 and one bureau was showing 0 score.  Dealership didn't submit to 20 different lenders, we submitted this deal to single digit number of lenders based of customer credit and structure.  Based on many years of experience in the automotive industry, sending customers in for approval using less then 10 lenders wouldn't effect credit score by 200 points like customer is suggesting.  We treat all of our customers with respect and try our best to earn their trust, so we can have them as long term loyal customers. 

AutoNation Volkswagen Spokane Valley

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 9 oil change services when I bought my car at Appleway VW. VW included 3 with the purchase of the car. That enabled me to take my car down every 5,000 miles up to 60,000 miles for maintnenace. I just recently took my car down for the 20,000 mile service. About four days later the Ad Blue warning light appeared on the dashboard. We called the dealer and they told us to come down and they would fill the Ad Blue. Once I got there, it took about 15 minutes for them to get someone out to fill it. They ended up putting 2 gallons of Ad Blue in the tank to send me on my way. Then they had the nerve to ask me to pay for it before I left. The service manager finally cleared that up and we were able to leave. I done some research and discovered that if I didn't get the Ad Blue filled that it would prevent my car from starting. I was leaving for a trip the following day. If the light would have not appeared when it did I would have been stranded on the road. I also found out that the tank holds slightly less than five gallons of Ad Blue. That means the tank wasn't filled the previous two services maybe more. Then they didn't even top it completely off so it may or may not make it to the next service.

Desired Settlement: I am working with VW to cancel my remaining services. I would like the dealership to compensate me for the hour and half it took me to make a special trip down to the dealership for them to half fill my tank again and for them to compensate me for ripping me off on the previous services I paid for that they didn't perform. I bought this service for my peace of mind that all my wife had to do was drop the car off for service. That ain't going to happen now.

Business Response: I spoke with customer 05/04/13, and we agreed that we would extend to him a disbursment of $100.00 for his inconvenience.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car private party from someone who also happened to be a salesman at Appleway Audi. The key fob worked for one day before it stopped working. Guy I bought the car from said he wasn't sure but it might have to be re-initialized or programmed by the dealer. I call the Appleway Audi dealer he works at and set up an appointment where, for $104.95 they were going to reprogram my two key fobs. After two hours on a Saturday morning of waiting for the car to be completed, they (*****) at the Audi service desk tells me that they could neither key fob would take programming. He then told me that they could order another key for $200 then reprogram it, but both old key fobs would never work. He also said there is a chance that the new key would turn out to be unprogrammable also if the "control unit" needs to be replaced, in which case, that would be about an $1,800 part he said. Basically, they charged me about $115 to do nothing. They said they hooked it up to the computer but it would not take programming. What kind of sham are they operating? I told him I was going to get ahold of *** ******** with Q6 News to report this scam and I am obviousely reporting them to the Better Business Bureau. Thanks for your time and anything you can do.***

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded $115. I never would have agreed to the $104.95 initial charge if I would have been told that there was a chance that the key fob would just not work. I would like the $104.95 plus tax I paid to go towards the purchase of a new key from them. I would be ok with buying a new key/fob for the $200 they quoted the price as but I am not ok with charging customers $105 to program a darn key fob just so that you can use it! Thanks again.***

Business Response:

We have resolved the situation.  Even though customer purchased the vehicle from a private party through craigslist.  Dealership choose to take care of the customer by ordering a new key fob free of charge.  Customer is 100% satisfied with settlement. 

***** **** General Manager Appleway Audi

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle in for it's 60,000.00 mile service..not only was I over charged $80 more than they QUOTED me..and I waited 3 hours...THEY DIDN'T SHUT OFF THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BECAUSE THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T HAVE ENOUGH TIME....MY VEHICLE IS STILL RUNNING FUNNY AND THE TIMING BELT STILL MAKES NOISE..MY QUESTION.....WAS ANYTHING DONE??????

Desired Settlement: ALL WE REALLY WANTED WAS FOR OUR VEHICLES TO BE SERVICED..AT THIS POINT..I DO NOT TRUST THEM..AND WANT MY MONEY BACK TO GO ELSEWHERE.......

Business Response:

Spoke with customer, listen to his concerns and apologize for lack of communication from service advisor and dealership.  Dealership is going to take care of the customer by reimbursing $100 for missquoting his service repair for his 60k.  Dealership also rescheduled for rediagnosis on check engine light to improve runnability of the car.  Customer is 100% satisfied with the solution. 

***** **** General Manager Appleway VW

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/29/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: APPLEWAY SOLD ME AN "EXTENDED" WARRANTY THROUGH VEHICLE ONE SERVICES, AT THE TIME OF SALE THEY ASSURED ME I WAS BUYING 75,000 MILES ON TOP OF THE 46,000 MILES I BOUGHT THE CAR AT. I WAS AT 90,000 MILES AND THE A/C FAN WENT OUT I TRIED TO USE MY WARRANTY THAT I PAID $2,500 FOR AND I GOT A COPY OF MY CONTRACT WHICH STATES 75,000 MILES AND THE COMPANY STATED THE CONTRACT WAS EXPIRED AND TO CONTACT THE DEALERSHIP. AFTER REPEATEDLY CONTACTING THE DEALERSHIP THEY TOLD ME I PURCHASED 75,000 MILES SO IT WOULD THEN BE 121,000 MILES UNTIL THE WARRANTY WAS EXPIRED. I CANCELLED THE WARRANTY FOR REFUND, HOWEVER THEY STILL STATE THAT THE MILEAGE IS OVER THE CONTRACT. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP NUMEROUS TIMES THEY TOLD ME YES I BOUGHT 75,000 BUT UNFORTUNATELY SOMEBODY MIGHT HAVE MADE A HUGE ERROR AND THEY NO LONGER SELL THAT TYPE OF CONTRACT AND THEY DON'T KNOW HOW TO HELP ME. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO STATED THEY SOLD ME THE EXTENDED WARRANTY BECAUSE THE FACTORY WARRANTY EXPIRES AT 75,000 THEREFORE IT SOUNDS LIKE THEY SOLD ME AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON TOP OF THE FACTORY WARRANTY THAT IS FREE. I HAVE CALLED MANY MANY TIMES HAD TO DRIVE 3 HOURS TO GO SEE THEM IN PERSON SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY STILL HAVE NO ANSWER IT IS VERY FRUSTERATING. JUST LIKE THEM I WORK HARD TO EARN MY MONEY IT IS NOT FAIR THAT THEY CHEAT ME. I HAD TO PAY THE $500 TO HAVE MY CAR REPAIRED. I DID SIGN THE CONTRACT, BUT WITH THE ASSURANCE IT WAS NOT A 29,000 MILE CONTRACT, BUT IT WOULD LAST UNTIL 121,000 MILES. THE TWO GUYS I SPOKE TO AT THE DEALERSHIP ALSO STATED THAT YES I BOUGHT 75,000 MILES ON TOP OF THE 46,000 AT PURCHASE.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE A REFUND. I HAD TO PAY $500 TO REPAIR MY CAR AND $2,500 FOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT WAS CUT SHORT. IT IS NOT FAIR TO CUSTOMERS TO SPEND THEIR HARD EARNED MONEY. ESPECIALLY WHEN THE DEALERSHIP SAYS SOMEONE MUST HAVE MADE A HUGE ERROR THAT IS NOT VERY SETTLING.

Business Response: This complaint needs to be handled by the Appleway Store General Manager. I notified the Better Business Bureau two months ago stating I no longer am responsible for the store customer concerns and that the BBB would need to direct them to the appopriate store manager. I even gave a list of contact information for each store and General Manager. Please update your information

Business Response:

This is in response to the open customer concern we received from your office regarding Ms. *********. After communicating with Ms. ********* we have decided as a customer goodwill to refund Ms. ********* $500.00. Per our conversation with Ms. ********* she is completely satisfied with the refund.

 

Should you have any additional questions please contact **** *****, Appleway VW/Audi/Subaru/Mazda General Manager.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1