BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

This Business is not BBB accredited

AutoNation Toyota/Scion

Phone: (509) 924-1444 8600 East Sprague Avenue, Spokane, WA 99212 http://www.appleway.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Toyota/Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Toyota/Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 23, 2011 Business started: 07/12/1990 Business started locally: 07/12/1990 Business under new ownership as of: 05/08/2013
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dustin Esco, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dustin Esco, Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Heaters - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Services - Oil & Lube All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs Alternators & Generators - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Appleway Automotive Group Appleway Scion Appleway Toyota Appleway Toyota Scion

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8600 East Sprague Avenue

    Spokane, WA 99212 (509) 924-1444

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Come here if you want someone from the dealership calling you on your personal cellphone to harass and lose their temper at MIDNIGHT on a weekday. Read below: On March 2, 2014 I found a new/unsold 2012 Toyota Prius Plug-In listed on ********** for $29.997.00 at AutoNation Spokane Toyota with 7 miles listed. VIN # *****************. Please keep in mind I am a HUGE automotive enthusiast and I was buying this car sight unseen from Los Angeles. I've done this a few times with other cars. March 2, 2014- Made initial contact with *** ******, agreeing to buy the car at asking price of $29,997.00 after second phone call. I then informed them that the car will be paid for via cash within the 7-10 days. I called later to let *** know car will be in my mother’s name. He says that is ok, he requested some documents be sent over. I inform the dealership I am in Los Angeles, car needs to be shipped and I need the paperwork done quickly as I am trying to make the California HOV sticker cut-off. Was then informed car was a dealer ‘test car’ with 306 miles on it instead of 7. March 3, 2014- *** sent request over for Mom’s Driver License, 2nd form of ID, Insurance Card, social security number and form of payment for deposit. I get that over within the hour and email him back an **** CC for a $500.00 deposit. Was not given receipt for $500 deposit even when requested. March 4, 2014- Informed about being OK to leave $3,000 payment on CC by **** ******, I informed the dealership to not charge my ******** ******* card and instead I will use a new ***** Credit Card offer I received. **** tells me to take my time. I reassure him the latest would be Friday/Saturday, he said not to hurry. I applied for the ***** CC via my ***** Private Client Tuesday at noon and received the Credit Card Thursday morning via *** Critical Overnight. March 6, 2014- Called at 10:00 am to leave $3,000.00 payment. Informed by receptionist only **** can take the payment as he is working the deal and knows what’s going on, unfortunately he is not working that day and I had to leave him a message. In that voicemail I asked **** to call me back Friday morning as I have the $3,000.00 payment ready. March 7, 2014- Called dealership at 8:00 am, I was informed that **** is not in until 10:00 am. I left a message with the receptionist to have him call me back when he gets to work, she says ok. I did not hear back all day, I called again at 3:00 pm, got a hold of **** after being on hold for 5 minutes. Gave him the CC number, he asked when the remainder will be ready, I inform him anytime after Monday. I ask if he has a contract or some receipt he could provide. He tells me he doesn’t but they’re AutoNation so I don’t have to worry. I then ask him to setup the ******** notarization for early next week he agrees. March 8, 2014- I called at 9:03 am and talked to sales person *** ****** (**** was not in yet) and I asked if it was possible to pay for the vehicle via ******** ******* Travelers Check. He says it should be fine, asked to double check with ****. I called again at 1:00 pm spoke with **** ******. **** tells me he said he is not sure, but he thinks I can. He will inform me when he finds out. He says, “I will ask the girls on Monday when they are in the office and get back to you first thing Monday morning.” I informed him that it is fine and if they do not, I was going to get a cashier’s check anyways. March 10, 2014- Called at 10:42 am, was told **** was in the office but unavailable to take my call, left a msg. with receptionist. Was told he will call me back ASAP. I did not receive a call throughout the next two hours. Called dealership again at 1:00 pm, left another message with receptionist. I do not hear back once again. I called **** again at 5:22 pm, once again **** is busy with customers. **** returns the call at 5:32 pm, very irritated he asked me what I needed help with. I asked if he got the “********” notarization company setup. He says, “No, because you’re paying with travelers check and we do not take that.” I asked why he did not tell me this earlier as I was going to pay with a cashier’s check anyways, his response was, “you were supposed to call me and find out if we can take it Monday morning.” I was informed I would get a call Monday morning from ****, I did not, I called him throughout the day and not once did he attempt to call me back until multiple missed calls. Feeling slightly irritated at this point I informed **** I was always intending on paying with a cashier’s check I was just curious to see if you took travelers checks. I proceed to ask him to give me the exact amount and title I make the cashier check out to, **** replies, “AutoNation Toyota $30,105.72” I tell him this will be ready tomorrow. He tells me ******** will call me on Tuesday, March 11 by the end of the business day THE LATEST guaranteed to schedule a date to sign the papers. March 11, 2014- 10:00 am, I have the cashier’s check for AutoNation Toyota for $30,105.72 ready. Under the assumption that ‘********’ will contact me today, I do not bother **** ******. By 2:00 pm I was getting the impression that ‘********’ will not contact me. I call AutoNation at 2:07 pm, the receptionists’ answers. Was on hold for 3 minutes, couldn’t locate ****, she took a message for me. The receptionist assures me that he will call back within the next 30 minutes. At 5:31 pm after receiving zero calls, I call AutoNation again, was on hold for 6 minutes, once again **** is unavailable. Receptionist proceeds to tells me that **** will call me back after he is done with his current customer. She tells me **** leaves at 8:00 pm today but reassures me that someone will contact me back from ****’s team. It is now 7:24 pm, I have not heard back from the dealer or “********”. I call and proceed to be put on hold while the receptionist looked for ****. After a while she tells me nobody can help me and that **** just took in another customer right when I called. Being frustrated by the lack of customer service, misleading information and poor treatment after I made the initial payment I told the receptionist this is unacceptable to me. I would like to cancel the deal if I don’t hear back from **** ****** by the end of the day. I asked if I could speak to a manager or **** very quickly she proceeds to tell me, “What do you think our managers do all day? They don’t just sit around and wait for you to call and answer your calls at your convenience; they have customers to deal with.” Perplexed, I said that is fine, I guess I am not a customer. If I do not hear back from **** by the end of the day I would like to cancel the deal. End of day = 8:00 pm when AutoNation Toyota closes. At 11:41 pm I get a call from a 509 area code (Spokane, Washington) I decide to pick up. **** ****** immediately starts asking me what I wanted to do with the deal and that he heard I was irritated at him. I simply asked him if he is aware of the time. He says he does and that he is just returning the call because he said that is what I want. I told him that is borderline harassment for him to call me so late. Who in their right mind would call a client at 11:41 pm? To me that is completely rude and unprofessional. Throughout this entire conversation, **** ****** is extremely angry and continuously raised his voice multiple times. I inform him the deal will not go through. He asked me multiple times why I didn’t want to do it. I inform him it was due to the poor customer service, the delays (I wanted to get the HOV stickers), the lack of communication and the changed customer service after I made the initial payment. He denies everything and says I caused the delays, that he called me back during XYZ time, I inform him my phone logs and emails show a different story. He stops accusing me at that point starts telling me that I can just take the car or leave. Keep in mind this is a dealership calling me at midnight. He is speaking in such a angry and loud tone others in my house asked were shocked at the actions of this man. I begin to inform him multiple times that I would like to cancel this deal. He begins to ask me why once again. I said because I simply am not going to buy a car from someone harassing me at midnight. He tells me this is not harassing and that I requested for him to call me back and he’s doing exactly that. When I told him I will cancel it and stop harassing me he says “OK FINE” I asked him to refund the $3,000 he’ll do that sometime this week but I will have to “file a lawsuits to their dealership” for any charges incurred for services that were provided to me if I wanted to get my full $3,000.00 back. I called ***** right away (***** ******** Preferred) and they agreed that this was outrageous and they shouldn’t have been able to charge me without any paperwork. Lesson learned, I’m never buying a car from AutoNation or AutoNation Spokane to be exact. I am sure your experience will vary, but I’ve bought multiple cars both in and out of state and NEVER had a dealership treat me like this. I will GLADLY take my hard earned money and business elsewhere.

Business Response:

After hearing from ****** (the car is actually in his moms name), I personally called him to help sort out the issues.   He was calling from California on a car advertised online.  We ended up giving him a price adjustment and finished up his deal.  He flew up  from Ca. last week and took delivery of his car.  He told us it ended as a good experience.  I thought he would contact you all but I guess he didnt.

I think he is very happy now.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ****

General Mgr.

Autonation Toyota Spokane,Wa

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** ***

 
 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

Mr **** had issues with the starting of his ***.  It was all covered under his warranty and our shop tried multiple times to duplicate the problem.  The service manager, myself, and 2 master techs repeatedly tried to make the car do the same thing and never could.  On one occassion, Mr **** left his car and we loaned him another one, and he let Parnell drive the car home each night and again, no duplication of his problem could be found. 

We offered Mr **** 2 options in late November.  One was to turn him over to pursuing the Lemon Law which is his right to do.  That course is between Toyota Motor sales and him as the owner of the car.  My store has nothing to do with that course and it is turned over to the court.  The other option was we offered to trade him out of the car and into a new one.   He chose that course.  He put 2900 miles on his old one as was traded into a new one for 1500 difference plus his applicable fees.  He and his wife left satisfied with that course of action instead of pursuing the lemon law.

He had already done the calculations at that time for the lemon law route as was fully aware of the difference in re-embursement, time involvement,etc and made a fully educated decision to take our offer to just trade out of his problem and into a new one.  I can provide you will all paperwork to the new purchase along with his release of interest in the old car he said he had issues with.  

We feel we went well over the call of duty to trade him out of his *** and into a identical one at a more than reasonable amount that he fully agreed to at the time.  

By the way, we have since sold the *** he traded in and the new owner has had zero issues with the car. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The tax break of $2500 for a Toyota Hybrid Plug in vehicle is going to Toyota and not to me because I am leasing it and not purchasing it. That amount should have been included and reduced from the lease contract that I signed. Sales person told us that we should be able to get the credit but we can't because we are leasing it. Toyota will get the credit meaning that they are making more from the vehicle than what was advertised.

Desired Settlement: Either the lease needs to be recalculated to reflect the $2500 tax break that Toyota is getting or a refund should be issue to me for that amount.

Business Response:

We were contacted by Ms **** earlier in the year with this concern.  This customer originally contacted us after visiting the other Toyota store in town and wanted us to beat their lease numbers she got there so she was on a lease the entire time.  In fact she traded in her car, a 2010 Prius, that she had leased as well.  There are some tax incentives on hybrid vehicles available from the government but none of us here are accountants and anything specific regarding tax decuctions  would need to be discussed with an accountant not a car salesman.   The salesperson and our staff would not give tax advise to anyone about how much they would get back on a car.  *** *******, the salesperson, didnt give any tax advise and just helped her lease one, which is what she came in for in the beginning. 

I would think that no one would take tax advise from a salesperson and spend 30k + before talking with their accountant, especially if they were already familiar with leasing as the customer was in this case. 

Sincerely,

****** ****

Appleway Toyota

General Mgr.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9435476, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


I am not saying that Appleway Toyota told me there was a rebate.  In fact they were very good about saying, that they could not say if there was a rebate at all.  My issue is the fact that they kept mentioning that if there was a rebate...  At that point I specifically said " I thought if I was leasing I couldn't do a rebate because I'm not buying."  At that point he said "Oh yes you can.  It doesn't matter if you buy or lease, if there is a rebate it won't matter".  So, us doing or homework and research, we new there was a rebate.  Thinking that we could get it (because we were told it didn't matter if we were leasing or buying), we went ahead and got the car with that piece of information a key factor. In fact, that piece of information was not correct because you can't get a rebate when you are leasing.  It really goes to the dealership. So, for us, we were thinking that we were getting another $2500 dollars off this car.  But in actuality we weren't, and Appleway is actually making $2500 off of the deal.  

The ethical fair thing to do for Appleway Toyota would have been to work in that 2500 rebate into that lease.

I would expect any professional salesperson in a reputable dealership to properly educate their sales staff as to all pertinent information on all their cars they are selling, I.e rebates, incentives, difference between leasing and purchasing, etc.  


Regards,

***** ****




Business Response:

I am not quite sure I understand.  If this is the deal on the Prius, the customer leased the car and got the 3150 rebate, not 2500 so I dont quite understand that part of her complaint.  I can fax a copy of the contract if needed showing the 3150 rebate the customer recieved.  This rebate was only offered from Toyota IF the car was leased.  It didnt apply if the financing was on a retail contract or if the customer paid cash.  This is what we offered the customer and what they paid.  It is clearly listed on the sales menu signed by both the manager and the customer. 

The customer said "In fact, that piece of information was not c orrect because you cant get a rebate when you are leasing"

 False- the program from Toyota's rebate was IF it was leased. In fact the rebate form signed by the customer says "TMS Subvented Lease contracts" . The salesperson was 100% correct when he told the customer that the rebate worked ONLY if the customer leased the car.  This is Toyotas program, not Appleways and was disclosed as such.  The customer would have recieved ZERO rebate if they had done anything but lease.

The customer said- "So, for us, we were thinking that we were getting another 2500 dollars off this car. But in actuality we weren't, and Appleway is actually making 2500 off of the deal"

False again-the customer was given the full rebate toward their deal.  Also, there is no Toyota program where the store profits buy not giving the customer the rebate in ANY situation.  That wouldnt be fair or right.  The customer has to sign a rebate form that we send to Toyota and the two options are 1. apply to the deal, or 2. to have it sent to the customer in their name..  Not quite sure where the customer is coming up with these rediculous acusations. 

I have copies of the rebate form signed by the customer and the manager and the sales menu.  Both specifically say $3150 Lease Subvention Bonus Cash request form I would be glad to send and also the program at the date of sale from Toyota that lists all of the programs and the Prius Plug in  specifically says 3150 is for the lease only.  No other rebates were offered.

Lastly, as to the last part where the customer says we should educate our people on the programs, it was the salesperson that got the programs correct on this deal.  The customers research was inaccurate.  There are 30+ programs going at any given time on new Toyotas but when the proposal was given to the customer, it was 100% disclosed. 

Sincerely,

****** ****

General Mgr. 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After agreeing on a lease payment amount, the amount was raised by 10 a month for 36months for a total of $360. It is sad that when you go in to sign an agreement on a car dealer, they change the amount. This is called bait and switch tactic. Yes we signed for the amount on the agreement, but just want them to know that this has been observed, and thus I am now taking the two vehicles I just recently purchased and am now taking them for service with downtown Toyota. I hope the $360 is worth to them to lose any further dealings with them.

Desired Settlement: $360

Business Response:

The customers payment went up because the purchased gap and maintainence in the finance department.  Those products are not free and cost him about 13 per month.   I looked up the paperwork and not only did he sign for the two products and the payment difference but he also got hard copies of the agreement with his signiture on them as well along with the specific dollar amounts he paid for them  (246 for gap and 212 for the maintainence)  Thats 458 dollars divided by the 35 payments on the lease he did and thats 13 per month... Id be glad to sit down with him and show him his signitures and exactly why the payment went up a few dollars.

Usually when a customer buys something for an agreed payment, then 15 minutes later the payment goes up 10 dollars or so, they as for an explaination or something.  He wouldnt ask for one if its because he purchased something additional which would explain the elevation in payment.\

We are sorry for any misunderstandings with him and invite him in anytime to review his paperwork.

Sincerely,

****** ****

General Mgr.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9450260, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ******** 




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 5th, I purchased a 2004 Toyota Tacoma from AppleWay Toyota. It did not have two mudflaps and it did not have a spare tire. I noted those discrepancies and the salesman ***** ****** said they would fixed in 7-10 days. The mud flaps originally offered were from a business that AppleWay uses for aftermarket accessories. The mud flaps that store had were not acceptable because they were too short for highway use. I said that the original Toyota mud flaps were longer (10x16") and the shop replied that was all they had. That shop checked on line but did not find any aftermarket Toyota style mud flaps. ***** said he would call me when the spare tire arrived.I called ***** at the end of September asking about the spare tire and the mud flaps. He said that they did not have the spare tire and that the mud flaps were aftermarket short ones. Note: Toyota mud flaps (10x16") cost about $300 per set. ***** said that he would have to order the spare tire and I said that I would find the mud flaps.***** never called back. I called at the end of October and was told that he still did not have a spare tire. I sent photos of mud flaps available at Napa Auto Parts store that cost $22 a pair and said that they were acceptable rather than Toyota mud flaps. We set up an appointment for Monday, November 26th. When I called on Friday the 23rd, ***** wanted to slip the appointment to Tuesday the 27th. Late Monday night, ***** postponed the Tuesday appointment. We rescheduled for Thursday the 29th. On Wednesday night at 9:16 PM ***** postponed the appointment again saying that he had to deliver a car to Montana. I texted that we would work something out.On Thursday,the 29th, I called for the owner and was told that AppleWay was a corporation with a manager. I was given the run around by the used car manager and the general manager. They did not perform and did not deliver the mud flaps I had wanted, and produced the kind I did not want on November 30th.

Desired Settlement: When I asked if I had to go to court to get the spare tire and mud flaps, the used car sales manager stated "Bring it on!" He laughed when I asked for restitution.I request $4,000 for failure to complete the sales contract in a timely manner and for delivering the incorrect mud flaps even when they were sent photos of the requested product.

Business Response: Mr. ********:
 
This is in response to the open customer concern we received regarding Mr. **********. After a thorough investigation into the concern we have found the following to be fact: Mr. ****, General Manager, ****** ***********, Used Vehicle Manager have both spoken to Mr. ********** regarding his request of a Spare Tire and Mud Flaps for the vehicle he purchased from Appleway on September 5, 2012. Neither of these items were on the “We-owe” document at time of purchase. The vehicle was sold “As-Is” nothing promised.  As a goodwill gesture the Spare tire was sent as requested by Mr. ********** to a business in Moscow Idaho. The mud flaps for the vehicle were also sent as requested by Mr. ********** to his home address in Moscow, Idaho after the first mud flaps we sent were not satisfactory to Mr. **********.
 
At this time Appleway Toyota has fulfilled any and all obligations to Mr. **********.
 
Should you have any further questions please feel free to contact ****** ****, General Manager at ###-###-####.
 
Sincerely,
****** ****
General Manager
Appleway Toyota/Scion

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought my 2006 Prius to Appleway Toyota on 12/20/11 for routine maintenance and battery change. Chose this dealership because of President's Award. Appoinment booked for 90,000 mile routine maintenance and was met by ***. I asked for Toyota recommended routine 90,000 maintenance consisting of: replace engine & oil filter, rotate tires, replace cabin air filter, replace engine air filter, inspection. I had snow tires put on the car about 2 months ago and did not need to rotate the tires & told him my car had to be jumped that morning & probably needed a new battery. *** verified the odometer reading on the car ONLY and advised me I needed: oil and filter change [$48.01], air filter change [$19.99], throttle body cleaning [$39.38], injector service [$79.95], cooling system flush [$139.24], invertor flush [$119.29], engine tune up [$139.33], hybrid transmission flush [$81.27], alignment [$79.95], replace cabin air filter [$49.95], new battery [$255.39]. I also asked if they could inspect the car as advised by the Toyota owner's manual and he says Appleway Toyota does NOT inspect cars routinely and would be charging me a fee to do so.I specifically asked for routine service only consisting of: oil & filter change, air filter change, cabin air filter change plus battery replacement totaling $373.34 without tax and supplies and left with a bill totaling $1208.21. *** had simply verified my odometer reading and recommended: throttle body cleaning, injector service, coolant flush, invertor flush, tune engine, hybrid transmission flush, & alignment totaling $678.41 without tax & supplies. I spoke with ******* *******, the service manager at Appleway Toyota on 1/23/12 regarding this incident and asked for a refund $678.41 along with taxes and supplies on this amount.He forwarded my request to ****** ****************** who replied on 1/24/12:In your particular case, I do not feel that a monetary refund for authorized services is warranted. What we do feel is that your concerns have been dually noted, and would like to somehow retain you as our customer, and guest.With that being our ultimate goal, I would like to offer you as a one time goodwill gesture, an in house credit of $500.00 for your future needs. (Sales, Parts or Service).I appreciate the goodwill gesture but I am asking for a refund of $678.41 plus a refund of taxes and a refund of supply fees.

Desired Settlement: refund of $678.41 plus a refund of taxes and a refund of supply fees.

Business Response:

****,

This is in response to the open customer concern we received from your office, regarding Mr ***. Below and attached is what we sent to the customer regarding his concerns with Appleway Toyota Service. The customer authorized all repairs and signed the Repair Order prior to the repairs being performed. The customer also signed again acknowledging the repairs and the amount being charged to him. Appleway NEVER charges for a vehicle inspection, we offer a Multi point inspection to all our customers at no charge. Appleway stands firmly that the customer is not owed any refund; however as a one time goodwill gesture we have offered the customer a $500.00 in store credit, because we value him as an Appleway Toyota Customer. We felt this was more than generous considering the circumstances. Should you have any further questions please contact me.

****** ******************
Appleway Group Customer Relations Manager

###-###-####

Email: ************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

The business offers a credit and I am requesting a refund of the unnecessary servicing charges which were not requested.

Regards,

 

***** ** 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1