BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

This Business is not BBB accredited

AutoNation Subaru/Mazda/Volkswagen/Audi of Spokane

Phone: (509) 924-6900 10000 E Sprague Ave, Spokane Vly, WA 99206 http://www.appleway.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AutoNation Subaru/Mazda/Volkswagen/Audi of Spokane include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Subaru/Mazda/Volkswagen/Audi of Spokane include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Subaru/Mazda/Volkswagen/Audi of Spokane
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 22, 2011 Business started: 12/09/1992 Business started locally: 12/09/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Bick
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Heaters - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Services - Oil & Lube All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs

Alternate Business Names
Appleway Automotive Group Appleway Collision Center Appleway Mazda Appleway Mazda Subaru Appleway Subaru

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10000 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206 (509) 924-6900

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Subaru Forester on 4-14-14 and signed up for the Added Security plan. When we cancelled the plan on 4-15-14, we were informed the total refund of $1000 would be returned in about 6-8 weeks. At 8 weeks we asked for an update on the status of the refund. The finance officer was out of the office and would be back in on Thursday (6-12-14) to check on our account. Since then we have heard nothing in spite of sending several e-mails to the finance officer and one to his supervisor. It is now 10 weeks since the cancellation and we have received no information and no refund. We can provide copies of the e-mails if needed.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $1000 returned, with interest.

Business Response:

Customer issue has been resolved.  I apologized to customer for taking our dealership this long to cancel his warranty and issue refund in a timely manner.  Refund check was issue today and customer will pick up today before 4:30pm. 

General Manager; AutoNation Subaru Spokane Valley

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2003 Volkswagen Passat was having shifting issues due to a software issues so I called the Volkswagen dealership in Spokane, Wa. I talked an employee named *** in the service department over the phone and asked him about the "reflash" process. He tells me that it can fix the issues that is going on with my car including the shifting. I was lead to believe this and so I made an appointment for the following day and drove my car up there to get it serviced. However, that wasn't the case. This so-called "reflash" searches for "error" codes in the vehicle and told me that there was $8000 worth of damage that needed attention. I was not shown proof of these error codes except for a sloppy hand-written list of parts and labor costs to fix my car. *** told me the car wasn't worth fixing and tried to sell me a new used car in the process. When I returned to the dealership to get my car I was unable to get it back until I paid the full balance of $119.57, despite my frustration with them.

Desired Settlement: I want to get a full refund of the purchase price for the so-called repair.

Business Response:

Customer called and stated that he was having shifting issues with his car, also said that he found on ****** that there was a reflash available for this problem from Volkswagen.Customer was told by our service advisor that he needed to bring the car in and have the problem diagnosed. The customer brought the car in and authorized the diagnoses. The Technician that inspected the car scanned the onboard computor system for faults and current programs, he determined that there were no faults or errors in the system and there were also no software updates available for this concern from Volkswagen and the vehicle had the most current software. Based on the condition of the fluid in the transmission and the shifting characteristics when driven, it was reccomended that the valve body, filter and fluid be replaced. We also performed a multi point inspection at no charge and found several other items that needed to be addressed, that information was also given along with an estimate to the customer. There was no repairs performed on this vehicle and customer declined any reccomendations. We performed as contracted and will not be refunding any money.

***** ********

Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the beginning of August, 2013, I sold my 09 Subaru Outback I had purchased from Autonation Subaru. I had purchased an extended warranty for the vehicle. On August 2nd, I went in to cancel my extended warranty. I gave them a copy of my title showing me as the legal owner of the vehicle. They said I should receive my refund check (almost $500) in about a month. Two months later, I still had not received it so I called and was assured it should be just a couple more days. Another month later, I called ****** ***** ********, and they told me they had sent the money to Autonation Subaru September 1st. I called Autonation back and asked what was going on with my refund. They claim they had received the money in October, not September, but had sent it to ** ****** ***** **** (the prior leinholder) The manager was rude and told me to call ** ****** ***** and try to get the money from them. I told him I didn't think that would go very well and that since they messed up, since they had a copy of the title, they should be the ones to resolve the issue. He was very rude and kept saying that he didn't have to help me, that it wasn't technically "his job". After arguing for a little bit, he promised he would look into it and promptly return my call. Well, it has been another 2 weeks and I still have not heard a word from them or received a penny. It has been almost 4 months and this should have been taken care of.

Desired Settlement: I would like Autonation Subaru to send me my refund check promptly (within 1-2 weeks). 4 Months is way too long. It is almost the holiday season and I had counted on having this money a couple of months ago.

Business Response:

Att: BBB

Dealership as reach out to the customer and cancellation "extended warranty" refund check for 2009 Subaru Outback has been mailed out November 20th 2013.  1st check was mailed out few weeks prior to Nov. 20th and was return for undeliverable street address.  Apologize for the inconvenience.    

Thanks

General Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I received my refund check at the end of November, and so the issue has been taken care of.

 
Thank you,

***** ****




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/14/13 took my 2011 ********** ***** into autoNation for basic oil change and service was quoted over the phone the price of 467.00 upon arriving was told by **** ******* that I was required to have my transmission serviced for a price of 840.00 or he would void my warranty at that time. I told him I only had the money for the basic service and he became quite rude saying he would then void my warranty since I was only getting basic service. After speaking with my husband he called them and told them to cancel the service. When I went in to get my keys I had my father accompany me mr. ******* said I would have to sign a void of warranty since I was taking my business elsewhere. When I refused to sign he said I could not have my keys until I did. Under my fathers advice I signed and added the statement "do not agree with above statement being forced to sign". The only resolution I will agree to is that Mr ******* be disciplined or removed and I expect proof this has happened. Additionally there are services listed on the estimate that do not apply to my vehicle. If fluid for a transmission costs in excess of 400.00 it had better last forever. And I have the choice as a consumer to use any ********** dealership by not using them DOES NOT VOID a warranty this threat by Mr ******* was illegal and uncalled for I expect results in this matter and to be contacted and not by *******.

Desired Settlement: Apology from this company compensation for travel and waste of my time.

Business Response:

I apologize for any miscommunication that may have taken place in this situation. I have spoken to Mr. ******* and reviewed the documents. Your vehicle maintenance intervals are scheduled every 10k miles, as part of a 40k service the transmission service would also be due, this in accordance to **********. Mr. ******* was not saying that your warranty was void, he was saying that if you take you vehicle to a non ********** facility to have the work performed and they use the wrong fluid or material, or fail to perform the procedure properly and there is a failure thereafter that ** may not warranty that component. Your vehicle powertrain is warranted by ** for a term 0f 60 months or 60k miles, but the owner has a responsibility to perform the required maintenance at the proper interval. As our customers take delivery of thier vehicle from the service department, they are given a invoice with doumentation concerning the vehicle, we do this to protect the customer and our company. Your case was no different, your invoice shows the initial order for the 40k service with a note at the bottom of that says husband said not to touch the vehicle, so no work was performed. It has two other lines that reference your declination of the 40k and transmission service. Your signature acknowledges the declination. There is no where on the work order that states that vehicle warranty is void. If you have any further questions or comments, please contact ***** ******** Service Manager.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February of 2009 I purchased a Service Agreement on a new Subaru Forester. This agreement was to become effective after the standard warranty was no longer in effect. On March 04,2012 this car was in an accident and was totaled. One week later we requested a refund of the service agreement since it never actually became effective,( the car had 34,000 miles on it). We filled out all the requested information with ***** and he said he would submit it to their parent company. Since then we have called every 4-6 weeks to inquire about the status of the claim. Our calls have never been answered and messages left on his machine have never been returned. Today I called the parent company to ask about the claim and they said a claim was never filed. I don't care whose fault this was, I want a refund of the agreement as soon as possible to wait almost 6 months goes way beyond poor customer service. Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Desired Settlement: refund of $2286.73 requested please.

Business Response: This is in response to the customer concern we received from your office regarding Mr. ****** ******. We have been in contact with both Mr. and Mrs. ****** regarding the extended warranty cancellation. ****** ****** will be into Appleway on September 4, 2012 to sign a cancellation form. ****** will also contact their Insurance company and have them fax to Appleway a copy of total loss for mileage verification as well as have the prior lien holder fax to Appleway a copy of lien release letter. Once Appleway has all necessary documents we will expedite the extended warranty cancellation for Mr. and Mrs. ******. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9195023, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 While we will be thrilled to receive a refund this is exactly where this situation has been since last March. We went to the dealership, filled out all the paperwork and never received any kind of response from them. We have again gone to the dealership and again filled out exactly the same paperwork ( why they didn't keep a copy for their records of the originals is beyond us). If we receive a refund we will be happy but based on our prior experience with them we tend to believe this is just another stalling technique.

Regards,

****** ****** 




Business Response: Below is an update to file# 9195023 ****** ******.  
 
When the customer came into the dealership to sign the cancellation paperwork they were aware that they also needed to provide Appleway with a letter from the Insurance company stating the miles when the vehicle was declared a total loss. We can not submit the cancellation forms for refund until we receive the Insurance copy with stated information. We have left a message for the customer to again explain to them what is needed to submit.
If you have any questions please contact me.
 
****** ******************
 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9195023, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Again today I contacted my insurance company for the requested information. They again faxed it to Appleway with an Attention ***** *******. According to USAA (our insurance company) this is the fourth time they have faxed this same information to Appleway. On top of that, we had the car in for service three days before the wreck and all they would have had to do to get the information was look in their own records.

thank you again for your time.

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

Please forward this complaint to **** ***** ********************* and **** ******* ***********************  I sent an email earlier today explaining that ****** ******** is no longer your contact person at Appleway. Each store and their General Manager will be handling their own customer concerns.

 

Thanks for your help

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.