BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

This Business is not BBB accredited

AutoNation Chevrolet

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 209-9973 Fax: (509) 924-3759 8500 E Sprague Ave, Spokane Vly, WA 99212 http://www.autonationchevroletspokanevalley.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Appleway Automotive Group is a dealer for Audi, Chevrolet, Toyota, Mitsubishi, Subaru and Volkswagon automobiles. The company also has a wholesale parts warehouse.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1970 Business started: 03/26/1948 in WA Business started locally: 03/26/1948 Business under new ownership as of: 05/08/2013 Business incorporated: 12/31/1975 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Janine Eldredge-Underdahl, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Dustin Esco, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Smith, Chevrolet/Mitsubishi General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Heaters - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Services - Oil & Lube All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs

Alternate Business Names
Appleway Automotive Group Appleway Chevrolet AutoNation

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8500 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99212 (509) 209-9973

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 14558

    Spokane Vly, WA 99214

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a truck from these people on Aug.17th 2013.They treated me great while I was buying the truck, told me what wonderful customer service they had, and if I had any problems to contact them and they would take care of it, customer satisfaction was there number one goal. Well, I have had this truck for 45 days, it's had to already go in to the shop for repairs. I was told when I bought the truck it was a bumper to bumper warranty, not the case. The warranty would not cover any of my repairs needed but one.I contacted AutoNation about this I was promissed calls back I never recieved, I was told they don't treat there customers like this, but they do, they did absolutely nothing about repairs needed to my truck. Then on top of all of this I find out from a previous owner of the vehicle that it was involved in a accident. The car fax was clear and still is, but the fact is that the vehicle was still in a accident which required a lot of repair, and I paid full book price for a vehicle that was not suppose to have had any accidents. I went to AutoNation to talk to them about this and was told they are not liable for any of this.Great customer service when you tell them you sold me a vehicle at full, premium condition, book price when it was not. They said they could trade me out of it, they tried to stick me with $6000 negative equity for a truck I bought 45 days earlier. When I started questioning everything and got a bunch of double talk about depreciation ect, I told the sales person, " don't take this personal or directed towards you, but I feel like I am getting totally ******* screwed. The sales person jumped up and said I am not going to be swore at and left.I have a witness to all of this, from the time of purchase to the last talk with them. When it comes down to it, I am paying 25,000 for a truck that has problems they wont fix, and is worth a lot less than they sold it to me for. The customer service has been the most horrific customer service I have ever encoutered.

Desired Settlement: I want the repairs paid for. ***** ****** told me this was a bumper to bumper warranty, I aknowledge I did not read the contract before signing, but was told by ***** ****** at the time of the sale it was bumper to bumper and everything would be covered except daily maintenance items. I also want some of the purchase price reimbursed for the cost of the truck. I was charged for an accident free, top condition vehicle. The truck has been previously in a accident and needs multiple repairs.

Business Response: When Mr ******** called us after he took his truck to the repair shop, he stated that nothing was covered under the warranty that he bought which was not true it did cover his altenator on his truck, but would not cover a couple of other issues that are wear and tear items. He did come down to the dealership and talk to myself and one of my sales managers who I had asked to get involved to see if we could trade him out of the truck and into something different. Mr ******** started to using horrific words and my sales manager told him if he continued she was done and after a few more words from Mr. ******** she walked out and Mr. ******** left for home. I called Mr. ******** on 09-30.2013 and  told him that I would fix his water leak and when I find a truck that he likes I would do very thing I could do to help trade him out of the truck he bought..

Consumer Response: ****** ******** ******:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

One of the issues with the truck is not a wear and tear item, the coolant leak.  I did talk to *** on 9-30-13 and he did say he would have the leak fixed.   I recieved a call on 9-30-13 from his service department and was promissed a call back on 10-1-13 to have the truck brought in and the coolant leak fixed.  As of 2:33pm on 10-2-13 I have not recieved a call back to have the truck fixed, as has been the case since the start of this entire deal.  I keep being promissed calls that either never come or come days after I was told they would.    This is not the only issue, the truck has been in an accident and the previous owner has paper work to prove it.  I was charged top dollar for a truck that was suppose to be in great mechanicle condition and accident free, which is not the case.  My mother and I were treated horible by the sales manager, which met us with an attitude from the start.  The statement of me using horific words with her is completely false, I used one curse word to describe the way I felt I was being treated and before I used it, I told her not to take this personally or directed at her.  On 9-30-13 when *** contacted me he told me his sales manager went completely the wrong way with all of this and he wanted to get this taken care of.  He told me he would find me the truck of my choosing, that I would be 100% happy with.  I told him I dont have any more money for a down payment, and he said that was fine, he would get me into a truck I wanted, and to give him a little time to find one, I said ok.  As of this time, nothing has been taken care of, but if it is taken care of as *** promissed me, I will have no more issues or problems with with AutoNation

Business Response: I understand he is still up set.  He knows the ****** showed not accidents on it and unless the customer that traded it in to us told us it was damaged we we would not know, so I can not fix that part of his issues. I told him we would fix the coolant leak and I will make sure it gets done. I also told him when we get a different truck in I would do everything to help him get out of his truck and into a different truck, but could take a little time for he is looking a truck and it could take some time.

Consumer Response: ****** ******** ******:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Until I have been put into another vehicle as I have been promissed, I can not accept the response from AutoNation.  If I am put into another vehicle, I will consider the matter closed and the problems solved.  I am not trying to be unreasonable, I just want a vehicle worth what I paid.  AutoNation has the power to make this right and put me into another vehicle, If customer service and satisfaction is truley AutoNations number one goal, then they will do what is right and put me in another vehicle.  I have no problems giving them some time, but being as big of a dealer as they are, nation wide, I would not think it would be very hard for them to come up with another vehicle.  Once again, I would like to put all of these problems behind us, all they have to do is put me in another vehicle and everything will be over.

Consumer Response: I am sending you this email asking to reopen case #******* against AutoNation ***** Spokane.  The business promised me they would put me in another vehicle and they have not.  It has been two weeks without even a phone call from anyone.

Business Response: We have repaired ** ********** truck like we told him we would and that when we recieved a truck in to trade him out I would do what ever I could to trade him out of his truck. I do not have something at this time and may not want to help if he is going to be one sided on his complaints to the ***. Autonation ********* did not force *** ******** to buy the truck nor did Autonation mislead ** ******** in any way. So when we get something in to help trade him out of his truck I will call him, if you read my response in earlier emails it could take a while. Thats all I can do for him at this time...

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

****** ******** ******:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ********



AutoNation is a nation wide dealership and should not have a problem finding me a truck if they wanted this matter closed.  I am not being one sided on the complaints, I am only asking for what I was promissed.  I have not recieved one call since all this started with the ***, saying they were working on it, or give me another week, or anything, I have just been ignored.  I was mislead about the sale of the vehicle from the start, the warranty, the mechanicle condition of the vehicle, and the value of the vehicle.  Whether AutoNation knew about the accident history of the vehicle or not, I brought it to there attention and nothing has been done to make it right.  Whether they are legally liable or not, morally what has been done to me is wrong.  I find it very hard to believe that if this had happened to any of them personaly, they would not be doing everything in their power to have the issue made right.  I am not asking for money, or something for free, just a vehicle worth what I paid.  As a dealer they are well aware of the fact that a vehicle that has been in an accident is not worth the same price as one that has not been.  AutoNation saying that they may not want to work with me if I keep complaining to the *** is very alarming in my opinion, considering that the *** is there for consumers with complaints and a way for consumers to have situations resolved that would not be if they did not step in.  I feel that it is the consumers right to file complaints about a buisness that refuses to do what is right, so that others are not taken advantage of in the same way.  This complaint is far from one sided, as AutoNation is allowed to respond to each one of my responses and tell their side of things.  I would like to end this response with a couple of questions.  Would you be happy if this happened to you, a family member, or a friend?   Would you not do everything in your power to right the wrong?  I am not enjoying this, I am not sending in complaints for the fun of it.  Whether Autonation will admit it or not, what has been done to me is wrong, and all I want them to do is make it right.  If this is made right I will have absolutley no problems with dropping my complaints, and would go as far as sending in letters of appreciation for making a bad situation right.  I dont want to fight with them, I dont want to argue with them, I just want my situation made right.

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 ***** ***** ******* approximately 6 weeks ago from Appleway Chevy. I was told that the vehicle was in excellent working condition and the vehicle would be reliable for my family and I. Within a few days of the purchase I began to have problems with the key fob. There were a few times when it would not start at all. The dash signaled an error signal that said "bad key". Finally one morning the key would not work anymore. Within 6 weeks of my purchase the vehicle was stuck in my driveway and it would not work. A new key fob costs several hundred dollars that I don't have. This vehicle was misrepresented to me. I was able to get a temporary key made by a locksmith that cost me $100, but it does not work as the fob should. I called and spoke with the salesman and he said that he could not help me and it should not have done that. That is information that I agree with. It SHOULD NOT HAVE DONE THAT!!!! He told me to call the sales manager, who I did call and left a message for him asking him to call me back. He did not do so. They have been unwilling to even talk to me about this issue. I am very upset by this and I will not be going back to Appleway and I will certainly tell my friends about this experience.

Desired Settlement: I think Appleway should pay for the $100 I spent on the physical key, and also provide me with a working key fob.

Business Response:

We have received your complaint in regards to ***** ******. Although the vehicle Mr ****** purchased was sold AS IS we will be more than happy to reinburse him the

$100.00 for the key he had to purchase. I will be contacting Mr ****** in the next few days.

 

Thank You

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.    I understand the vehicle was sold AS IS , however there should be a reasonable expectation that the vehicle should not have any looming problems that are not disclosed at the time of purchase.  This problem was not disclosed and the technician who fixed the vehicle said the problem was not new and it has to have been going on for many months up to the point that it gave out.    I accept the offer to reimburse the $100 it cost me to replace the key, however I'm still not pleased.  I bought a car that had a keyless entry fob and now I don't have that.  I simply have a key.  I know it seems that it's a small issue, but it's important to me to get what I was sold.  I realize that legally it's an AS IS purchase and there is no obligation for Appleway to take care of us, but it's the right thing to do.  I will accept the $100 but I still think there was a problem with the vehicle that was not disclosed to me and I will still have to spend a couple hundred more dollars to get a new keyless fob. 

Regards,  


***** ******

Consumer Response: My name is ***** *******  I filed a complaint against Appleway Chevrolet in Spokane some time ago.  It was agreed upon that the auto dealer would reimburse me for a repair that I had to make immediately to the vehicle in the amount of $100.  Since I agreed to that, through the BBB complaint process, I have not heard from Appleway Chevy, nor have I received the $100 as agreed to.  It’s been well over a month.  Can you please help me? 

Yours, 

***** *******





Business Response:

I have submitted a check request to have a $100 check mailed to the customer. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my truck in May of 2012, I was talked into buying the most expensive and through warranty that they offered, and have been paying an extra 100 dollars a month for this warranty, but when I brought my truck in to be serviced, they said that the warranty they have on file does not cover what is broken. When I look at my Mileage Plus Service contract from the warranty company, it states that I have full coverage, but they will not cover the damage to my truck. They were so rude and so unprofessional that I canceled my warranty, which they charged me for, and now they are saying that I will not get the majority of my money back even though I have clear proof they are lying to me. I have to sales report that shows I paid for as much coverage as possible, and all the issues on my truck should be covered, but they are trying to say I did not have the proper coverage.

Desired Settlement: I would either like my truck fixed for no money because I was under warranty, or I want the full price of the warranty back because they were charging me for something they didn't even say I had on my account. How can I pay for coverage on my truck that they say I didn't have????

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: Message from Consumer:

Hello, my name is **** ***** and I am writing you in reguards to my complaint filed on 8/9/2013 about the service warranty I got at Appleway Chevrolet. After finally hearing back from someone I had a meeting this afternoon where ***** ***, ***** and ******* fixed the problem. My warranty was reinstated, and my truck will  be fixed like it needs to be. They were exceptionally nice in explaining the mix-up, and fixed the problem for me perfectly. Thank you for looking into the matter, if you did, and if you haven't yet, don't bother. They fixed the problem for me. 
**** *****

10/31/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into Appleway Honda to buy a truck. The dealership wrote up the deal and they quoted me a price in writing, which I signed and my wife signed. It took approximately three days to get the deal to go through. On the third day they asked me to come in and sign the paperwork for the truck. I went to the dealership to sign the paperwork, after waiting approximately 30 minutes they told me the truck was sold to someone else. We then went to the Appleway Chevrolete dealership where the truck was originally from and the general manager was very rude and he told me and my wife that he was not going to give the truck to us for what the salesman signed the quoted the price for. We were lied to about the truck being sold to someone else, when in fact the truck was not sold the dealership did not want to sell the truck for what was quoted to us.

Desired Settlement: I want the truck for the price I was quoted.

Business Response:

Appleway Honda offered for sale a 1999 Chevy Silverado to ***** ********. The Price offered to Mr ******** can and will be honored as agreed. The only problem is the bank financing is not for the agreed upon terms. Appleway Honda did not have a opportunity to go over the banks terms with Mr ******** on 10/28/2012. At the same time as Mr ******** was at the Honda store another customer was also working a offer at the Chevy store, this causing confusion if the truck was still available. As of 10/29/12 Mr ******** has been contacted and agreed upon price will still be offered. ***** ******** was into dealership on October 29th and purchased the truck. Customer is satisfied.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9277673, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  The business honored the agreed upon amount for the vehicle and the dispute has been resolved.

Regards, 


*********** ********




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee from Appleway Chevrolet on 7/27/2011 and we also purchased the GAP Insurance. Over the course of a few months I had realized it was not the vehicle for me. On 10/6/2011 I traded in the vehicle and purchased a Ford F150 from another dealership. I was given a sheet to take to Appleway stating that the Jeep had been paid off so that I could cancel the GAP coverage and get a refund. On 10/7/2011 I went to Appleway and Spoke to ***** *** in their finance department. She filled out the paperwork and said she would get it sent in and I was told it would take 4-6 weeks for the refund to arrive. On 11/17/2011 I decided to call and find out the status of the refund. I spoke to someone by the name of ***** in the Finance department. He tried to check the status of the refund, but could not find it in the system. The next day I stopped in and spoke to ***** *** again in Finance and she directed us to her boss ***** ****. After we spoke to him he assured me that he would figure it out. I waited and didn't hear anything for an hour and then found the number to Toyota's Gap Cancellation program on the back of my paperwork and spoke to a representative by the Name of **** and he looked up the information by the VIN number of the Jeep and let us know that it had never been submitted. I left a Message for ***** **** and did not hear back. I decided to go back in and spoke to ***** **** and the General Manager of Appleway Chevrolet, *** *****. ***** had let me know that he just submitted the paperwork to Toyota again and it would be a 30 days until the money was received. At this point I had started to get angry and stated that is not my fault that it wasn't submitted and I'd like my money, because I have just wasted 6 weeks. They said they could not write a check to me. They said I was not out anything and I would just have to wait. They admitted it was their mistake and said they would be willing to fill my tank for my trouble for having to come in so many times for this.

Desired Settlement: I would like my GAP insurance refund of $773.60 refunded to me without having to wait for it to be sent to me.

Business Response:

******,

 

This is in response to the case opened with the Better Business Bureau regarding Appleway and Gap Insurance Cancellations.

 

First, let me apologize for any inconvenience and/or frustration you may have experienced. I have spoken to our Shared Service center in Texas and they have verified that your cancellation paperwork has been processed and been sent to ***** **** for processing, the lien holder on the vehicle purchased from Appleway. The refund check must be issued by ***** **** not Appleway/AutoNation due to state law in Washington. Our Shared Center does not have an estimated time of when you will receive the refund check from ***** **** but suggested you contact the lien holder (***** ****) and see if they can give you a more accurate time frame.

 

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience and or frustration you may have experienced. Also, I want to thank you for bringing this concern to our attention, rest assured we will investigate our current processes thoroughly and make any changes deemed necessary to assure an excellent customer service experience with every customer.

 

Should you have any questions please feel free to contact me personally.

 

 

****** ******************

Customer Relations Manager

Appleway Automotive Group

Chevrolet, Toyota, Mitsubishi, Subaru, Mazda, Audi, Scion & Volkswagen

Direct # ************

E-mail  ************************
Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole..

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8814380, and they realized they were at fault and they resolved the issue today. 

 

Regards,

 

 

****** ********

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues