BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

This Business is not BBB accredited

AutoNation Acura

Phone: (509) 540-3277 View Additional Phone Numbers 8325 East Sprague Avenue, Spokane Valley, WA 99212 http://autonationacuraspokanevalley.net/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Acura include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Acura
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 23, 2011 Business started: 03/01/1948 Business started locally: 11/20/2009 Business under new ownership as of: 05/08/2013 Business incorporated: 11/20/2009 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Janine Eldredge-Underdahl, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Scott Gooksetter, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Janine Eldredge-Underdahl, Customer Relations Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Heaters - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Services - Oil & Lube All-Terrain Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
AutoNation

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8325 East Sprague Avenue

    Spokane Valley, WA 99212 (509) 540-3277 (866) 296-3079 (866) 313-0408

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 296-3079(Phone)
  • (866) 313-0408(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a new car from AutoNation Acura, was given a price for my trade-in, gave a down payment, and was told it would be about 2 months or so till the new car would arrive. After 2 months they called and said the car would not be produced in that particular configuration for another month and that I could expect delivery about a month after that - AND that since the car was taking longer than originally planned, my trade-in value was decreased by $3000. It was not my fault that the car was taking longer than was originally thought and I should not be penalized for their problem. A deal is a deal -how can they do this? I since found out that this vehicle has been produced in the configuration I asked for, so that is an out-and-out lie.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor this agreement.

Business Response: Mr. ********: 
This is in response to the customer concern we received from your office regarding **** ******. Ms. ******’s situation is much the way she describes it, with some exceptions. Due to ***** Corporation filling the order much later than expected, Ms. ******’s MDX is due months later than anticipated. Accordingly, we needed to make an adjustment with her trade value. We have apologized for the unfortunate delay, and explained the change in her trade in’s value.Our offer was to complete the sale with the lower trade value based on a late December 2013 delivery. The vehicle in question has not been produced and continues to be scheduled to be built the first week of November 2013. Our goal was to provide Ms. ****** with her vehicle on time, and at the agreed dollar figures. We have also agreed to return Ms. ******’s deposit check at her request. Should you have any further questions please contact **** ******, ***** Sales Manager at ###-###-####. 

Sincerely, 

****** ******************
Service ManagerAutoNation Honda Spokane Valley
###-###-####
E-mail ********************.com
Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The issue here is the reduction of the value of my trade-in.  I have talked with several other car dealers in the Spokane area and have determined that the practice of decreasing the trade-in value is unethical to say the least.  AutoNation could have done a dealer-trade to get the vehicle I wanted but chose not to.  I even told them of a car dealership in WA state that had that particlar vehicle and in fact, that same dealer is expecting another one the end of October. If the timing were the issue, I offered to solve that by turning my trade-in in to them and lease a vehicle until my new vehicle arrived.  AutoNation said they still would decrease the value of the trade-in by $3000, which is proof that timing was not the issue.  We need to focus on this unethical practice of reducing the value of a trade-in after a deal is made.

Regards,

**** ******




Business Response: Mr. ********: 

Below is our response to the most recent response from Ms. **** ****** (ID *******) 

08-10-13 we met **** ******. **** was interested in purchasing a new 2014 ***** MDX with a Advance/Entertainment Package in White Diamond Pearl exterior and Eucalyptus Parchment interior. Being we did not have this particular Package/Color in stock, nor could we locate one, we had to place a special order from the factory. When ordering from the factory all we can do at a dealership level is request the particular package and color and wait for a build date from the factory. The factory can not guarantee a production date of a special order. 

The car **** ****** has requested is still on order with a new production date of 11-01-13 (still subject to change). When notifying **** of the change in production dates of the MDX we also told her we would need to re-value her trade-in being so much time has passed. Trade-ins are always subject to change until the day we take possession. Factors that can change a trade-ins value are mileage, damages and market conditions i.e.: supply in demand, fuel costs, weather as with many others. We wanted to make sure **** knew of these factors as the trade would be affected. 

We still have the MDX on order for **** and would like the opportunity to show her what a trade value would look like when the MDX arrives. Since **** has talked to other dealers about her trade we could use any bid that she has got. 

Should you have any questions please contact **** ****** General Sales Manager at ###-###-####. 

Sincerely,  

****** ******************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It is obvious to me that this matter will never be solved as we are dealing with car dealers, and unfortunately the bad reputation attributed to car dealers is well-illustrated in this situation.  Their out-and-out lie that the vehicle I wanted could not be found is a very bold lie.  That exact vehicle was found by myself at a dealer in the Bellevue area, but for some reason, **** (the manager) would not deal with them. And once again I reiterate that I had offered to leave my trade-in with them at the time the car was supposed to be in, but they still refused to honor the deal.  Since it appears this is common practice for this Acura dealer, I have chosen to spend my $57,400 elsewhere where honesty and integrity exist.  Buyer beware when dealing with AutoNation.

Regards,

**** ******




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1