BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Way Auto Body meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Way Auto Body include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Way Auto Body
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1965 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1965 Business incorporated 07/02/1973 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Licensing
PO Box 9034 , Olympia WA 98507-9015
https://fortress.wa.gov/dol/dolprod/bpdLicenseQuery/Default.aspx
Phone Number: (360) 664-0116
Fax Number: 360-705-6699

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John James, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John James, Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Restoration Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Paint - Mobile Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles Auto Parts & Supplies - New


Additional Locations

  • 6614 E Trent Ave

    Spokane Valley, WA 99212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11-16 2012 i paid the bill and picked up my truck repaired by American Way Auto Body, after a rear end collision i asked what mechanical repairs was preformed as i had informed about a noise under the truck i was told the mechanic did not find any problem,i insisted there was a problem the truck was checked and found a broken exhaust, and found the tailgate was not repaired i was told he would talk to the owner and call me back ,not receiving a reply called on 11-23-2012 i was asked if i received a call from owner i said no was told he would inform owner ,i also informed him my radio was installed upside down as of 11-26-2012 i have not received a reply.

Desired Settlement: I would like the exhaust replaced,the tailgate repaired and the radio properly installed.

Business Response:

I spoke with Mr. ****** about his concerns. All items he has adressed have to have prior approval from the responsible insurance company. A call was place to them on 11/16/12 and a message left. On 11/19/12 we received a call back from the appraiser stating he would have to talk directly to the adjuster to get any approvals for additional work on the tailgate, stereo and exhaust . As of 12/3/12 we are still waiting for a return call with an approval to repair. A second call has been placed to the appraiser with a message left. It appears that Mr. ****** doesn't have a complaint about the work performed, his complaint should be directed at the insurance company responsible for paying the claim. We will be happy to assist him in the additional repairs upon approval from the insurance company. If you have any further questions feel free and contact me anytime Monday through Friday from 7:30 to 5:00.