BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

TruGreen Lawncare

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 922-2452 225 N Ella Rd, Spokane Vly, WA 99212 http://www.TruGreen.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tree service, weed control, pest control, lawn maintenance, fertilization, and commercial snow services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TruGreen Lawncare meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TruGreen Lawncare include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TruGreen Lawncare
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 05, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1968 in DE Business started locally: 01/01/1968 Business incorporated: 06/19/1992 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Williams, General Manager Ms. Shalena Williams, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Williams, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Shalena Williams, Complaint Handler
Business Category

Tree Service Weed Control Service Fertilizers Pest Control Services Landscape Maintenance Lawn & Tree Care Landscape Architects Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
TruGreen Limited Partnership
Additional Information

The BBB has deemed that this business has resolved its previous pattern of complaints and has made an effort to respond to any future complaints they receive.

Industry Tips
Contractors - GENERAL ADVICE

Additional Locations

  • 1220 S 10th Ave (Satelite office this is a mailing address)

    Pasco, WA 99301

  • 225 N Ella Rd

    Spokane Vly, WA 99212 (509) 922-2452

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last summer we were approached by the sales rep. with a hard sell of their service over the one we were currently using. (lawn and tree care). We agreed to try them for a year when they made us a deal we could not turn down. After the second lawn fertilization/weed treatment one of our 10 year old established and very healthy trees died. The leaves were curled and yellowing at 3 days after the service and by 2 weeks all the leaves were brown and falling off the tree. I called them on day 3 and someone came out to see and photograph the tree. We discussed that they had done something that was detrimental to the health of the tree and it was dying. They wanted to wait until spring of 2014 to see if it made it back and were having a hard time understanding how they could have killed the tree. Discussion at that time was that if the tree did not survive, it would be replaced with a large tree (approx. value of $200-$250) to replace the one they killed. We continued with their services through the rest of the year and 2 in the spring of 2014. Called after the second 2014 service to see if they were going to come out and verify that the tree was dead so a new one could be planted at their expense. Today (4/18/2014) my husband took their phone call. They are refusing to do anything for us and are not standing by the deal to replace it. Very disappointed with the care. I would have cancelled their service after killing the tree last year if they had been honest and upfront that they were not going to stand by their word.

Desired Settlement: Pay to have the tree replaced with a large tree of compliable size.

Business Response:

TruGreen is looking into this complaint. 

We will be talking to all parties involved with this matter.

TruGreen will respond in more detail by 5/2/14

Thank You

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]Looks like they are just looking into the complaint, so there has not been an actual decision made. It would be nice to receive the money it will cost to replace the tree. Awaiting an actual response from the company, not just "looking into it" as the response.>
Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

After doing some research on the ******'s account TruGreen has responded:  The lawn treatment in question was completed on 8/27/13 with fertilizer and broadleaf weed control.  The next contact that was had with customer was on 9/12/13.  This is 16 days since the lawn treatment.  TruGreen responded with a property visit and noticed that there were broadleaf weeds underneath the drip line of the tree in question.  This is what made it difficult to understand how herbicide would of translocated into the tree if the contact herbicide would not of even effected the weeds under the tree.  The tree in question did not show symptoms of herbicide damage, which is typically twisting or curling of the outer leaves.  Herbicide damage that is taken up through the roots typically will not happen within 16 days as trees take sometimes months or years to show the results of damage or stress.  The herbicide that TruGreen uses is diluted to a less that 2.5% from concentrate.  The majority of the herbicide is tied up in the top 1-3 inches of soil, which is not where tree roots are located.  The tree showed symtoms of a possible root problem or lack of moisture.  This is usually dry brown leaves.  TruGreen has only been on the property one time in 2014 and that was to apply a granular fertilizer only to the lawn.  TruGreen has not seen the tree in 2014 since the possible leaf out.  TruGreen would like to work with the ******'s to find out the cause of the decline in the tree, but would need permission to visit the property. 

During the property visit the ******'s had also mentioned that there had been a different tree in the same location at one time and that the ******'s had come to the conclusion that the cause was a weed and feed type product that they were appling to the property.  The attached files of satelite images show that at one time there was a different tree located in the same spot of the property.  This is a further indication that there may be something in the soil that is causing trees to decline in that area of the landscape.  

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
The tree was replaced approximately 8-10 years ago. soil was amended and nothing was found to be of a problem. The previous tree was killed by weed and feed and died exactly the same way. ****** was then hired and we have had no trouble since.....we switched after a high pressure sale and after the second lawn application is when the tree went south and died like the one 10 years previous. The weeds around the tree were still there, and they were also still in the yard(I had them come back out a second time when the weeds were not responding to the broadleaf herbicide and it was after that application that the tree starting to quickly die....) If they don't want to reimburse the cost of the tree, then this is over. I initially asked them to come out and look at the tree, but apparently they did not send anyone and made the decision with out doing so. My husband took the call that they said they were not going to reimburse us the cost and at that time fired them. If they want to come see it now, they can do so. But we will not be hiring them for any future service after this. It would be nice to be reimbursed. But sounds like this is not going to happen. Very disappointed.
BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with TruGreen for a 1 year service on our lawn in the fall of 2012 through the fall of 2013 with the inclusion of a perimeter bug spray in the fall of 2012. The bug spray was performed as agreed to and one lawn application in 2012. Starting in the spring of 2013 they made a few applications which were incomplete. After the incomplete applications the serviceman would leave a note saying he could not access the backyard due to the dog. Apparently he did not realize that my wife was at home and had the dog inside. Also we have a long lot and they only treated the eastern 1/3 of our lot once when I happened to be home and caught him packing up his equipment to leave. They consistently showed up without calling ahead despite TruGreen's suggestion of this policy to avoid issues with the dog. After another incomplete application in August, which again my wife was home for and witnessed, we called to terminate the service and have the remainder of our money refunded. TruGreen claims to have honored their contract of 1 year of service despite the fact that they did not. When asked to produce records of service calls, they produced one showing that 3 applications were made in a 10 day period in late September of 2012. During this period we were having the windows replaced in our home and the lawn was covered with staging materials and heavy equipment, making their claim impossible. Their contract requires arbitration in the event of dispute, but they refuse to provide the contact information to initiate that process. We did finally get a partial refund, $90 out of the $243+ that they owe, after spending literally weeks on the phone with their representatives.

Desired Settlement: The refund of the remainder owed.

Business Response:

The services that TruGreen performed for the ***** residents are as followed:

2012

9/19/12-Targeted insect control- Pest spray around home- No charge promotion given away for new customer

9/20/12-Lawn treatment-Fertilizer and weed control to property. talked to mr on property-$88.70+ tax charge

9/20/12-initial Start up fee-Service charge to new customers-$50+tax

9/20/12-Insect inspection on lawn-Checked lawn for damaging insects(none were seen at this time)-no charge service

10/29/12-Lawn service-Winterizer treatment applied to lawn- $88.70+tax

There were no phone contacts with customer during fall of 2012 noted in our system.

2013

4/03/13 -Lawn treatment-Spring fertilizer-$88.70+tax-(no notation on service sheet back not completed)

4/18/13-Aeration on lawn-$114+tax-(No notation on service sheet back not completed)

5/17/13-Lawn treatment-$88.70+tax (No notation on service sheet that back not completed)

6/28/13-Lawn Treatment-$88.70+tax ( Back lawn not completed due to mechanical failure noted on service sheet.) Back lawn is appr. 400 sq feet of the 18000 sq ft that was being treated.

9/13/12 customers called in to prepay for service and received the 10% discount for the services.  Total service charge was $607.50. -10%=546.75+tax=$594.32.  This is what they paid. Adding up all the the treatments that were completed this equals the above amount.

During the 6/28/13 the back lawn was not treated and customer was refunded the amount of the whole price of the lawn application of $95.88 which included tax.

I have attached all the service records and a map of the property that shows the sq ftage of the back lawn for the ***** properties.  There was never a mention from the customer nor the lawn specialist noted that the back lawn was not completed during any of the treatments except for the 6/28/13 treatment.  There was never any communication that from the customer or the lawn specialist of any sort of heavy equipment or window materials on the property during any of the visits. With the size of the lawn that the ***** own if there was equipment or material on the lawn this would have equated to only a small fraction of the whole property that was being treated. TruGreen considers the service fulfilled.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: True Green states that we had a yearly contract to spray our grass for weed control. The year before we only had 2 sprays done. The next winter we moved and over this last summer they sprayed at a house we did not live in. They then what us to pay and are not even willing to work on a price. We have no signed contract month to month. This company is just about the bottom dollar. We paid but we would never use them again.

Desired Settlement: We paid the 48.92 because we did not want to go to collections. We would like a full refund.

Business Response:

We have credited the customer’s account $48.92 and there is a customer follow up request for a refund to be processed for 9/5/13.  ***** *. also called and left a message for Mr. ****** yesterday 9/4/13. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9690354, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


***** ******




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7-23-09 Trugreen sprayed my neighbors yard at **** * **** ***. They put down lawn fertilizer and weed control. This was the wrong house. This neighbor does not have Trugreen as her lawn care service. The employee should have done **** * **** *** instead, which that house is across the street and not next to mine. Upon spraying the wrong house they KILLED six of my KOI fish in my back yard pond. This was done when the employee sprayed while it was windy and caused the mist to come over to my side of the property and landing in my pond! In a day or two, I started noticing that my fish were acting funny! Then one by one they started to die. I had **** and the branch manager come out to my house on the 7-31-09 to see my property. They told me it was not their service that caused this.

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/23/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TruGreen hired us to do irrigation repairs at 2 locations *********** * *** ****** ********** in Sandpoint, Idaho. We did the repairs and all systems are up and running. I billed TruGreen 3 times! After the 1st billing to them on 8/19/2011, I was asked to change the billing amount, I did so. Then re billed it on 8/24/2011. Then I still did not get paid. Then on 11/11/2011 I re billed them, after that billing, I was asked to give a more detailed invoice, I did so and re billed them! And now the sales men there are telling me that it is to far past the billing date, so they will not pay us! It is so funny how we were hired to do work for TruGreen and now they feel they do not have to pay us for these 2 huge jobs! We simply just do not go out and just do major irrigation repairs for free! To also mention that TruGreen says we have a contract with them. Well in asking for a copy of this so called contract, when I did get a copy of it, it is something that was fabricated together! It took them 2 days to show us a copy of this false document. All I want is to be paid for the work TruGreen hired us to do! Total amount owed is $1,592.00 This includes late fees!

Desired Settlement: I want paid for our labor and all parts that went into these 2 jobs that TruGreen hired us to do. They ordered the work to be done, I want paid for the job! And If I have to take this to court, I want all cort costs paid by TruGreen too.

Business Response:

Please see the attached document, as I have provided a full written response.

Thanks

***** ********

In 2011, TruGreen contracted with ********* ******** *********** (***) to provide commercial mowing service and in some cases sprinkler repair work to a number of TruGreen Customers in Sandpoint, ID.  *** ***** is the owner of *** and ***** ***** is the bookkeeper for ***.  TruGreen had experienced numerous problems with *** thru August with getting *** to submit invoices on time, improper billing amounts on invoices, multiple billing for same services, and customers being unhappy with the services provided on their property.
On 8-20-2011, TruGreen received invoices (31169 and 31170) from *** which stated they (***) had completed sprinkler repairs on our customer’s properties at *** ****** *** *********** (apartment complexes).  TruGreen’s policy is that all subcontractors provide bills to us within 7 days of completion of work.  *** has been requested numerous times (throughout 2011) to get bills submitted to TruGreen in a timely manner, and *** continued to ignore this request. ***’s invoices were dated 8-2-2011 and 7-28-2011 and these were sent to us 18 days after completion of work instead of 7 days.   As a standard procedure, once TruGreen receives the bills, TruGreen contacts our customers to ensure the work provided by our subcontractor has been completed, was signed off by an onsite manager, and that the customer is satisfied with the work that the subcontractor provided.  On 8-22-2011, TruGreen employee *** ******* attempted to contact site manager ******* by phone, but was unsuccessful.  On 8-25-2011 ******* contacted ******* and she stated that the sprinkler repair work had not been completed and the sprinkler system was still broken.  During this conversation, ******* agreed to double check with their onsite maintenance department to make sure they had not “missed” *** on the property.  In the mean time, ******* placed a phone call to *** ***** and left a voice mail message on his cell phone stating that our customer was disputing that the sprinkler work had been completed and TruGreen was requesting he provide us with specifics on which zones were repaired on the sprinkler system.   During follow up conversation with ******* (on or around 8-26-2007) with site manager *******, she stated that the work was not completed and the sprinkler system was still broken.  
On 8-27-2011, TruGreen terminated *** as a subcontractor because of all the billing issues and consistency in results with mowing work and notified *** that they would no longer to provide service to any TruGreen properties.  When we did not hear from ***, we believed invoice 31169 and 31170 had been billing errors by ***. 
On or about 9-28-2011, ******* received an email from ***** ***** asking about payment for the sprinkler repair work.  ******* then called *** ***** and spoke to him initially about *** wanting to order ice melt from TruGreen and what the cost would be.  During this conversation, ******* asked him about the sprinkler invoice and reminded him that our customer, *******, is disputing that any work had been completed.  ******* requested ***** send the specific documentation detailing which zones were repaired and what sprinkler work was completed.  ***** replied that he would get it to TruGreen within 24 hours.
On 11-12-2011 TruGreen received the email from ***** ***** demanding payment for the sprinkler repair work.  This was a surprise, as ***** had not responded in over a month since the request to provide specific documentation as to what work had been completed on Oak Street and Bristlecone sprinkler system.  ******* replied to *** that we will not pay the invoices because we did not get any reply to our request for specific documentation as to what services were performed on which specific zone in the sprinkler system. 
On, or around 12-1-2011, we received notification from ******* (manager at *** ****** *** *********** **********) that *** was sending them notices trying to collect for the alleged sprinkler repair work.  I, ***** ********, General Manager for TruGreen called *** ***** to clarify the situation.  During the conversation, I again requested documentation from him in regard to the specific zones that were repaired and told him we would not pay any bills for the sprinkler repair work until we received documentation that is had actually been completed.  ***** was irate and used profane language and stated he would see TruGreen in court.
On 12-7-2011, I sent the following copy of a certified letter to ***:
 
********* ******** ***********
 
 
Dear *** and ***** *****:
 
*********** ********** has forwarded a copy of your recent demand letter to TruGreen, and advised that they are very surprised that you sent this demand to them since you never repaired the sprinkler system on the property.  As you are aware, TruGreen terminated your services because of ongoing problems with your company not performing the work.  ***’s failure to repair the sprinkler system was one more such occurrence that led to the decision to terminate the contract. 
 
According to our records, nothing further is owed to ***.  If you disagree, you can send to me, in writing, a detailed list of items for which you believe *** to be entitled to payment.  However, to the extent you are claiming payment is owed for sprinkler system repairs, we will need proof that this was done since the customer denies it. 
 
Finally, it is inappropriate for you to have any direct contact with our customer concerning this matter.  Please send any and all communications regarding this account to TruGreen.
 
Sincerely,
 
 
***** ********
General Manager
Spokane Branch

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1