BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ever-Green Tree Care Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ever-Green Tree Care Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Ever-Green Tree Care Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 27, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1986 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated: 01/01/1995 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathy Kemink, Office Manager Mr. Mike Budig, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathy Kemink, Office Manager
Business Category

Tree Service Weed Control Service Fertilizers Tree Service - Pruning Landscape Maintenance Arborist Lawn & Tree Care Landscape Architects Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers

Alternate Business Names
Ever-green Tree Expert Evergreen TLC Evergreen Tree Service

Additional Locations

  • 9923 E Trent Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206 (800) 684-8733

  • PO Box 11155

    Spokane Vly, WA 99211

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 954-5984(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/19/13, *** ***********, an employee of Evergreen Tree Care, provided a bid for tree removal on our property. (contract #******). A 10% non-refundable deposit was paid in the amount of $175.00. The contract was noted to be schedule in October. Mr. ***********, as an arborist, made a verbal commitment to provide me with a letter that I could take to the City of Bellevue regarding dangerous trees in the right-of-way. He indicated that this was work that Evergreen could not do, since it was in the right of way. This commitment was integral to my agreement to do work with this company. Despite follow up phone call, and emails, and a letter dated 12/2/2013 to Evergreen, I have received neither the promised letter regarding dangerous trees, nor has the company contacted me to complete the tree work outlined in their proposal.

Desired Settlement: Provide an arborist letter regarding trees in the right of way. Refund the $175.00 deposit paid by credit card.

Business Response:

1/27/2014

The Better Business Bureau

********* ****
Resolution Moderator
Phone: ###-###-####
*********************

CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE INFORMATION


Customer Information:
******** ***** 
***** ** ****** *** *****
******** * ** *****
Daytime Phone: ###-###-####
E-mail: ********************


The details of this matter are as follows:
Complaint Involves:
Contract Disputes 

Customer’s Statement of the Problem:
On 7/19/13, *** ***********, an employee of Evergreen Tree Care, provided a bid for tree removal on our property. (contract #******). A 10% non-refundable deposit was paid in the amount of $175.00. The contract was noted to be schedule in October. Mr. ***********, as an arborist, made a verbal commitment to provide me with a letter that I could take to the City of Bellevue regarding dangerous trees in the right-of-way. He indicated that this was work that Evergreen could not do, since it was in the right of way. This commitment was integral to my agreement to do work with this company. Despite follow up phone call, and emails, and a letter dated 12/2/2013 to Evergreen, I have received neither the promised letter regarding dangerous trees, nor has the company contacted me to complete the tree work outlined in their proposal.
Complaint Background:
Product/Service: tree service
Problem Occurred: 7/30/2013
Model: 
Account Number: ******
Order Number: 
Talked to Company: 7/30/2013
Talked to Company (2nd): 11/10/2013
Talked to Company (3rd): 12/2/2013

Name of Salesperson:
*** *********** 
Purchase Price: $175.00
Disputed Amount: $175.00 

Desired Settlement: 
Provide an arborist letter regarding trees in the right of way. Refund the $175.00 deposit paid by credit card.

Business Response:

*** *********** is no longer in our employ.  He was not a certified arborist; he could not supply a letter to the City of Bellevue stating that there is a dangerous tree in the right of way.  The City requires a Certified Arborist to provide such a letter.   To have a letter from one of our Tree Risk Assessment Arborists comes with a fee that starts at $300.00 and goes higher with more detail i.e. use of a resistograph etc.  

 We cannot provide service on trees not on your property.  Entering into a contract to do that is not a viable contract.  As stated in the terms: you are responsible to define the property lines and that you must own the trees contracted for service. 

As you stated: “it is a non-refundable deposit”.   However since Mr. *********** agreed to something he could not provide; I will refund the deposit.  I can send out a check in that amount if that is acceptable.  Should you still require a letter, we can have one of our Tree Risk Assessment Arborists give you an estimate for that service.  The contract #****** is now void. 

 

***** ******
 

***** ******

Office Manager

Ever-Green Tree Care, Inc.

**********************

###-###-####

Fax ###-###-####

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Please let Evergreen know to send a check to me at my home address:  ***** ** ****** *** *****, ********, **  *****.
I will think about further steps on the trees in the right of way.
thank you.

Regards,


******** *****




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 9th, 2013,the arborist **** *****, took a $100.00 deposit from me agreeing to come to trim my trees before Thanksgiving. He said he would call the following week but he never did. I waited and waited and when I finally reached him, he told me: "You are just a little $500. dollar job and we will work you in between our big jobs." I reminded him that he agreed to get this done before Thanksgiving as I was going to be out of state. He said he wouldn't be able to squeeze me in until December. I was very upset because I would never have given him any money if I knew he wouldn't be able to get the work done in November. We made an appointment for December 3,at 0800. I took the day off from work to accommodate this agreement. They never showed up or called, so I called **** and asked where they were and he said: "I don't know." Four hours later his worker called to say they had a flat tire and would not be coming that day. Mr. ***** called to change the appointment again. He was VERY pushy and rude, saying that I was "difficult." I asked for my deposit back and he laughed at me. I told him I would file a complaint with the BBB and he laughed more saying: "that is fine with me, but nobody is going to give you $100.00 back." I told him he has stolen my money and has taken advantage of my situation. I told him I did not want him to do any of the work and left it at that. I called my credit card company for support. I never heard back from anyone at Evergreen Tree Care, Inc. I don't want anyone else to be lied to and taken advantage of or have their money stolen in this way.

Desired Settlement: I want this ding to go on their record. I would like my $100.00 back since they never did a lick of work for me in November as I had requested and we agreed on. I am a senior citizen on a budget and I feel ripped off by this person called **** ***** and Evergreen Tree Care, Inc.

Business Response:

January 14, 2014

The Better Business Bureau

********* ****
Resolution Moderator
Phone: ###-###-####
*********************

RE: Case ID *******

Customer Information:
******** ******
**** **** ** **
******* * ** *****
Daytime Phone: ###-###-####
Evening Phone: ###-###-####
E-mail:
*********************

Dear ********* ****,

This is the response from the salesman of record:

   I am responding to what ******** ****** stated below.  Most of what was stated is misconstrued or false. 

   The job was sold on Saturday, November 9th for $500.  I told ******** at the time that my back-log was about 30 days but being as this is a small job, I would try my best to fit it in sooner than that if I could.  I never said that I would get it done sooner and that was never even discussed.  ******** did tell me she wanted to be present when the work was done because she wanted to watch (and learn) how to prune her fruit trees.

   11-19-13 - ******** called on Tuesday, November 19th at 4:59pm to tell me she was going out of town and instructed me to not do the work until she got back in town which would be after December 1st.

   12-1-13 – I called ******** on Sunday, December 1st at 3:45pm to let her know I had her work scheduled for Monday, December 2nd as she had requested.

   12-2-13 – I never heard back from ******** after I had left a message the day before so I left a second message on Monday. December 2nd at 8:16am.  We were scheduled to do the work that afternoon.

   12-2-13 – ******** finally returned my calls at 11:42 am and left me a message saying that I could not do the work today because it did not fit into her schedule.  She asked me to schedule it for the following week.  I had to scramble to find work to fill the crew’s schedule for later that same day.

   12-2-13 – I called ******** back at 2:19pm to let her know I had received her message and that I would work on rescheduling the work for the following week, again, as she requested.

   12-8-13 – Sunday – I left ******** a message at 5:49pm to let her know that I rescheduled the work for Monday afternoon, the 9th, again, as she had requested the previous week.

   12-8-13 – Sunday – ******** called me back at 7:15pm and was very hostile and told me I could not do the work on either Monday or Tuesday (the 9th or 10th) as this did not fit into her schedule.  I was surprised and asked:  “Didn’t you tell me just last Sunday night that you wanted the work done on either Monday or Tuesday of this week?”  She angrily responded that her plans had changed and that would no longer work.  She threatened that I needed to get the work done on either Wednesday or Thursday of this week or she was thinking of cancelling.  I explained that I would try my best to schedule for one of those days but this was the third time I had tried to put the schedule together to fit her schedule.  She told me… “That’s not my problem and you need to figure it out.”  I again told her I would try my best but I didn’t want her to lose her deposit.  She asked what I meant by that.  I explained that the $100 deposit was non-refundable.  She got even more hostile and told me I had better not try to do that.  I told her it was not up to me… that it was up to the office.  She again told me/threatened me that I had better get the work done on either Wednesday or Thursday.

   12-10-13 – Tuesday, 6:12pm – I called ******** again and left a message to let her know that I had her trimming on the schedule for Wednesday, December 11th.

   12-11-13 – Wednesday 1:57am – ******** called in the middle of the night and left a message saying that after out last conversation she no longer wanted us to do the work and that she was going to cancel.

   Through all of this, I called the office and spoke with them to keep them informed of what was taking place. To my knowledge, ******** never contacted the office by phone and she never gave written notice to the office that she was cancelling.

   The next thing that happened notification came from ********’s credit card company as she had put a stop payment on the credit card.   The BBB complaint followed.

   I know the above dates, times, and calls are all correct because I checked my Verizon cell phone records.

**** *****

Ms. ****** feels we have taken advantage of her situation; we could say the same.  Multiple attempts to schedule her work were made.  We had to juggle work for the crews on more than one occasion when she did not want the work done on days she specified she wanted them there.

A lot of time and effort were expended to meet her needs.  We can still do her work but it is pretty obvious she does not want it done.  The non-refundable deposit is in place for people just like Ms. ****** – they try to take advantage of companies and they believe they have every right to.     


Ms. ******’s Desired Settlement:
I want this ding to go on their record. I would like my $100.00 back since they never did a lick of work for me in November as I had requested and we agreed on. I am a senior citizen on a budget and I feel ripped off by this person called **** ***** and Evergreen Tree Care, Inc.

Ever- Green’s Response:

Ms. ******’s job was scheduled as per her instructions; she cancelled each time.  We feel the $100.00 compensates for salesmen time, office staff as well.  It is expressly stated on the contract she signed that it is a non-refundable deposit.   We would still perform her services; and to the best of our ability should she want to use her $100.00 deposit toward that service.

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Evergreen to have my tree trimmed and the debris removed on September 4, 2013. I stressed that I wanted the work done before the leaves fell from the tree. A crew showed up finally in October but one of the crewmembers refused to do the job because of safety concerns. Evergreen arranged with ****** to do a trim of the limbs around the powerlines. Before ****** came out, at the end of October, a different crew from Evergreen showed up at my house (after all the trees leaves have fallen and I had paid somebody to come and rake the leaves) and they trimmed about half the tree skipping the area by the power lines. The first week of November ****** came out and trimmed the tree around the power lines and left all the big limbs in my front yard because Evergreen is supposed to clean that up.Before ****** came to trim around the power lines I received a bill for payment in full from Evergreen so I called them and told them the job was not done and the salesman **** called me back and assured me that they were going to clean up the limbs left by ****** and that they would finish the job after ****** did their part so I said I will pay you when the job is done. In mid November I called **** and told him I was waiting for them to come out and finish the job and clean up the mess and **** said yes they would and that they wouldn't be able to do it until just after Thanksgiving and I said okay but I sure want that cleaned up as soon as possible and long before Christmas and he assured me it would be done. That same day I received another bill from Evergreen this time adding finances charges. I called Evergreen and told them how disappointed I was and that the job is not done and that I was going to start deducting $25 a day beginning December 1 for the job that was supposed to be completed in September. They never called me back. They abandoned the job. I will hire someone else to remove the limbs. I owe them nothing.

Desired Settlement: I want an invoice showing no charge for this debacle. My neighbors have been complaining for two months about the eyesore my front yard is. I have to hire another company to clean the twenty five by twenty five by eight foot high piles of limbs left in my yard, and to complete the tree trimming not done by Evergreen. I have refrained from talking to my friends or talking about this on social media. They should really return my $90 deposit considering I had to pay a yard man that to rake.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **Please see attached.**

Desired Settlement: Unspecified

Business Response:

July 23, 2013

Better Business Bureau

152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200

Spokane, WA 99201

Phone: (509)455-4200

Fax: (509)838-1079

Email: complaints@spokane.bbb.org

Web: www.spokane.bbb.org

Attn: Ana Espindola
Resolution Moderator
Phone: (509)232-0531
aespindola@spokane.bbb.org

Re: Consumer Complaint #9631840

Mary Sue Cooks
12406 176th Ave SE
Renton , WA 98059
Daytime Phone: (425) 204-6079
E-mail: rentonsue@aol.com

Good afternoon:

Mary Sue Cooks states in her complaint that she called within three days to cancel her contract.  It clearly states on the contract that cancellation must be submitted in writing and where to send the cancellation.  No such cancellation has ever been received from Ms. Cooks.  This process is in place so that there are no issues such as this with she said, he said.  When a cancellation is received the contract is taken out of the system and the work is not produced.  This never happened.  The work was in the schedule and completed.

Ms. Cooks called and spoke to me.  This is the information she gave me:

“05/29/2013:  Mary Sue Cooks has left a message for Cindy and she has not called her back yet.  She was out of the area putting Family in Hospice.  The job was to be put on hold until she was back.  We came on her property and went through a wired shut gate and did not have any authorization to do so.”

So if she states she cancelled three days after signing the contract which was signed on 4/21/2013; why would she tell me the contract was to have been on hold on 5/29/2013?  The contract was in place – the authorization for the work was granted, we processed the contract.  We do not call prior to coming out unless the customer requests a call.   

Since Ms. Cooks told us about her hardship with her family and her own illness.  She was offered terms to make it easier on her budget.   We offered a discount.  She declined that and said this was going to her attorney.    She states not all the work was done as listed on the contract – she will have to tell us what was not done and we will either finish it or discount for that portion not done.

Ms. Cooks derived benefit from the service, she did not cancel as she stated on 5/29/2013.  The service needs to be paid for.  We are willing to negotiate payment terms and will honor the offer of a discount.

Kathy Kemink

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9631840, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


Mary Sue Cooks




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
November 8, 2012 7115 ** ********* ***** ******** ** ********** Phone ###-###-####
Evergreen P.O. Box 11155 Spokane, WA 99211 -115 5
Please reference the following items, copies enclosed:
Contract No. ***** in the amount of $3,578.40 describing the work to be performed.
Your invoice No. ****** in the amount of $4,293.65
Your latest, and adjusted, invoice in the amount of $3,967.55
Pictures showing conditions of the of the work when your crew left the premises.
After the crew began the task of removing the trees noted in the contract Mr. ****** visited the work site and advised that an additional tree should be removed. This work was agreed to and your invoice so indicates.
You will note that the contract among other things, provides that the wood from the trees to be removed will be left in 16 inch sections and be stacked on the stairs leading into the back yard. It is obvious from the enclosed pictures that this was not accomplished. In addition, you can see that one of the stair lights was damaged. This was supposed to be repaired but that too was never accomplished as promised.
Prior to beginning the work of tree removal, your crew stated that they preferred to remove the watering sprinkler heads and to subsequently replace them as they had been found. They partially screwed the pipes back into the supply lines and did not put them back where they were prior to their beginning work. To get them back to their proper location, and the watering pattern adjusted, took two people over two hours.
The contract also provides that several trees and shrubs were to be pruned and trimmed. The most that can be said about those efforts for shrub shearing were that the crew attempted to accomplish this in a most half hearted way with chain saws. The tree in the front yard was supposed to be pruned and had two lower branches removed and not much else.
Several days after your crew left the premises Mr. ****** was contacted and requested to return to the site and review what had been done and not done. Prior to his arrival he had the initial invoice amount adjusted to compensate for the wood sections not being stacked as was contracted to be done. Upon his arrival and surveying the work site, he was amazed at the amount of work that had NOT been done.
Mr. ****** suggested contacting a firm named, "A Cut Above", to come out and complete the pruning and trimming at no additional cost to us. Their representative could hardly believe what had been left unaccomplished when compared to the contract requirements.
A crew from "A Cut Above" was here on October 25, 2012 and was able to do all the work remaining except the lowering and leveling of the hedge in the back yard. They did not feel it would be safe to try and accomplish this work until the spring of 2013 with the stated price for this work to be $400.00. Accordingly, find enclosed check No. 10337 in the amount of $3,567.55 which reflects deduction of this amount from your latest statement
Sincerely,
***** ** ********
CC Better Business Bureau W/out enclosures

Business Response: Good Afternoon:We entered into a contractual agreement with Ms. ******** on August 27th, 2012.  The crew was on site September 27, 2012 and September 28, 2012.  Trees were removed, stumps ground and other trees were pruned. The crew failed to fulfill all contractual items as stated by Ms. ********.  To rectify that, we hired a sub-contractor “A Cut Above” to come in and fulfill the contractual obligation.  Her hedge was not able to be done at the time of service by A Cut Above.  It will have to wait until Spring 2013.   Four hundred thirty-four dollars and 84/100 ($434.80) was refunded to Ms. ********.  This will pay for the pruning to be completed in Spring by A Cut Above.    A Cut Above completed her other services and invoiced us on October 26, 2012.  He was paid on the spot.  Ms. ******** was given a “Courtesy Discount” for the problems she encountered.  $326.10 was paid to her on October 5, 2012.    She overpaid $34.80 which was also refunded.  She could use this to hire to have the wood stacked.I feel we acted in a highly ethical fashion to bring settlement to the service she received.  We stepped up, hired a contractor to complete her work and paid her money for her troubles. 

November 9th Ms. ******** submitted a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.  What is Ms. ******** seeking?  The crew failed to fulfill the contractual agreement so we hired an independent contractor to complete the contract.  She was paid a monetary settlement for her trouble.  After almost two months, what is she seeking to bring resolution to the complaint?  Is she seeking payment for the sprinkler adjustment and the light?  We would be happy to pay for those if she submits the receipts for payment.  A call to us would have accomplished that.  I await a response to see what she expects.***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
**** ** ******** ****
Spokane, WA 99212 Phone ###-###-####
June 28, 2012
Better Business Bureau 152 S. Jefferson Suite 200
Spokane, WA 99201
Dear BBB Representative,
I hired Evergreen Tree Care to prune three trees and remove one. Workers came and completed their work on 6/11/12 when I was not home. When 1 arrived home, I could immediately see that the trees had not been pruned as I had specified to the sales representative, ***** ****** at ###-###-####. One, in particular, is still hanging over my walking path to my backyard. I called ***** on 6/12/12 to ask him when the workers would be back to complete the pruning. ***** said he would let the guys know. They did not return. Subsequent calls to ***** were not answered. I then called the office located at **** ** ***** ******, Spokane Valley, WA 99206, phone number ###-###-####. They referred me to ***** at the main office located at **** ** ******** **., Spokane Valley, WA 99211, phone number ###-###-####. ***** said she would send someone out. When no one came, I called again. Once again, ***** said she would send someone out.
Because of the worker’s shoddy service, two of the three trees that were to be pruned are now ruined and most likely needing to be replaced. No one from the company has come to my home to look at the damage. The company sent me a bill for $1087.00 dated 6/9/12, that was before the work was even started. 1 am very disappointed in Evergreen Tree Care’s lack of communication and service. I have not paid the bill. I would appreciate any help in resolving this matter.
Sincerely,
****** ************

Business Response:

 

July 25, 2012

 

Daytime Phone: ###-###-####

Good afternoon:

I spoke with ******.  ****** stated that we made some bad cuts; she expected to pay only half of her bill since she would have to have the trees re-cut in the fall.

We had an independent that specializes in “Ornamental Pruning” assess the job performed by Ever-Green.  I will attach the letter from ***** *************, owner of A Cut Above Pruning Services, Inc. 

The three trees were inspected.  He attests the trees were properly done with good cuts.  ******’s complaint to ***** was that her trees were too open.  He explained to her that that was because the suckers and deadwood had been removed.  He explained that he would have cut more, opening it up farther.  ****** pointed to her neighbor’s trees stating that that is what she expected her trees to look like.  Her neighbor’s trees had previously been topped and sheared.  They were full because they were a cluster of suckers and need annual pruning.  ****** reiterated that her trees were too high and wide.  She attests in her complaint that the trees are now ruined and need to be replaced, that simply is not accurate.

Topping trees is never an option for a viable tree.  Her neighbor’s trees will be an expensive ongoing project. They are no longer viable trees and will have to be maintained as shrubbery.  This goes against ANSI 300 pruning standards.  ****** is expecting more than 25% of her trees to be pruned.  This can cause the trees to go into decline.  She had a four man crew on site, truck chipper and all equipment necessary to complete her task.  We conducted the pruning to ANSI pruning standards. 

The customer is always right!  However what she wants to have done to her trees goes against everything in regard to preserving the qualities that make a viable healthy tree.  If she follows in what she wants her trees to look like she will be compromising her trees.  That is her choice as the property owner.

She contracted for services; she does not want to pay for the service rendered.  I will agree to a settlement to bring closure to the complaint.  However to pay only one half of the job is not a fair and equitable settlement for the time and equipment spent at her site.  Her trees were pruned to the letter of the contract (see attachment); to ANSI regulations for our industry.  I would offer a $200.00 discount to settle the claim.  And I wish her luck with the trees if she prunes them the way she expects them to be maintained.

Please let me know if this is acceptable and we will proceed with the credit and subsequent payment to close the account.

***** *****

 

***** ******

Office Manager

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9112418, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Please see attachment.

Regards,


****** ************

July 29. 2012
Better Business Bureau Complaint ID# 9112418 152 S. Jefferson Suite 200
Spokane, WA 99201 Dear ***** *******
First, I would like to thank you, *****, for helping me get a response from Evergreen Tree Care Inc
lam not an arborist, but I am still unsatisfied with the work Evergreen Tree Care did trimming my trees. The Maple tree has branches hanging over the path and the center leaves are yellowing. The Ash tree has branches hanging almost to the ground. The Plum tree looks like a large "tree skeleton " I had expected a groomed loot
However, l am as anxious to get this matter closed, as in Evergreen Tree Care. So, I will except their offer of a $200.00 reduction in the cost. I will send them payment promptly
Sincerely,
****** ************
Cc: Evergreen Tree Care Inc,


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

12/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired evergreen tree service to prune my trees in the front yard and prune the fruit trees in the back yard. When I arrived home from work there were still limbs over the driveway that hit the top of my truck and the trees were still over grown. They did cut back the limbs three feet from the house and removed a few limbs from the cherry trees. The only tree they did right was the one I requested be reomoved. When I called to complain about the job the sales man said that it would hurt his profits if I had to have his crew come back out. He called a few nights later to reschedule and started using words like crop instead of prune, he scheduled his people to come back out this morning. They showed up at 0630 and said they only saw one limb that was against the work order that the salesman wrote up. When I asked about all the limbs over the driveway they stated the tree is thinned and balanced and that was not in the work order. When I asked about the limbs on the Mountain Ash that touch the ground when the leaves are on the lead man said that caping was not on the work order. I did not know that you must be an arborist to communicate what you would like done with the trees. They used these words to they have an out to do substandard work and when you have a complaint about the work they become intollerable to deal with. Prior to getting my complaint resolved I had already received a bill from the company for over 1500.oo for the work they did, which I felt in my mind that it was substandard and trying to resolve it with the company left me nothing but angry.

Desired Settlement: I would like another company to come out and look at the work this company did. As far as wanting anyone from Evergreen Tree Care to come back on my property after the rudeness of their lead man this morning I would say no to that company doing any more work for me. I believe that a reduced bill by the amount that I will have to pay another company to come in and rectify the issues that I still have with my over grown trees be only fair.

Consumer Response:

As far as wanting anyone from Evergreen Tree Care to come back on my property after the rudeness of their lead man this morning I would say no to that company doing any more work for me.  I believe that a reduced bill by the amount that I will have to pay another company to come in and rectify the issues that I still have with my over grown trees be only fair.

****** ** ******

Business Response:

November 22, 2011

 

Dear *****:

 

Excellent pruning work and customer service are what have made Evergreen Tree Care successful for 25 years.   Every online rating agency gives us an A rating because we do everything in our power to make our customers happy.  Occasionally, there are misunderstandings in regard to exactly what "standard" and "typical" pruning is/are.  This case seems to be rooted in a misunderstanding of those practices.  ******* Miller our representative, perhaps should have clarified in greater detail exactly what "thinning and balancing" the Ash and Locusts entailed.  As for price of the job; this was within the normal bounds of professional pruning contractors (with similar ratings) in our area.

 

Per contract terms, our crew did "thin and balance" prune 3 Cherries, 1 Mountain Ash and 2 Locust.  Even though it was NOT on the contract; the crew "cropped" (slightly reduced in height for production purposes, as is customary with fruit trees) the 3 Cherries in the backyard--in addition to removing the one Cherry.  The Mountain Ash and 2 Locusts were pruned as is standard for such trees. 

 

After discussions with customer and with our crew lead, Mark, it appears the customer wanted the Mountain Ash and 2 Locusts "topped" or "cropped" (i.e. severely reduced in height) which is NOT proper or standard pruning and is strongly discouraged by any reputable tree pruning company.  Top pruning of certain deciduous trees (like Locusts and Ash trees) leads to severe suckering and multiple top formations growing to "replace" the tops which have been cut out.  This, in effect, ruins the tops of certain leaf bearing trees.  Evergreen Tree Care is strongly against this practice.

 

As for **********’s complaint about ******* ‘s attitude about "follow up visit" by crew, he states he made attempts - many apologies were made numerous times over the phone.  ******* was under the assumption that the job was done correctly as usual by our crew (which is the case nearly all of the time).  However, when a complaint is made of any sort, we do everything to arrange a follow up visit from our crew--which was done.  ************ expressed crew lead attitude toward himself; there is never any excuse for "rudeness".  The crew leads frustration was rooted in the fact that he knew job was done as contracted the first time and he was having trouble getting this across to our customer.  We do not top trees and  it states it in big letters on our trucks.

 

Resolution:  Reducing height on Mt. Ash and the 2 Locusts will be discouraged even if another company (with A rating reputation) comes in to have a look at the trees.  If customer still insists on "topping" those 3 trees, we simply cannot condone the practice, nor does it state in the contracted work that we would.  Evergreen can adjust bill to bring about some kind of settlement but not to include the cost to "top" those 3 trees.  We look forward to bringing closure to the complaint in as amicable manner as possible.  We await the settlement price that Mr. ****** is offering . 

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ******

Office Manager

 

Cc the contract is attached.

 

 

Consumer Response:

I would be willing to take this to mediation.

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.