This business is not BBB accredited.

Violation Management Services

Phone: (866) 426-4040 Fax: (406) 453-7221 PO Box 2006, Great Falls, MT 59403 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.violationmanagement.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company contracted by rent a car companies to process parking, toll and traffic notices their vehicles receive while on rent.  


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Violation Management Services include:

  • 34 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Violation Management Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 31
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 34

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints showing that consumers had unknowingly or did not approve a compliance agreement regarding processing fees relating to vehicle violations from rented vehicles from 3rd party business contracted with this business.

Violation Management Services responded to this pattern of complaints with the following statement:

"The service fee VMS charges the renter's credit card is the fee for processing tolls, parking citations or traffic violations.  This process includes the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled.  The renter signs agreement to VMS services in the rental contract.

 
Parking, toll, and/or traffic charges have a potential of putting our clients' entire fleet of vehicles in jeopardy of being booted, towed, impounded and/or encumbered by DMV registration holds.  In order to protect their fleets and renters from having their vehicles booted or towed (even if they are legally parked), VMS must promptly deal with all notices."

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Violation Management Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 14, 2006 Business started: 09/08/2003 in MT Business started locally: 09/08/2003 Business incorporated 09/08/2003 in MT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mikel Wilson, Operations Manager Mr. Dennis Round, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mikel Wilson, Operations Manager
Business Category

Traffic & Parking Consultants Parking Attendant Service

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards and money orders.
Alternate Business Names
Violation Management SVC VMS

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Violation Management Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 2006

    Great Falls, MT 59403 (866) 426-4040

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a car from NextCar in BelAir, MD. Very shady outfit and I was sorry I went there (after the fact), but at the time I had no choice to rent the car for a day. They tried to overcharge me at the time so I used a credit card that I never use for anything else (because I was concerned about the security of their system) and within 2 weeks had cc fraud on it so I cancelled the card. Shortly thereafter, I get a notice from VMS saying I owed $250 for a speeding ticket I got in Washington DC. They said they had 'trouble' charging my card (yeah, because I had already canceled it!) I couldn't understand how I got a speeding ticket in DC. There was construction everywhere and I couldn't go more than 20-30mph. Then I called the company and disputed the $250 charge. They were going to send me proof of the ticket and never did. Here's the interesting part: They sent me another notice saying the balance owed was $100, although I never paid anything! How did it go from $250 to $100?? Weird....So I looked them up and found that they had a physical address in Great Falls, MT. I called the Chamber of Commerce to ask if they were a legit business and the person I talked to said that their address is in a residential part of the city.....even more weird. So I'm still waiting for proof of this ticket from this very shady outfit working with a very shady car rental company.

Desired Settlement: They need to stop sending me notices telling me I owe various amounts of money for a speeding ticket that they cannot prove I got.

4/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Payless LAX sold my credit card information to this company, they charged me $40.00 for a Toll violation, before the due date. I payed the toll violation and they are refusing to refund my $40.00. they never gave me anytime to pay before charging my card without my knowledge.

Desired Settlement: I only want the $40.00 back that they charged my account. the Toll was payed in full Via, *************** the total of the was only $12.30 so why they would charge my account $40.00 to begin with is just outrages.

1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a parking ticket (meter over) in Martinez CA on 15th of Sept 2014 and I paid it on Oct 6, using the City Martinez online ticket payment system. I printed a confirm page. I had parked my rental car (Payless Rental, Oakland Airport loc) overtime and I admit I did it, so I paid it, and thought all was over with. After all, I paid the ticket promptly/timely. Yesterday, December 9th -- I receive a $50 demand letter from VMS giving me my Cit# and telling me I owe Payless Rental $50 fee -- for what? I paid the ticket already and on time. Why should I even be on either of the radar of the VMS middleman company or on the radar of the Payless Rental Car Company. It's over with, I paid it. I want a REFUND and a reversal of the charge $50 Payless Rental Car Company is pulling out of my credit card. I also do not appreciate Payless Rental Car and VMS throwing around paper with my identity info all over it. Particularly, when it is just incorrect. BBB, please inform VMS that I am not about to be another victim of the scam they are pulling on renters who pay their tickets timely and who still end up getting thrashed by this predatory business practice. $50 for WHAT? It's over with, check with the City Martinez yourself - ticket is PAID., 2014,

Desired Settlement: Please intercede by written format with both Payless Car Rental in Oakland CA and with VMS in Great Falls Montana. Thank you. ***** ****** ******** **

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company tried to auto deduct money from my credit account without my authorization. they tried to charge me service fee at a parking ticket that I have already paid on time two months ago. but I never accept any "service" from this company.

Desired Settlement: apology and promise never ever happens, and compensatory payment

1/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a notice of a parking and/or other traffic relations and/or fees incurred while renting a vehicle from ****** ** *** on 08/24/2014 for employee ****** *******. We did not use ****** ** *** to rental a car and Mr. ******* was not in Los Angeles on the date of the violation. This a false claim.

Desired Settlement: To reverse the "violation" and cease initiating false claims.

1/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Three months ago I rented a car for the weekend from Thrifty in Westfield, NJ. During my weekend road trip I mistakenly went through the EZ Pass Lane and the car did not have EZ Pass. Upon returning the car, I mentioned this and was simply told to "wait for something in the mail". The first thing I received in the mail was a letter from VMS stating that I had to pay a $50, which I thought would cover any penalties and the toll so I paid it. Then, about a week later I received my toll bill (with another penalty)!! I'm fine with paying my toll bill, but a $50 fee from VMS for a $1.50 toll is just plain ridiculous! Furthermore, if I was correctly told how to resolve this myself instead of to "wait for something in the mail" I would've gladly just contacted EZ Pass, paid the bill, and resolved this myself without VMS. I contacted Violation Management Services and asked for a refund, but was denied.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $50 processing fee.

Business Response:

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by Thrifty of East Brunswickto process and present the initial billing for toll charges their vehicles receive while on rent.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled.

Unpaid parking, toll, and/or traffic violations have a potential of putting our client's entire fleet of vehicles in jeopardy of being booted, towed, and/or impounded.  In order to protect renters from having your vehicles towed (even if they are legally parked), we must promptly deal with all unpaid toll charges.

Mr. ******* first contacted VMS on 9/8/2014.  We explained our services and the need to contact the NJ toll authority if he doesn't receive a notice in the mail from them.  He requested verification of the card on file and then asked if we could charged the card that day.  He requested an email verification the charge processed.

On 9/8/2014, we emailed Mr. *******, to the email address he provided, stating the card was denied.  We instructed he could pay on our website, call and provide a different credit card, or send a check or money order.  This email was returned as undeliverable.

On 9/16/2014 a check was received from Mr. ******* for payment of the service fee.

Mr. ******* contacted VMS again on 9/23/2014 inquiring as to why he was receiving a notice from the NJ toll authority.  We again explained our services and as our notification letter to him 8/22/2014 explained.  We transferred the toll charge into his name. 

Due to the numerous times he contacted us and voluntarily sent payment, no refund is due.

 

Violation Management Services.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I don't agree with this statement:

"Mr. ******* first contacted VMS on 9/8/2014.  We explained our services and the need to contact the NJ toll authority if he doesn't receive a notice in the mail from them."

While it is true I voluntarily sent a payment Violation Management Services never clearly explained in my conversation with them, nor did they tell me to contact the NJ toll authority. All of my conversations with Violations Management Services were about trying to pay the violation in question which I thought would resolve the toll issue as well.

Neither Thrifty nor Violations Management Services were clear with me about how this process works. I was told to "wait for something in the mail", when in fact I could've contacted the toll authority myself to resolve this issue without Violation Management Services being involved.


Regards,

******** *******

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a $20 processing fee for a toll which was removed from the toll authority. I was never given an opportunity to pay the toll directly by Violation Management Services, never consented to use their services, nor consented to disclose my billing information.

Desired Settlement: Refund $20 and disclose your agreement with rental car companies prior to rental

Business Response:

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by ****** ** *** ** process and present the initial billing for parking, traffic and toll charges their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $20 is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of your rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled.

***** ******* ***** had to bill for this toll chargeand the only way to collect was to send an invoice to *** Rent A Car.  We work with *** to ensure all parking, toll and traffic violations are dealt with promptly.  Parking and toll citations have a potential of putting out client’s entire fleet of vehicles in jeopardy of being booted, towed, impounded and/or encumbered by vehicle registration holds.  In order to protect you and other renters from having your vehicles towed (even if they are legally parked), we must promptly deal with all violations.

 The cardholder (rental customer) authorized this charge, via the rental terms and conditions in paragraph 12 (see attached). Paragraph 12 reads…

12. Fines, Expenses, Costs and Administrative Fees

“You'll pay all fines, penalties, court costs for parking, traffic, toll and other violations, including storage liens and charges.  You’ll also pay a reasonable administrative fee with respect to any violation of this agreement, such as for repossessing or recovering the car for any reason.  You authorize us to release your rental and charge/debit card information to Violation Management Services (VMS) for the exclusive purpose of processing and billing for tolls, parking, or traffic violations fines, penalties, plus and administrative fee up to $50 for EACH unpaid violation or toll incurred during the term of this rental.”

 

I have also attached a copy of the rental jacket regarding these terms and conditions

 Since this toll was not taken care of before ****** ** *** was sent notice of unpaid toll evasion, we needed to make sure all liability for this toll was transferred to the renter of record.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

As previously noted, I did not explicitly agree to work with Violation Management Services, and more specifically to be directly billed by them. I never received prior notification of the toll, but instead was simply billed by a company I had never heard of or given an opportunity to resolve a <$1 toll for a $20 service charge.  Their response did not directly address my complaint.  The premise of their business is hidden in the legalese of a rental agreement, and does not justify directly billing a client or any method of resolving disputes such as this.

Regards,

***** ****

9/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received notification of a toll road violation with no way to pay the fine other than with the debit card I used to rent from Budget rent a car. I have no idea what the ticket is for and there is no way to appeal the decision. The cost was $20. I received a subsequent ticket for $73. I don't understand why I was charged in the first place. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: $20.

Business Response:

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by Budget of LAX to process and present the initial billing for parking, traffic and toll charges their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $20 is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of your rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled.

 The Toll Roads had to bill for this toll chargeand the only way to collect was to send an invoice to FOX Rent A Car.  We work with FOX to ensure all parking, toll and traffic violations are dealt with promptly.  Parking and toll citations have a potential of putting out client’s entire fleet of vehicles in jeopardy of being booted, towed, impounded and/or encumbered by vehicle registration holds.  In order to protect you and other renters from having your vehicles towed (even if they are legally parked), we must promptly deal with all violations.

 The cardholder (rental customer) authorized this charge, via the rental terms and conditions in paragraph 12 (see attached). Paragraph 12 reads…

12. Fines, Expenses, Costs and Administrative Fees

“You'll pay all fines, penalties, court costs for parking, traffic, toll and other violations, including storage liens and charges.  You’ll also pay a reasonable administrative fee with respect to any violation of this agreement, such as for repossessing or recovering the car for any reason.  You authorize us to release your rental and charge/debit card information to Violation Management Services (VMS) for the exclusive purpose of processing and billing for tolls, parking, or traffic violations fines, penalties, plus and administrative fee up to $50 for EACH unpaid violation or toll incurred during the term of this rental.”

 

We also notify the renter via a “notification letter”, approximately ten (10) days prior to billing their card.  This notification is sent to the address provided at the time of the rental.  The notification includes a toll free number and our website encouraging them to contact us with any questions and/or disputes.

 I have also attached a copy of the rental jacket regarding these terms and conditions

 Since this toll was not taken care of before Budget of LAX was sent notice of unpaid toll evasion, we needed to make sure all liability for this toll was transferred to the renter of record.

9/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a car from Fox car rental in San diego and I have used the Toll 73 freeway and after couple days I paid the toll fee then I found out that my credit card was charged a $ 40 paid to VMS , I called my credit card issuer and asked to decline the fee as I didn't know what was that for then I started receiving notices from VMS requesting to pay $ 40.00 as a service fee !!! .

Desired Settlement: Stop contacting me as they didn't do anything or service to me and remove my contact info from their system and clear my VMS reference :#********* .. and stop harassing me for sending my info to the collection agency .

Business Response:

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by FOX Rent A Car to process and present the initial billing for parking, traffic and toll charges their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $40 is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of your rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled.

The Toll Roads had to bill for this toll and the only way to collect was to send an invoice to FOX Rent A Car.  We work with FOX to ensure all parking, toll and traffic violations are dealt with promptly.  Parking and toll citations have a potential of putting out client’s entire fleet of vehicles in jeopardy of being booted, towed, impounded and/or encumbered by vehicle registration holds.  In order to protect you and other renters from having your vehicles towed (even if they are legally parked), we must promptly deal with all violations.

Since this toll was not taken care of before FOX was sent notice of unpaid toll evasion, we needed to make sure all liability for this toll was transferred to the renter of record.

 The renter has requested VMS stop contacting him.  As Violation Management is not a collection agency, we have marked his account accordingly and forwarded his information to FOX Rent a Car.

8/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Like many other customer, I was charged a $40 phantom service fee by VMS. During my trip in LA, I just followed GPS and havd no idea where the toll station is, thus I was incurred a toll fleet. 3 months later, I received a letter from a VMS asking for a $40 service fee regarding to the FasTrak violation. It is true that I should pay $6 toll fee, but it does make any sense to pay a $40 service fee which seems a scam for me. By searching in the internet, I then realized that I was incurred a scam. After receiving the notice, I have tried to contact customer service of VMS, yet not even one way worked, phone number can never be picked, and no one response my email.

Desired Settlement: Desire all $40 service fee refund

Business Response:

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by *** **** * *** to process and present the initial billing for violations or toll charges their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $40 is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of the rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to The TOll Roads, customer service support and the follow-up to ensure the toll is settled.

On July 9, 2014 we sent ***** a letter to the address provided to *** Rent A Car at the time of renting the vehicle, explaining our services.  The use of a GPS system does not release the driver from the rules governing the roadway they are using.  The Toll Roads roadway is clearly marked with signs indicating how to pay tolls within 48 hours avoid any Notice of Toll Evasion notices from being sent to the registered owner.  Once this is received, *** forwards this to VMS for processing.  Per ***'s rental contract the renter agrees to the following...

            You agree to pay all tolls, violations (including parking violations), fines and penalties, plus all costs incurred in the event you fail to pay such payments.  You authorize *** to release your rental car charge/debit card and personal information to Violation Management Services (VMS) and/or ******* **** *************** *** for the purpose of processing and billing for such amounts, plus a service fee up to $40 for EACH infraction or toll incurred during the term of this rental, you authorize *** to release your information relating to you to government authorities.”

We do not show any emails from the renter through our website.  Please email  **** at ***************************** to update your address and send you a copy of our original letter.

Violation Management Services

 

8/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a parking ticket on a car that I rented but I paid the ticket directly to the jurisdiction. VMS keeps sending me a bill for the parking ticket ($60) plus a $45 fee. I told them that the ticket was paid directly to the jurisdiction before they billed me. I'm not paying twice for a ticket and I'm certainly not paying the $45 fee. I have left 2-3 messages regarding this matter and it still has not been resolved.

Desired Settlement: Remove VMS Reference # (*********) from their system and stop billing me for a ticket that has been paid.

Business Response:

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by **** *** ******* to process and present the initial billing for violations their vehicles receive while on rent.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the payment of tickets, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled.

We received a message from Ms. ****** and returned her call twice on 5/14/14 and left messages.  If she would email **** at ***************************** with her payment documentation, we can resolve this matter quickly.

 

Violation Management Services

###-###-####

###-###-####

7/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a notice from VMS that I had to pay a $6.00 toll in California for using a toll road in California while in a rental vehicle. VMS is charging me a $20 fee for supposedly contacting the toll roads agency in California to place the missed toll in my name rather then the name of the rental agency. Upon calling the toll roads agency, the name associated with the missed toll had not yet been changed and was still in the name of the rental agency. I dealt with the toll roads agency on my own. I called VMS to let them know and to get a refund of the $20 fee. I was told that the $20 fee would not be waived because VMS had already sent me a notice (a one page letter) about the missed toll and provided me with a reference number for the missed toll over the phone so I could deal with the toll roads agency on my own. I believe this fee is unethical.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $20 fee

Business Response: Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by Budget of LAX to process and present the initial billing for toll charges their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $20 is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of your rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the toll charge to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled.


VMS sent *** ******'s contact information to The Toll Roads the same day we sent notification to him regarding our actions (7/14/14).  As it states in our letter, it can take the Issuing Authority a few weeks to get the toll transferred into the renter's name.  When *** ****** contacted The Toll Roads it has only been 10 days.  Since he has resolved the toll charge, as a one time courtesy, the service fee has been refunded.  Please note it can take 10 days for *** ******'s credit card company to post this refund.
 
Violation Management Services

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


*********** ******

4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a car from the Budget office at the Cedar Rapids, Iowa airport from Feb 24th to Feb 27th 2014. A month after that, I received by mail, a letter from Violation Management, indicating that I will be charged $75 for a speeding violation on Feb 27th, AND a 'service fee' of $40! I am SHOCKED and APPALLED by the ridiculous over 50% service fee this unscrupulous firm charges. I tried contacting them on more than one occasion and was put on hold saying someone would call me back. They took down my number on two occasions, but NEVER called back.! I mailed Budget about this ridiculous charge, and they havent responded either! This is just plain daylight robbery by VMS, and complete unethical billing practices! I notice that SEVERAL people have faced problems with Violation Management's unethical practices. I request help in having this resolved. I have been charged an EXTRA $40 service fee for apparently paying a speeding ticket, a copy of which I was never sent, and VMS refuses to answer phone calls. This is just plain unethical business practice. Citation ********** *** ref *********

Business Response:

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by Avis Rent A Car Cedar Rapids to process and present the initial billing for violations their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $40.00 and in this case, payment of the citation, is charged per incident in accordance with the terms of the rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the payment of the citation to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to insure the violation is settled.

*** ************** contacted VMS by email on 3/24/14 inquiring about the letter received for a speeding ticket during his Avis rental in Cedar Rapid.  Our email explained the charges and the need to pay the speeding fine to protect Avis of Cedar Rapid’s fleet of vehicle.  In our response we also included a copy of the notice from the City of Cedar Rapids (see attachment) for his information.  We also included the phone number and website to view the citation and to inquire about the City of Cedar Rapid’s procedures for disputing the ticket if he felt it was warranted.

The service fee charged is a flat fee as the actions required (see above) to resolve the citation are the same no matter the amount of the fine.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Though VMS indicated in their response that I was sent a copy of the citation, I was never sent this. I called VMS on multiple occasions and never got a call back. By email, I only received a reply containing a copy-paste of a statement from their website indicating that I would be charged $40 irrespective of the citation amount.

 
This is quite appalling to me that a firm would charge a randomly arrived at ABSOLUTE service fee of $40 for each citation, irrespective of the fee amount, and not even providing the renter the opportunity to clear the Citation amount himself / herself! Also, why would an individual be charged with over 50% of the citation amount as a service fee! This is a problem I can see SEVERAL people faced, as per complaints registered online. This is a really disturbing trend, and if i am charged by these hidden charges each time, I am not going to ever rent from a rental company with which VMS partners.
 
The Budget office from where i rented the car never called out this either when i rented.
 

Regards,

********* **************

Business Response:

Please see attached email submitted on 3/24/14 and responded to the same day, which includes a copy of the notice from the City of Cedar Rapids.  Our phone records do indicate that *** ************** left a message prior to sending his email.  In most cases, when we receive both a message and an email, we respond to the email as the renter will then have a written explanation of the situation along with a copy of the notice received from the Issuing Authority.

If tickets are not resolved in a timely manner the issuing authorities have the ability to place a "boot" or "tow" flag on the vehicle.  This can be quite disconcerting for the next renter to have the vehicle encumbered for tickets they have not incurred.  VMS processes all notices promptly to avoid this for renters. *** **************, should only want to rent vehicles from our clients for the peace of mind know tickets are handled promptly.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

 
However, as I mentioned, I will NEVER rent from a rental firm that has VMS has a partner. I am not comfortable with such hidden charges, and that too such exorbitant and irrational service fee charges. This has definitely been a DISGUSTING experience with both VMS and Budget. Never again will I or people from my firm rent from Budget again. This has been a learning experience.
 

Regards,


********* **************

12/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family and I traveled to **** ****** *****, Orlando FL. We flew into Tampa on 8/12/13 because flights were full into Orlando. I rented a car at *** ****** *** and drove to Orlando. I just recieved a PARKING/TOLL/TRAFFIC notice from Violations Management Services (VMS) stating that I made a Toll Violation on 8/15/13 @ 12:22 pm. The notice states that *** ****** *** has authorized them to charge my credit card $40 for this citation and that *** will also charge me $40 in accordance with the rental contract. The problem about this citation is that we stayed at the ******* ***** across from ******** ****** which is at ***** ***** *********. *** ******* and other hotels have a courtesy bus that took us to the **** ****** parking and ticket station on 8/15/13 around 9:00 am. The bus then picked us up at around 11:00 pm and took us back to the hotel. The rental car was not used on that day. **** ****** ***** informed me that with the used tickets, they can verify the time that I entered the different theme parks. However I would have to travel to Orlando to acquire this information. My whole purpose of my trip was to visit ****** ***** and that's where we were. I don't know how they got my vehicle information and I wasn't informed where this Toll booth located.*** *****l # ************** Citation # ********************** Ref # *********

Desired Settlement: I would like for Violations Management Services and *** ****** *** to refund these charges. I believe this is a scam, because I know the car was parked at the hotel that day.VMS ************* *** ****** *** ************* Thank you very much for your assistance. ****** *******

9/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VMS partners with ****** ****** **** to provide services in the case of traffic tickets. VMS charged by ******** ******* $40, and I had no idea what for since there was never a ticket on my rental car. In fact, it sat in the hotel garage the entire visit, so it was impossible to get this alleged ticket.VMS did not provide notification services. I received no notices that I had this alleged ticket. Then I received an overdue notice from the city of Spokane for a parking ticket for $40. I asked if that was the $40 that VMS charged me, and they explained that no - VMS did not pay for the ticket and that their $40 was for ticket management services. This is an absolute joke. $80 so far for a ticket that never even reached my windshield. Shame on ****** ****** ****, shame on the city of Spokane, and shame on VMS especially.

Desired Settlement: I want my $40 back from VMS.I received no notification from them, and ended up with a $15 ticket from Spokane that reached overdue status and cost me another $40. VMS provided no violation management service to me, Dollar or the city of Spokane, and I want my $40 refunded immediately.

Business Response:

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by Thrifty/Dollar of Spokane to process and present the initial billing for parking and traffic violations their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $40.00 is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of the rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled.

 

Parking, traffic and toll violations have a potential of putting our client's entire fleet of vehicles in jeopardy of being booted, towed, impounded and/or encumbered with vehicle registration holds.  In order to protect Ms. ********* and other renters from having your vehicles towed (even if they are legally parked), we must promptly deal with all violations

 

On 7/3/2013, VMS sent Ms. ********* a letter explaining the ticket and the actions being taken to the address supplied at the time of the rental.  We have not received this correspondence back indicating an incorrect or old address. A copy of this letter will be sent again for her records.  Ms. ********* contacted us 8/21/13 regarding the charges and we explained our services and she would need to contact the City of Spokane regarding the ticket.  She again contacted us by email on 8/27/13 and we explained our services and the need to contact the City of Spokane regarding the ticket and their procedures for payment or dispute.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9683807, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

VMS states that they charge $40 for "the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled." I will speak to each of these "services" that VMS describes:


1. The research to determine the responsible renter:  I have no recourse here. They charged my credit card $40 with no information as to what the charge was for. Months passed before I received any notification from the city of Spokane and even knew about the ticket.

2. The mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter: I received nothing in the mail, and I received no phone call. Surely they also had access to my cell phone number. VMS shrugs it off as 'we received no notification that it did not arrive', essentially not really caring if it arrived because they can collect an easy $40.

3. Customer Service Support:  When I phoned, they are essentially saying I signed for approval in the fine print of the rental agreement. If I would have received a parking ticket on my rental car, I would have paid for it. My company would have paid for it. It's not a big deal. But I received no parking ticket, received no notification from VMS, and received nothing more than "sorry, you agreed to it" from their customer service department. 

4. Follow-up to ensure the violation is settled:  they provided no such service. The city of Spokane sent me a final notice of the ticket, but I received absolutely nothing from VMS ever except an auto-billing of $40 to my American Express.



In summary, VMS is collecting a payment for absolutely no services rendered. They need to credit back my $40.

Regards,

******** *********




9/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recently mailed a citation # ********* and VMS reference ********* after i rented a car from *** rent a car when i was taking vacation in California stating i violated a toll. I had a **** ***** pass the entire time i was using the car. For some reason it didn't pick up one of the time i went through a toll and i suppose it sent a letter to the rental company. when i received the citation, it says only way to dispute the charge is to contact the issuing authority before receiving my citation, but since it was a rental, they sent it to the rental company and not me, so i had no idea about any violation especially since i reside in a different state. I have already called the issuing authority and have already taken away the violation due to an error on their system. when i called VMS about this, they were quite rude on the phone and did not want me talking to a manager saying that they would "have the same response".

Desired Settlement: I have already settled it with the toll company, i don't feel like disputing this any longer, i just want the funds they took out back and just call it a day.

Business Response:  

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by *** Rent a Car to process and present the initial billing for parking, traffic and toll notices their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $40 is charged per incident in accordance with the terms of the rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to 91 Express Toll Authority, customer service support, and the follow-up to insure the toll charge is settled.

 

Even though Mr. *** stated in his phone conversation on 8/20/13, he has a transponder, he failed to add the rental vehicle to his toll account, they would have been able to link this violation to his account and our services would not have been needed.  This is part of his agreement with the toll authority that if he is using his toll transponder in a different vehicle, they are to be contacted.  

However, the only way 91 Express Toll Authority had to bill for this toll was to send an invoice to ***.  We work with *** to insure all parking, toll and traffic notices are dealt with promptly.  Parking and traffic violations and toll charges have a potential of putting out client’s entire fleet of vehicles in jeopardy of being booted, towed, impounded and/or encumbered by vehicle registration holds.  In order to protect Mr. *** and other renters from having their rental vehicles towed (even if they are legally parked), we must promptly deal with all violations.

Since this toll was not taken care of before Budget was sent notice of unpaid toll charge, we needed to make sure all liability for this toll was transferred to the renter of record. He did not contact 91 Express Toll Authority regarding the toll charge until he received our letter. Since we had to process this toll, there is a service fee per Mr. ***'s rental agreement.

9/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a notice from this company where they charged me $50.00 because a toll was not paid on my rental car. I called NJ ez pass, said it was their intake, they gave a confirmation number to give this company. They did not want the confirmation number, told it was too bad, did not care if it was nj ez pass mistake. They were charging me $50.00 to send my name and address to nj ezp ass, they said it was stated in my contract and if minded not read it , too bad ***** ******

Desired Settlement: I know nothing will be done, but felt it should at least be public record

Business Response:

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by ****** of South Carolina to process and present the initial billing for parking, traffic and toll notices their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $50 is charged per incident in accordance with the terms of the rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to insure the toll charge is settled.

 

Even though Mr. ****** stated in his phone conversation on 8/26/13, he has a transponder, he failed to add the rental vehicle to his toll account, they would have been able to link this violation to your account and our services would not have been needed.  This is part of his agreement with the toll authority that if he is using his toll transponder in a different vehicle, they are to be contacted.  

However, the only way *** ****** **** ********* had to bill for this toll was to send an invoice to ******.  We work with ****** to insure all parking, toll and traffic notices are dealt with promptly.  Parking and traffic violations and toll charges have a potential of putting out client’s entire fleet of vehicles in jeopardy of being booted, towed, impounded and/or encumbered by vehicle registration holds.  In order to protect Mr. ****** and other renters from having their rental vehicles towed (even if they are legally parked), we must promptly deal with all violations.

Since this toll was not taken care of before ****** was sent notice of unpaid toll charge, we needed to make sure all liability for this toll was transferred to the renter of record. He did not contact ** **** ********* regarding the toll charge until he received our letter. Since we had to process this toll, there is a service fee per Mr. ******'s rental agreement.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As I told this company, their research consisted of writing down my name and address from budget,

I gave them a confirmation number from nj ez pass. Which stated I was not at fault.
Also,when I spoke with budget, they reimbursed me the $50.00 charge from this company , so thy thought I was right too. 

Thank you

***** ******



8/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company sent an unauthorized charge to the credit card.

Desired Settlement: Refund for $50

Business Response:

As was explained to Mr. ****** when he called on 6/24/2013 and 7/26/2013.

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by ****** to process and present the initial billing for toll charges their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $50.00 is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of his rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the toll charge to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled.

As we stated in our letter to Mr. ****** on 6/21/2013r, we have supplied the issuing authority with the documentation they require giving them your contact information, therefore transferring full liability for this toll charge to him.  We have not paid the fine amount that was incurred for this toll charge.  This allows him to dispute this violation if he feels warranted.  It is his responsibility to contact the issuing authority regarding payment of any fines, penalties, and interest related to this violation. 

Since ****** was sent notice of the toll charge, we needed to make sure all liability for this toll charge was transferred to the renter of record.  Since we had to process this toll charge, we are unable to waive the service fee.

 

Mr. ****** has initiated a chargeback dispute with his credit card company and we are unable to respond further until that dispute is resolved.

 

***** ******

Violation Management Services

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9639467, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Attached is the signed contract that I entered into with ****** Car Rental (not Violations Management Services) and the proof of payment to the toll collecting authority, Toll Roads, Inc.

 

On a call to the company VMS on 6/24/13, when I asked the nature of the service the company was providing for the $50 charge, I was told that ‘No services were rendered. We are charging you because we can’. They were even unable to give any information about the toll and told me to contact the toll collecting authority.

 

The company is refusing to provide BBB with a copy of the contract or other information on the grounds that I am disputing the charge with the credit card company.

 

In my opinion, the company, and its officers are involved in an abhorrent and reprehensible scam. I wonder how they will stand up to a criminal background scrutiny. I think a complaint with the state authorities would be appropriate.



Regards,

***** ******




Business Response:

Again, since there has been a dispute initiated with his credit card company, I can do nothing further it is finalized.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9639467, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The company is refusing to respond to the complaint with BBB on the grounds that the charge is being disputed with the credit card company. The credit card company is NOT part of the dispute.  They are also refusing to respond to the credit card company. The company has a very poor rating from the BBB.

Regards,

***** ******




6/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a citation notice VMS reference #********* on June 7, 2013. The citation notice stated that the rent a car received a traffic citation that occurred on May 12, 2013 at 5:05 p.m.. The notice further stated that my credit card would be billed the fine and a processing fee. Unfortunately, had I received notice of the citation, I would have been able to prove that on that date and time, I could not have been in the City of Clive, Iowa because I was 200 miles away in Omaha, Nebraska. I had receipts showing this but the receipts have since been discarded. The company showed me no proof of the violation and merely said that it would be charged to my charge card without notice or permission. At the very least the company should have notified me of the citation and their actions rather than automatically assuming that the citation was accurate.

Desired Settlement: I feel that VMS should not have charged me with a service fee, since no notice was given to me prior to taking action. I believe that my request is reasonable

Business Response:

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by Budget of Omaha to process and present the initial billing for violations their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $40 is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of your rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, customer service support, payment of the red light violation and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled.

 

Mr. *** contacted us on 6/10/2013 in response to our letter informing him of this red light violation.  We explained our services and the need to pay the violation in order to protect Budget of Omaha's fleet.   I have attached it here for his records.  During his conversation, he did not mention that he was in a different city at the time of this violation.  As we verified the information provided by the City of Clive is what we have in our system, he will need to contact them to inquire about the validity of their violation.

 

The City of Clive can only send their notices to the registered owner, in this case, Budget of Omaha.  As you can see this notice was issued on 5/20/2013 and was processed and a letter sent to Mr. *** within 2 weeks of the notice date.  He can contact the City of Clive at ###-###-#### and inquire about their dispute process.  Since this was just received, I was able to stop payment of the red light violation in order for Mr. *** to be able to dispute it with the City of Clive.  I have also placed the charge to his credit card on hold.

 

He will need to contact our office within 2 weeks of the posting of the response to update us on the progress of his dispute.  If we do not hear from him within that time frame, we will no longer be able to hold the payment or the charge to his credit card for the ticket.  He originally spoke with ***** in our Customer Service Department and will need to follow-up with her to ensure continuity of his account.  Mr. *** can also contact her by email at ******************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9576464, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First and foremost, yes I did call the business VSM and tried to explain the situation.  I explained to the women on the phone that I had a problem with the ticket because I was in Omaha Nebraska approximately 207 miles away at 5:30 p.m. so I tried to explain that perhaps the video machine was malfunctioning when it said I was there at 5:05 p.m.  The women would not listen and merely told me that the fees are to be collected.  I told her that I was going to pay the fine since I don't live in Iowa BUT had a problem with the $40.00 fee.  I told her that I should have been given notice of the ticket when Budget received it, notice of the fee and charging of my credit card.  When I rented the car from Budget, my contract made no mention of VSM or any mention of administrative fees in relation to "parking, traffic, toll or other violations.  The administrative fee relate only to any violation of the rental agreement.  See attached.  Also there is nothing in the agreement that says that Budget can release my confidential credit card information to a Third party namely VSM.  That is what I informed the women who took my phone call.  I believe that the traffic fine should be paid and I am willing to pay the fine rather than contest it.  However, I believe the fee is not authorized under my agreement with Budget. I therefore would request that the $40.00 fee be removed and not charged to me.
Regards,

****** ***





Business Response: As I stated in my previous response, I have placed everything on hold in an effort to let Mr. *** contact the City of Clive to dispute this ticket.  There has been no charge to his credit card and we haven't made payment.  He needs to contact the city of Clive IMMEDIATELY to be able to contest this ticket.  if the ticket is dismissed, I will then close this account with proof of dismissal.  We need to send payment no later Monday, July 1st.  I will contact the City of Clive on Monday and if Mr. *** has not contacted them to dispute this ticket, I will need to make the payment.  I don't see how VMS can do any more to help Mr. *** resolve this matter. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9576464, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.    Although I totally disagree with VSM's response, it would not be cost effective for me to contest the matter since I do not live in the state of Iowa. 

Regards,


****** ***




5/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is retained by FOX Rent A Car.I rented a car from FOX Rent A Car, LA in March 2013.During my trip, due to my unfamiliarity with California roads, I never noticed a toll road and just kept driving. Sure enough, after I cam back home, they sent me a 63$ ticket for toll evasion.That ticket is already paid. What infuriates me that FOX Rent A Car company has released my information to this partner company VMS (Violation Management Services), and that VMS is charging me 40$ fee for so called "processing" of my 63$ toll evasion ticket. What happens is this: when you rent a car from Fox Rent-a-Car, they make you sign an agreement where you basically donate(give away) your 40$ per infraction to to VMS (if you get any sort of ticket while driving it). I do not mind paying my ticket, like I said, I paid it the day I got the notice. But being charged 40$ for releasing my personal and credit card information is OUTRAGEOUS.I am going to dispute that transaction with my bank. Regards,***** ************

Desired Settlement: Drop the 40$ charge.Have Fox Rent-a-Car and Violation Management Services explain what kind of expenses they had to incur to justify the 40$ charge.

Business Response:

Mr. *********** contacted VMS by email on 4/4/2013 with the following email:

 “Questions and Comments:

Hi,I request that you refund 40$ charge and send me a paper bill with a list the itemized expenses that you had to incur in order to "process" my toll evasion ticket.
***** ***********.”

We responded to Mr. ***********, also on 4/4/2013, with the following and attaching a copy of his rental agreement (attached to this email).

“Thank you for contacting Violation Management Services regarding our letter to you indicating a toll evasion issued to your FOX Rent A Car vehicle by The Toll Roads.

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by FOX Rent A Car to process and present the initial billing for violations and/or tolls their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $40.00 is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of your rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to The Toll Roads, customer service support, and the follow-up to insure the toll evasion charge is settled. 

VMS received and processed a notification from The Toll Roads.  We sent you notice of the toll evasion charge and the actions being taken to insure the transfer of responsibility from Fox Rent A Car to you in a letter dated March 18, 2013, to the address which had been provided while renting the vehicle.

As we stated in our letter, we supplied The Toll Roads with the documentation they require giving them your contact information, therefore transferring full liability for this toll evasion to you.  We have not paid the fine amount that was incurred for this violation.  This allows you to dispute this toll evasion if you feel warranted.  It is your responsibility to contact The Toll Roads regarding payment of any fines, penalties, and interest related to this toll evasion.   You can contact The Toll Roads ###-###-####.

I am attaching a copy  your signed FOX rental agreement.  Thank you for contacting Violation Management Services.”  

The Toll Roads is a toll authority in the State of California with toll booths at which drivers are required to stop and pay before proceeding if they have not purchased a toll account. The booths, along with numerous signage along the roadway, make it obvious drivers are on a toll roadway.

 Mr. *********** has not contacted us again regarding this matter.   



*****

Customer Service

***************************.com
###-###-#### – Voice
###-###-#### - Fax

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9489607, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am rejecting this response, because the fact that this kind of companies exist and conduct their "treacherous business practices" infuriates me.

It is only a matter of time that there will be enough people to file a class action lawsuit against these 2 companies. When that happens, I will be happy to join it to bring these 2 companies to justice.

Unless they refund my money to make it right, there will be no resolution to this matter. I am posting the worst review for FOX Rent A Car to make other customers aware of what kind of company they are dealing with.

Regards,

***** ***********




Business Response:

In order to resolve this matter, I have placed a refund to this renter's credit card as a one time courtesy.  Please note it can take up to 10 days for his credit card company to post it.

I have also informed FOX Rent A Car of all actions taken in this matter.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9489607, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  


You can close the complaint. Thank you for your help.

Regards,


***** ***********




5/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a car from Next Car Rental in late December 2012 while the transmission in our car was fixed. On February 28, we received a notice from VMS (12-330036) stating they had recieved a violation for use of express lanes in Virginia even though we had four people in the car.VMS demanded $45 for a $13.00 ticket due to processing fees. The notice also stated that "It is your responsiblity to contact the issusing authority regarding payment of any fines, penalities, and interest related to these violations and/or fees listed below. I subsequently received a notice from Virginia dated 3/20 saying that I owed them $13.00 for ticket but if I paid it on line I would have to pay $10.50, due on April 19. I filed my dispute with the Virigina authorities and also sent one to VMS. Virginia said I needed an "easy pass" to travel in their express lanes. VMS's correspondence said that since the toll was not taken care of before they sent their notice I still had to pay $45, an amount that is over 300% more than the actual ticket of $10.50. To make things worse, VMS is saying "you have to have made payment or disputed the above violation with the Issusing Authority prior to the date of this notice even though it can take the issusing authority 2-6 weeks to transfer the violation into your name. If this is the case, this is quite a sham because it is imposssible to dispute a ticket with the authorities in time if you are unaware of and do not receive notice from the authorities before you receive VMS notice. With VMS it makes no difference if you get the ticket waived or not by the authorities who usually give you reasonable timelines to dispute tickets, you owe VMS their exhorbitant fees. It's VMS's impossible timetimes you have to meet.

Desired Settlement: I would hope that my fee would be waived and that ticket management contractors like VMS would examine their policies to make sure that others are not rooked by unacceptable policies that unfairly force rental cars drivers to pay for tickets and fees without reasonable timelines to appeal. In any case, the fee is simply out of line. A more reasonable processing fee needs to be instituted as drivers of rental cars should not have to fear being unreasonably targeted by such companies.

3/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Violation Management Services (VMS) is a rental car company scam associated company that is trying to overbill and make additional revenue out of traffic violations when no such reason for billing other than the original traffic violation should exist.In my case, VMS billed me for a $1 metro express lane service toll charge. I called the city and prompty paid the $1 fine.The VMS statement that was sent to me stated that the fine was $26 and that their service fee was an additional $50 on top of that!!!No mention was ever made to me of VMS at the time of the car rental by Payless Car Rental of San Jose or I never would have agreed to rent from them. Nor is it in their contract.So they wanted me to pay $76 for a $1 fine!!! They are now harassing me with threatening multiple letters.I have already paid the $1 city traffic violation.VMS is a scam company trying to charge me 7600% of the original traffic violation. I am going to join the class action suit against them in Washington State and see if the the law firm there can include the California customers as well that have been scammed by VMS.BBB should bring a lawsuit against VMS and shut them down!!!With car rentals being as low as $10/day in some cities, a $76 fine is equivalent to renting the car for a week for a $1 violation. It is such a scam I can't believe the BBB is allowing this company to stay in business. They are duplitious and a sham in every respect. I believe any car rental company doing business with them is also trying to scam their customers by getting a kickback of the illicit gotten gains from VMS. VMS takes a $1 traffic violation and tries to charge you 7600% of the amount as a "service fee" that is illegal!BBB please stop them!!!I am going to forward my complaint to the California State Attorney General office and call the California State department of Insurance to see if them can help as well...

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the $50 that VMS has been trying to scam from me as a "service fee." for a $1 traffic violation. I want VMS shut down.

Business Response:

Dear **** ********

Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by Payless of San Jose to process and present the initial billing for violations their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $50.00 is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of your rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violation to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violation is settled.

3/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Budget rental services sent VMS to administer andn rpocess toll violation on one of their rentals. The problem was that VMS sent this to me instead of the correct person on the contract. None of my personal information was connected to the rental contract and yet, VMS has tracked down my home address, my SSN, and my birthday and continues to deny that they have access to this information and that they only have access to what Budget provided them. Not only do they deny this, they also wrote the very sensitive personal information on the letter. VMS incorrectly mistakened my identity with someone elses with similar name and then accessed my personal information without my knowledge or acknowledgement.If VMS truly did not access my personal information, then they should be responsible for someone else doing so since they began this whole ordeal by mistaking me for someone else.I also have not received confirmation that VMS will not be transferring the violation into my name and instead to the correct persons name as listed on the Budget rental agreement.

Desired Settlement: VMS needs to take responsibilty for accessing my personal information which are very sensitive without my consent then provide explanation of how the mistake occured as well as assurance that this will not happen again. if my credit is damaged in any way or if their misconduct leads to identity theft due to their negligence, VMS will need to take full responsibility of taking corrective action. I would also like VMS to correct any transfer of the violation to my name with the issuing authority.

Business Response:

** *** *****

Case Number:  9448058

Dear Joel Oscarson

Violation Management Services is contracted to process rental car companies’ parking, traffic and toll notices to ensure they are handled in a timely and efficient manner.

We sent notice to our renter ** ***** and the mail was returned to us.  During an address search we inadvertently sent notice to ** *** *****.  This was done internally and her address was not shared with anyone outside VMS.  When ** *** ***** contacted our customer service department and we responded to her on 3/1/13 that she received our notice in error.  She subsequently contacted VMS again and we confirmed in an email to her she was not responsible for any charges and/or tolls pertaining to the other ** ***** rental.

At this point and time, we have taken ** *** *****’s address out of the VMS system.  We also have been in contact with our renter, ** *****, and consider this matter resolved.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9448058, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

VMS seemed only to care that they are finally able to notify the correct person but not cleaning up the mess that they created in delving into my personal information and actually writing the sensitive information on the mailed notice.  After trying to brush off my concerns, it's only after I filed with BBB that they did a further research to finally confirm that they in fact did look up my address, which they denied on few seperate occasions.  How they were able to do this is still unclear.  During this communication VMS also said they only have acess to what Budget the rental company would send them which turns are to also be untrue. 

VMS has still yet to address the issue of my biggest concern regarding how they got hold of my SSN and Birthdate and why they would write it on the notice that was mailed to to me.

Regards,

** *** *****




Business Response:

Dear Mr. Oscarson

As previously stated we did in fact inadvertently mail a notice to ** *** *****.  This was due to the wrong information we received back from doing an internet address search.  At no time did we have access to the complete Social Security Number, nor did this information get entered into our database.  The portion we did have (first five digits) along with the date of birth was mistakenly written on the notice.  However, when the notice was mailed, it was mailed inside a sealed envelope, preventing anybody but the recipient from viewing the date of birth and the first five numbers of the Social Security Number.   As far as the VMS agent stating they “only have access to what Budget the rental company would send”, they were not familiar with the process to obtain a current address and they themselves did not have access to this “additional information”.

Again I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.  VMS has taken steps to ensure this type of mistake doesn’t happen again.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9448058, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is not a situation that a resolution could be provided since irreversible damage has been done already.  As a result of this mistake by VMS coupled with their providing misinformation and reluctance to resolve and provide accurate information, I have spent many hours and much energy to correct and to minimize the damage while having to place fraud alerts on my credit to ensure its safety.  This will have a long term affect which will be extremely troublesome and time consuming each time a legitimate credit usage is required.  I am glad to hear that VMS has taken steps to ensure that this type of mistake is not repeated and for trying to correct their practice for future clients.   This comes belatedly as they have already wasted so much time for everyone concerned; this could easily have been avoided by VMS taking more interest with the issue at hand as soon as it came to their attention to provide a sense of security with assurances in return for violating my security instead of leaving me with an impression that they are not interested in my identity concerns resulting from their mistake.  VMS can’t give me back the time or the energy that I wasted in having to not only help to correct their mistake but also to ensure that various businesses were not consequently holding me accountable nor can they undo the long term effect and trouble it has caused me.  VMS has already put my identity at risk by not only accessing it without authorization but also by writing it on the notice then irresponsibly mailing it without properly ensuring that it won’t be lost in the mail (i.e. through use of insurance and/or tracking method since mails get lost all the time by USPS) without admitting to their mistake until further pressed with BBB complaint filing.  Due to this reason, the harm caused by the mistake is irreparable and I can only hope that this does not lead to identity theft in my future.

Thank you BBB for your assistance and as discussed on the phone today, I remain unsatisfied due to long term insecurity this has caused.  No resolution can be reached for this complaint.

Regards,

** *** *****




2/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have charged my debit card with no explanation or contact whatsoever. They have not answered their phone calls when I have called to dispute.

Desired Settlement: They return my call and immediately remove the charge from my bank account.

Business Response:

January 24, 2013

 

Better Business Bureau

BBB Complaint Case # 9385052

Consumer: **** * *********

 

Dear Mr. ********,

 

Violation Management Services is contracted to process rental car companies’ infringements to ensure they are handled in a timely and efficient manner, thus saving the renter unnecessary penalties and interest.  Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company contracted by Budget of LAX to process the violations their vehicles receive while on rent.   The processing fee of $50.00 per violation is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of the signed rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renters, the mailing and notification of violations to the responsible renters, the mailing and notifications of the responsible party information to the issuing agencies, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure violations are settled.

 

VMS received and processed ticket #********** issued by the City of Newport Beach.  On 12/13/12, VMS sent a letter to Ms. ********* advising of the actions taken place to ensure Budget was not held responsible for the ticket and that we were charging the card on file the $50.00 service fee.  Since the credit card declined, we sent another letter  on 12/26/12, advising the fee was outstanding.

 

VMS received no contact from Ms. ********* until today, 1/24/13. VMS has advised her to provide timely payment proof in order to review the fee. 

1/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rental Company: Fox Rent A CarRental Agreement No. ******************** #: **********MS Reference #: 12-******Violation Management Services (VMS) has assessed my credit card $40.00 for advising me of a toll violation assessed to a car rental in my possession on 12/4/2012. VMS has assessed this violation without proper legal due course. Furthermore, VMS has not provided a service nor has the legal standing to assess such a fee. An attempt to dispute their $40.00 service fee has generated a generic response.

Desired Settlement: $40.00 to credit card on file.

Business Response: Better Business BureauBBB Complaint Case # 9349373Consumer: *** ********* Dear Mr. Oscarson, Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company contracted by FOX Rent A Car to process the violations their vehicles receive while on rent.   The processing fee of $40.00 per violation is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of the signed rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renters, the mailing and notification of violations to the responsible renters, the mailing and notifications of the responsible party information to the issuing agencies, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure violations are settled. VMS received and processed toll # 247397016 issued by The Toll Roads on 12/12/12.  We sent a letter the same day to Mr. ********* advising the actions being taken to transfer the liability of the toll from FOX Rent A Car’s name to his name.   Mr. ********* contacted our customer service department through our website on 12/17/12 stating that he had a transponder in the vehicle and the booth did not read the device.  We responded to his email (see attached) advising that since the transponder was not read and the plate number was not added to the transponder account, is why the rental company received notice.  The tollways advise their customers that if they take the device into another vehicle, they must add the plate number to their account to ensure proper toll deduction.  VMS advised that we were unable to waive the service fee. I have attached a copy of Mr. *********’s signed FOX Rental Contract.  It states the following:             “I understand I am responsible for payment of all tolls, fines, and violations and hereby authorize FOX Car Rental to release my rental car charge/debit card and personal information to Violation Management Services (VMS) and/or Highway toll Administration LLC for the exclusive purpose of processing and billing for parking or traffic fines, penalties, and/or toll charges plus a service fee up to $40.00 for each infraction or toll incurred during the term of this rental.”  Since contacting VMS concerning the charge to his card, the renter has filed a dispute with his American Express card.  VMS has credited the $40.00 service fee to his card however this does not relieve the renter from his contractual agreement with FOX and VMS.  He owes the $40.00 service fee to VMS and can pay either online, over the phone, or by mail.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9349373, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. I will be escalating my dispute with the Attorney General's Office as VMS has not released me from liability in reference to their phantom administrative charges.


Regards,

*** ********* 




12/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While driving a rental car from FOX Rent A Car I got a parking ticket in San Diego CA. The ticket was promptly paid in full and the case was closed - I have a copy of the payment confirmation.Couple days later I got a letter from Violation Management Services (VMS) Ref# ********* stating that I owe them $40 service fee.I also would like to add that FOX Rent A Car computer systems were down on the day we were renting the car (August 20, 2012). There were huge delays, they were rushing everyone and we were all signing a manually written agreements. No one at FOX Rent A Car explained to us about any possible additional charges and we didn't get the option of reading the agreement.

Desired Settlement: Please despite the $40 service charge.

Business Response: Dear **** ******** Violation Management Services is contracted to process rental car companies’ infringements to ensure they are handled in a timely and efficient manner, thus saving the renter unnecessary penalties and interest.  We are not a collection agency.   Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by FOX Rent A Car to process and present the initial billing for violations their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $40.00 per incident is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of your rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violations to the responsible renter, the mailing and notifications of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violations are settled. Ms. Kafara has contacted VMS on several occasions concerning ticket #********.  At no time did she advise that they had paid the ticket or we would have requested payment proof to review the $40.00 service fee.  Since the ticket was paid on 9/22/12, which was before the VMS notice, VMS is waiving off the service fee.

12/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VMS is charging me $40 due to a ticket that I received from ******* in San Francisco. When contacted, ******* decided to pardon the violation (due to an innocent, first-time mistake on our part) and charged us only the car-pool toll charge of $2.50, without any penalty. This toll charge was paid up immediately with a check directly to *******. The original ticket from ******* was sent to my address and was taken care of directly without any service even offered by either VMS or the car rental company. Their response to the question: What is the service you have done for me? was roughly: we have assigned a number to your case in our system. This seems like an outrageous excuse for charging us unfairly. A dispute filed with my credit card company was ruled in my favor and VMS cannot bill my credit card. Not only is VMS being unreasonable about its "service charge," but now it continues to harass me. I also feel deceived and mis-informed. When I returned the car to Fox Rent a car, I demonstrated good will and honesty by informing the rental company that I would be receiving a ticket which I would like to deal with immediately. At that time, I was told that the ticket will be posted directly to my address without any involvement from the rental company. (Thats your business, not ours was the attitude of the check-in clerk). This is exactly what happened. I was also not informed about VMS contracted by Fox to handle these matters, or I would have contacted VMS immediately to inform them that I wish to dispute the toll violation directly as it really was an innocent mistake. Figuring out how to take responsibility for my actions without being cheated has been extremely time-consuming. I have certainly invested more time and effort in this endeavor than VMS.

Desired Settlement: Drop the bogus "service charge" and stop the harassment. VMS' computer system needs to be informed that there is no basis for this charge so that it stops generating this automatic letter. I would like a written confirmation that the charges have been dropped. Thank you!

Business Response: Dear **** ********

 Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by *** **** * *** to process and present the initial billing for violations their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $40.00 per incident is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of your rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violations to the responsible renter, the mailing and notifications of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violations are settled. VMS sent notice to Dr. ****** ************ on 5/7/12 concerning a toll which was issued to her *** ****** *******.  In the letter, it states that we are charging the $40.00 service fee to the card on file and it is her responsibility to contact the tollway, FasTrak, to resolve the toll.  Dr. ************ contacted our offices and stated she would not pay the service fee as agreed upon in her signed rental contract.  She has since paid the toll after the VMS notice. Dr. ****** ************ contacted her credit card company and filed a dispute.  We credited the $40.00 service fee to her card account and placed her on direct bill status.  Disputing the charge with her credit card company does not release her from the contractual obligation she entered into when signing the *** **** * *** contract.  As a one time courtesy, VMS will waive the $40.00 service fee.

Business Response: Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by *** **** * *** to process and present the initial billing for violations their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $40.00 per incident is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of your rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violations to the responsible renter, the mailing and notifications of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violations are settled.VMS sent notice to Dr. ****** *****-****** on 5/7/12 concerning a toll which was issued to her FOX rental vehicle.  In the letter, it states that we are charging the $40.00 service fee to the card on file and it is her responsibility to contact the tollway, FasTrak, to resolve the toll.  Dr. *****-****** contacted our offices and stated she would not pay the service fee as agreed upon in her signed rental contract.  She has since paid the toll after the VMS notice.Dr. ****** *****-****** contacted her credit card company and filed a dispute.  We credited the $40.00 service fee to her card account and placed her on direct bill status.  Disputing the charge with her credit card company does not release her from the contractual obligation she entered into when signing the *** **** * *** contract.  As a one time courtesy, VMS will waive the $40.00 service fee.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9341330, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  VMS has waived its $40 "service" charge and I hope that their computer system has been updated to this effect. I do not expect to hear from them again with regard to this matter. 



Regards, 

****** ************

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9341330, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  VMS has waived its $40 "service" charge and I hope that their computer system has been updated to this effect. I do not expect to hear from them again with regard to this matter. 



Regards,

****** ************

12/4/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Fiance registered a complaint that was denied due to the ticket being issued under my name but complaint filed by her. That complaint was #9284520 and includes all ticket numbers. VMS has issued multiple letters claiming that payment is due for toll violation tickets that have been dealt with directly, yet hey do not answer their telephone, nor do they return the multiple calls made by both myself and my fiance. They also have a way to file this information on their website, which we have done twice, but they have not responded to this either. Proof of the State of California's dismissal of the fine and payment of the original tolls on those tickets were sent to VMS. They are still claiming that we owe payment. Since no payment is due to the State of California there is no payment due. We were unable to discuss this with them immediately so any lack of timeliness is on their part due to their avoidance of managing their business. VMS needs to stop harassing myself and my family. The tickets were paid.

Desired Settlement: A letter explaining that you do not claim we owe any further fees and an explanation as to why so many hours have had to be spent due to their lack of good business practices. If this continues I will be asking for an additional amount to reimburse both time spent by myself and my fiance on this issue.

Business Response: Dear ***** *******
Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company retained by FOX Rent A Car to process and present the initial billing for violations their vehicles receive while on rent.  The processing fee of $40.00 per incident is automatically charged to the card used to rent the vehicle in accordance with the terms of your rental agreement.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the violations to the responsible renter, the mailing and notifications of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the violations are settled.VMS sent notice to Mr. ****** on 9/17/12 concerning two tolls, T*********1 & T*********2, which were issued to his FOX rental vehicle.  In each letter, it states that we are charging the $40.00 service fee to the card on file and it is his responsibility to contact the toll authority, FasTrak, to resolve the tolls. 

VMS has attempted to charge the service fees to Mr. ******’s card however the charge was declined.  In the meantime, he has resolved the tolls with FasTrak and paid the toll amount only.  They did not dismiss the tolls, but reduced the amount owed for each one.  VMS first received email correspondence from Mr. ******’s finance, ***** *********, on 11/5/12.  She advised the tolls were paid and they did not owe VMS for the service fees.  The customer service representative requested payment documentation, which was received that day, and sent correspondence back advising the tolls were not paid prior to the VMS having to processes these toll notices and insure FOX Rent A Car was not liable for the toll charges he incurred while renting their vehicle, we were unable to waive the two $40.00 service fees.

 

In order to resolve this matter, VMS is able to waive one $40.00 service fee with prompt payment for the other $40.00 service fee.

Consumer Response: Please send a revised bill via mail and email and the reduced fee will be paid. I am still concerned that this business creates an impossible situation for those who get tickets by not responding to phone calls or having a working dispute section on their website. This seems like entrapping people to earn a higher income.

10/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While driving a rental car, I used the Fastpass transponder belonging to my friend and passenger. Because that car was not previously registered with Fastpass, I was issued a toll violation in the mail. This violation was later dismissed as my friend called and authorized the car and the toll was a valid use. As this was going on, Violation Management Services deducted $50 from my checking account, and now even though the violation has been waived as an erroneous charge, they are refusing to refund that unauthorized charge.

Desired Settlement: As the Toll Roads/Fastpass has waived the violation as being in error, I believe that any associated feeds should also be waived or refunded. I would like the $50 to be refunded to my checking account.

Business Response: Violation Management Services (VMS) is a company contracted by Budget Rent A Car of LAX to process the violations our vehicles receive while on rent.  The $50.00 service fee VMS charged the complainants’ credit card is the fee for processing his toll violation.  This process included the research to determine the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the toll charge to the responsible renter, the mailing and notification of the responsible party information to the issuing agency, The Toll Roads, customer service support, and the follow-up to ensure the toll charge is settled.  

Unpaid parking, toll, and/or traffic violations have a potential of putting our entire fleet of vehicles in jeopardy of being booted, towed, impounded and/or encumbered by DMV registration holds.  In order to protect our fleet and renters from having their vehicles towed (even if they are legally parked), VMS must promptly deal with all violations.

 

Per Mr. ******'s rental agreement with Budget LAX it states...

 

12. Fines, Expenses, Costs and Administrative Fees“You'll pay all fines, penalties, court costs for parking, traffic, toll and other violations, including storage liens and charges.  You’ll also pay a reasonable administrative fee with respect to any violation of this agreement, such as for repossessing or recovering the car for any reason.  You authorize us to release your rental and charge/debit card information to Violation Management Services (VMS) for the exclusive purpose of processing and billing for tolls, parking, or traffic violations fines, penalties, plus and administrative fee up to $50 for EACH unpaid violation or toll incurred during the term of this rental.”