BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Retailer of all toys: hunting, fishing, camping, guns, ammunition, reloading supplies, games, crafts, summer inflatables, seasonal items, preschool, sleds, paintball, airsoft, puzzles, and much more.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hooked On Toys meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hooked On Toys include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hooked On Toys
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 1994 Business started: 02/01/1986 in WA Business started locally: 02/01/1986 Business incorporated 06/07/1992 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Kallas, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Kallas, President
Business Category

Toys - Retail Paintball - Games & Supplies Guns - Air, BB and Pellet Swimming Pools- Above Ground Ammunition & Reload Equipment & Supplies Camping Equipment Fishermens Supplies Guns & Gunsmiths Sporting Goods - Retail

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Visa, Mastercard, Discovery, American Express and Money Orders.
Refund and Exchange Policy
30 Days with Receipt in original packaging, restocking fee may apply.
Alternate Business Names
Hooked On Toys Inc HOTS INC
Licensing

FFL, Resellers Permit & Business license


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hooked On Toys has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1444 N Wenatchee Ave

    Wenatchee, WA 98801 (509) 663-0740 (866) 957-8846

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hooked on toys refused me service for personal reasons, and then refused to refund my money. Contacted *** ****** on Friday 08/07/15, in which he stated he would not refund the charge.

Desired Settlement: Refunded $40.00 transaction fee, as well as the sin tax paid.

Business Response:

****** was refused service after trying desperately to gain a firearm. In his gun transfer paperwork, he noted that he has a history of domestic violence. This along with his overall approach made every employee hesitant to sign over a lethal firearm, leaving us liable. We don’t feel comfortable releasing a gun to someone that is aggressive, rude and pushy. This is for their safety as well as the safety of our community. ******** increasing hostility toward our staff made it necessary to ban him from our store. He was not refunded the $40 because that is a non-refundable paperwork fee; it is held for all the time he caused our employees. That amount is never refunded for any customer, especially in cases like this. We even had to pay out of pocket to ship his firearm back because we don't release deadly weapons to customers we deem high risk such as him. We did not charge ****** for the return shipping fee. We did refund him via check the amount he paid in tax. Please let us know if you need to see a copy of that check. Feel free to ask any questions regarding this first BBB complaint we have ever had.

Hooked on Toys
509-663-0740

Consumer Response:

 Firstly, in the response to my review, Mr. K***** Responded by saying that I was denied for " filing it out incorrectly".Now it seems as though I was denied for having a violent history. Please Mr. K*****, which one would you like to stick with? Clearly, If i was deemed a violent individual, the state would not approve the transfer. They did, and I will attach the approval paper from the Sheriffs Office. I may have checked a wrong box, however I have been assured by multiple people, including the sheriffs office that this is a common mistake that can be fixed. There was never a single time that I was told the transfer was non-refundable. If Mr. K***** has a paper that was signed, or any way of verifying that, he should provide so. If I was aware of that, I clearly wouldnt have paid for the transfer before it was completed. IT is not acceptable business practice anywhere to have people pay for a service, and then refuse the service to" protect your liability" while keeping the proceeds. If you completed the service, and I backed out, you could certainly keep the money. However you didnt complete the job.  Im not entirely sure where that business pattern is acceptable, but im sure the BBB would concur. Lastly, Mr. K***** may not have charged for the $25 return shipping, however, he didnt ask. This $25 dollars pales in comparison to the $40 i lost from my dealer on the other end, and the $40 for him to have to complete the transaction with another dealer, as well as another $25 shipping fee, and paying the receiving dealer another $45. Thats well over  $100( not including the $40 paid to Mr. K*****), and i dont own a multi million dollar business. 


BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hooked On Toys
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart