BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Party Time Plus

Phone: (406) 655-8999 Fax: (406) 655-0134 3138 Gabel Rd, Billings, MT 59102 http://www.partytimeplus.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Party Time Plus is the largest exclusive party rental company in Montana. We offer a wide variety of premium special event equipment and retail goods including tents, linens, china, and much more! You can find everything you need for weddings, picnics, parties, trade shows, or any special event. Our equipment will serve you in all seasons of the year, for all sizes of events. Party Time Plus travels to provide products and services second to none in Montana, Wyoming and the Dakotas. For the absolute best value, service and quality for your next event, call Party Time Plus (406) 655-8999, visit our website www.partytimeplus.com, or stop by the store at 3138 Gabel Road, Billings.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Party Time Plus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Party Time Plus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Party Time Plus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 25, 2013 Business started: 06/27/1994 in MT Business started locally: 06/27/1994 Business incorporated: 06/27/1994 in MT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lynae Gilbert, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lynae Gilbert, Manager
Business Category

Tents - Rental Party Supplies Party Supplies - Renting Tents Wedding Supplies & Services

Method(s) of Payment
Checks, Cash, All major credit cards
Alternate Business Names
Party Time Plus The Special Event Company Steel & Linde Holdings, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3138 Gabel Rd

    Billings, MT 59102 (406) 655-8999

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called and reserved a tent and canopy. I asked if they would have them available on the 26th of April. He said most likely but the only way to gaurantee they would be available was to put a deposit down. We discussed Insurance for the items and I was informed the canopy was an uninsurable item but if it was damaged it would cost $1500.00 to replace. I was also informed the canopy was not very stable and any sign of wind we would need to take it down immediately to prevent damage. I asked if I could reserve both and then call him back after I spoke with my step-mom to see if she still wanted the canopy. The deposit of $78.00 was was 25% for both items. She did not want the canopy so when I called back he took it off the order and we agreed to put the additional deposit amount to the rental at the time of pick up instead of voiding and reissuing the credit card transaction. At no time did he mention the deposit was nonrefundable and nowhere on their web site did I see it posted. If it is posted it is not easily visable. The tent is $185 and the canopy is $110 for a total of $295, insurance for tent was $18.50. My original deposit was $78.00 for 2 rental items at $295, the deposit for just the tent would be $46.25. (At 25% I can not get the numbers to match-295x.25=73.75 even if you add insurance 73.75+18.50=92.25 I still can't get 78). The reservation is two weeks out so when I got the call from my step-mom she did not need the tent I got my receipt out that I still had not looked at to call and cancel the reservation that is when I noticed NON REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT. I called and asked if this was correct and there was anyway to get my deposit back. No I'm sorry and I was extremely upset and told him this can't be legal again I got sorry. I hung up and now am complaining. If taking a reservation over the phone it should be a law they have to verbally tell you of the nonrefundable policy. I was unaware.

Desired Settlement: I want my deposit of $78.00 back and should at least get the difference between the tent and canopy rental of $295 and just the tent of $185. 25% of 185 = 46.25, (amount charged $78) minus (25% deposit for tent $46.25) = $31.75 difference. Also a company should be legally bound to stat the policy when ordering over the phone or I would have taken my chances and not reserved. I was not given that option. I don't want to but I will dispute the CC charge if that is the only way to resolve this.

Business Response: April 16,2013
****** *****, Resolution Moderator

BBB Eastern Washington, North Idaho, & Montana

FAX: ###-###-####
RE: Case ID: 9499548

Customer ******* ** *******

Issue Presented: Customer unhappy with our non-refundable deposit policy. Claims that it wasn’t told to her nor visible on our website or paperwork.

Company’s Rebuttal of Customers Statement: Employee who helped said customer claims he told her the 25% deposit was non-refundable during their phone conversations. The policy is also states on the paper receipt that was mailed to her the day she made her payment. That has been the company policy for over 10 years. Payment details are NOT listed on our website as orders cannot be placed online. Customers must contact sales representatives by phone to place orders, that way all necessary information and policies can be explained to the customer.

We are unaware if the customer asked to speak to a supervisor or company owner, but if she had gotten to we could have explained our policy and offered a solution without her formal complaint. That is our preferred path to resolving issues.

Settlement Offer: Because we cannot verify exactly what was said between the 2 people involved in this miscommunication, we are refunding the customers $78 by check, mailed on 4/16/13. We have been unable to reach ******* by telephone today.
Should the BBB have additional questions or need to speak to a company representative, please contact myself at ###-###-####. Thank you.
**** ***** **** * ********* ******* ***** • ###-###-#### * Fax ***** *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I received the attached letter dated 4/11/13.  I'm assuming they sent this prior to receiving my complaint.  It made it obvious whether or not I spoke with a supervisor they still would not have resolved this issue. 

Under Issue Presented in their response to you I never claimed it was not on paperwork.  I only claimed it was not visible on website and not verbally communicated to me at the time of order and did not have prior knowledge of this policy.  I became aware of their policy only after I opened my mailed receipt to cancel order. 

After telling me and then mailing me (DEPOSIT RETAINED) they obviously received my complaint and mailed a check to me (received 4/17/13) refunding the deposit amount.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9499548, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me as long as the check clears. 

Regards,


******* *******