BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Falco's, Inc.

Phone: (509) 926-8911 Fax: (509) 928-9029 9310 E Sprague Ave, Spokane Vly, WA 99206 http://www.falcospokane.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Falco's, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Falco's, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Falco's, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1952 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated: 04/01/1976 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Louis A. Falco, President Ms. Kristi L. Falco, Sec. Ms. Jill Spurbeck, Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Louis A. Falco, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Jill Spurbeck, Customer Service
Business Category

Stoves - Wood, Coal Gazebos Barbecue Equipment & Supplies Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces Patio Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Falco's Fireplace and Spa

Additional Locations

  • 9310 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206 (509) 926-8911

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a gas fireplace insert from Falcos in Spokane Valley WA. The cost for this insert was $3400 and it would be installed by Falcos professionals. They came out to estimate the install for the insert, before the rock went on the fireplace or bookcases were installed. We had an electrical outlet put in the wall for the fireplace, blower fan. When Falcos came and did the measurements and gave us the estimate, no mention was made about the placement of the outlet. After Falcos came, we had bookcases built on either side of the fireplace, as we told them we were doing. A couple of days later Falcos came out to install the fireplace. The next day we had a mason come and place rock on the fireplace. After having the fireplace about a week, my husband was wondering why the blower fan was not coming on. He pulled the bottom panel on the fireplace to look at the controls and found the cord wrapped up and shoved into the back of the insert. He pulled it out and found that it was on the opposite side from the electrical outlet. We called Falcos the next day and were told that plugging it in was not their problem and it was for us to figure out. To me, installation means that the insert would be installed fully, and plugged in. Now we would have to destroy the stone and custom bookcases to have the fireplace pulled out and installed properly.

Desired Settlement: We would like for Falcos to come out and finish what they started and install the insert completely.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond here.  We had hoped to make contact with the ****** prior to responding, because we believe there may be a very simple solution, but we would like to speak with ****** or ********* to clarify some of the information provided on the complaint.  We have tried several times to reach the ****** by phone so we can better understand the situation and resolve their concerns but we have not been able to speak with them. 

When our estimator, *****, went to the *****'s home on February 3, 2014, ****** and ********* were not able to be there, but the contractor was there.  The fireplace had been deconstructed down to the cinder blocks and it appeared that the fireplace was going to be re-faced.  ***** noticed that there was a stone sample near the fireplace and asked the contractor if that was what was being used to re-face the fireplace.  The contractor indicated that a final decision had not been made yet, but it would be something similar.     ***** also noted the gas pipe was stubbed into the existing fireplace and there was a gas wall valve and electrical outlet about 12" to the right of the fireplace.  We indicated in our written bid to the ******, that we would plug the insert into that electrical outlet.  A spec sheet was also left with the contractor just in case it was decided later to install a combustible mantel above the insert--the spec sheet indicates clearances that must be followed for these situations.

****** ***** came into our store the day before the installation and spoke with his sales person ****.  Although it had been previously discussed,  **** talked again about the necessity to leave an area open at the top of the surround and not bring the stone right down to the surround, so the surround could later be lifted up and off in case the unit needed to be serviced.  *** understood well. 

****** and ********* were not able to be at the installation on February 28, 2014, but the contractor, **** was there.  Our installers completed the installation of the insert and everything fit well.   They discussed the finishing stone clearance again with **** and went over the complete operation of the insert with him at that time.  Our standard start up procedure includes turning the unit on, making any necessary adjustments and checking the fan for proper operation.  

Has the electrical outlet and gas wall valve been covered over?  This is the question we were trying to get answered prior to our response.  If so, could one of the contractors working on the fireplace have moved the cord out of their way during the finish work?  If that electrical outlet is still visible, we would have no problem coming out to plug the unit into the outlet and we could also go over the operation of the insert with the ****** at that time.  The length of the cord on this insert is sufficient to be plugged into an outlet on either side of the fireplace and the outlet that has been mentioned is well within the cord's length. 

Thank you.
 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

To Whom it May Concern:

 

I received the response from Falco’s on 5/4/2014. I would like to address some of the items in their letter. Falco’s has not tried to contact us, either by mail or by telephone. No message has been left on our voicemail on either of our cell phones or our home phone number, all of which were provided to Falco’s.

 

After my husband discovered that the fireplace was not plugged in, shortly after moving into our new home in early March, he went to Falco’s in person to address the issue with the store manager. He was told at that time “it is not our problem to plug the fireplace in, only to install it”. When he came home and told me this, I could not believe it. We did get the spec sheet and provided that to our contractor and they did leave a gap between the fireplace and the rock. At the time of the installation, there was no rock on the fireplace, however, the book cases had been installed. The outlet for the fireplace is in the bookcase to the right of the fireplace, if you are facing the fireplace. The cord for the unit is on the left side, again, as you face the fireplace. We did not notice it was not plugged in until we moved into the house. The cord was tucked in and appeared to never have been pulled out of the bottom of the fireplace. It looked to us like it was in the same spot as it would have been from the factory. This tells us that the fan was not tested either. We have spoken with our contractor and he said that they told him to leave the unit on for a couple of hours, showed him the remote and that is it. They did not show him the fan operation. He states that he never even saw the cord or knew where it was.

 

At this point, the fireplace can be plugged in, however the cord drapes across our beautiful new fireplace and hearth and the cabinet door has to be left open. We have a toddler, so having a cord out is not an option, not to mention the aesthetics of it. We would like the cord plugged in an hidden and I do not know if that is an option at this point. When Falco’s first came out to do the install it would have been an easy matter to plug it in. We ***’t know what can be ***e at this point. We are so disappointed, we cannot say. We were so excited to have this fireplace in our new home and this has put a pall on this situation.  Our contact numbers are as follows: ****** ###-###-####, ******** ###-###-####, Home ###-###-####. Our home address is ***** * ********* **** ******* **** ** *****.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** and ******** *****



Regards,

******** *****

Business Response:

We would like to first apologize for the misspelling of Mrs. *****’s first name in our response.  ********, we were very upset to realize our error as soon as we sent our response, and for that we are very sorry.

We are also truly disappointed that it appears that we have not lived up to expectations.   Any time there is a misunderstanding, it allows us to reevaluate-- to see how we might have ***e things differently.  We appreciate the *****’s information and we will use their feedback in the future.

We would like to offer a good will refund of $150 to the ****** (which we can mail to their home address) for any inconvenience or misunderstanding, but we would also like to explain and clarify a few things, just so there is a better overall understanding of the situation:

***** did leave two messages on the ###-#### phone number —one on April 30th at 3:25 pm, and the other on May 1st at 3:15 pm.  Both times ***** explained we really wanted to speak with the ****** to better understand the situation, prior to responding to the complaint.   It made responding to the complaint much more difficult when there were some things we did not fully understand. 

The challenge now lies in the fact that we were not aware prior to the installation that bookcases were being installed over the electrical outlet.  And, it has only been communicated to us through this complaint process that the homeowner wanted the electrical cord to somehow be hidden.   It was indicated to us that this outlet was installed specifically to be used for the fan from the gas insert and we noted in our estimate email to ****** on February 4th that “we will plug the electrical cord into the outlet to the right.”  So, we’re not sure when it was decided to cover that outlet with bookcases or that the homeowners wanted the cord hidden.   Nearly every unit we sell requires electricity and the fan is plugged into a wall outlet normally found near the fireplace.

Electrical cords cannot be covered by stone, tile, rock or mortar, or be run through walls, cabinets, etc.  Plugging the fan in at the time of the installation and plugging it in now would have the same result-- the cord would have had to follow the same route to the electrical outlet provided.

Since the outlet originally intended for the fan seems to be causing the problem, and if the desire is to have the cord not visible, a solution would be to have a licensed electrician install an electrical outlet in the back of the fireplace with probable access coming from the garage (which is right behind the fireplace).  The surround of the insert can be easily removed, and/or the insert pulled out so that the electrician would have better access to that area. 

It is unfortunate that the homeowner(s) were unable to be present at either the bid or the installation—this can make covering all the options, details and possibilities--both to the homeowner, and from the homeowner more difficult.  Whether we had been informed at the time of the estimate, or sometime prior to the installation, or as in this case, after the installation, that the homeowners wanted the cord hidden and that something would obstruct the cord from being plugged into the original outlet, the solution would have been the same--the one suggested in the previous paragraph.

Thank you.

 

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a Kozy Heat propane insert from Falcos on July 11th 2011. We expressed concern that this was a new product line for them and that they were not listed as a dealer. They assured us that they were a new dealer and able to warranty this new product line. The total cost of the stove and installation was $3855.58. They installed the stove August 12, 2011. The stove never worked appropriately, the inside of the stove would soot up. They came out 3 different times, every time telling us something different was wrong, they said they needed to order warranty parts for a brand new stove. The last time they came out they said we needed to have Cenex come out and check our regulator pressure, we were told it was fine, but had a new one installed anyway for around $300. The insert continued to soot up. At this point Falcos and us mutually agreed to have them remove their product from our home, we told them that if the new Company we hired could use their pipe we would gladly pay them for it. Also ***** from Falcos informed me she was able to change the name on the permit to the Fireplace Center. We hired the Fireplace Center to come and install the exact same model of Kozy Heat Insert. At that time they cut some baffles out of the fireplace that they said were crushing the liners and inhibiting air flow. They also stated that they were unable to use the 18" piece of pipe that was left there by Falcos. They charged me $18.95 for a 2 foot gas flex pipe and $6.50 for a 1/2 by 3/8 gas valve. Falcos credited me back $3508.83 on 10/5/2011. Less $346.75 of the original bill. They claim we owe them for an 18" piece of pipe and a permit that never had the name changed. I called the state and they said they never change a business name on a permit and that Falcos would receive a refund. Falcos was unable to deliver a properly working stove. In no way are we responsible for any charges to them. We are owed a full and complete refund!

Desired Settlement: $346.75 credited back to the original credit card form of payment.

Business Response:

Our agreement with *** ****** was Falco's would cancel their purchase and refund everything except the permit and the gas piping. 

 

We honored our part of the agreement and expected the ******** to honor theirs.

 

We believe there have been some misunderstandings and don't feel it benefits anyone to get into the "he said - she said" argument. 

 

Our philosophy as a family owned and operated business is to make our customers happy.  We are truly sorry that didn't happen in this case.

 

In the spirit of this philosophy,  Falco's will be sending the ******** a check for $346.75 today.

 

Merry Christmas to everyone~

***** & ****** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8847496, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

Regards,

*****************