BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

McCall Leisure

Phone: (406) 652-6500 Fax: (406) 652-1436 2499 Gabel Rd Ste 4, Billings, MT 59102 http://mccall-leisure.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Service Sales & Retail for Spas, Pools, Patio Furniture & BBQ

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McCall Leisure meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McCall Leisure include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McCall Leisure
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 24, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2008 in MT Business started locally: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated: 01/01/2008 in MT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael McGullam, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael McGullam, Owner
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Umbrellas Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service Outdoor Kitchens Aromatherapy & Essential Oils Swimming Pool Kits Swimming Pools- Above Ground Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair Barbecue Barbecue Equipment & Supplies Furniture - Outdoor Patio Equipment & Supplies Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Products & Services

McCall Leisure sells the following brand(s): Bull Outdoor Kitchen, Doughboy Above Ground Pools, Galtech Umbrella, Homecrest Outdoor Furniture, Louisiana Pellet Grills, Sundance Spas


Additional Locations

  • 2499 Gabel Rd Ste 4

    Billings, MT 59102 (406) 652-6500

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new Sundance spa from McCall Leisure in Nov 2010 and were assured warranty work would be free, that they were in our area regularly and problems would be fixed within 3 -4 days. The day of installation the tub flooded our new floor, the start- up kit was incomplete and they didnt provide a receipt. Although promised, we never received the missing chemicals or receipt. Weeks later we drove to Billings to get these, however, they couldn't provide receipt. Obtaining receipt took more weeks and another drive to Billings. Our $10,000 new spa had 18 tub failures, as well as repair failures, some of which were fixed after 9 months, some never. We couldnt use the spa for several weeks twice within 7 months of purchase and for 6 weeks in July/August 2011. After repeated lies, rarely returning phone calls and avoiding phone calls (until I blocked caller ID), we again drove to Billings (7/16/11) to plead with them to fix our spa. They were unresponsive. Finally I emailed them in late August 2011 and asked for a refund. They refused. Ongoing tub failures, deception and untimely or no service continued until 2/3/12, when they delivered a new replacement tub albeit a different color and minus a CD stereo. Our replacement tub has leaked continuously (notified 4/2/12), the control panel, circulation pump have been replaced and 1 light ring (notified 8/21/12 - not fixed) has failed. On 9/ 20/12, the tub again flooded our floor, which we reported to the owner, Michael. After a 2 hour conversation with my husband, Michael required $3.60 per mile ($720), plus $45 per hour travel time ($180) to make repairs under warranty. The tub remains drained and unusable. I emailed Michael on 9/25/12 and asked for a refund, with no response from him. A local dealer contacted us and offered to repair the tub under warranty. Since we didnt purchase the tub from him, he cant refund. Michaels solution is to deny responsibility.

Desired Settlement: After 31 months of repeated failures with both the original and replacement spa and unaccountability by McCall Leisure, we seek a refund of the original purchase price of $10,000 and removal of tub.

Business Response: Customer did purchase a new spa in Nov. 2010. They are from Cody WY and McCall Leisure is located in Billings MT (approx. 110 miles). Although there was a local Sundance Dealer they chose to purchase out of area. Regardless of what our salesman may have told the customer (there is nothing in writing) Sundance written warranty states, “There will be no charge for parts or labor to repair the defect, although you may be assessed reasonable repairman travel mileage charges.” In fact, this customer was never charged these reasonable and customary travel charges; honoring what our customer states the salesman had offered. When warranty dispatches became excessive (actual documented issues – 6 work orders) the customer was ultimately offered (and accepted, at McCall Leisure’s expense); a brand new current model year replacement spa with upgraded stereo options. Their initial spa was then reviewed by our technicians back in Billings and immediately sold AS-IS to a local Billings customer who has experienced not one problem with the spa since resale? Our Cody customer is now dissatisfied because they are experiencing issues with the new (replacement) spa. Sundance authorized warranty work has always completed at NO CHARGE for our customers, however, trip charges for out of town customers will apply and we try to group customers together to reduce charges to one customer. Drive time and mileage charges reported by our customer in their complaint are incorrect (overstated). Customer also claims that the new spa has leaked continuously since installed. However, while in town for a different customer, our technician made a no charge unscheduled stop as continued customer service just to “check in” and at that time everything was operating properly with the spa? McCall Leisure’s staff and the owner have been responsive to the customer with options, to include giving them a brand new replacement at our cost. The latest resolution offered is to work with the new owner of the Sundance Spa retail store in Cody WY; and to transfer any warranty related service locally so there would be no travel charges. It is our hope this change of venue serves our customer better and they may receive more timely response to rectify current concerns and any future issues that may arise. Update (10/4/12) Local Cody Sundance dealer identified pinched o-ring on a pump fitting (possible over-tightening), which was the cause of the leak customer was experiencing. Failed light ring was a connection unplugged (possibly bumped/disconnected when someone was in the cabinet). As of follow up 10/5/12 Sundance Spa is operating at 100%.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9240537, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

McCall Leisure made an oral commitment that warranty work would be done within 3-4 days free of charge at the time of purchase in November 2010.  That commitment predicated our buying decision.

It is not our fault that the original spa had frequent and numerous failures.  Many of these trips were due to McCall’s own inadequacies.  The spa was indoors and used by two 60 plus year old people.  The replacement spa has had the circulation pump and control paneled already replaced within 7 months.  McCall Leisure attempted to fix the ongoing leak, however it began leaking again. 

The replacement spa is different color than we chose and has only a radio.  Our original purchase had CD stereo, radio, and ports for additional devices. 

The present local Sundance dealer fixed the leak.  This required approximately 5 hours of time over two evenings.  He also fixed the light ring. 

Please refer to the emails I have forwarded, as well as the new emails I am forwarding referencing the continuing problems we have had with McCall Leisure.

As you can see, we have spent many frustrating months dealing with McCall Leisure.  We are tired of their vagaries, omissions and unaccountability.  We simply want a refund.

Business Response:

We do not know why the customer experienced the number of service requests on their original spa purchase. McCall Leisure worked with the customer to identify and complete all requirements as per the written warranty, although logistically not in the time frames expected by the customer.

In our efforts to maintain customer confidence in McCall Leisure and the vendors we represent (namely Sundance); we made the decision to go beyond Sundance’s written warranty and replace the spa. This was done at McCall Leisure’s expense and was approved in advance with the customer, to include discussing current color availability and the model year stereo options at the time of replacement.

Our reasoning was that if in fact there were continuing issues with their first spa we would be better served to have the spa closer to work locally on warranty items. However, as stated in our previous response, this has not been necessary as the replaced spa, which was re-sold locally in Billings, has not had a single service request since being brought back to Billings.

Customer states, “we spent considerable time and effort researching a quality hot tub and selecting a reputable company with good service to northern Wyoming.” 

We still feel the customer made the correct decision in selection of their Sundance Spa. We have also worked with our regional Sundance Rep and the new Sundance retail dealer in Cody to give them the response time and local relationship to keep them enjoying their purchase.

It is of major concern that we apparently cannot restore this customer’s faith in McCall Leisure. However, there is no reason which justifies refund. The spa is operating correctly and the concerns over response and ongoing support have been addressed by referring service locally.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9240537, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

McCall Leisure continues to avoid responsibility.  They certainly were happy to make promises and collect $10.000, but could not meet even minimum standard on service and warranty work.  After they ducked our phone calls, repeatedly lied, and left us unable to use the spa for several weeks at a time and for 6 consecutive weeks in July/August 2011, we asked for a refund at that time.  It was their solution to replace the tub in February 2012.  The replacement tub has leaked and already has had two major components replaced.  We are leery of potential future problems with the spa, since this is similar to the problems with the first spa.   Considering the amount of expenses we incurred from Nov/10 to Feb/12, additional to the cost the of spa. McCall's breach of promise,  frequent tub failures, loss of use, and considerable stress, we request a refund.

I hope that this complaint remains online to alert other consumers of our problems with McCall Leisure before they make a final decision to purchase from them.

Regards,

***** *****




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1