5/4/2016 Our recent teashop, castle and pub tour with Scottish Dream Tours was just fabulous! They more than met our expectations. It was fun to finally meet them both, and enjoy the humor and fun all along the way. Even a few rain showers here and there refused to dampen our spirits -- and theirs. Especially impressive was the planning and execution of the details -- no small task to transport eleven varied people on the trips of their dreams! I doubt anyone was disappointed. We were especially grateful for the itinerary change that after all these years, allowed us to arrive at Portmeirion, aka The Village. Also, they managed to allow time in Moffatt, which meant so much to my daughter. One thing stood out to me, and that is their knowledge of the history of what we were seeing. I learned so much, and they not only made it fun -- I was impressed with the way the stories interwove as we made our way north. Various historical figures kept making appearances, which helped us in our understanding of the past. The literary sections of the tour were amazing as well. So many wonderful authors/poets -- and we were able to see where they lived and worked, which was fascinating. Many times we strolled through the nearly-unchanged villages where these folks lived. I need to mention the teas! Oh my, I had no idea there could be such a wonderful variation on a favorite meal. This more than met expectations as well. In fact, all the food was great. Luckily, we were exercising every day! As you knew, this was my first organized tour, and I hope not the last. They should all be this well-organized and fun! Sure hope we can make it to a house party with you two next year. * ******
This customer had a POSITIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by N. H. on 5/4/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Thank you! by on 5/7/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
11/13/2015 My wife and I did the Scottish Fall Tour; We are both in our 80s. The small group travelled in two vans. One third of team were repeating with these guides. It is clear why. They are organized, knowledgeable and considerate. It is not the highlights that caught our attention; every traveler is likely to see them; it is the low lights. These are the interesting, often small places you would never see without outstanding leaders. These are the Scottish baronial homes and occasional ancient country inns that were our amazing nighttime stops. We were welcomed as old friends as someone as indicated before. Each day started at a reasonable hour and tended to end in time for tea. Frequently we stayed pit for two days. The small number allowed for deviations. One was to what used to be a little village, now gone, from which my ancestors immigrated. I was the first to return in 231 years. Shannon's knowledge and ability to remember dates was astonishing. He was wise enough to give you some facts but not drown you in the slop of them. He made each place come alive. We also noted such little things as our driver/guides were very quick to give you a hand entering and leaving the van. You never carried your bags. They were delivered to your room, and picked up there in the morning. We saw a great deal of Scotland in a short time but were never rushed. We have travelled quite a bit and this ranks with the best. We strongly recommend small groups and this tour.
This customer had a POSITIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Ian M. on 11/13/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
4 people found this review helpful .
6/13/2015 I dreamed of going to Scotland. When I saw Scottish Dream Tours, I felt it was meant to be. ******* **** was so obliging when my first traveling partner was unable to go and arranged accommodations for us a day ahead. His helpfulness made me feel comfortable planning my first trip abroad. We had a wonderful trip! The attention to detail on the part of the guides made it an easy and stress free trip for us. The accommodations were varied and each one terrific! It was clear the hosts viewed our guides as returning friends. (Yes, each one had a hairdryer, soaps, etc.) The breakfasts were awesome as were the other meals. Again, the variety was great. There were many meals together, but also time to eat and wander about on your own. The guides were both fun to be with and knowledgeable of the history and details about the areas toured. Being a small group, we were able to go places a larger group could not have gone. There were also many places an individual would never have known to go! The guides were also willing and able to adapt the schedule to interests, weather, etc. They were also good company and easy to be around! One aspect I did not anticipate was the wonderful people we toured with and how much I enjoyed their company! ******* and *****, our guides, did a wonderful job of encouraging people to swap seats during the tour so we were really ably to spend time and get to know one another! My best recommendation is that we are already booked for our second tour with Scottish Dream Tours in 2016!
This customer had a POSITIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Marilyn C. on 6/13/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
4 people found this review helpful .
2/28/2015 Everything about this Scottish Highlands and Islands tour was wonderful. The arrangements were flawless, at least to our eyes. Any blips ******* might have discovered with his daily checking and rechecking of reservations, were solved way ahead of time. ******* also had a great "reading" of the personalities and interests of our group and several times changed the itinerary to personalize the tour for each of us. Three examples stand out: several of the group had an interest in Scapa Flow. ******* tried very hard, although unsuccessfully, to add a visit to the Scapa Flow museum to the tour but it is far away and hard to reach, so we had to settle for a previously unscheduled drive/hike to a lookout where we could see the bay and get an oral history lesson of the area. The second example was that our co-travelers were not big drinkers. Much to our enjoyment, ******* switched several of the "extra" whiskey tours for stops at jewelry and weaving centers instead. The best however, was that many of us had ancestral ties to Scotland. Where feasible, ******* arranged the driving routes to pass near or at clan centers for quick stops or photo ops. He never failed to point out clan connections in the scheduled stops and often gave us great "back stories" the formal tour leaders did not share.
This customer had a POSITIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Janet M. on 2/28/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful .
1/19/2015 My husband and I traveled with ******* & ***** in May on their Scotland Highlands & Island Tour. We had a great time traveling through this beautiful country seeing sites we probably would have missed if traveling on our own. Both ******* & ***** went out of their way to ensure we made the most of our time. Traveling in 2 minivans with a limited number of guests, afforded everyone a window seat and room to stretch out. The B&B's and boutique hotels were top notch and unlike other tours we've traveled with, you could order from the menu for all the included meals (no bland set meals!). If you want to see the highlands and outer islands, consider Scottish Dream Tours.
This customer had a POSITIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Joy F. on 1/19/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
1 2 3 4 5